We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly wonderful!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is my 5th time to this resort. July 5th-12th 2013. Had room 556 with an ocan view. We have been very well treated every time. The best service and food tha we could every ask for. The rooms are very large with a big balcony. The bathroom is very well equipped. The air cond. works great! There is a large safe. The Cuban people are amazingly kind, courteous and hospitable. Who could ask for more. The food is great compare to the other resorts we've been to. I've been to cuba 11 times now. However, 5 times to this particular resort. I wouldn't try any other resort after being to this one. The beach is very safe and safe to wonder off the resort either by foot, bus or scooter.
Hope this is helpful to anyone who reads this.

Room Tip: Any room will have a good view. It is quiet throughout the hotel. The discotheque is at the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank delightedtraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,535
    2,098
    518
    131
    74
See reviews for
1,601
3,228
173
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here 27th June to 5th July, emailed ahead for high level room with ocean view...the hotel duly obliged giving us a lovely room. The hotel is huge but has a homely atmosphere, bedrooms are large with a huge bed, air con works well and the bathroom is well equipped. the fittings and furniture are starting to tire and look a little dated however this did not detract from our enjoyment.

The food is varied extensive and very enjoyable if not somewhat canteen like, the restaurant staff add the extra touch that take it past your typical AI - just. the visits to the international and themed restaurants were a wonderful interlude. the breads and grilled selections were fab....watch out for Barbaro on the carvery section,he'll ask you for the shirt off your back if he likes it and at the very least, your shoes as he did in my case ;).....

Local and international brands are readily available so don't be shy, the bar staff are excellent and the regular 1 peso tip will see you well attended

Incredibly the WiFi although available is not free and priced at 8 pesos an hour.to discourage you from using it....the authorities are not to keen on your every day locals looking out the 'window' to see if the grass is really greener....or so i was led to believe. Once you go cold turkey it is quite refreshing......

The lifts: they can be a little frustrating and they can seem moody at times but they work fine once you learn to slow down...they need updating and air conditioning fitted at the very least, I reckon if the hotel manager had to spend any time in there you would get agreement on anything lol!

We have been to a lot of places in the world with beaches great good and bad....this is up there with great, beautiful crystal clear water and a beach you are not hassled on...lovely.

HUGE TIP take both US and European adapters with you you will find sockets in the room for both (if you forget to take any or enough you will not get one in the hotel shops or downtown...believe me i know.....

So this really was getting away from it all and we loved it...well done Blau and thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level Ocean view room.The best will be rooms with 28, 30, 32 (ie 1228 or 1030 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have recently visited Blau Varadero for the second successive year. We love this place, a lot of that is to do with the people we have met here!
Good points -
Bars - The bars are great, well stocked, fabulous choice & great service. You don't have to lift a finger, you will be waited on hand & foot if you choose
Beach - Stunning, everything you dream of, white powder sand, crystal blue sea, well kept & water sports on hand if wanted
Gardens - superb, well maintained, there are always people ensuring things are well tended & looked after
Evening entertainment - Great shows with some super talented dancers (please see notes for improvement too)
Staff - especially bar & restaurant staff are fabulous & as returning guests we were treated like royalty by some of our Cuban friends - special mentions to ORLANDO in the restaurant & GELSYS in the Lobby Bar!!
Public areas - Bars, reception etc are all stunning & very impressive
Areas for improvement -
Rooms - these are getting a little tired, however they are clean & no major issues, pillows are poor
Food - Always a topic for discussion in Cuba! There is a large choice, however, Cuban cuisine is a little bland, you will need to season your food! Also, especially at lunchtime, birds & flies are a constant issue around the buffet!
Pool area - The pool area is huge & looks stunning! There are plenty of sun beds however, typically you have to be an early riser to get a good spot! The pool has lost a lot of tiles in places & is in need of repair, all my family got cuts/scrapes on their feet. Also, a few of the beds need a serious jet wash!
Entertainment team - I have to say that the male members of the entertainment team far excel over the females! Special mentions to Otto, Orlando, Michael, Luis & the very talented Danielle!! They were all great & also always had a hello & a smile & were great with our kids. Sadly, the same can not be said for the girls. Whilst there is no doubt they are talented dancers their attitude is one of studied indifference!! Not good for staff who are there to entertain us, the majority of the time, they struggled to say hello!
All in all, we love Cuba, we love the Cuban people & have created some fabulous memories at Blau. We appreciate that this is a wonderful hotel & would not stay anywhere else in Varadero, however, with certain tweaks this hotel could be 5*****!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from an 11 night stay at the Blau. Most of the reviews on this site honestly reflect the hotel, on the subject of food, I would agree and disagree, the food is standard and sometimes repetitive but this reflects the culture you are in and may not always suit your individual taste, go with it and try new things!!. Be wary of holiday tummy I reiterate holiday tummy this is not a reflection of the cleanliness of the hotel, all of us got pains and an upset tummy that lasted a day just make sure you take appropriate medication and you will be fine. Don't buy bottled water at the hotel it is £1.50 for a litre bottle and if you drink a lot of water it adds up, get it from Varadero for half the price. We had rain and overcast days, this is rainy season so if you don't want rain avoid the rainy season!!. The pool gets really busy and is quite noisy with the entertainment team so if you prefer quiet go to the beach is very relaxing there. The entertainment at night was excellent some of it was that good it could be on the west end the entertainment staff are amazing. You can't by lilos or bats and balls so take your own. Look out for Denzel Washington lookalike the coolest man on the planet, I think he was in charge of food and beverage, he is everywhere and really makes sure that you are looked after and the staff are all working hard. Overall a fantastic hotel, but do not go to Cuba without a visit to Havana, we stayed at the Melia Habana with a fantastic pool for lazing about in the afternoons after sightseeing. Havana will be the highlight of your holiday, it will take your heart and you will want to return. Make sure you go to see the Buena vista social club play their music from the fifties, £30 pounds gets you dinner three drinks and you can dance the night away to their smooth salsa tunes and watch the amazing salsa dancers. Overall a magical holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor no need for lifts and just a stones throw from a gin and tonic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koksijde, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I went there with my boyfriend(both 21 years old) the last week of june and the first week of jul. Beautifull hotel and beach!! Good drinks and verry good waiters when you give them a tip! The only thing that was not so good was the food.. breakfast was excellent but lunch and dinner always the same. Blau is a good 4 star hotel but not more than that. After all we had a great holliday! Thank you Blau

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lien g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just back from two week stay with my husband, three kids and girlfriend,boyfriend and friend(all my clan for my 50th!) .All 8 of us agreed that there was absolutely nothing we could find fault with! The food in the buffet restaurant was great.Plenty of variety and always welcomed into the restaurant with a smile! A la Carte restaurants were a lovely treat ,especially Palma Real where the relaxing ambience along with the food and service made for a perfect ending to a fun packed day.
Now....about the fun! I cant praise the animation team enough! Every day was a new experience. Their enthusiasm is endless and I found myself dancing like Shakira within 24 hrs of arrival.Thanks to 'Otto' and his great team. Friday afternoon is Cuban party day where a slow cooked hog is brought poolside with a lovely salad and fresh coconuts to enjoy while the live band and a fantastic dance troupe perform...brilliant! Saturday night there is an aqua ballet show in the pool.(cirque de soleil style) which was really impressive!
Rooms are really spacious and air con is great, every corner of the hotel is spotlessly clean and the gardeners and maintenance staff work like a well oiled machine.
Trips into Varadero in the 1950's American cars are a must as is a meal at 'El Rancho'(fillet steak and lobster special is amazing). We followed our meal there with a walk across the road to the'Beatles bar'. A live band plays all kinds of rock music there (lead singer is fascinating!!!)
We went to Havana on the day trip which was well worth the money, especially the cigar factory which was an eye opener!
Highlight of the holiday was a fishing trip which can be booked through your rep or hotel. The captain will dive for lobster for fifteen pesos then cook them on board for lunch...heaven!
I would highly recommend the Blau to anyone, any age group,couples,families or even single travelers. Super friendly staff and excellent location.Thank you Blau for a very special holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, room 412, which was perfect, no need to use lifts and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews on here, therefore we were a bit disappointed, considering it was one of the more expensive hotels in Varadero.
We were upgrade to a seaview room on the nine floor, and the view from the balcony was just amazing, but the room itself was very basic and dated. The washrooms in the public area had a strong smell of urine. The hotel on the whole needs updating and a good clean.
The lobby bar is beautiful with plenty of seating and a very welcome breezes, great place to escape the afternoon heat.
Food on the whole was just ok, alway something to eat.
But the best thing about this hotel was the beach, it's just gorgeous, white sand and blue warm water even at 6:30 in the morning!

Would we go back? Maybe not, but we did enjoy our time in Cuba.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.6 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,230 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,914 reviews
2.5 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba

Property: Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Address: Carretera de Las Morlas | KM 15, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Varadero
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#5 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just on the shore of the magnificent and famous Varadero beach, the Hotel consist of a 13 floor modern building, completely new.Ideal for those who want to enjoy the beauty and the atmosphere of the most well known beach of Cuba, with the best facilities and a wide list of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Hotel Varadero
Blau Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing