We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“blau varadero”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
melksham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“blau varadero”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from Cuba and the Blau Varadero hotel, after 10 days at the hotel, we had a really
relaxing time we arrived at the hotel early so we could not check in until 4.00.but the reception
told us come back about 3.00 and our room may be ready which it was.
We were given a room on the 6th floor which was very good clean with a view over the front of the hotel , this was fine until the rain came in,after the 2nd thunder storm but to be fair we were moved to the 8th floor over looking the pool as soon as we reported the problem to general manager.
This manager was very easy to find he was all over the place and always ready to listen and help
in any way and nothing was to much trouble this also was the same with all the staff we came in touch with from waiters to bar staff and cleaners, now for the hotel in general plenty of room
to sit and have a drink either by the pool or in the very large bar area, also if you need to sit quite
there was the piano bar. where when we were there a 6yr old Chinese girl played the piano
while the resident pianist watched while the young lady played 2 pieces without music.
Now for the food a very varied choice at all meals something for everyone at each meal,
not the best food in the world but by far not the worst, unless like one person complained
there was no hot chips for breakfast you cannot please all the people all the time but this hotel did try. The two a la carte restaurants were 1st class with excellent service as good as any where in the UK. So to finish if you choose this hotel for a holiday any do not loose sight of where you are this is good value for the money, and a General Manager that looks after his hotel
with pride and a staff of which he can be proud .
PS one half of the pool maybe closed but do not be put off as one part is open and there is also the nice beach with a bar for food and drink and lots of sun beds and sun shades
I hope this helps if you are going in the near future.

Room Tip: go for the 6th floor or above the lifts are not as bad as some people make out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,461
    2,065
    508
    129
    73
See reviews for
1,586
3,153
171
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Varadero is my most favourite place to travel and so I vacation here every year. The people in Varadero are the nicest and safest to be around. I've been to 6 different resorts other than the Blau and will only stay at 4*, 4*+ and 5* resorts. I must say other than the small things such as a broken lamp shade and the electronic outlets in my room, it has been my absolute favourite resort. 7 of my friends (age range 24-34) and I stayed at the Blau from 10.27.2013 - 11.03.2013. The food is better than any other resort I've been to in Varadero and the staff is amazing. Not a day went by that our needs were not met and they always made sure a table was ready for our group every single meal. From the rooms, bars, pool to the beach, we loved every bit of this resort. The entertainment staff was very interactive and the resort was clean and operated in a professional manner. The A La Cartes were so yummy and the decor was perfect. I was so happy that Halloween was celebrated at the hotel. It was very festive and the costumes were great. Thank you so much for the Birthday cake that day as well. We would like to thank Blau for an amazing experience and I'm sure you will definitely see us again. Alberto, Yasser, Yolanda and Edwardo, thank you so much for giving us a fantastic vacation. Blau is very lucky to have you a part of their team! Please don’t ever leave! lol. Thank you Blau for running a professional and prestige resort. See you soon!
Lots of love from your friends,
- The loud but super fun and hilarious group from Canada (Toronto, Mississauga) (5 girls, 3 guys) <3-
BLAUUUUU BABY BLAUUUUUUUUUUU!

Room Tip: Try and book a room on the sixth floor and no higher as the lifts are rather slow and the main floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary_Beeeee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I will always remember the warm and friendly staff at the Blau Varadero. From the staff at the front desk, to the restaurant staff to all the other pool, beach and garden, they all made me feel most welcome. Food, service and atmosphere in the two A la Carte restaurants was excellent. Good variety at the buffet restaurant. Room was kept spotless and my over all impression was of a very well run establishment. Management appeared to be everywhere, ensuring guests were well taken care of. I hope to be back some day.

Room Tip: ocean and pool view. Rooms starting in the 30's. I had 1132 right in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was the first time for us to travel to Cuba and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Everybody on the staff were very friendly. I had read the reviews before travelling and it is obvious that the management had taken on board previous comments about the lifts because benches are provided on each floor at the lifts so waiting was not a problem. Any time you met any of the staff they would always smile and say hello but they were not obtrusive. The Iady mixing the fruit smoothies every morning was always happy and pleased to see the guests as were all the staff in the restaraunt. I must congratulate everyone involved in running such a happy and efficient hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms overlook the sea on the other side of the penninsula and watching the occasional t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Blau for 11 nights following 3 nights in Havana. Our room on arrival (5th floor)was not ready so after waiting about 15mins we were given a room on the 12th floor which was amazing having both pool and sea views. Huge super king sized bed. Fridge with 1bottle water 2 cola and 2beers per day. We didn't really have an issue with the lifts yes they are slow but come eventually! Food wise there was a lot of choice, however cold food was warm, hot food was warm, lots of birds and flies around and despite being careful both had tummy upsets for 4days. Cocktails were ok but we'd been spoilt in Havana at sloppy Joes and Floridian bars! Grounds of the hotel are well maintained. Plenty of sun beds. Beach amazing. Overall had an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floor with pool view gives sea view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickyG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I love this Resort but as a single person i do not think it is the place to go because, you are really far away from bars and where the actions is...and the cliental is more older.

Room really clean, good service, restaurant a la carte really good, buffet everything you need is there, breakfast was awesome a lots of choice. Drinks really good...personal everybody smile and it is really good...

I do not think like i said it is for single...not much animation and not much music either at night and at the pool during the day, it is more quiet place to relax.

Room Tip: ocean view of course is good..but to me..i am never in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadiapage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked this holiday as part of a group of 38 guests attending the wedding of Martin & Bianca. The garden setting was stunning, the ceremony was very brief, so I suggest any couple to include exchange their own vows too as this will lengthen the service, the bridal party looked beautiful, we all had such a fab day and fab holiday, ages ranged from 2-70 yrs old.
We were lucky with the weather (sunny 9 out of 10 days), beautiful beach, warm clear blue sea.
Entertainment was different each night. As a middle aged couple we really appreciated the first class musicians, our teenagers + younger friends enjoyed the nightly midnight beach bar disco, whilst the little ones loved the colourful dance and cabaret each early evening.
Never saw one cockroach, however, be prepared for the 'mossies'.
Staff are very hard working, speak great English. The food was simple/ reasonable, the a la carte excellent and Yes, we have stayed in more luxurious hotels around the world, however, bear in mind this is a 'state' run country.
We were very aware of certain shortages the local people have of 'life's little luxuries' so we took extra toothpaste, soap, make up, batteries, painkillers, etc and gave in gift bags with pesos to staff as 'tips' at the end of our holiday.
We travelled home lighter as we also left our sandals, shorts, t-shirts, swimwear.

Room Tip: We were happy with our 8th floor sea view room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.6 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
5,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba

Property: Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Address: Carretera de Las Morlas | KM 15, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#2 Family Hotel in Varadero
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#5 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just on the shore of the magnificent and famous Varadero beach, the Hotel consist of a 13 floor modern building, completely new.Ideal for those who want to enjoy the beauty and the atmosphere of the most well known beach of Cuba, with the best facilities and a wide list of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Hotel Varadero
Blau Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing