We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Varadero
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$582
$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$214
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$252
$215
galahotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$177
$125
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$188
$173
HotelsClick
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
$133
HotelsClick
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,182)
Filter reviews
7,182 results
Traveler rating
4,588
1,872
533
118
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,588
1,872
533
118
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsjapanese restaurantspa poollobby barfishwater poloa la carte restaurantssurf and turfjunior suiteevening entertainmententertainment staffmain buffetmain poolkids clubother resortswedding coordinatorfantastic holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,341 - 2,346 of 7,182 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from 12 days in Cuba - 3 days at Iberostar Park Central in Havana and then 9 days in Varadero Iberostar. Overall had a great trip but think there are some things that would have been useful to know. (We're a family of four Dad, mum 7 & 5 year old girls)
On the plus side:
1.Excellent rooms
2.Really nice pool area
3.Amazing beach and sea
4.Impressive shows - choreography etc.
On the slightly disappointing side.
5. impressive communal areas
1.Kids club not as good as Mark Warner / Club Med
2.Food Ok but often cold and not checked to keep fresh (old pancakes piled high at breakfast etc.) It's fine if you make sure you get the freshest e.g. the Omelette man who makes fresh for you.
3.Shows a bit samey - just dance shows with a variation on theme e.g. Rock / tropicana / etc.
4. Personally felt pressured to tip and felt the service reflected the amount you tipped, for example when we tipped a barman got stronger drinks from him etc. The reason i go for all inclusives is partly to avoid having to carry money etc. this was a shame - not about saving the money as fully understand the difference the peso tip (only about 70p) makes to the individuals but it definitely makes it less relaxing.
5. Football / Tennis facilities need an upgrade.
In conclusion, great destination for a relaxing break, if you're requirement is the kids clubs then I'd recommend Club Med / Mark Warner first.
However I'd definitely recommend Cuba as a destination, it's a fascination place and the people are amazing considering quite some adversity, it's probably worth a visit now before it becomes overly commercial in the future.

Room Tip: We were in 1851 and 1852 - interconnecting rooms on the third floor. They were immaculate and close to everything but were never bothered by noise. Had some comments that if you're not at the end of a corridor as we were that you hear the late revellers coming back.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Happytravellingman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear dmaronald, Thank you for your review and honest words about your experiences during your vacations. We appreciate all your suggestions, it will help us to work in those aspect we can improve to our guests. We are wokring in the improvement of our Kids facilities, next year families will be able to enjoy an Aquatic Park next to a new Miniclub area. I will forward your review to all our staff. Thank you for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. Quality Manager Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

17th oct-31st oct 2012
lovely hotel,staff can`t do enough for you.It`s not all about tipping either.
Food was fine sometimes a little cold ,and could be repetative but you could always fine something to eat
fantastic pools the beach was great until sandy hit, however don`t worry it will get rebuilt.
The entertainment team worked so hard and put on some great shows some fantastic singers among them.
The only thing i can say is that alot of rude canadians and i mean rude.But thats no fault of the hotel.
If you are getting married Belkis can`t do enough for you couldn`t have asked for a better wedding co-ordinater.
would go back tomorrow if i could,

Room Tip: room 1048 great
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbieLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear debbieLeedsEngland, On behalf of all our staff we want to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and wedding with us, I will make sure Belkis reads your nice words regarding her work and assistance. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Best regards, Quality Manager Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at Iberostar Varadero from 8th October - 22nd October.
Arrived at hotel 6 hours late, so got there early hours in the morning, due to flight being delayed. Reception was very quick in booking us in. While they were booking the guest's in, cases were taken to our rooms.
We were in block 16, this did have some building work to the rear but made no difference to us at all. (No noise). The room was spacious and clean. Tv,which had limited English speaking channels, coffee making machine, mini bar that is restocked every day., EU plugs for electrics. Hot water at all times. Large bath room with bath and walk in shower. Clean towels daily, towel art was great to come back to each day. (Thank you Jany).
The hotel is made up with low blocks that blend in with the trees.
Food was good in buffet restaurant, also the staff was great, always helping my mum who lost her way all the time due to an illness. This was no problem for them.
3 A la cart restaurants but we only used the Mediterranean, which was very good.
Pool area and bars are clean and tidy, plenty of sunbeds we never had a problem even on days when we went to the beach and came back mid morning.
Entertainment was great from 9.30am until 2am. They work very hard to make lots of people happy, especially Alberto (VO5), Yalain, Victor, Monica. Also the entertainments manager who looks like Peter Kay. Lots of things to do, Archery, shooting, mini golf, darts, and usual water sports.
The beach 1 day was closed due to a new beach being built. It was raised by 12 feet high and widened by 100 feet. Amazing to see this being done in 24 hours. No noise by the work at all. Hotel is behind the beach which you can't see due to trees. But this is a pleasure.
There is 4 pools, one being in the main pool that is split into 2 but having a bridge and a wall between. Jacuzzi is in the main pool, which is lovely having a cocktail and a jacuzzi at the same time.
Did 3 trips, Havana for the overnight, the 3 cities tour (long day), steam train and sugar trip. Train didn't work, so we got our money back. But still had meal and speed boat trip.
All in all had a wicked time and cant wait to go back.
Thank you to all staff to Iberostar Varadero.

Room Tip: Quiet blocks are 15, 16, 17.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Brentford, On behalf of all our staff, specially Alberto (VO5), Yalain, Victor, Monica and Manny (Peter Kay), we thank you for choosing Iberostar Varadero for your vacations. We are happy to know that you went back home with the desire of coming back to visit us. We will be looking forward to that day. Best regards, Quality Manager Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Iberostar Varadero is second to none. The facilities were impeccable, rooms were clean an well maintained (thanks Arysbania) and experience was great.

I did a lot of research prior to going and was not disappointed. From the initial arrival, the staff worked hard to provide a pleasurable experience.

The food was very good. I was disappointed with the a-la-carte restaurants as it just seemed the staff was not as pleasant and food was limited. However, the buffet restaurant was amazing. If your willing to try, the food is tasty an each meal we found several items that were amazing and required second and third visits. And the staff at the buffet were great, very friendly, helpful, talkative, and fun. We sat in the same area of the restaurant and got to know the staff quite well.

As for the facilities, the pool was amazing, pool bar delicious, and staff very helpful. We did get three incredible beach days prior to Hurricane Sandy hitting which made the ocean dangerous and beach windy, but that said I was incredibly impressed with how the 'Star Friends' staff worked tirelessly to ensure that even in spite of the weather, the guests had an amazing and fun experience. And even with the storm (which only lasted a day) events went off without a hitch, an programs continued.

I went with just my girlfriend and I, leaving my son (5) at home, but having seen the programs an staff for kids, I would love to take him too next time. The Star Friends runs daily programs for kids and nightly how programs in the theatre. Kids were encouraged to participate in productions an dancing and I have to say, if your just looking for an adult vacation, you'd never know the kids were there most of the time.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for any type of vacation from family to romantic. It was memorable even with the weather. I could only imagine how goo it would be in perfect season.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Rich M, Thank you for your review and nice comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to know that you and your girlfriend were not dissapointed with the services and with the staff. Unfortunately, Varadero area had a bad weather week during Sandy, and as part of the Management team we are proud to know that our Animation team was able to entertained our guests during those days. I will forward your suggestion to our Chef and our Maitre regarding the a la carte restaurants. Arysbania will receive a copy of your nice words. We hope that you are able to visit us again soon with your son. Best regards, Quality Manager Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Four sisters in two junior suites from Oct.16-23 First and most important to us was the food. We loved the variety and most important you can eat so heathy. Prunes apricots melons and in the morning they make fresh smoothies in front of you with fresh fruit and take a little of each in your glass or banana with pineapple.Made to order fried eggs or omlettes. Salads vegies and the the assortment of breads was fantastic. If you are a meat and fish person like me you will be in heaven. Chicken, fish, roast beef, every night and pasta dishes every night. Fantastic entertainment pool and beach. We loved the free dance lessons in and out of the pool. You can see that they do there best to please you. It was paradise. We want to go back every year. Thanks Iberostar Varadero. From Diane Darlene Denise and Donna Hamilton ontario.

Room Tip: Liked the suites.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buddyminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear buddyminty, On behalf of all our staff we want to thank you and your sisters for choosing Iberostar Varadero for your vacations. It is a pleasure to read that you all felt in paradise in Cuba and in our Hotel. We hope you are able to visit us every year, we will be glad to welcome you all back. Best regards, Quality Manager Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews