We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blau Marina Varadero” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blau Marina Varadero Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blau Marina Varadero Resort
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
BRANDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blau Marina Varadero”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed two weeks at this resort during our first trip to Cuba. Being novice travelers we truly didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised and had a great experience staying at the resort. The staff were very friendly and provided great service. We stayed in Block 18. Our maid kept our room immaculate throughout our stay. The staff at the quiet pool were wonderful. The bartender, Ronaldo, provided prompt service and made great bevvies to keep us cool and hydrated. Dennis, the pool maintenance staff, was friendly and provided us with valuable travel information for the area. He arranged for a friend of his to pick us up on valentines day and take us on a memorable trip of the Cuban countryside, to the Bay of Pigs for snorkeling as well as to Alexis restaurant, located in the village of Papites for the best grilled lobster lunch. Our favorite place to dine at the resort was the lighthouse, where you can get a pizza or salad bar lunch...the service is a little slow, however what a great place to wait....the buffet food was way better than we expected...At breakfast we sat in Shaylin's section where she provided us with prompt, cheerful service every morning....I would recommend this resort to first time travelers to cuba. Overall we were very pleased with the experience.

Room Tip: Block 18 is a great location. Reasonable distance between two pools, short walk to the beach and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula G, Director General at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind post. Staff is our greatest value and we appreciate your comments that we will pass to the named ones.
We would like to count on your visit in a soon future.
Best Regards
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    691
    518
    254
    222
See reviews for
753
776
90
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spent one week with our two teenage sons and found the resort to be average at best. Check in service was good, but did receive joining rooms as requested when booking. In fact our boys were across the hall and down from us. Our room was very damp and bedding and pillows smelt like taco chips. Towels where damp and seemed like there were not changed upon our arrival.
We requested another room the following day and after a length and long process we were given a joining rooms. Room was ok miss screen on patio door and holes in screen on the other. One room patio door did not lock well and this being on the main floor left us uncomfortable. My husband did offer a new hat to one of the staff that helped us with our beach chairs and he looked disappointed that we did not give him a cash tip!
Cons: limited towels, not exchanged unless asked, no water or drinks in fridge for the last two days of trip, very long walk to and from main area, service quality directly affected by how much you tip. Drinks for kids AWFUL!!! Adult drinks AWFUL!!!!!. No place for snacks for teenagers unless you buy 4.50 can of Pringles. Food so, so but that's Cuba. Money exchange at hotel very poor.
Pros: Nice pool, beautiful beaches, friendly people
TIPS: bring towels, bug spray, snacks, a tip money for better service
Overall we love Cuba, our sons have a new appreciation for life here at home and that was our goal. Havanna is an eye opener for anyone. Would go back to Cuba, just not this resort!

Room Tip: Blocks 19 plus are a long distance from main lobby and seem to be worse when is comes to mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula G, Director General at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
Adjoining rooms is on request and being fully booked we were not able to provide you this until the day after your arrival.
Regarding your comments about quality of drinks we have a wide selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks in every bar, it is obvious that you did not liked them but they are not awful for the rest of our guests.
We have snacks (hot dog, hamburguers, sanwiches) served at Grill by pool n1 from 11 to 6pm and also after dinner from 10pm we have this service available till 6am.
Tips are wellcome for the staff but only if the service has exceeded your expectations which was not your case.
We apologize for all the inconveninces suffered and would have liked to have the chance to meet while in the resort.

Best Regards
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went to Blau Marina Varadero from Februari 19-26, glad to escape the cold for a week,and it was great!
It was our third time visiting Cuba,first time in Varadero! We were traveling with our family of 6.
The reason why we came to this part of Cuba was that we wanted to go to Havana for a day.
First of all when we arrived at the airport, luggage came fast and we were of to the bus. The drive to the resort went smoothly,a short 45 minutes.
Check in at the Blau Marina was efficient , Ruden was the one who helped us and he was very friendly!
The bellboy helped us with our luggage and in the golf cart we went. Rooms were right next to eachother, 1615-1617. We loved this building because the ocean is right next to it!
And it's only a few steps from the quiet pool, which is where we spent most of our days!
The only downside was that it was close to the disco,so could be a little noisy at night.
Also slamming doors from people returning from their night out could be a nuisance sometimes, believe me,they were loud!
But other then that we loved this building. Great king size bed!

Food: we absolutely don't understand why people complain about the food.
We love it. There's plenty to choose from and especially the grilling stations are excellent! Fresh fish,yum! The kids loved the pasta station.
At the buffet restaurant our waitress was Yillian,she is such a sweetheart and very attentive to your needs! We miss her already.
We ate at the a la carte restaurants too,Italian was ok,the salmon was great though, Cuban BBQ,we didn't like so much,but maybe that's just us. The seafood restaurant we liked a lot!! It had a great selection,and a very good buffet with plenty to choose from! Delicious!
The lighthouse has a great offering of lunch too! We ate there three times and the pizza was very good,they have a salad bar as well,which was great.

The lobby is a great place to hang out!
The waiters are very nice and always have a smile for you and remember what you like to drink!
We watched one show at the theatre,it was very nice,I think it was called Acrobatic night.

We booked a private tour at the hotel,to go to Havana!
It was fantastic,and I would recommend it to everyone!!
We went in a yellow taxi bus, van type of car. Our driver was Hishkis, and our tour guide was Aida.
They made sure we had an awesome expirience . Aida was very knowledgeable and she told us a lot about Havana and Cuba,also a lot of historic facts. The driver was very friendly and a nice,calm driver.
We had a great day!! If you have the chance,I would say,go for it!! You won't regret it,this is in my expirience the best way to explore Havana!!

The other outing we did,was go on the hop on hop of bus.
It was fun to sit on top of the double decker bus!
The market in Varadero was nice to visit as well.

Overall this was a lovely holiday for our family!
We love Cuba! Especially the people and we would return in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Block 16 is very nice and close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarinS435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula G, Director General at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other future travelers.
We are happy to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your positive comments.
do not hesitate on contact us if you ever decide to come back!

best regards
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I travelled with a group of five, and truly enjoyed our stay at Blau Marina. I read many reviews prior to booking and arriving, and can appreciate everyone’s opinions. Here is my two cents:

SERVICE: was most commendable!! Don’t get me wrong- there are bad apples in every bunch, but as guests who are able to make choices and speak, if you don’t like your server for a meal, simply do not return to their section. I try very hard not to let those bad apples over-shadow the work ethic and efforts of the amazing staff. We have to remain cognizant that many resort employees are on contract for half the year (due to tourist numbers), and you can very clearly differentiate between those who take pride in their jobs and those who fall short. Keep in mind that majority of the staff works a minimum of eight hours, upwards to 12 hours DAILY, not to mention the minimum one hour bus ride to/from work. I challenge anyone to do their job with a permanent smile while serving sometimes challenging, unruly, and unreasonable guests. HUGE shout outs to Yenia (housekeeper for building 16), Yilian (breakfast and lunch server), Fernando (dinner and late night server), Maykel (bartender for lobby and disco who makes the most delicious mojitos), Jorge Luis (omelette chef, singer, and props master), Roger (lobby bar cappuccino master), Diago (lobby bar bartender), Juan Miguel (lobby bar steward), and Laura (main desk), Calixto (pronounced Calysto- grounds man and fresh coconut provider), Rafael (cabana man on beach closest to lighthouse), and a pasta man whose name I cannot recall right now. Clearly, many GREAT options.

FOOD: I don’t want to be too repetitive in reminding folks that this is Cuba. If you are seeking a culinary experience, I would highly recommend downtown Toronto in lieu of Cuba. Not one person in our group of five left the table hungry. In fact, we left FULL at every meal. There is enough variety that you learn quickly what you like and what to avoid. Be mindful of buffet, lighthouse, and grill hours. We also booked the permitted three ale carts. Spanish one was simply scrumptious!! Seafood was delicious!! Cuban was lacking. I would highly recommend omelettes for breakfast, and rum bananas for dinner desert.

BEACH: as previously stated, the lighthouse beach was literally right outside our door. This is where we spent 90% of our vacation. The main beach has music, entertainment, a net, and also a cloud of people. We preferred to stay at the beach by the lighthouse as we were always guaranteed chairs by Rafael, and played our own music with a portable speaker. It truly felt like ‘our’ beach throughout our entire stay.

ENTERTAINMENT: we watched the Circus show and Michael Jackson show which were by far the best two shows. Also caught the Aqua, Caribbean, and Cuban show. The Beach Party was quite entertaining. Kudos to Yeo and Tomas who always engaged guests and kept the party pumping.

HOTEL: just like every building around the world, time and weather conditions eventually takes a toll. Also, keep in mind all resources are not readily available. The staff do the best they can with what is available to them. Instead of harping on staff not keeping the buildings looking brand new, let’s talk to Castro. That being said, the grounds are always kept neat and tidy, and we had no issues with our housekeeper ensuring our room stayed clean. There also shouldn’t be any complaints about towels- like really, who washes their towels at home daily anyways?? The only complaint I had to look to find here was bathrooms. There is only one or two working in each bathroom. Let’s remember that you are on vacation, and therefore where are you in a rush to go?? Extend some patience and appreciate the cleanliness of the bathrooms. Or, in an emergency, let’s be honest- the ocean is right there.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and would return simply based on the amazing and uber friendly staff that is present!!

Room Tip: Building 16 and 17 are closest to the best beach (NOT the main beach). Be reasonable, and if unhapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toe-Knee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula G, Director General at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

It makes us very happy to know that your stay has exceeded your expectations and we are grateful for your honest review.
your greetings will be passed to the named persons and for us is very important that their had made you feel at home during your stay.
Thank you for your post and many greetings from the Blau Marina team!
We would be pleased to receive you again in the future.

Best Regards
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from Blau Marina last night! It was sad to leave Cuba behind, but we left with a ton of memories and new friends - we will definitely be back! Travelled in a group of 5 friends and booked our trip with Nolitours. All but one of us had been to Cuba, so we knew what to expect in terms of food, drinks, beautiful beaches, and friendly people, and the Blau Marina definitely met, if not exceeded, some of our expectations!

ROOM
Upon request, our group received 2 rooms in Block 16 on the first floor. I stayed in a room of 3. Since the room was on the first floor, it did smell a bit moldy. There was also no screen door (we slept with some mosquitoes that first night). When we approached the front desk staff, they offered us a new room in Block 17 with an ocean view on the 2nd floor - which wasn't available until the next day - but we gladly accepted it. BEAUTIFUL view! The rooms are all decorated in an ocean/coastal theme. The cot was rock hard but we improvised and put our 2 blankets under the sheets for extra cushioning. Room was cleaned daily by our maid Yenia. One day we forgot to close our safe and we found a note on our front door which stated that she could not clean the room because our safe was unlocked. We appreciated this very much and after closing it, she cleaned our room in the late afternoon. Bathroom was somewhat outdated but it added to the charm of the room... and quite frankly we didn't spend much time in the room anyway! Naps on the beach were our favourite past time.

FOOD
If I were to say that anyone in our group went hungry, it would be a huge lie. We visited the buffet for breakfast daily, and couldn't wait to line up for fresh omelettes made by Jorge Luis, always accompanied by a song and props. What a pleasure! We stuck to what we knew was guaranteed goodness. Other breakfast favourites included freshly made crepes, delicious fruits like pineapple, papaya, and bananas, yummy cream cheese, and especially the fresh croissants made with lots of butter! Mmmmm... We often ate pizza for lunch at the lighthouse, which was delicious. Dinner at the buffet was also fantastic. All of us waited in line for fresh fish and meat (a bit tough, so fish was preferred) as well as pasta. AMAZING! The grilled veggies and rosemary potatoes were a hit. Other favourites included spanish rice, lamb, and rabbit; the salad bar was amazing and always included a great selection of fresh veggies - even lettuce! We did not go one day without visiting the BANANAS FLAMBE station. Melt-in-your-mouth goodness, with extra rum please! Even following our a-la-carte dinners we came to the buffet for a banana dessert. The Spanish Tapas restaurant was our favourite - devine!
We heard people complaining about the pasta being gross or about finding bones in chicken tacos - these people should have stayed home or stuffed their faces with the freshly baked bread because their opinions were ridiculous. I'm sorry, but for Cuban standards, the food was above average and in some cases - like the fresh fish and bananas flambe - INCREDIBLE! There is something for everyone.

BEACH
We knew the beaches of Varadero were gorgeous, but because the B.M. is located at the end of the peninsula, we were so very lucky to experience the beaches with far less people and with much more peace and tranquility.
Since our rooms were located by the lighthouse, we visited the beach there. On the first morning, we went to save chairs and were greeted by Rafael, who offered to place his things on our chairs since we did not have beach towels yet. Every day after that, we returned to our beach, where Rafael would spot us coming up the hill and immediately arrange 5 beach chairs in our usual spot. We got to know this man and formed a friendship with him. He did his job with pride and never once asked for anything. Rafael works hard for only 4-5 months of the year during the busy season. I hope everyone who visits the Blau Marina gets the pleasure of meeting Rafael on this section of the beach. Also, try the free non-motorized sports like the kayak and pedal boat - fun times!
Not once did we feel the need to visit the pools because the beach was so amazing.

LOCATION
The Blau Marina is the last resort on the peninsula, everyone knows that when booking. We were lucky because all of the passengers on our bus were going to the same resort - so we had a quick trip to the airport. Anyone who complains about the location is completely crazy! The location is so perfect because we have access to the most beautiful beach!

STAFF
The wonderful people we had the pleasure of meeting at the Blau Marina and the friendships we formed is what took our trip experience to the next level.
Not only do the staff do their jobs with the utmost pride, they are professional, welcoming, and are genuinely grateful to all of the tourists. I must be honest and mention that 2 staff members were straightforward and asked us for some of our belongings, however, we declined to give to those who asked and instead, gladly gave to those who didn't. We definitely made an effort to tip at every meal and at the bars.
We were so fortunate to have made connections with some of the staff, who made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Yillian was our go-to server at the main buffet during breakfast and lunch... very sweet and doting. During dinner at the buffet, we were blown away by Fernando. If Fernando was to open up his own restaurant in Canada, he would make it big. I can't say enough about his professionalism and attention to detail. Not once did he walk past our table without checking on us to see if everything was ok or if we needed more drinks, etc. Not only that, he did it all with a sense of humour and a smile on his face. This man truly exemplifies the genuine kindness and hardworking nature of the Cuban people.

BARS
Well, we definitely had a lot of experience with drinks! Drink of the week = Mojitos! Miychel at the Lobby Bar was a Mojito expert... not to mention a wonderful person! All of the bartenders were great, hardworking, energizer bunnies... I don't know how they do it without going crazy! The lobby bar was especially crazy during the breakfast cappucino rush and in the evenings. There were no beach bars, but the theater bar was not far from the main beach, and the lighthouse bar had no problem serving us while we were enjoying the quieter section of the beach. At the end of the day, we couldn't complain because we definitely needed a longer walk to the bar to work off the extra calories we were consuming all week!
Cappuccinos made by Roger were a must, daily! And the coconut rum mixed with pineapple juice - or on its own - is to die for!

ENTERTAINMENT
Good variety of shows... We watched the entertainment on most nights. Our favourites included the Magic Show and Michael Jackson. The aqua ballet was something different and beautiful to see. The theatre was usually jam-packed and pretty hot so we enjoyed the shows from the back of the theatre - close to the bar ;) Watching the live bands in the lobby was a great experience! Now that is some true talent! The animation team did an awesome job at engaging guests and informing us of scheduled events. Their presence was noticed around the hotel, either greeting guests at the buffet or making appearances at the nightly disco and dancing with all of us. We went to the disco almost every night and it was definitely a good time! They had a good selection of music ... not comparable to Toronto clubs but they do the best with what they've got. Miychel and Roberto provided drinks at the disco and dancing was always fun!

EXCURSIONS
We took the hop on/hop off bus to Varadero for 5cucs one day and had an enjoyable time exploring the town and purchasing cigars, but we definitely missed our beach. We had all tried excursions in the past and this time wanted to make the most out of our time on the beach. It was paradise.
Nolitours offered similar tours as the other companies, such as the catamaran, dolphin swimming, Havana day/night tours, etc.


All in all, we had a truly unforgettable experience... made even better by the people we had the pleasure of meeting.

Room Tip: The resort is long but all of the blocks have a very short walk to the beach. Blocks 16 and 17 are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JayCee813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula G, Director General at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such detailed post about your stay. Knowing that you have enjoyed your holidays is the best gift for us and what encourages us to improve day by day.
Make sure we will pass your greetings to all the named people.
Please let us know if you ever decide to come back ,we would be honoured!!!
THANK YOU AGAIN !!!

With my Best Regards
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Okay just returned from 1 week at the Blau Marina.
This was our 3rd trip to Varadero,,and this was by far the best.. so why do i say average but Great.
Firstly lets call a spade a spade CUBA is a very poor country with limited access to the things we take for granted everyday.......things like electrical tape...fishing rods and supplies...simple tools and even things like PEPSI and Clamato juice are scarce if not impossible to find...
So why go to Cuba 5 times and Varadero 3 of those 5 times....and why Great..

The PEOPLE .............................the people make the difference,, the service was amazing! The best we have had anywhere in Cuba!

The Lobby bar, when not completely over run with us Canuck's watching our Men's Hockey team bring home Olympic GOLD,....... had wonderful service, the male waiters would stop us from walking to the bar ask us to have a seat and promptly bring us drinks. The waitress' were not quite to the service level of the men but very good.

The mens washroom beside the Lobby Bar was ALWAYS SPOTLESSLY Clean! I mean CLEAN! Flowers in the sinks, flowers on the counters the smell of cleaning solution was always in the air,, I regret not getting the Ladies name but if she was singe and I wasn't married,, I'd bring her home wow what a great job!!!

The servers in the Buffet, again the best!!
The buffet needs fresh pork chops and chicken breast....... I have been to many resorts never has there not been a grill to cook fresh Chicken and Pork!! They did have fresh steak and fish grill. Fish was great, steak was tasty but Cuban steak is tuff!!It did get pretty BLAH after a the first 3 or 4 days.......
They could use with some theme nights to change it up a bit......I think this would make a huge difference!! But was clean and hot..

I, again, regret not getting his name but there was a cook there every morning His cook station was to the far right as you walked in and I am not sure but may be the happiest person on the planet! If his attitude could be bottled and sold he would give Bill Gates a run for wealth! Every morning........ to EVERY guest a huge smile and he would bump your fist and sing to you as you ordered... we loved him.. my wife perhaps more than I...LMAO! but he could sing and cook..

We did go into Varadero for a steak supper twice,, try Labaracoa?? AWESOME....also El Rancho great service amazing food and the best overall dinning experience.. top that off with an evening drive back to our resort in a 59 Cadillac Convertible and give thanks.. it doesn't get much better!!
The pool bar again service second to none!!

Our chambermaid was Evelyn, okay I did remember one name!!
Every day a new surprise for us in her bed and towel creations.. a hand written note in far better English than my Spanish would have been thanking us for the trinkets..
I am an avid fisherman and brought some fishing supplies and a rod and reel to give away as gifts.. We left a new dollar store reel and some hooks and line and such on the pillow for her one morning and upon coming back to our room was a lovely note thanking us and telling us she and her husband loved fishing and how much she truly appreciated the gifts...She actually stopped me in the hall to personally thank me the next time I saw her...........

Other than adding theme nights and some fresh pork chops and chicken to the grill the resort really needs a beach bar! A short walk and I mean a short walk from the beach to the lobby and there is a full service bar. But a beach should have a beach bar!!!
When you walk in the front entrance you can throw a stone out the other side and hit the beach......amazing proximity to the beach......... the beach staff again AWESOME!!!!!!!!!


Another negative would be that they are building new condo's directly across the street and they work until 2:30AM every day but Sunday!! Not something this resort can control,, nor is it something the Brand new Melia Marina beside the construction site could control either....but a negative that will go away very soon,, looks like almost done!!

One more thing to mention and it is a big negative........the ladies working in the little store in the Blau.. DO NOT BELONG THERE AT ALL.. terrible attitudes,, quite standoffish, almost like we were a huge bother to them...... NOT WHAT WE EXPERIENCED AT THE BLAU at all......


Dollar for Dollar it was a great value with great people!!
A little tweaking and this place could be in the top 4 or 5 in Varadero!

So to wrap it up average for what they have to work with,, Great for the service!
There was 8 in our group including 2 children 8 & 11..6 adults... I am know for complaining so take that into consideration while reading this...

Room Tip: Second floor 14 block right on top of the pools and seconds to the bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula G, Director General at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to drop your comments wich help us to improve.
As you said, the staff is our greatest value and for us it is very important to make you feel part of this family.
Despite some problems with the service we are happy to see that altogether your stay has met your expectations. Regarding the beach bar Im happy to tell you that we are carrying on the building of two: one in front of the theatre and the other in front of the lighthouse that will improve significantly the service offered.
As you explain, the people working in the shop does not belong to the hotel staff but nevertheless we will forward your complaint and we apologize for the inconveniences.
Again we really appreciate your opinion and look forward to have the chance to meet you again.

With Best Regards
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

IF....you want to spend your hard earned vacation time playing petty begging games with resort staff, then please, stay here......for pity's sake people, if you provide coffee makers & fridges in your rooms, then have the decency to stock them with the supplies required & advertised. If you cannot, then remove the appliances from the rooms. If you say you provide beach towels, then do so. If your "a la carte" menu says lobster for dinner, provide it for those who wish to dine there; do not hold out for a substantial bribe (truth) before it is offered. If you are offering roast pork from the grill, please make sure it is cooked before serving a plate of trichinosis to your guests.
IF your staff are to clean our rooms, perhaps a little less time could be spent on the cute towel animals so that more time is free for sweeping the tile floor, or cleaning the film you left on the mirrors & tables or actually cleaning the bathroom.
I've been told that this 4 star rated resort is less than 10 years old but it shows as considerably older as no basic maintenance is done on the rooms. We were a group of 6 adults travelling together so had 3 rooms in 3 different buildings across the 2km spread of the resort (because the front desk could not manage to put us all in any one of the over 20 buildings even though we were all cross-referenced by our travel agent) and every room had "problems"....two had no screens on their main level patio doors (great for mosquitos & personal safety!) the other had a screen with holes near the handle but the door didnt fit it in the track properly. Two had broken TVs, two had no beach towels for days & one had NO towels period. Two had empty fridges, none had coffee/filters (hence the begging games). Dressers had knobs which came off in your hand; covered garbage cans had only bare screws to use as a handles; lamps (if u had them) had torn shades.....general shabbiness all around.
The grounds were lovely; the stench of sewage not so much, especially after the occasional rain shower. One comes to Cuba for the sun & sand and we were not disappointed in that, although that end of Varadero's beaches were not as nice as others on the island.
The bus trips to the town of Varadero & Havana were fun (our Havana tour guide, Cemir, was well informed & personable) but I was surprised( a little naive perhaps) by the level of tourism, the sheer volume of bodies, in both towns.....felt like we were in the "NiagaraFalls" of the Caribbean!
Generally, the negatives in this trip stemmed from the petty politics & perceived greed at this resort. This was not our first trip to the beautiful island of Cuba, we understand the poverty etc etc, but this place was agressively demanding money for service.
Our SunWing rep, Barbarita, was terrific & did her best for us given the limitations of the staff who were always polite in their inefficiency. I would recommend the Varadero area but not, definitely not, this resort.

Room Tip: Building 11 is close to the main pool so probably great for young families, building 10 is at one fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SnowRoad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula G, Director General at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

After reading your review makes difficult to give an accurate response.
It is clear that you had a very bad experience in our resort and nothing will change your perception.
All I want to say is that we will take into account every detailed issue and I want to express our sinceres apologies for not having been able to fix things meanwhile you were here that would have been the correct way.
Is not easy to make everyone happy and as seen that was an example.

Again sorry.

With Best Regards
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
1225.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1241.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Marina Varadero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Marina Varadero Resort

Property: Blau Marina Varadero Resort
Address: Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blau Marina Varadero Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blau Marina Varadero Resort***** All Inclusive, is a luxurious hotel surrounded by beautiful gardens and unforgettable views that offers its clients superb service and comfortable environment. The 548 rooms and all the installations of 5 star All Inclusive hotel Blau Marina Varadero Resort***** offer the perfect combination for memorable family vacations. Blau Marina Varadero Resort***** offers its clients: Complete Twin rooms, Twins with Sea View and Suites All Inclusive package 6 Restaurants 6 Bars Daily and night animation 2 tennis courts 1 universal court Beach volleyball Non-motorized water sports (catamaran, snorkelling, windsurf) Fitness and aerobics rooms Parking 3 pools for adults 1 pools for children Playground Sport Club (library, billiard, ping pong...) Conference hall with capacity of 300 seats Business centre Souvenirs and boutique Wifi (Looby and meeting room. With charge) Blau Marina Varadero Resort***** ALL INCLUSIVE: Breakfast, lunch and dinner in Buffet restaurant Typical Cuban dinner once a week Selection of national and international drinks (top brands with extra cost) 2 tennis courts Courts reservation and necessary equipment 1 universal court Beach volleyball Petanca Non-motorized water sports (catamaran,water cycles, snorkelling, windsurf) Fitness and aerobics rooms Parking Access to all the shows in “La Senora de Atocha” every night Mini bar daily filled with 1 bottle of water, 2 soft drinks, 2 bottles of local beer 3 pools for adults 1 pool for children Area for children in main pool Playground 3 dinners per booking per week in our "a la carte" restaurants (reservation required) Snacks in Pool Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Blau Marina Varadero Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing