We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would definitely return!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iberostar Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Varadero
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“would definitely return!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff at this resort is excellent! They are all very friendly, hard working and understanding to any of your needs. The resort is well maintained, except for a few minor adjustments that could be made to the tiles on some of the stairs in the villas. Grass was always kept nice and cut, pool was always clean, spectacular beach! Rooms were very spacious and very clean. The cleaning staff did an excellent job every day. The food wasn't too bad, but definitely not 5 star quality. The buffet had the best food, but try to avoid the a la carte restaurants, especially the International restaurant. The entertainment team is also fantastic, and the shows at night are amazing. Definitely worth the extra money to stay at this resort, and I will DEFINITELY return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Chelsea B, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with other readers. As part of the Management team, we are glad to know that you had a wonderful time with us and that our staff did not dissapointed you. We hope that you can visit Cuba again and we will be looking forward to welcome you back to Iberostar Varadero. Our best regards, P.Perciavalle, Room Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,055
    1,664
    475
    103
    61
See reviews for
2,105
2,732
108
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic holiday in Cuba. We stayed at the Iberostar Varadero and could hardly fault the place. We had a lovely large room in block 15. The gardens were really well kept. The pool a little shallow but ideal to cool off in and loved the swim up pool bar
The staff were lovely. The animation team were not in your face. If we said that we did not want to join in with an activity they accepted this and did not keep trying to persuade you to join in unlike a lot of other hotels we have stayed at.
Food was good plenty of choice. We went to all three of the specialist restaurants
My only complaint would be regarding the lobby bar. I know that we have strict no smoking laws in the UK which I really appreciate, I am also aware that this is not the case in other countries. However my only bug bear was that tables in the bar clearly had no smoking signs on them but people still smoked whilst sitting there and the staff did not do anything about this.
Overall I am delighted that we chose this hotel and would not hesitate to go there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeanGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
"Dear JeanGenie, On behalf of Iberostar Varadero we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your vacation and we will consider your suggestions in order to improve our service, we have discussed your comment about the non smoking area with the lobby bar staff and ask them to be more careful in this matter and even if guests may get upset if we ask them to turn off the cigarrete we need to follow this rule that it is clear and gives everyone a place to relax according to their preferences. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards, P.Perciavalle, Room Division Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I read the trip advisor reviews about this hotel and were so glad we chose this resort.
The hotel was fantastic, and staff were very helpful. On arrival we were not happy with our room, so were swiftly moved to another suite without any issues.
The food was what we were bracing ourselves for, it was pretty awful but we had set our expectations low so were not surprised. Everybody knows if you are looking for great food do not go to Cuba! On the bright side at least we didn't gain 10lbs which is the norm at all inclusive hotels! The rum was flowing, the sun was shining.....fab honeymoon resort and if we revisit Cuba we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdie-Mee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Birdie-Mee, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with other readers. As part of the Management team, we are glad to know that you had a wonderful time with us, and that you enjoyed our services. We hope you can visit Cuba again and we will be looking forward to welcome you back to Iberostar Varadero. Our best regards, P.Perciavalle. Room Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Overall excellent resort, if you're looking for excursions, the ocean, the sun, and an overall amazing trip with friendly outgoing staff, I highly recommend this resort. I went to this resort for my best friends wedding, the only complaint I have is that my vacation was too short! Such a breathtaking experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonnyfreake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
"Dear Jonnyfreake, On behalf of Iberostar Varadero we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that overall you have enjoyed your vacation and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards, P.Perciavalle, Room Division Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Cuba. I went with my husband and my 18 year old son and his girlfriend. We had a great time. It is an older resort but still very nice, clean, spacious. The staff were always friendly and outgoing. Thank you Ibersy (?spelling) for making the best drinks by the pool!!!! The food is what we expected. We are extremely fussy eaters so it was what we expected. Although from talking to others from different resorts I would have to say I am pretty sure ours was much better. There was always lots of food to choose from. The pool is very nice never overcrowded. We were always able to find lounge chairs around the pool. The beach is also very nice, clean and lounge chairs were also available. There was lots of entertainment and activities. I was also amazed at how wonderful the staff were to the young children. They would go around and gather the children for activities for the day. The night entertainment was great.
We did go into the town on the sightseeing bus. This was a great way to see the entire peninsula. The town is very safe to walk around. (FYI take tissue with you). We also took the catamaran tour. I would definitely recommend it!! Take lots of sunscreen!! You have to remember you are visiting a foreign country it is not Canada or the United States! Still a lovely place to visit and the people are extremely friendly!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichelleandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear MichelleandGreg, Thank you and your family for choosing Iberostar Varadero for your vacation, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed this time with us and that you were not disappointed with our services. We hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back some day. Our best regards on behalf of all our staff. P.Perciavalle. Room Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed 11 nights after spending 3 in Havana. Went on recommendation from work colleague as best hotel in varadero and from feedback from others this seemed to be the case. Probably not 5 star but as this Cuba probably as good as it gets. Room was spacious but a bit shabby and electrical power points were either bathroom (not great for charging phones/ipods) and behind a large tv cabinet which I had to move to access, at which point the foot came off the cabinet requiring a visit to reception but was fixed the same night.
Staff very friendly, couldn't do enough for you. Pool area great although could be noisy with games as the afternoon wore on. Gardens beautiful. Beach was nice. Lots to do and staff keen to involve everybody. Plenty of sunloungers/shade when needed.

Room Tip: Accommodation blocks near reception are affected by noise from disco. If you want a quieter time ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
"Dear Charles B, On behalf of Iberostar Varadero we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your vacation and we will consider your suggestions in order to improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards, P.Perciavalle, Room Division Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Travelled with 38 others for a wedding May 25-June 1.
Arrival- arrived late at night and quickly received a room.
Room- our air conditioning did not work right (too hot) called and coated reception daily to complain, on the last day they finally fixed it..it wasn't unbearable but defiantly not comfortable.
Staff- most staff were great- others really needed a customer service check
Food- I enjoyed the food, although many others did not
Entertainment- one word...AMAZING
Excursions- do the catamaran .. Simply amazing

This was my second trip to Cuba.. Last resort was a 4 star...I would not rate this resort 5 stars..3.5 to 4.

Wedding was great, however, when getting our hair done (bridal party) it was evident by the hair dressers looks to each other that they were annoyed by the 5 of us in the room taking pictures- news flash people- that's what a wedding party does..we get ready together and take pictures. It's called memories

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Kayla B, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations and this beatiful event. We are pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed our services. We will take your suggestions into consideration to keep improving day by day, we have discuss your comments with our Hair Dressers as well, we appologize on their behalf. Our best regards from Varadero. P.Perciavalle. Room Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
2.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,745 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Varadero

Property: Iberostar Varadero
Address: Carretera Las Morlas km 17,5 | Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#1 Family Hotel in Varadero
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of Varadero. Iberostar's first 5 star hotel in Cuba. Luxury and comfort in an elegant atmosphere. Top gastronomy and excellent service. Equipped for every kind of meeting, gala dinner, party, etc.. Ideal for groups & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Varadero Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Cuba
Iberostar Varadero Cuba
Varadero Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing