We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iberostar Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Varadero
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Returned a few days ago from a wonderful vacation at this resort. This was our second trip to Cuba, and we feel we made an excellent choice with this resort. Our stay was from April 19th until April 26th.

Pro’s:

Check in was very quick, room was ready hours before 4:00pm
Resort was a good size , not too large, not too small. Beautiful décor and details. Grounds were very pretty
Room was excellent, very clean and a lovely garden view.
Beach was excellent, no sand fleas.

Hotel Staff was 99 percent excellent. Nice that so many staff had quite good English. Our maid Dayamij ( spelling? ) was super sweet. The gardeners were friendly and made lovely grasshopper and hummingbirds on flowers. The Beach Bar Servers ( all of them ) were most accommodating, friendly and had our drinks half made before we reached the bar. Bartenders at the theatre we very attentive. Jimmy at the snack bar was very friendly and a hard worker, great English. Buffet staff were very friendly, prompt service with water, wine and clearing plates. We sat at the small tables along the window side, which was a little quieter than the center of the room for hustle and bustle. The servers in this section when you first enter were very nice and I wish I had asked for their names. The Hostess seemed to do multiple jobs and handled her role great, always had a smile for everyone coming in.
.
We were very impressed with the food in the buffet, having been to Cuba before we knew what to expect with the food and we were pleasantly surprised with the selections at the buffet. We really enjoyed the buffet meals. Well done.

We really enjoyed” La Dorada”, for the food and the great service, we would return another time. We would not bother with the other two restaurants on another trip as we ended up in the buffet to eat afterwards.
Entertainment at the theatre was very enjoyable; we went every night except for one because of an excursion.

We especially appreciated that there are two showers which can be used after check out.

Con’s :

We had issues with our waitress at “La Parrilla”that seated us and took our order, the worst treatment we have ever received anywhere. Hopefully an isolated case, we probably should of gotten her name and complained to the Resort so she could receive some coaching on not being rude to guests, however when on vacation we certainly didn’t want to spend our time dealing with this.

Public washrooms had no hand towels and most of the hand dryers did not work. Otherwise they were beautiful and very clean.

This resort more than exceeded our expectations on every level, with the exception of the one bad waitress. We plan to return because we loved it so much. Also we very much enjoyed having cats on the resort.

Room Tip: Garden view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beachlovers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay, we apologise though for your inconvenience at the Parrilla restaurant, we normally have beautiful comments relaitng our staff and this certaintly is shocking, we will definetely address this accordingly in order for us to avoid this from happening again.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,055
    1,664
    475
    103
    61
See reviews for
2,105
2,732
108
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had 8 nights here at Easter, and LOVED it.

We spent 3 days in Havana prior to coming to Varadero which I highly recommend. While this resort is lovely, you really could be anywhere once you step through the doors. But after 3 days of the hustle and bustle, and exploring the wonder that is Havana we were ready to put our flip flops on and just relax by the pool & beach.

We had a junior suite room on the top floor of block 17 which gave us ocean glimpses over the palm trees. The room was super spacious and very comfortable. The stand out at this resort versus the many others that we have visited around the world was the maid service (I never thought I'd say that!). Yida looked after us and was such a warm and welcoming presence. She would go out of her way to be friendly, and did a beautiful job looking after the room including the amazing towel art she would leave everyday. Then there was a night maid turn down service where towels etc would be refreshed again. At the end of our stay Yida gave us all big hugs goodbye, and wrote "bye" with the towels. A really special personal touch.

The kids loved the pool so we spent most of our time there. The entertainment during the day can be a bit tacky, and I think this is an area the resort could look to do a bit less of. The stuff that was good was when the "star friends" would gather people and take them off somewhere else to do a game, or have a go at archery or see a magic show. Where it failed for us was when they did bingo style games around the pool that involved lots of loud talking over the microphone in multiple languages. And these games seemed to go on forever!

The beach was warm as a bath and just like stepping into a travel brochure. The water is clean and that beautiful aqua blue. Sure, there is a ledge where some sand has been washed away but this in no way effects the enjoyment of it.

The food is plentiful - I've never seem such quantities of food in a buffet. But while you certainly won't go away hungry, its not overly tasty. A bit more attention to flavours would be great, but this is Cuba and I gather that's true of most places here.

The lobby bar is the place for good coffee and cocktails. They had local bands and even a magician come and entertain us, which added to the fun of it. I would have loved it if fresh fruit was used in the cocktails, but it always seemed to be syrup.

The evening shows are a bit cheesy for us (a Cuban Michael Jackson tribute show no less!), but some people seemed to like them. One night was a circus which the kids were desperate to see, but the shows don't start until 9.45pm and my kids were just too young to stay up for them. It would be great if some more family friendly shows like the circus could be on earlier.

Our kids liked going to the kids club for a few hours in the afternoons when it got really hot. It was a nice way for them to meet other kids. It was all very relaxed though, and although there is an activity schedule on the board, that seems to be ignored by the staff. Some more structured activities for the kids would have been great.

The last thing to mention is that there are actually lots of palm trees and tropical plants all around the resort with a dedicated gardening team. The photos we saw made it look much more of a concrete jungle. So when we got there we were really pleasantly surprised.

All in all a great stay. Well done Iberostar Varadero! We loved it.

Room Tip: Top floor of block 17 - ocean glimpses over the palm trees and nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay, we apologise for the noise during some of the activities although we do try to cater and display plays that match everyoones taste, nevertheless we take note of your recommendations.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I spent two weeks at this resort April 12 to 26. We are a couple in our 50s. The second week of our vacation our adult children and our young grandchildren joined us. This was our second stay at this resort,our third stay in Varadero and our 10th Iberostar stay. We have also stayed at two non-Iberostar resorts.
I'll start with what in our opinion was the most positive aspect of this resort, namely the buffet service. The wait staff were awesome! They work tirelessly and efficiently, and met our every need. A special thank you goes out to Lisette, who always had a smile and pleasant demeanor to everyone she interacted with. On the morning of our wedding anniversary she had a special table decorated for us and had mimosas prepared as well. Thanks also to Pilar,
who went over and above with attention to our grandchildren. The cold front desk staff need to take a lesson from these wonderfully warmhearted girls.
We found the buffet food to be very good and have no complaints with the variety, even for a two-week stay. We did not see any problems with the food temperature.
The specialty restaurants food and service were both lacking. Our whole family left La Parilla following our meal and went to the buffet for decent food! Also in La Parilla on the day when everyone was asked to fill out resort evaluations, we witnessed servers reading the evaluations that people had passed in up on the bar. They then summoned the head waitress and pointed out something on one of the evaluations to her. She then slipped the evaluation into a napkin and left the restaurant with it and returned empty-handed a minute later. Obviously some of the not so good reviews never make it to the appropriate people! The Japanese and seafood restaurants were lacking as well in both food quality and service.
The pool area was the most well kept that we have seen at any other resort. Most every morning the pool was being cleaned. There was never garbage left around. Glasses were picked up promptly. The one thing that could improve around the pool was the washrooms. Sometimes toilet tissue ran out. I noticed that if someone was using one of the stalls and the cleaning lady was there, she just moved on, not waiting to check the washroom in use and they were left uncleaned. There was never any paper towels in the dispenser and the hand dryer didn't work. In fact there was never paper towel in any of the dispensers anywhere at the resort and the hand dryers were hit or miss.
The beach area was also pretty much spotless. The lower beach area was groomed and seagrass was usually kept to a minimum. There is still a two tiered beach, with a few areas of steps to get up and down. We didn't mind it too much, but be aware if this is important to you.
The layout of this resort is fairly compact, so there is not a great deal of walking to get about. The grounds, lobby areas etc. are beautiful and well kept. The proximity of the kids waterpark and kids club was odd. It was right at the furthest end of the resort, behind the room buildings. A shame really, as we all felt that it would be utilized more if it had been placed closer to the main pool, maybe between the pool and beach.
Two of our family members stayed in building 19 and had an impeccably clean room throughout the stay. The rest of us were in building 20 and had just okay cleaning. On one particular late morning on our way to our room there were three dead cockroaches in the corridor outside the room. I think they may have sprayed that day. 12 hours later they were still there. After a call to the front desk, two of the three were cleaned up. One was still left behind until my husband disposed of it!
I left my biggest issues until last. Number one is the lifeguards, or lack thereof. For our first week in particular, there was little to no lifeguard presence at the beach and none at the pool.Oh, they were sort of there at the beach,up on the boardwalk,and under the trees and sprawled on the lounge chairs where they couldn't even see the waters edge. As far as we witnessed, they were cigar, rum and tour vendors wearing lifeguard shirts. On Apr 15 a man died while in the water. We know no details of what caused the mans death. We do know that after his death the so-called lifeguards sometimes watched the water and even made an occasional showing at the pool.I don't know if they are even employed by the resort.Im telling this because I don't want anyone to have a false sense of security around the water thinking that a lifeguard is looking out for you. There is no life preserver in sight and no motorized water craft either.
As other reviews have mentioned, the wifi leaves something to be desired. For the standard that this resort aspires to, wifi should be complimentary. We spent $15 for 3 hrs of wifi and got probably 1 hr total, and I most definitely logged off between usage. When I told this to the front desk staff I got a blank stare, was told I didn't log off and was given the instructions to read.
Finally, a comment about the assistant manager. While we were at the front desk addressing a minor door lock malfunction, he approached us and asked us about our stay. I told him about the condition of our sofa bed, as it had burn holes in it, the surface looked soiled, and the mattress had a stain on the underside of it. As our grandchildren would be sleeping on it I asked that it be replaced. I also told him about our AC which knocked loudly if turned above low. He immediately went on the defensive regarding both issues. He was quite reactive versus proactive and with his attitude I don't know why he even asked how things were, if he only wants to hear the good things! Bottom line, the sofa was never replaced and the AC was never fixed. Not a good way to run a business.
All in all, despite the negatives I have reported, and comparing with other resorts,I still would recommend this resort for a Cuba vacation. If we return to Cuba I would stay here again.

PS: Attention Mr. Herran,
Please do not respond to this review in your usual defensive manner. If you do not have comments pertaining to improving these issues, rather than reacting defensively, please do not respond at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bettystanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we are very glad to know that this was your second time with us.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay despite some issues as you mentioned, and as you have raised i would like to comment on it.
First of all we would like to mention that we always target fully customer satisfaction at all times as this is our work philosophy, we apologise on behalf of everyone at the resort if your ac and sofa were not fixed as you had appointed therefore we will look into this matter to ensure 100% efficiency next time, nethertheless we have doubled check with our departments and in both cases our staff did turn up to fix your issues, we will make sure it does not happen again. We apologise if you found the front desk staff not to be as cortegous as our buffet personnel, we will ensure that everyone at the reception desk is aware of your comments for their improvement in short term.
Regarding the evaluations that you mentioned, we will look into this matter to really find out what took place there as it is forbidden for staff to handle this.
Regarding the lack to paper hand towels we would like to say that we are aware of this problem and we are struggling to get it in place and purchase it as it is hard to find it these days, nevertheless toilet paper and other sorts of it is never missing.
Regarding the cleaning rota around the pool we have a cleaning team who constantly cleans these areas, due to high occupation we are making extra efforts to have it all cleaned more often.
Relating the lifeguards we would like to mention here that they are subcontracted by hotel and the hotel is not direct responsible for them, they are all well trained and well experienced and indeed check the pool as well as the beach area at all times reducing significantly health risks that might occur events as the one you pointed out where inhouse doctors and lifeguards did as much as they could to save him although nothing else could have been done, to add here that we were even congratulated and thanked by her widow, and rest of family, who happens to be a doctor and she was very much aware of what happened and how we handled everything. Regarding the wifi connection we are aware that our service is far from being compared to the one you have at home or any other equipped country although we do provide this service the best we can, the front desk did well by highlighting the fact that many guests do not log off properly and time runs out for which the hotel is not responsible.
Regardng our conversation at the front desk that evening about your stay, i may say that it is of my interest and everyones here to know how our guests stay is going therefore i always ask everytime i have a chance whether is for good or bad, most of times it is positive feedback although if there is room for improvement during a guest stay we focus on tackling what is disturbing our customers the best we can, in this terms and as soon as i heard of your issues about the door lock ac and sofa i inmediately reported this to have it all fixed. I would not say that i was being defensive, i just tried to argument your inconvenients for you to better understand the situation, some guests leave doors open or windows for which ac does not work, as many guests are not fully aware of current issues here, i think i was very proactive as i always show when guests experiences are to be affected negatively and i was also explanatory about your inconveniences.
We are happy to know that your door lock was inmediately solved and as i said previously we will double check the other two incidents why they were not solved to ensure it does not happen again.
I sincerely hope our response is of your full satisfaction as it is mandatory for us to reply every single post.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon again for the thrird time.
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have just returned from our 5th visit to this wonderful resort and each time has been an excellent example of continuous improvement. Senor Francisco Herran, the new manager of guest relations, is seen everywhere working to ensure that services are exceeding all expectations. The Iberostar staff including bartenders, servers, "animation" activity leaders, gardeners, customer service, entertainers (including the new water ballet company), room service, cigar sommeliers and housekeepers, spa personnel are the most proficient and professional we have experienced in years of travel all over the world. The food is varied, abundant and delicious with options to please all guests - children or sophisticated grown-ups. One can order many delicious "made to order" options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And the Cuban cheeses and ice cream were absolutely sinful! Vegetarians, vegans and omnivores will all be delighted with the vast selections. The pool and beach barbeques were also delicious options. We did miss our old pal, Charlie, at the pool bar whose great personality and abilities are now hidden in the Japanese restaurant. I had an allergic reaction and visited the on-site medical team consisting of a physician, nurse and pharmacist. For an unbelievably minimal cost I had excellent treatment and free follow-up visits. The prescribed medications (and an injection) solved the problem in 2 days. We thoroughly enjoyed the Mediterranean Restaurant whose maitre'd was wonderfully attentive. I was feeling unwell one evening when scheduled to dine there and he even arranged to provide my dinner via room service. The unceasing efforts of the cleaning staff throughout the resort (and particularly in the large pool) were much appreciated. The resort attracts guests from all over the world. This feature made for a sense of global community that reminded me of the Olympic Games or the UN. It was enjoyable to interact with fascinating people from so many different cultures. One unfortunate thing was our embarrassment at the behavior of some of our fellow Canadians Whilst most of our country-folk were a credit to our nation, there we some buffoons and galoots who were exceedingly crass and rude. I can certainly do without giant Canadian flags hung as window curtains, drunk individuals yelling drink orders from 20 feet from the bar and smashing into servers with full trays of beverages without the most minimal expressions of "pardon" or "excuse me". Sadly, this behavior was not traced only to younger guests but to groups of individuals who regard "all inclusive" resorts as an excuse to be "all intrusive". Our flight home was marred by a group of drunk women who had to be ejected from the plane, sadly leaving their very young children to fend for themselves. But back to the review of the resort. Despite some terrible behavior, the entire Iberostar staff continued to be professional, gracious and helpful. Their knowledge of hangover cures certainly saved the day for many overzealous partyers. Another feature are the excellent independent partners engaged by the hotel. Off-site excursions and particularly scuba adventures were led by experienced, highly professional representatives. And special mention must be made of the general physical design of the resort. It is a delightful layout of lovely "casas" with large rooms, balconies and only steps to the pools, beach and restaurants. While some of the Varadero hotels resemble institutions, architectural monstrosities, or Stalin-esque cinderblock eyesores, the Iberostar is whimsical, eclectic and has an intimate feel. We will definitely go back and recommend this resort. The only disappointment was that we only stayed 3 weeks - they just passed much too quickly. And we had only 15 minutes of rain on one night. Oh, and the special attention to detail like being supplied with bathrobes, a coffee make, iron, place to hang wet clothes, etc, were much appreciated.

Submitted by "Yomarti"

Room Tip: Buildings 14, 15, 16 with garden views are lovely and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yomarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay, it really was a pleasure to have met oyu and we look forwar dto welcing you back again soon, we apologise for some of our guests behaviour although in a resort like this is hard to control everyone however we do our best effort for them not to bother everyone else.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently travelled as a group of 6 which included 2 teenagers aged 17 and 14. We had been apprehensive before our travel due to some of the negative reviews on tripadvisor in relation to food, tipping etc.

Tipping, not once did we feel the staff 'expected' a tip from you. In fact, the staff at this hotel are some of the most friendly that we have ever come across and really do seem to want to do the best they can for you. When you do tip them, the appreciation is second to none.

Food - there is a huge variety of food on offer at this hotel and was very well presented at all times. We are not particularly fond of the buffet style system but the amount of food on offer was outstanding. Remember, you are in Cuba where they struggle to get the most basic of things on a daily basis so the selection available was remarkable! We ate in the 3 A La Carte restaurants and enjoyed them all. The food in the Japanese wasn't anything special but the atmosphere and experience was. La Dorada was enjoyed by us all (this is mainly a fish restaurant but does have other choices and has a good 'buffet' selection as a starter). La Parilla was also very good (this was meat and fish and had a very good selection).

If you have children or teenagers with you, this is a fantastic resort because there is something for them to do at all times. The hotel's 'Star Friends' are there to help you make the most of your holiday but are not pushy in anyway at all. A very special thank you to Yennifet, Issy, Leo and so many others who are supervised by Mani. They made our holiday very special by including our teenagers in so many of the activities.

There are also plenty of quiet areas around the hotel to enjoy if you want a more relaxing holiday.

Room - we had booked Junior Suites which were situated in Block 17. They were lovely and the area was very quiet.

Beach - there have been some negative reviews on the beach. Yes, there are two levels of sand at the moment but the hotel have installed steps along their stretch of beach for ease of access. The 'levels' were caused by damage during storms etc. The stretch of beach outside the hotel is regularly cleaned which doesn't seem to be the case along other stretches of the beach.

Entertainment - we really enjoyed the evening entertainment. The 'Star Friends' work so hard to put on a nightly show.

Having noted how difficult it is for Cuban's to get the basic things in life that we take for granted, we took a selection of toiletries we us (which included shower gel, shampoo, soaps etc) which we gave to a few of our 'favourites'. Their reactions made us feel very humble and, in our opinion, was appreciated much more than just giving them tips.

We loved Cuba and would certainly recommend this hotel in Varadero.

Room Tip: Block 17 was quiet but not far from the main centre of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine01792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay, we are glad to enjoyed your stay with us and that you made some good friends here, certaintly you will be remembered.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was my first time to Cuba. My boyfriend and I came for a week and it was amazing. The Iberostar Varadero exceeded my expectations. The hotel it self is beautiful and our room was great. Awesome pools/swim up bar and beach as well.

We thought the food was amazing. We stuck with the buffet. The best was the dinners. Huge selection of really good stuff. We aren't picky eaters, but we thought it was fantastic and we ate way to much. We also enjoyed burgers and hot dogs at the beach bbq for a snack during the day.

The staff was so GREAT! We thank you all for making sure our vacation was enjoyable. We went to the same section in the buffet so we could see the same friendly faces. They knew who we were and were always happy to see us, and gave us great services. The staff at the lobby bar were the same way. They took the time to get to know us, were supper friendly and gave great service. I wish I remembered everyone's name. The nicest lady was the main buffet hostess who greeted people at the door. Her name is Mabel. She was sooooo nice and was so happy to see us every night. We never felt obligated to tip but we loved tipping everyone all the time because they deserved it. Such hard workers and all so pleasant.

I could go on and on about how great everything was. I highly recommend this hotel and I will for sure be back one day.

Thanks again to all of the staff. We appreciated everything! :)

From Julie & John - Canada

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I went on hoilday here for 2 weeks and it was the best holiday resort, country, experience I have ever had. The Iberostar Varadero is a clean, well presented, spacious, quiet, great entertainment and comfortable hotel. The staff who work there cannot be faulted they were very attentive, polite, helpful and grateful. The rooms were immaculate and cleaned everyday, with decorative surprises for your return. These little things made my experience of staying here even better. The hotel is in a ideal spot right next to the beach literally 2 mins walk away, pool bar, sports and activities ongoing in and around the pool. What you see in the brochures in the travel agents is what you get when you arrive here. It is definitely worth a a visit if anyone is thinking about it. I am looking to return back here soon and I know people who have visited 3 times in 4 years.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennybob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
2.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,745 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Varadero

Property: Iberostar Varadero
Address: Carretera Las Morlas km 17,5 | Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#1 Family Hotel in Varadero
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of Varadero. Iberostar's first 5 star hotel in Cuba. Luxury and comfort in an elegant atmosphere. Top gastronomy and excellent service. Equipped for every kind of meeting, gala dinner, party, etc.. Ideal for groups & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Varadero Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Cuba
Iberostar Varadero Cuba
Varadero Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing