We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iberostar Varadero
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went back again with sisters Oct.19/13 and it was fantastic again. Love the people,food, pool,and beach. We are planning a return with many family members as this is our favorite place. It's the little things and please tip these wonderful people. We get the junior suite but the rooms are also great. LOVE IT. LOVE IT. LOVE IT.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 20 both times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buddyminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran RDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,007
    1,637
    465
    102
    59
See reviews for
2,067
2,693
106
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just got home last night from this resort with my almost 3 year old son and husband.
Between my husband and myself we have been to Cuba 4 times, and we both strongly agree if we ever go back to Cuba we will absolutely go back to this resort !!!

I have to say I was a bit apprehensive about going to Cuba again just because I have never found the food very good, but at this resort we did not have this problem !!! The food was the best we have ever had at a resort in Cuba, many other guests we spoke to also agreed on this. We always found something good to eat at the buffet - we also found the service good !

Staff was friendly and helpful in most situations, sometimes there is a little language barrier but nothing you can't overcome! They were all very warm with my son - lots if fun stuff for him to do ... The Mini disco at night was a big hit with him. Also during the days at the kids club there is lots of games and toys and of course the kids pool with pirate ship was a hit as well.

The beach is so beautiful, a bit rocky and littered with sea shells - but that's no fault of the hotel, they do great at grooming it - just bring water shoes if it will bother you. We didn't though and it was fine !

Bar tender by the beach Alberto was super friendly and always so amazing with my son to!

We found the entertainment staff and shows great - no complaints, very entertaining and fun ! Fun dancing lessons for me during the day and some air gun and bow and arrow action for my hubby!!! I can't say enough about how friendly the people are !!!!

The facilities and grounds are very well kept and clean - we had no issues with the cleanliness of our room either we stayed in unit 10 on the second floor which I found great very close to bar for coffee (and amazing piña coladas ) front desk and pool area.

We also had to use the medical clinic for a simple issue (nothing to do with the hotel) they were great the DR takes her time with the patients and is very clear and confident, makes you feel a bit better about receiving medical attention in a foreign country.

Bought some wifi time it worked well in the lobby area - a bit on the slow side but great for sending a few quick email updates back home.

This resort has quite a mix of people - families with small children - couples and large groups, overall something for everyone !!!!

Overall his was an amazing trip and I'm so happy I didn't listen to the bad reviews - it's really all about perspective - if you want a great family holiday with a wonderful beach and good food with fabulous people then stay here ! We will never stay anywhere else in Varadeo !!!

Some Tips
- don't forget bug spray the sand flies can be a bit bad at times.

- sand toys for the kiddies is a must and we also brought along a life jacket and water wings.

- if you want to bring along gifts for the people I found that many are in need of child clothing and items - as from what I understand it can be difficult and very expensive to get good quality Clothing and toiletries.

Happy travels :)





  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tashybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran RDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Iberostar Varadero was as great as expected! We stayed with my spouse and some relatives 9 days in Jan 2014 and had a blast. The rooms were spacious and clean. We had our minibar refilled everyday and towels were made to look like hearts and swans and what not :) Aircon was very good and didn't make the "feel of wind". Resort was very clean and the gardener reserve extra thanks :) They greeted smiling every time and offered coconuts. Drinks variety was numerous including sparkling wine! There could have been more waitresses in lobby bar and beach bars circling around. The food was very good and plenty. The meat was usually a bit chewy but in ala carte restaurant even the meats were great. We didn't have bug issues. Only little minus was the lack of bell boys - there should have been more. We had to wait quite some time and especially when we were leaving. We spent one night in other resort because the plane had some technical issues and talked with other tourists - we are extremely happy that we paid a little more to stay in Iberostar Varadero.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irkutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear guests
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,we apologise for the "lack" of bellboys, however we have our departments plentyfull staffed although at certain times during peak season it seems like we do not have staff around.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran RDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just returned from Iberostar Varadero.. and this resort was not what we expected for a 5 star. We r aware in Cuba the resorts are not true 5 stars, however, it was more.
When we arrived, which was late at night around midnight there was no warm welcoming from all areas from staff. We went to get a drink AT LOBBY BAR and we realize it was closed around that time, however when we were standing there we were ignored.. as if we didn't exist while the bar attendant was doing something. He did see us standing there and was not friendly whatsoever. In fact this was just the start of it.. we found the staff on this resort not friendly overall.. some of them at front desk would just stare at u as if u were a criminal... this is not what we are use to in our 5 star all inclusive travels within the Caribbean. IN addition to that most staff on resort surely do not understand the English language.. I think they should have a few more people that are fluent with English so their guests can communicate what they need on the resort..
We did not get two fresh bottles of water replaced in our rooms each day.. if they saw u didn't finish the previous water from last day they would not replenish with new ones.. and this is including the few beer they put in the fridge.. We had one can of beer out on our night table.. opened but not finished and cleaning staff said they saw the old beer and were told not to give more..they were hard to understand but we did catch on to what they were trying to say. Toilet paper ran out every day and tissues were not replaced.
SAND FLYS! unbelievable!.. we were bitten everywhere all over the resort and there was a man who had very lrg welts which put him in the doctors office. so... bring bug spray or your vacation will become extremely uncomfortable. Staff don't understand what u r telling them when u speak of the flys... communication is so difficult on this resort.
FOOD not bad... although their vegetables are served mainly cold.. their fish is excellent.. chicken breasts are tough, but overall ill give the buffet a pretty good rating.. They do not serve oatmeal or hot cereal and cook with a lot of oil. They have two house red wines.. one of them is pretty good.. look for the one with the red rose on it.
At the pool area the service for drinks is not that good unless u are sitting near the pools.. staff is limited here and do not get around often at the back seats.
Beach is beautiful.
Gym is not that clean... weights and machines need to be wiped down and instead staff sit at desk and do not look busy.
SHOWS are very good, however a little short.. would have been nice see a longer show and less getting the audience up on stage which took a big piece of the time.
Weather was very good 6 out of 7 days and cleanliness of resort was average.
Trip to Havana for the day.. very over populated in Havana.. many tourists.. great tour guide on bus and driver but no water offered or bathroom facilities.. so bring your own water and use toilet before u go... its a long ride.. they stop off once to use the toilet. toilets do not have toilet paper or seats.. so bring your own toilet paper.
I give this resort etc. a average to below average rating for a 5 star.
we will not return to Cuba.

Room Tip: building 17 has the ocean view rooms... the rest don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nettie12556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property so we get a better uderstanding about the issues raised by you and find correct solutions to all of them, we thank you for that feedback. nevertheless i wouldl ike to comment on the communication issue as we have mainly foreigners visiting us many from who are repetitive customers and never point this issue out, most even spend time talking to them, we are sorry you found this to be a problem.
Our lobby bar run from 9am till 1 am so if you had arrived at midnight it should have been open, you still have our great disco till 3am to get a drink and have it outside at the bar, we apologise that you encountered this a problem and for ignored although our staff is very attentive. we have a clear minibar service standard with a good selection of sodas beers and water as well as coffees and teas, we believe is very complete and it has to be replaced everyday, besides water bottles are replaced if half empty as if water remains open does not affect quality, in the other hand sodas and beer do get resctock everyday if found open outside.
It is a fact that being in a tropical island with this intensity of humidity bugs are around but we do a great job to keep them out of the room, being in the hotel areas people can get bit by mosquitos or bugs so take precautions, we do fumigate weekly.
We apologise deeply for all the inconveniences allthroughout your journey and experience, we would like to thank you again for your comments and we wish you all the best,
Best regards
FHerran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We chose this hotel based on great reviews for family holiday and wedding. We booked through Thomas Cook for a group of 23 people for 2 weeks AI. It truly was AI - the minibar including!

Our wedding was well organised, all we had to do was turn up.We chose to have it in a beach gazebo. Our legalised documents were swiftly issued - took less than 2 months to arrive.

The evening entertainment was fantastic - none of cheesy rubbish you get in Europe.

Food - fantastic, lot of choice and it was everywhere - by pools, on the beach, on the way to the beach.. the kids in our group were between 10months - 3 years old and they all ate well.

kids club wasn't fantastic but the little pool and the amazing beach were more than enough for us.

We all agreed that this place is brilliant, we all loved it.

Room Tip: We upgraded and stayed in lovely big rooms just off the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran RDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Varadero resort from January 22-29th ,we had a great time.We had a standard room and where very pleased,Judy did a great job keeping it tidy each day.We found the resort itself was well kept and the staff awesome.Armondo took care of us at the "Cafe Bar", Ricardo at the "Buffet", Eli and bartenders at the "Swim up bar", Atonnsion,Jennifer,and our favourite Rosio and the rest of the animation staff.
We received a warm welcome at checkin and where at our rooms in 10-15 minutes,Building 18 is closer to the pool and theatre but does quiet down by 10:30 ish,next time(there will be more!) I would request building 17 or 16,but overall happy in room 1821.
We had read some reviews about the bland tasting food but found the total opposite,the buffet had a huge selection and the International and Meditranium restaurants very good.
The beer and mixed drinks at all bars where very good and never ran out.Cristal was my favourite.
The beach was awesome,always clean and the staff very helpful.
The animation staff did a great job organizing games and dancing throughout the day to keep us busy but where respectful when we declined to just take in sun and just relax.
During the week we booked the one day Havana trip and the Jeep safari and would recommend both,we also caught the double decker bus into Varadero and had an enjoyable afternoon taking in the local culture,its 5 CUC and you can get on and off the bus all day.
Be sure to tip the staff as wages are very low,20 Canadian a month.
We read the best place to exchange your money to Cuban CUC was the airport bank and they did have a better rate than the resort,but at the airport bank exchange we where shorted 10 CUC and in such a hurry to get on the bus to the resort did not realize until after we arrived at the resort,count your money twice before leaving the teller booth!!
In conclusion we had a great time in Cuba ,the weather was warm,the resort was awesome and cant wait to return to the Iberostar Varadero, big huggs goes to Rosio - Linda misses you.

Rob & Linda, Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran RDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was my fifth holiday at the Iberostar Varadero since 2009. My partner and I enjoyed every minute spent at this great hotel complex.
The facilities, staff and food quality have improved over the years and the 3 a la carte theme restaurants were all excellent in their own individual way as usual. The fish choices and lobster in the “Mediterranean” were excellent and the “Japanese” food and entertainment was also top quality. Last but not least the “International” which is situated in the second buffet restaurant by the pool was very good with freshly cooked food to order, a better option than the main Buffet (no criticism here). The main Buffet restaurant is to be commended with an excellent range of food options at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The beach is probably one of the best in the world and is easily accessed from the pool area, sun beds and umbrellas/shade was plentiful.
The hotel gardens are a real pleasure and are always beautifully maintained. We stayed in block 13 (ground floor) overlooking the garden and fountains, blocks 13, 14 and 15 are the quietest blocks and still just a short stroll from the main hotel areas. The room was very well appointed, clean and well maintained and in fact couldn’t be faulted, the room maid kept the room spotless during our stay and she also entertained daily with her clever towel art.
I had complained about the "over the top" pool entertainment in my last review which so nearly stopped me going again, I'm glad it didn't as it seemed to have been "toned down" and was perfectly acceptable, the evening entertainment was very good too generally.So overall an excellent hotel, this is the only hotel I would stay at in Varadero, so --- see you soon --- I hope.

Room Tip: Blocks 13, 14, and 15 are definately the quietest blocks and still only a short stroll from thr &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobandsash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,we thank you too for keep returining and for your loyalty towards us which we appreciate very much.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran RDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1227.3 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1243.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.9 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
0.0 mi away
Punta Bonita Beach Resort
Punta Bonita Beach Resort
#20 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Varadero

Property: Iberostar Varadero
Address: Carretera Las Morlas km 17,5 | Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Varadero
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of Varadero. Iberostar's first 5 star hotel in Cuba. Luxury and comfort in an elegant atmosphere. Top gastronomy and excellent service. Equipped for every kind of meeting, gala dinner, party, etc.. Ideal for groups & incentives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Varadero Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Cuba
Iberostar Varadero Cuba
Varadero Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing