We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Varadero
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$219
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$107
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$215
$188
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$140
$89
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$223
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,267)
Filter reviews
7,267 results
Traveler rating
4,644
1,898
535
119
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,644
1,898
535
119
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsjapanese restaurantspa poollobby barfishwater poloa la carte restaurantssurf and turfjunior suiteevening entertainmententertainment staffmain buffetmain poolkids clubother resortswedding coordinatorfantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
2,541 - 2,546 of 7,267 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 week stay along with another 19 family and friend members. Our stay was just amazing!

We got married the 29th of June, the most perfect beautiful day of our lives. Our wedding coordinator Belkis was just fantastic so hardworking and so organised, helpful and lovely!!

Anyone that is thinking of going to Cuba varadero, should stay at this hotel. We've been twice and this hotel is absolutely beautiful, the service was fantastic especially the waiters and waitresses hardworking and fun, they got to know my daughter 18 months and sometimes theyd come at the dinner table and take her for a walk round other tables for fun, we made friends with janelis who works at the international bar and restaurant, what a lovely and funny woman she is, rooms cleaned by great maids again so lovely and friendly our one yida was just the best, the gardeners worked so hard at keeping the garden looking beautiful. On our wedding day we married in the garden and was just do beautifully decorated.

The food was just so good I'm missing it!!! You'd think the restaurant foods would be better than the buffet but in fact they were just as good!! The decor of the food was just beautiful.

I honestly think the hotel the staff the weather the food the music Cuba altogether made our two weeks so memorable but especially our wedding day!!!!

David and Alice

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriella120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear David & Alice,

First, I would like to congratulate you on this new chapter of your life, we are glad to know that you and your family have enjoyed your wedding at Iberostar Varadero and that our staff made this special vacation a memorable one for all of you.

I will forward your review to Janelis & Belkis, they will feel very happy to read it, and also proud to see that you appreciate their services and assistance.

We will be looking forward to welcome you soon to Iberostar Varadero, perhaps 1st year anniversary!

Best regards,

Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We travelled to this hotel Iberostar Varadero for our first holiday together and it was truly amazing.
we never expected Cuba to be a great as it was!
The food is delicous , the beaches are to die for and the hotel is spotlessly clean.

The ala carte restaurants where a great choice for change but we where never stuck for choice each night, something for everyone!

The entertainment was great throughout the day, lots of energetic activities wheuch we enjoyed and if you prefer quiet time, the spa and realaxation is perfect.

I loved Cuba, the peopl, the culture, the beaches and scenery.

Trips i can recommend would be:
swimming with dolphins
Catermaran to a littl idyllic island( like the maldives!!)
The golf course- restaurant in the clouds for amazing views over varadero!!( lovely foof and cocktails too)

Book it, dont hesitate! it was a perfect holiday overall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrandmrschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerCuba, Quality Manager Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer. We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us. Thank you again for your review and we hope yo welcome you back soon. Best regards, Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

location,beach,hotel,staff!Amasing!Will definately return in hart beat!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquamarin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Iberostar Varadero takes this opportunity to thank you for your review and recommendation. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your vacations with us, and we wish that in the future you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Iberostar Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you're looking for a true 5 star resort in Cuba this is the place to go.
Staff are friendly, food is above average compared to other resorts we've stayed at in Cuba. Lots of variety. The beach is beautifull, the water is blue and if you wait unitl 3pm you can walk out quite a ways into the ocean.

Room Tip: Book the Junior Suite and ask for block 17. You won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Carlo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Carlos G,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy your vacations with us and that your experience with Iberostar was Great!

I will forward your comments to all our Departments, it will make them feel proud to know they influenced in your stay with us.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Varadero.

Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Food
Is very hit and miss the buffet restaurants food was usually cold or at best luke warm without much real choice just variations of the same food, that said the Japanese restaurant is a must go to, the food is great, the service and chefs are really good couldn't praise this restaurant enough, the international and the mediterranean restaurants were average (not the largest choice) though better than the Buffett.  
5 out of 10 

Staff
The stars (entertainment staff) were generally really good working hard to make everyone feel welcome to join in the activities, they work hard to make the evening show entertaining and memorable (not the greatest show but 100% effort) as for the bar and restaurant staff they are generally good how ever it did get annoying being made to feel like you had to tip for everything at the bar ( never overtly saying tip me but as they say actions speak louder than words), cleaning staff did a good job in the rooms always leaving towels in imaginative shapes leaving a feel good factor to your room as well as always friendly. 
9 out of 10 

Resort 
The pool and facilities were generally good how ever the place sometimes didn't always feel clean (a cockroach running across the food in the buffet restaurant didn't help my impression as well as the constant flys and birds in the restaurants) that said the location of the restaurants, bars, pools and games areas were spot on. The biggest complaint was lack of parasols around the pool meaning unless you had your towel down on a sun lounger under a parasol before 7:30 you had to go without (annoying how many people reserve sun loungers around the pool and then spend the day on the beach). The rooms are spacious and comfortable and clean.  Wifi is not worth using as its expensive (about £15 for a day) and very slow.
8 out of 10

in general nice place (especially if you have children very child friendly with lots laid on for them by the stars staff) personally not a 5star it's a 4star at best (mostly the food let it down for me)  overall 
7 out of 10 as we had a good time with a couple of changes to how the food is handled and pest control in resturant this would be a great place (I work in the food industry so know what I'm looking at)

Top Tip if you're staying in this hotel
-Take European adapters not American (all sockets are round 2 pin) almost impossible to get an adapter once over there

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jayallen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

I take this opportunity to express our appreciation to all your comments and suggestions about the hotel and your experience with us, I am glad to know that overall you and your family have enjoyed your vacations.

Regarding your comment about the food, I will forward your review to our Executive Chef, he will follow up on them. As I have mentioned in other responses, we have decided to keep the Pool restaurant windows close with A/C during the day, in order to prevent birds from coming inside. We do have a fumigation and pest program, however I appreciate your honest opionion and we will supervise each procedure in order to improve and prevent this type of incidents.

I am sorry to hear that you had trouble finding a parasol available, the hotel has 3 different pool areas with sun chairs and parasols around, and as well on the beach. We understand that when a hotel is 100% occupied it may be certain moments were the main pool area gets crowed, I hope that this fact did not affect you from enjoying the pool and our activities.

Also I will like to thank you for your recommendation about adaptors to TA readers this is a service that we provide upon availability and due to occupancy may take time to have them available.

On behalf of all our staff we hope that you are able to enjoy your next vacation to the fullest, and get your 10 out of 10 from all service.

Best regards,

Pilar Perciavalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews