We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not visit!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Acuazul

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Acuazul
Ranked #55 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not visit!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in hotel just 2 nights (the rest of time travelling round Cuba), but even 2 days were enough not to recommend this hotel. Equipment of hotel is very old, owner does not invest in repartions any more. In some rooms there was no hot water supply, in most of rooms toilet did not flush enough. In our basthroom walls were covered by mildew. Food and bar menu is very poor and limited (eg no mojito). Recepcion personal was not pleasant, when we were about to leave they want us to charge 30 EUR for missing towel, which we did not have in the room from the very beginning. The only relatively positive thing is that the hotel is quite in town center.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    65
    67
    33
    50
See reviews for
34
77
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Cubans are now at last allowed to stay in hotels. So my Cuban sister-in-law booked an all in trip to Varadero with Cubatur for seven of us. We had four rooms grouped together. As a Canadian, I found the booking in process incredibly slow. The rooms were reasonable and the beds comfortable. The food was variable but edible. The sole working elevator was a touch cranky. As the drinks were in with the charge, one ought not to complain about the beer, but it was nice to go and pay for a Buchanero at the bar in the entrance area. The evening entertainment was enjoyable especially when the MC allowed my wife and her 20 year old daughter to enter a dancing competition - difficult for couples from anywhere to compete with two Cuban ladies dancing together! The pool was fine for splashing around and the lovely beach was just a short stroll away. Two nephews in their twenties enjoyed the games room. In summary, resorts are not my thing, I prefer casa-particulars but the charges were modest, the staff polite, and the bedrooms clean - the bathrooms too were clean, but the warm water took a while to arrive. For anyone with kids, I think the Hotel Aquazul is reasonable and the charges modest. If your budget is limited, then go for it. As for my Cuban relations, they had a ball and at the end of our stay a Cubatur coach with only the seven of us drove us in style all the way home - 200 km. A bit different from a "camel".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank valueadding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

it is a very good hotel. clean, nice staff, and cheap price. I paid $35 per nigth with every thing included (all inclusive) it also has some amenities at the beach with are for free. I think that based on the price it is a good deal. I didn't see any roach or rats or anything similar. i have been there a couple of times and the first one the food was better than the last one. i think that they changed of director and the last one is cutting of the budget for the food. but if you do not like what they have, nearby you may buy pizza for $1 or 2 they are very good. the beach is exelent withe sand and blue sea. is like a dream

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ayin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

This is a beautiful place for staying, near the beach. The rooms ar cleaned and the staff is very kind. food ok.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan187514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

This hotel is located at the west end of Varadero. We stayed on an all inclusive basis. Whilst the buffet was good compared to other all inclusives we tried in Cuba, the alcohol was very disapointing. They appeared to have a surplas of blue curacao which went into most of our cocktails! The staff were really friendly. We arrived at 9pm and were able to get dinner just before the restauarant closed and check in afterwards. The hotel has a beach bar and it's own small section of beach. The room quality was reasonable and had a balcony over looking the pool. If the wind is blowing a certain way you may experience some unpleasant oil smells at night time which we discovered was from a nearby refinery.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Squeaky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ontario canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

Even though the resort is old, staff is cleaning all the time. THE FOOD IS HORRIBLE! Same garbage every day. Not much at all in the line of hot foods. You will learn to live on ice cream and pina coladas. Registration staff not at all friendly, but all other staff exceptional, always willing to help or direct. Not too many spoke English.
Get your pesos at the bank on 32nd street, not at your hotel, they charge an extra four per cent. We were on the sixth floor, and had no hot water for the last four days. Also for three days, there was quite a problem with the elevators, most of the time not working.
Cigarettes at the bar quite cheap, $12 pesos per carton, or $1.20 per pack. The nicest thing about this location is the flea market just two doors down. Quite a nice way to spend the afternoon, and good deals. (this flea market better than the one in Havanna).
Also, right across the road and up one block is a smaller version of another flea market.
Some Cubans will ask for the shoes on your feet, just turn and walk away, or you will be hounded. If you get tired of the food at the resort, two doors down is a little "Cafe" that has wonderful hot food. Jamie (who speaks English) is a terrific waitress. You can get a complete lobster dinner, soup, salad, drink, vegetables for 14 pesos. Wonderful!.
Try and stay away from the second week of February, apparently this is there winter. For the first three days, we had our winter coats on. Had only two really nice weather days, and one day a complete wash out, poured rained for ten straight hours. The entertainment at this resort is very minimal, bingo was a hit for some at 4:00 every day. (Hey, full card prize was a bottle of rum! Who knew?) One more piece of adv ise. If you go to the Las Americas mall, there is a grocery store that sell lots of booze. STAY AWAY FROM THAT ONE. Sure you can get a one litre bottle of rum for about 7 pesos, then you pay quite a tax on that same bottle. They will tell you Canadians are allowed to bring back 2 one litres bottles per person. They are wrong. You are allowed a total of 1.5 litres per person only (which is 2- 750ml bottles). The best place to get you booze is at the airport. You have lots of time, and many places sell it, if you need to compare prices.
Anybody know what is up with the airport tax of 25 pesos in Cuba? That is crazy, but don't forget to put the money aside, or you will not leave the island. And make sure it is pesos, not Canadian money, they will not take it, but do have a money conversion booth. I would return to Cuba tomorrow, but never stay in this resort again. Find somewhere that has more than one restaurant, for variety, you will be happy you did.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuePillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

midland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is the second year in a row at the same hotel. The room are clean, the staff is great. The food - well it is all the same in Cuba. There is pizza and chinese just up the street if you are really missing canadian food. Very central to the market and a beautiful beach only minutes away. The beds are not the greatest but every day the maid did beautiful things with the towels. We love the atmosphere around the hotel and being close to the local people.
A great value for the money - We would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.9 mi away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#41 of 63 in Varadero
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#54 of 63 in Varadero
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.8 mi away
BelleVue Playa Caleta
BelleVue Playa Caleta
#49 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
8.0 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#23 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acuazul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acuazul

Property: Hotel Acuazul
Address: Primera Avenida e/ Calle 13 y Calle 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Acuazul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Acuazul Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing