We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Varadero
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$233
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$215
$187
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$140
$89
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$222
$187
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,264)
Filter reviews
7,264 results
Traveler rating
4,642
1,896
535
119
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,642
1,896
535
119
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsjapanese restaurantspa poollobby barfishwater poloa la carte restaurantssurf and turfjunior suiteevening entertainmententertainment staffmain buffetmain poolkids clubother resortswedding coordinatorfantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
2,258 - 2,263 of 7,264 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

They sure know customer service here. We got in very late, they did not have the room we booked available so had to downgrade us for 2 nights. As an apology they gave us a late check out on our leaving day and we could eat in any restaurant any night. Thanks to Iris at the front deck. She was amazing. All the staff was fantastic and very welcoming. They were great. For Cuba the food was good but I didn't find the a la carte restaurants premier to their buffet dinner.
I thought by photos that it would be over the top but it wasn't at all. Very enjoyable week.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront view and away from main building. Other guests advised that the show rehearsals during the day and the shows at night were really loud.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TOTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear TOTravelgirl, Thank you for your review and for choosing Iberostar Varadero for your week vacation. We are glad to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, specially because of our staff service. I will forward your review to Iris she will be happy to know that she helped you during your stay. Also, I will forward your review to our Excutive chef in regards to your suggestions about our A la carte restaurants. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back some day. Best regards, Quality Manager Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel grounds and rooms are very nicely maintained. The beds were very comfortable. There are built in converters for your electronics so you dont have to remember to bring the plug adapters. The food was better than I expected based on what friends told us about Cuban food - although it was on the salty side. Staff was awesome - Armando and Marcelo in the lobby bar; Armando went to great lengths to make sure we were well looked after. Yadita and Yisel in the buffet restaurant were always smiling and engaging us in conversation. They always saved a table in their section and they went out of their way to ensure we were also well looked after - getting drinks, clearing plates. These girls were amazing. Then there was Eleinie at the bar- she is always smiling too and also made sure we were having fun and looked after. I can't say enough about the staff. Food in the Japanese restaurant was very salty - too much soy sauce in food preparation. The chef put on a good show cooking the food in front of our eyes. Pools were clean. Beach is clean and well maintained. Water is seaweed free however with the waves it isnt a very good snorkelling area (no protection from waves) however you can enjoy some body surfing if the wind picks up. Be careful on windy days as there is bit of a current due to the wind but nothing too strong. Evening shows were also excellent - the Rock and Roll and Circus Shows were the best of the 4 nights we were there. Internet is 10cuc for 1 hour and they have computers you can use. There is also an area for crafts for sale- the price is reasonable but can be found cheaper in the town of Veradero. Scooter rentals are great for heading into town and for 16cuc for 3 hours is a great deal. Would good back and recommned to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cengizg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear cengizg29, Thank you for your review. On behalf of all our Management team and staff we want to thank your for your nice words regarding our staff. Specially Armando, Marcelo, Yadita, Yisel and Eleinys. The always receive all comments with a smile and proudly. We appreciate your recommendations to friends and we will be looking forward to your second visit. Best regards, Quality Manager Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our third trip to Cuba (January 25th - February 11th 2013). We stayed at the Parque Central for 4 nights (separate review) before 10 nights at this hotel.

Having done 3 star (Barlovento), 4 star (Blau) the small extra for going 5 star was well worth it. We had a large airy room in block 15 overlooking the beautiful central gardens of the accommodation area. The room was clean and looked like it had been redecorated within the last 6 months. A large bathroom and spacious shower was really good too. The air conditioning was a bit temperamental but an engineer came and fixed it so we could stay cool at night.

The main buffet restaurant was really good and far superior to the Blau. There is always a huge selection of food which is always beautifully presented. One night there was the largest display of shellfish I had ever seen in a restaurant with over 100 lobster halves. You soon get to know which staff are the very best (all are good, some very good) and it is worth tipping a CUC to get superior service. The three 'speciality' restaurants weren't that great to be honest but they were Ok for a change of venue and slightly different menu. The Japanese restaurant was much ado about nothing imho.

We were not there for the entertainment but enjoyed the live musicians who visited the main Lobby bar and lunchtime restaurant. We skipped the evening entertainment for some single malt back in our room :)

The pool area was always busy and we stayed on the beach each day skipping the various trips offered. We were well served on the beach by Alberto and Yovanny. Cocktails started around 10am and finished when the beach bar close around 5ish. I hate to think how much rum we consumed over the 10 days!

The sea was warm and calm most days. Even when it was a little more windy, warm sea makes a huge difference. Our routine was to walk along the beach first off, then lie out in sun, drink cocktails, dip in sea, dry off in sun - rinse and repeat - bliss! There was good security on the beach and we not pestered by beach sellers.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and really appreciated our fumbling attempts at speaking Spanish.

We would definitely consider returning here.

Room Tip: Block 15 to be furthest away from the hotel hub.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joff_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Swordstar, Thank you for choosing us on your 3rd trip to Cuba we are proud to know that you were not disspointed with your choice. I have forwarded your review to all our staff, specially Alberto and Yovanny at the beach bar. We hope your return to Iberostar Varadero is soon, we will be looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Quality Manager Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed from Jan. 28th to Feb.9th. The weather was a bit stormy and cool for a couple of days during the first week but then warmed up and most days were from 27 to 29 degrees. We could not find fault with anything. The food was excellent. The room spacious, clean and well appointed. The bars had anything we asked for with the usual rum tropical favorites, martini, scotch, cognac, you name it. Service was great everywhere with a smile. The 'Star Friends' kept all kinds of activities going during the day and performed amazing shows in the evening.
Tips of course were graciously accepted but not required. All age groups can enjoy this place. There is an amazing water playground at one side of the complex for children. The resort seemed to be very well managed. The Cuban people are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: The resort is not large so there are not really any bad locations. If you have small children I would advise one of the units toward the east end that is close to water playground and furthest from the night entertainment noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Uwe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Uwe J, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time invested in sharing your experience with other readers. I will forward your nice comments regarding our staff to our Head of Departments. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful 2 weeks with us. We hope we are able to welcome you back some day. Best regards from Varadero. Quality Manager Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Overall this hotel is a good stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable with an oversize bathroom with a separate tub and shower. Our room also had a bidet. Block 18 is ideal as it is closest to everything. The buffet is reccomended though you tend to see the same menus each and every day without much changing. I don't recommend the Mediterrainian or the International for dinner at all. You will find all their menu in the buffet as well and none is very appetitising. The Japanese is your best bet for something different. The poolside grill is nothing short of gross.

The hotel staff are very friendly with the exception of a couple of rather rude towel boys at the towel hut.

Poolside bar service is not well staffed at all. As long as rum is your drink of choice it's all good. Margaretas, not so much. The Cafe bar is much better and they make an awesome cappachino and espresso as well.

We were there from Jan 18 to Feb 2. Warm days with only 2 days of slight showers but the pool is not heated and hardly anyone used it. The ocean had a migration of blue jelly fish which turns out to be quite toxic. We were told that if your stung you will require a shot. These jellyfish were washing up on shore. Dozens and dozens. We didn't go in the ocean anyway because of the cold. I really recommend going March thru May to catch the better weather.

I also noticed a large percentage of retirees here. Possibly due to the expense meaning more affordable to the older population. No partiers and very few families, though the do have excellent childrens area and programs.

Room Tip: I chose the ground floor for easy accessibility.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Sheila M. Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take all our guests comments and suggestions into consideration in order to improve day by day. I have forwarded your comments to our Entertaiment Manager we will verify your bad experience with the staff at the towell house. We apologize on their behalf if they make you fell inconfortable. We hope you are able to visit Cuba again, hopefully at Iberostar Varadero. Best regards, Quality Manager Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews