We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time of our life!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Blau Varadero from May 12th to May 19, 2013. The weather was great for us all week and it didn't rain once.

Accommodations:
Our bed was very comfortable. They gave us a king bed with 4 pillows! A couple others in our party ended up with very hard beds but we were lucky and had no complaints. The plugs are both European and North American plugs so we didn't need a travel adapter. Just make sure your electronics support dual voltage (straightener, curler, phone charger, iPod, camcorder). The ocean/pool view is much better than from the road. Although you won't spend too much time in your room, it's still nice to wake up to this so I would request it upon check in. There is no tea in your room and the coffee is decaf so if you like your caffeine, bring your own! There is good coffee available at pool bar which is only a short walk away and is served with delicious frothy milk!

Tipping:
We went by what we read online and received great service from the following: We gave a peso to our maid each day, a peso to our bartender for every few drinks, and sometimes a peso after dinner.

Beach:
Although I normally prefer a pool, the beach was like bath water, you could see everything crystal clear and there were no crabs, jelly fish or seaweed like we have in Eastern Canada so we spent most of the time at the beach!

Entertainment:
There are games throughout the day such as darts, archery, aqua jam (pool aerobics), and there is entertainment at night which involves dancing and sometimes lip syncing. Very entertaining!

Guests:
There were like 42 people from Canada that were very cool, were lots of fun and had a great time. We were part of that group! Thanks Blau Varadero for making this the best experience ever!!

Visiting the City:
You can take a bus around Varadero for 5 pesos for the whole day (equivalent to about $5 Canadian as of May 2013). We bought souvenirs in Varadero and the city was very safe but if you just need to buy a few things, the resort had a table of souvenirs set up from about 8-10pm near the lobby bar each evening. These are pretty much the same things you can buy in town for pretty much the same price.

Food:
It wasn't awesome but t was fine but after a week, I was happy to eat burger and fries!

What I missed on the trip:
Heinz ketchup! They have fries and homemade ketchup but its not the same.
Maple syrup. They have honey, chocolate and strawberry sauce to put on creeps/pancakes.
Internet. There is no wi-fi and the Internet is ridiculously slow and expensive to use one of their 2 computers. Makes you really relax though so was happy!
Cream for my coffee

What I miss after the trip:
O'Neill, out bartender
The heat
The drinks (the Blau Varadero and the Mojito's)
The beach
Everything! I loved my stay at Blau Varadero. I want to go back!

Room Tip: Ensure you get a pool/beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Krista_PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,704 - 2,710 of 6,991 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from 2 fab weeks at the Blau!

Rooms - lots of room, we had 2 double beds which were very comfy, garden view, we were on the 6th floor, fridge stocked up daily. The maid was very nice, she left us some lovely towel art and sometimes little notes as we left her some gifts. Bathroom was nice and big.

Lifts - could be a little slow as there was only 4 and 1 of them kept breaking but it wasn't a big deal!!

People - staff were all very friendly, always smiling and asking how we were. One of our fav entertainers Eilyn, she spent lots of time talking to us and getting us involved in various activities.

Entertainment - lots of activities to get involved with during the day, aqua gym, darts, shuffle board, shooting, volley ball, water polo, hoop throwing, you could win bottles of rum.
On a night time we took part in the music quiz which was a good laugh, the live music that played every night was great and the shows were also very good with excellent dancers.

Pool - half of the pool was shut while we were here as they are fixing the tiles, there was a little bit of noise some days but it wasn't a huge problem.

Food - i am a very fussy eater but the food here was nice, there was always something i liked, i loved the pizza station - you could make your own pizza and they cooked it straight away for you. At breakfast you could select various fruit and make your own smoothie. At the beach bar you could get some lovely toasties.

Mexican - the first time we went for the mexican it was a set menu and they brought out 5 dishes some were nice however some weren't very nice, the second time we were able to pick what we wanted which was better.

Palma real - this was a nice change from the regular buffet and you could choose some lovely food.

Beach - lovely beach just over the bridge, white soft sand and lush turquoise water which was very warm.

We got the open top bus into varadero which was only 5 each and you could use it all day long, the taxi's were also good.

We did the all day trip to Havana with the tropicana show at the night time, this was a very long day, we left at 8am and didn't return til 2.30am the next morn i am glad i visited Havana but i don't think i would return!

Overall we had a great holiday and would defo recommend to others :D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After spending a week in a hotel from hell in Havana, this was pure paradise. I also believe it was one of the best All-inclusive hotels I have stayed in. (4 in Cuba and many in Mexico and Dominican republic) As soon as you walk in to the lobby it is wonderful. Hanging vines, glass elevators, big couches glass lobby bar.
Ask for 2 room keys. They give you one but you need one to keep the air conditioning and power going. So get another so your room stays cool. The safe is included. Nice bonus.
We got ocean view on the 11th floor and dead center. Couldn't beat it! 3 double beds and a bidet! There were 2 of us!
There is a coffee maker in your room and 2 tea bags. They don't supply coffee, so bring some or buy some. We took little decaf packs from the buffet and just used the coffee maker to get the water hot.
They give you a fridge and 2 cokes and 2 beers and 1 1/2 litre of water a day. (or whatever you use up)
You have 3 English TV channels. CNN, Montreal CNN and a movie channel. Lots of Chinese, and Europe stations too (subtitled in spanish and aired in whatever language it was)
Booze - lots of booze, lots of slushy drinks, lots of local drinks. Premium liquor available. My husband had lots of the Napolean brandy each night. You have to specify but it's there.
In the PM go to the piano bar behind the lobby. It is quieter, and has a nice evening breeze going through it.
If not bring bug repellant and the bugs start to come in as the sun goes down and in the lobby bar there is lights and trees. Just saying. (It was rainy season so take this with stride)
The only air conditioned place is the breakfast/dinner buffet and one of the ala carte restaurants. The rest relies on breezes.
People grumble about the elevators. There are 2 glass ones on each side. They hold about 6 people. They are slow but that is because they are busy. Especially in AM and PM supper times. They have no AC so they get pretty stuffy and hot fast. Sometimes faster to use the stairs but if you are on the 11th floor it too gets hot!!
Food - I would stick to buffets! No complaints at all. AC and so many choices you can't decide.
ala carte. Las Palmas is AC and the best. Lots of choices, fancy nice. Men can NOT wear shorts! They sent 2 back to change. Get to use once a week.
The other was too hot and muggy for us. It is located in the lunch buffet and set up better. Still ok but we didn't go back the 2nd time. Your can have 2 times in a week.
Pool was great - 1/2 closed due to re-tiling but so big it didn't matter.
Beach - great! Sandy and warm and lots of chairs. Except by 8 all the cabana's are reserved so you have to go save a spot then go for breakfast! I hate that but it's a fact of life!
No point in bringing snorkling stuff. No fish just sand.
A few Non hotel notes:
The hotel is about 15 km's along the road. You can take the hop on bus for 5 CUC's all day. It goes into Varadero every 1/2 hour or so. Don't bother going the opposite way as it just goes around the hotels and picks people up. You can for the ride but that's all there is that way.
The country is opening up a bit. (good for them, not so much for a tourist) It is becoming a bit like Mexico. People on the beach selling shirts and things. More people on the street calling you for things. It's certainly changing.
Get Money at the airport. Canadian money is less than theirs! Ridiculous. We bought at 99 sold at 94! Things are still cheaper though so you can't complain. 5 bucks for a litre of vodka and 4 bucks for a litre of rum!! If you smoke (I don't) but they are 60 cents a pack!! Can't get that here! T-shirt at the airport 15 bucks but 25 at hotel (but "if you buy tonight 22~ haha)
I took no tours as I have been there twice before and just stayed in Havana for a week.
All in all - wonderful hotel, wonderful beach, and

Room Tip: We paid for ocean view and got 11th floor right in the center! Couldn't beat it! I also think a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spend two weeks in Cuba. We have chosen this hotel coz of excellent review. We were not disappointed. Everything was perfect. Our room was spacious and very clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We had our favourites who took care about us all the time:) we would recommend this hotel. Perfect location, nice and clean rooms but mainly because of people who mad our stay memorable. People are very nice, friendly and helpful there:)
Also there is a lot of activities to do there. Our recommendation would be scuba diving with Alejandro from barracuda centre!
We would like to say hi to all people who were flying from Gatwick on 9th of May:)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just wanted to clearify on the comment below of the "20 young Canadians". I was one of them and I'm 31 years old. I apologize of you felt our group may have been having a little too much fun for your liking. Isn't that what a bar is for?
We went down in a large group for a wedding and had an amazing time. We got to know the staff, played some sports and did some excursions. The pool was half closed, but it was huge and I'm kind of thankful they do clean it;)
The food buffets had lots to offer and a hamburger/hot dog stand was there all day. The shows at night were fantastic and the staff were friendly. We enjoyed our bartender "O'Neill".
Yes, we did have fun and because we had a large group may have been loud at times, but we are all respectable and I don't believe calling us down is the best way to go. Many you should have tried some more of the great signature drinks and smiled more:)
Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilchickie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I got married here on May 16th! We had a group of 42 come along with us all from Canada and we had a blast. I'm actaully thinking we may have been mentioned in an earlier post.... something about being rowdy young canadians and so on... haha. I can say that we did have a great time and met a lot of people who loved seeing us around, so I'm thinking that maybe the person who was referring to the young rowdy canadians just has a bitter life... who knows! Either way, it was amazing. We were pushed up to an ocean view on the 12th floor as we were the bride and groom and the view was breath-taking.

I must say that the staff must be trained with face recognition or something because they all remembered our faces. They would always be asking about when the wedding was and so on and had nothing but nice things to say to us. We were treated very nicely by all bar staff as well... always rushing to get our drinks. O'Neil was our favorite bar tender and always willing to make us our group's signature drink - Mojito! If you see this guy give him a fist bump for me!

The beach was amazing and we spent most of our swimming time down there! The pool was only half full due to maintenance, but we didn't care. Just because we're 'rowdy canadians' doesn't mean we can't rationalize and understand that maintenance has to take place. I look at some of these reviews about this resort and I actually feel bad for the people that leave them. They really must have miserable lives if they see this place that way....

We would go back in a second... the whole group of us!! We kept the party going at the beach bar every night, sometimes until 4am. Keep in mind, we had older relatives, like my parents, aunts and uncles who stayed out with us as well. The resort was so relaxing that even our parents felt the need to let loose! And for those people complaining about noise, why go on vacation if you're going to go to bed at 9pm!

The wedding went smoothly! The weather was perfect and the staff met our simple demands. Afterwards we ate at the international restaurant for our reception and they had set up the tables appropriately for our large wedding party without us even asking! We then took it down to the beach bar where they let us play our own music for first dance and so on.

I just want to say that we had the time of our lives and it was all because of the blau! Don't listen to some of these reviews on here as they probably are the types of people going in looking for something to complain about!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Brodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. Great location on the beach, excellent beach and sea. Hotel very clean and staff were very friendly. All inclusive buffet was good by Cuban standards. A good choice if all you want to do is relax as there is little to do or sea nearby.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room on a high floor for the best views over the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_H503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.9 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#15 of 64 in Varadero
455 reviews
5.4 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
7,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,668 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
6,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba

Address: Crta. de Las Morlas, km 15, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#5 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $173 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just on the shore of the magnificent and famous Varadero Beach, the hotel consists of a 13 floor modern building, completely new. Ideal for those who want to enjoy the beauty and the atmosphere of the most well known beach of Cuba, with the best facilities and a wide list of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Hotel Varadero
Blau Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing