We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, best all inclusive I've been to!”
Review of Iberostar Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Varadero
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with a fantastic location. Great staff, nice hotel, very good services, great excursions - we did snorkell and jeep tour, funny evening entertainment, good family hotel, rooms clears every day, fantastic food and available 22hours, nice pool and plenty of sunbeds, small only 1 floor hotel area and 3 floor room blocks. So many activities for kids and adults. Water polo, volleyball, tennis, football, spar, non-motorised water sports, 3 restaurants beach bar/restaurant, swim-up bar, etc. loads of opportunities to win Havana Club rum, with darts, mini golf, table tennis, etc. And unlimited alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks all day long! A brilliant hotel, I will return. Great stay in Havana too!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZimpoukReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear ZimpoukReviewer, On behalf of our staff and Management team at Iberostar Varadero we want to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations. We appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your stay, as it is very important that future guests have information about our services. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Best regards, Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,236 - 2,242 of 6,886 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

I just got back from the Iberostar Varadero a couple of days ago with a group of over 40 passengers, and I really enjoyed myself at this particular resort. As a travel agent, I book this resort quite a lot and have always have great feedback from my clients. I will outline in point form the pro's and con's of this particular resort.

PRO's
- Not far from airport
- Mid-size resort
- Very nice standard rooms (one of the best standard rooms I have had to date, with great amenities - example; bathrobes, slippers, re-stoked mini-fridge, lotions, shampoo, full size umbrellas in the room, room service, etc.)
- Clean/great room conditions (My room was spotless, no hair or water spots, soap scum from previous travelers, the grout in the tiles was clean, the maid did an amazing job, and I was super surprized that the hotel room was in such great condition - the paint, the tiles, the dressers, etc did not look worn out or old.
- Food was tasty, with lots of selection (People tend to complain about the food in cuba, mainly due to the bland tastes, and lack of options, though this resort had a lot of selection, and food was pretty tasty! I never felt hungry, or unsatisfied with the options.)
- Great coffee bar area right off the lobby that was an enjoyable place to relax.
- Staff were attentive, friendly and responsive whenever you needed anything.
- Lots interactive activities (Archery, dart competitions, water polo, air riffle competitions, ping pong competition, etc.)
- Good television stations
- Fair internet pricing
- Kids club with it's own waiting pool
- Room well air conditioned (never felt damp or humid)
- Beautiful beach with lots of chairs
- Never ran out of beach towels

CON's
- Resort layout could have been better, it almost felt like a resort without a beach because the way the resort kinda just had a path to the beach randomly, I feel that they should have opened the area up more heading towards the beach.
- More lighting along the paths to the rooms
- Shows were not very interesting, and started pretty late...clients always talk about wanting more interactive shows where the audience can be apart of the show.
- Disco didn't open until 11:00, which is sometimes a bit late to start to go out dancing

In my opinion this resort did an amazing job, and as you can see the con's I listed were all pretty trivial in comparison to the pro's.

Enjoy cuba, they are hard working friendly people!

Room Tip: Block 18 is very central to restaurants, the front entrance, the pool and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Littletravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Littletravelgal, Thank you for your review about your vacations at Iberostar Varadero. We are pleased to know that overall you have enjoy such much of what we have to offer. Although you have mentioned that the Con´s are trivial, for us is important to know about them as well, we will take them into consideration. Only one comment I would like to add to the area open to get to the beach, as you were able to see there is a large green area between the buildings and the beach, we are not able to open more entrances as this area is a natural reservation in the Peninsula and we need Goberment authorization to do so, this area is as well very convinient in this region as we do have several cold fronts and hurricanes, and this prevent winds and ocean to affect our facilities and buildings. Also I would like to point out, that the dregde of sand we were waiting for is arriving very soon and our guests will have a wide beach area to enjoy. I will forward your review to all our staff, who appreciate your comments and suggestion. We hope we can welcome you again very soon. Best regards, Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in the Iberostar Varedero for 1 week in June of this year. What an amazing place. We had spent 3 days in Havana which had been tiring but a brilliant experience. Staff on reception were friendly and efficient and our luggage was taken by golf buggy to our room. The room was beautiful, spotless and huge. We spent a lot of time on the beach and there were waiters on the beach who found you sunbeds and brought you drinks. The pools were lovely but we didn't really use them as the beach was so close. If you wanted to do activities there was plenty to do including daily salsa classes on the beach and water aerobics in the sea. We had use of the sea canoes, peddalos and boats and there was never a long wait for any of them. There were various options for food and we tried them all. The food was lovely and there was always lots of choice. All in all we thought this hotel was fantastic, all the staff could not do enough for you and we never felt pressured to tip although the service was so good we were happy to. The Cuban people although poor are very friendly and whilst out and about we did not have the problems with touts/street sellers that we have had in other countries. This was the best holiday i have had for a long time and i would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Joeden5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Joeden5060, It is a pleasure for all our staff and Management to know that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us, and that you consider this one of the best vacations you had so far. We are glad to hear that the staff was so attentive to you. We hope you are bale to visit us in the future, we will be looking forward to your return. Best regards, Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Holiday from september 13th 27th. check in was quick given a refreshing drink on arrival. bell boys took our luggage to our room on arrival. stayed in block 17 juniour suite very clean large very good air con soft comfy beds fluffy pillows large bathroom very good shower lovely garden view lovely maid who did great towel art. STAFF very friendly couldnt do enough for you. FOOD.hit and miss sometimes hot sometimes cold . evening entertainment was first class we really enjoyed it all. drinks were very good. BEACH was amazing yes its narrow but you didnt have far to walk into the sea. staff would come round and take your drinks order. pool was very nice plenty of room never had any problem getting a sun lounger. plenty going on with entertainment during the day if you wanted to join in. didnt try med restaurant tried japanisdidnt like that one we just went to the buffet. TRIPS we went to havana overnight glad we did it was worth seeing enjoyed it although club tropicano was a waste of time better show at hotel. catermaran trip was a total waste of money hotel beach was far nicer and food wasnt up to much good either. we did tip a lot on this holiday but staff work so hard and they really were worth tipping. they deserve it and they didnt expect it either and the service they gave you was top notch. i would go back to cuba but not for a few years as we would like to try other country.

Room Tip: block 17 very quiet near to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaine089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear elaine089, Thank you for sharing your experience at Iberostar Varadero with other readers. For us Management and staff, it is a pleasure to know that you had a very good trip and that the staff was able to give you the service you expected. We will take notice about your comment regarding our food. We wish you have a much better experience on your next destination, and that your next trip to Cuba is not so far away. Best regards from everybody at Ib. Varadero. Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in May and had a great holiday. The room was lovely and clean and overlooked the well kept gardens. The food was much better here compared to other hotels that we have stayed at in Varadero. Superb beach although it is quite narrow you can walk a long way on the lovely white sand . The only gripe we had was that if you wanted a bed on the beach you had to be down there very early as people were putting towels on beds and going off for breakfast (nothing new as this seems to happen at most hotels these days). The weather was unusually unsettled for May on our second week as it rained on and off for 3 days. The entertainment was excellent and very varied. We will be back as Cuba is one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nannygill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear nannygill, On behalf of all our staff we want to say Thank you for your review and for choosing Iberostar Varadero for your vacations. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and services, we will take your suggestions into consideration. We hope you give us the pleasure to welcome you back on you next visit to Cuba. Best regards, Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

just came back from 2 weeks here and really enjoyed it.
hotel is excellent, generally clean all over with lots of open space. well laid out of lots of tree cover so it doesnt look like a hotel complex from a distance. most of the hotels in varadero are like this apart of the monster Blau hotel which looks shocking along the coastline, really spoils the view from a distance.
Pool is split into 2 parts, one is a bit deeper than the other, plenty of sunbeds around. some of the beds have thinner mats on then so try to seek out the thick ones.
Rooms are pretty big and air con is excellent tho a bit noisy on full blast. good thing is it doesnt have a slot for your key card which knocks the power off when u remove it, meaning you can leave the air con on all day keeping the cool for your return (and also meaning you never really need it on full blast).
food was generally pretty good however it catered for western food. i would have loved some traditional cuban food, after 2 visits to cuba i still havent experience local food. no hotels seem to do it! Think they tried to hard to make what they think we eat rather than just cooking good food. Sometimes over salted things too.
3 themed restaurants were good too, Japanese was a bit fun, making Teppanyaki. Standard didn't much the fun element if youve ever had it before that is. im not saying it was poor, just that it wasn't anything special. Other 2 restaurants were pretty good tho.
entertainment during the day was the normal darts, bingo and dancing stuff. Pretty good if you want that on hols (i don't but that's my pref). also seemed to be something going on to take part in. The shows at night were impressive, fancy costumes and the like.
Bar service was also good, people would take your orders at your table if you couldnt be bothered to leave your seat and plenty of diff drinks on offer.
Beach is very good, maybe a bit narrow bit defo long enough, again plenty sunbeds. Only downside is when you swam out you could see the shocking Blau hotel looming into view. Not this hotels fault but could someone please knock it down!

did a few trips from the hotel 2 of which were good but the jeep 'eco' safari was really crap. 2 years ago we did one in the south and it was excellent, did around 200km tho local villages and farms. This one did around 40km, most of which was back and forward along the same road. most of the time was spent sitting at a 'ranch' were u could sit on a bull, ride a horse/donkey for 50 yards or hold a doped up croc/gator with it mouth taped shut while a chained up Coypu sat on its back. (they also trained the Coypu to drink a can of coke). I think someone from Thomsons should have a slap for deciding to 'highly recommend' this one!

Major downside of Varadero is thats its just so 'touristy'. i know im going as a tourist but i love cuba and here you could be anywhere in the world. The south of the island is so slow and laid back while up here its all about the tourist dollar (or peso).

i would recommend the hotel to anyone, theres nothing at all wrong with it (well nothing a bulldozer to the Blau hotel wouldnt fix). Its the area of Cuba i wouldnt recommend.
Each to there own tho.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fluffer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear fluffer1000, Thank you for visiting us during your last vacation, it was a pleasure to welcome you at Iberostar Varadero. We appreciate your opinion about our services as it is important to other readers as well. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, we will look into your suggestions with our Department Managers. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited in august 2012 during the tropical storm that hit Cuba and Florida.
We are a family of three with one son aged 12 from the UK using Thomson as our tour operator.
Holiday was one of contrasts. We were initially allocated a room in block 10 on the ground floor which was smelled strongly of damp and was inward facing. This was very disappointing. On discussion with reception we were moved the following day to such better room I'm block 18. However we had lost a whole day of our short 7 night holiday. Apparently we could not be moved sooner as the hotel was fully booked though upgrades to suites were still being advertised in reception. The new room was much better with the only bugbear being the mini bed given to our 12 year old though we had had to pay full adult price.
On the positive side:
Food was very good and the option to visit different restaurants as a contrast to buffet was very welcome. International restaurant was excellent and the Japanese entertaining.
Entertainment in the evenings was excellent and well organised and professional.
Pools were clean and well kept though difficult to get chairs if you were not there before 9.00 am.
Staff were very helpful and friendly generally though a little pushy on the tips - particularly the bell boys on just arriving with no Cubsn currency.
Location was very good with sea close by though obviously spoilt for us by three days of wind and rain. Still that's life.
Excursions were also limited by weather. Havana trip was worthwhile though nothing remarkable.
Iberostar have a good hotel here in a great location with a good staff attitude - they need to ensure all rooms are up to the same standard to eagn the five stat rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonMBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear DonMBanbury, Thank you for your review and comments about your stay with us. We are glad to know that overall you have enjoyed your vacations with us. We will take your suggestions into consideration in order to keep improving day by day. Each year the hotel has a Maintenance Planning for all our rooms, together with on daily basis our Maintenance team works in breakdowns or problems that allows them to solve them inmediately, also we are currently giving maintenance to our pool area, renovating our Junior Suites and also for next year the hotel will have an important upgrade in regards to facilities for families with our Aquatic Park for Kids, however we will verify the problem you have mentioned with your first room, we appreciate your comment regarding this. About your words on the availability for the room change, it is correct that the hotel was fully booked in both standard and Junior Suites, for that reason we always try our best to organize those room changes as soon as we have availability, trying to provide to our guests rooms according to their requests. We do have an advertising of the Upgrades to Junior Suites next to our Front Desk, in which we specify to our guests to consult availability at the Desk. We apologize for your inconviniences during your stay, and we hope that you still have good memories of your holidays and think about choosing Iberostar Hotels for your next vacations. Best regards, Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.9 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
#28 of 64 in Varadero
7,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Varadero

Address: Carretera Las Morlas km 17,5 | Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#1 Family Hotel in Varadero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $249 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Varadero 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of Varadero. Iberostar's first 5 star hotel in Cuba. Luxury and comfort in an elegant atmosphere. Top gastronomy and excellent service. Equipped for every kind of meeting, gala dinner, party, etc.. Ideal for groups & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Varadero Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Cuba
Iberostar Varadero Cuba
Varadero Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing