We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good and a change from the hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varadero 60

Varadero 60
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Varadero
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good and a change from the hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to this restaurant with Cuban friends. It's a private restarant, so it's doesn't belong to the state. The service was very good and there were asking if everything was ok and if we needed anything else. I had a bether service than I had in many places in Montreal. I had pasta and cheeze fondue at first. Wow. The best fondue I had. Very tasy and creamy. The espresso was very good too. Not too strong, but enough to keep you awake!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gen867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    232
    52
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice break from resort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were "hijacked" into going to Varadero 60 by our taxi driver, and I'm glad we were. We pulled up in front and were greeted by one of the waitresses wearing a cute 60's style stewardess hat. We picked a table out on the attractive front patio; the table had linen, wine glasses, and Real Madrid-branded cutlery (not sure what that was all about).

After scanning the expansive menu we settled on a shrimp cocktail to start and the seafood tower as a main. The shrimp cocktail comes served on a slice of whole pineapple and is accompanied by individual shells filled ketchup and mayonnaise ; it was very good even with the lack of seafood sauce. The seafood tower was enormous: a slice of whole pineapple topped by a filet of fish, topped by shrimp and scallops, topped by another filet of fish, topped by more shrimp and scallops, topped by a skewered lobster tail. It was marvelous.

We finished with a dessert of chocolate brownie and vanilla ice cream, and the bill came in just over CUC $50. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Excellent service. We ate at a round 2pm mid week and the place was buzzing. We where there for about 3 hours eating, drinking and chatting we were not rushed, the service was second to none, and the bill was less than 90 CUC for 4 of us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Farr-Duvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

After hearing about this restaurant, we finally decided to go there for dinner and were very pleasantly surprised! The restaurant is off the main street, but is located in a nicely renovated house with indoor and outdoor seating. My husband had a "seafood tower", and a tower it was. The fish was delicious. My shrimp enchiladas were delicious. Service was great, and I would like to add, very honest. Super clean and extra pleasant. Sorry, El Rancho, you lose and we'll be back at Varadero 60 next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coffee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another great choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were blessed that our company knew the staff, we got to eat in a private room with the AC :) the food was great and the prices fab. 20$ for a lobstertail dinner with 4 types of fish, and my hubby's pork chop meal was a fully loaded plate with 3 pieces on it! Great stuff. On ave 3 between calle 60 and 61 - I thnk :) you can see the Palma Real from the front doors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lrbreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varadero 60 also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to Varadero 60? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing