We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Varadero
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,184)
Filter reviews
7,184 results
Traveler rating
4,590
1,872
533
118
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,590
1,872
533
118
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsjapanese restaurantspa poollobby barfishwater poloa la carte restaurantssurf and turfjunior suiteevening entertainmententertainment staffmain buffetmain poolkids clubother resortswedding coordinatorfantastic holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,578 - 1,583 of 7,184 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Iberostar Varadero. Mixed family group of 6 ranging in age from 8 to 74!. Lovely hotel, rooms are really big and beds are soooo comfy. Stayed in Block 19, great central location, close to all the amenities. As per other reviews the hotel isn't to the same 5* standard that we have stayed in in Europe or the US, however that said it is still a good hotel. The majority of staff are very friendly, and have a welcoming smile for all, the gardeners do a fantastic job and both myself and our little one were fascinated watching them make hats and animals from the palm leaves. The pool areas is really good and very safe, loads of beds available and lots of shade for those members of the family who needed it. The beach is very accessible from the hotel, the sea is so clear and warm (like getting into a warm bath), lots of life guards on duty. A massive bonus for us at the hotel was the free use of the Pedalo's, Kayaks and small Catamarans (the instructor sails the Cats so all you have to do is sit back and relax). Armando from the pool bar was really really helpful and tried to make sure that we had the best holiday possible. Kids club was great and the Children's Pirate Ship was a big hit as was the Xbox, Playstation and Wii !! - Trip to Havanna not to be missed, we arranged a private tour, which was excellent value for money and got to see things that others on the Thomas Cook trip didn't get to do and from the comfort of an air conditioned mini bus. We were disappointed with the entertainment team, having been to a number of Iberostar hotels in the past the team at the Varadero were poor in comparison, Victor and Oz were great and really made an effort but as for the others I'm afraid that I wouldn't be able to name any of them. Food wise, although there was a good selection I'm afraid the biggest complaint is the majority was cold, didn't seem to matter what time you got there it was still cold. A la carte were hit and miss, we found the Japanese was good but it depends which chef you got if you were entertained or not, the other two restaurants were not good at all. The only other negative is the evening shows are poor. However, all that said we did have a great holiday, and I would recommend to people, if the food and entertainment was improved I would have given 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Block 19 was very close to all amenities
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DET158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay, we apologise if you did not find the food nor entertainment to be up to your standards as well as we cannot be compared to any US or EU 5* hotel as there are relevant issues that cause a great impact on our daily operation unabling us to perform as good although we do provide the best quality we possibly can as you have experienced..
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This resort is amazing!
The food is amazing what for Cuba we were amazed because Cuba is well know for the food been really bad.
There was so much food to choose from.
It's a very clean resort to,the rooms gets clean in the morning and in the late afternoon the mades comes around to change the towels again.
Not a cheap resort to go in Cuba but it's worth every penny in my opinion.
If anybody wants to go to Cuba for a cheap price this is not the resort to go but you get what you paid for.
I've been in Cuba before on a cheaper resort and I sweard I would never do it again.
For now on everytime I go to Cuba I will not even look at other resorts.
I will go back to Iberostar.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Ricky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I say "for Cuba" as I prefer to stay in 5 star resorts only, and a Cuban 5 star is not quite the equivalent of a Mexican 5 star. The hotel was adorable and very clean. The staff is what really made this trip incredible. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful and interactive.

The ocean at this resort is incredible. The beach is "two-tiered" due to a severe storm a few years ago. This just means there is about 15 feet of beach, then a sharp 2 foot drop (almost like a retaining wall), then about another 20 feet or so to the clearest, cleanest, warmest, most amazing ocean I have seen. The beach is long (although you end up walking into other resort's territory) which is fantastic for avid walkers like myself.

The only experience which was not incredible, but wasn't bad by any means, was the food. I think you need to expect that going to Cuba though. Don't miss you reso's as the restauants, they won't rebook you regardsless of the excuse. The buffet gets a little repetitve towards the end of your stay I found, and the food is a bit salty, probably to make up for the lack of other seasonings. If you're a bland eater, you'll love it.

Overall, fantastic time. The Cuban people and the ocean really make it worth it.

Room Tip: There are no "ocean views", so prepare to look at greenery for the most part. You might almost prefer a room which faces the interior of the resort (courtyards) as they're quite adorable. There is not much difference between a regular room and upgrading to a suite, so I'm not sure if you would see the value price wise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We can thoroughly recommend this hotel The rooms were clean and spacious with huge comfortable beds. The grounds were beautifully kept by the friendly gardeners who sidelined in providing coconut milk and palm leaf hats! All staff were helpful and the entertainment team worked hard for those who wanted to take part in the many activities provided. The food was plentiful and the buffet restaurant offered a vast range of tasty breakfasts and evening meals. For lunch we used the alternative restaurant by the pool. The 3 speciality restaurants were also good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Great all- inclusive hotel with very good service, good food-always fresh and delicious,except for the Japanese restaurant.the hotel has great beaches (and very clean), amazing animation team ,very professional, all English-spesking, great variety and quality of evening shows, daily activities and entertainment. From other tourists' feedback and from tourist agencies-this is actually the best hotel to choose from if traveling to Cuba

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Marianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room Division M, Quality Manager, IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor and recommending IBEROSTAR Varadero. We are delighted you enjoyed our location. It will be a pleasure to host you again in the future! Thank you one more time for recommending our hotel.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager, IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews