We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$582
$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$214
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$252
$213
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$158
$125
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$133
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$188
$174
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,440)
Filter reviews
6,440 results
Traveler rating
3,135
1,881
908
328
188
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,135
1,881
908
328
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal servicerock househill topracquet clubhilltop restaurantport royalpiano barjapanese restauranta la carte restaurantsroyal sidelobsterbutler servicedinner reservationsjunior suitewater balletmain buffetspanish lessons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,652 - 3,657 of 6,440 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2009

One of the main bugbears was the transfer from our hotel in Havana. Becuase this hotel is one of the last on the peninsular it takes an age to get there if you are dropping off at other hotels. Once you arrive however you can start to really relax. The lobby is welcoming and the staff helpful. The information pack you get on arrival is pretty comprehensive and we set about exploring right away. It wasn't the greatest weather when we arrived so we couldn't get to the beach at first and stayed around the pool area - there was plenty of space for everyone and they never ran out of sunbeds for people. The pool didn't appear to be heated and I wasn't brave enough to get in it - the sea was warmer. The beach also has plenty of space and beds (although I acknowledge we weren't there at peak time). We read reviews that the beach was very narrow - we didn't feel like that was the case when we were there. There was three rows of umbrellas and a short hop to the sea - perfect. We used the kayaks that were available and they were offering a snorkelling trip for 20 CUCs but we didn't take them up on this. The entertainment was really good although by the end of the week you'll be sick of certain songs. Each restaurant had its own musicians and every night there was a band playing somewhere - a mix of Cuban classics (which were great) and some western songs (which were the ones you got sick off!).
The food was good in our opinion - the Japanese was superb and our favorite of the week. The buffet had a good selection and on the Cuban special night they were even serving up lobsters. We tried the Italian which was ok and the Brazlian which was good apart from you tended to get eaten yourself by the mozzies.
There was a good selection of drinks including named brands like Baileys and Chivas Regal. The measures were generous. We do not recommend drinking the water stick to bottled water which the hotel do provide.
The room we had was a partial sea view and was good on the whole. The only compliant really was that the bathroom is very dark and we had a ripped sheet one night - hence the score. The maids were very attentive but be warned that in the evening the trun down maids can be quite keen. We didn't ask for a turn down service but still got a knock on the door at 10.30 one night which I thought was too late. But we spoke to reception and it didn't happen again.
With regards to the nightclub - it has to be visited at least once - just for a laugh. We saw some classic dancing - even being treated to a Napolean Dynamite lookalike/dancealike!!!
Checkout was no hassle.
Worth doing a short trip along to Varedero or Cardenos if you haven't visited anywhere else in Cuba - it certainly puts some things into perspective for you.
Great trip and would recommend the hotel to anyone. certainly looked like the best on the peninsular.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elsie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

First trip out of Canada. Wow! The staff was friendly & helpful; food was good for resort food.Favorite - beach & bar on the beach. Bartender Victor makes the best Mojito & Victor specials! There was a issue with the room, first night (allergies) it was really musty. Management changed our room the next morning & rest of the time, I was in good health.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeWantToGoBackSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

While this is one of the most beautiful resorts my husband and I have been to in Cuba. When our bus arrived at 12:00 noon at the resort on February 21, 2009, our rooms were not ready and we had to wait until 3:00 p.m. to get into our rooms. Other people arrived after us and while they were waiting for their rooms they were given a complimentary drink and cold towel, we did not receive the same. I could not believe that upon getting to this resort, that we did not require a bracelet to show that we belonged on this resort. Any resort that I have been to in Cuba, we have always had a bracelet to show that we belonged there. How would they know if someone walked up from the beach onto this resort, that they belonged there. The beach was red flagged for four (4) days out of the seven that we were there. I have never before seen jelly fish in my life. When walking on the beach, there were so many jelly fish you had to not walk close to the water. I didn't like the vendors selling hats, seashells and starfish on the beach, there should be more security taking care of this.
It was so windy the week we were there that nobody was on the beach. The room was very spacious and clean, but getting the fridge stocked was a daily nuisance. The coffee maker which was only a four cup, took almost 20 minutes to perk. Not to mention that the power in our room went off several times when we were taking a shower. The staff at this resort were very friendly and courteous, well most of them. The woman at the exchange place for money was not very friendly and never smiled or said a word to any person exchanging their money. Also the gift shop attendees could be a little more friendlier and helpful. The food, well that is another story, compared to other resorts in Cuba, I would say it was a little bit better. I would recommend that if you eat, do so at the Raquet Club, staff is very friendly and food is O.K. The lagoon near the resort, when walking to the beach was a horrible sight and smell. While Cuba is beautiful and the people working at the resort are oh so friendly and courteous, our destination plans in the future do not include Cuba.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We just came back from Cuba and stayed at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa.
It was a relaxing holiday but weather was not nice ...it was very very windy all through 14 nights stay...I only able to swam in the sea just once during our 14 nights stay then found out it was their winter months...february and march...also swimming pools were not heated ...so was not very active holiday at all...so I finished reading four books...Anyway overall it was a laid back, resting holiday and also able to join yoga class which I enjoyed immensily...Couple of tips who is planning to go this hotel:
1- Book your choice of restaurants as soon as you arrive.
2- Some days are hotel is very busy and then reserve your sun bed by the pool side before you have your breakfast....otherwise you end up shadey place....
3- Take some jackets WITH YOU if you planning to go in february and march..temperature drops 12C SOME NIGHTS.....
4- Do not buy cigars and havana club rom in hotel's gift shop...it is much much cheaper at the airport...
5- Do not go Dante restaurant in varadero...it is total rip off.......

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aslanfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

What a 5-star (this one, anyway) pays for that a 4 star can’t guarantee:
- avoiding drunk partyers
- avoiding rooms that have anything dysfunctional, broken, moldy or unpleasant
- fewer guests, larger spaces – means no “reserving a spot” at beach or pool – shelters and chairs always plentiful
- clean beach – no garbage anywhere!!!!!
- good food – yes, even in Cuba, including a buffet with a variety of raw fish and meat you choose for grilling, salads, cheese and fresh fruit that don’t run out, plentiful fresh seafood including sushi (prepared meat dishes tend to be overcooked, except Cuban ones which were excellent)

Very nice resort with overall excellent service, good food, beautifully kept grounds and nice rooms. A few tips, though, on how to get the most of your stay:

1 – look up the weather before you arrive, and have an idea of what days would be good for excursions (e.g., cloudy, cool or rainy days) – book on day 1 so you don’t have to plan after that (and lets you be carefree!)
2 – plan on eating at the buffet on excursion days, as you never know how long you’ll be gone from the resort
3 – as soon as arrive (and I mean right after you drop your stuff in your room), book a la carte dinners! You can only book each restaurant once, so that means 5 days for a week
4 – excursions – Havana: much more fun to pay only for transport and go off on your own (unless you’re ok getting on and off bus all day for 10 minute stops with the same group of people, and getting hoarded by hustlers each time you get off the bus). Second: “jeep safari”: instead of being on an off-road nature adventure, you are driving through a lot of city (Matanzas, to be exact) and your “catamaran” is actually a slow-moving ferry and your “horseback riding” is actually going up and back a dusty driveway on a slow, small horse. Having said that, the urban drive in the little Samurai is fascinating, and you’ll get to see real people and communities, along with a real farm and a beautiful cave
5 – bank at hotel gives same rate of exchange, but you MUST count your money on the counter even if the clerk has counted it in front of you. We were warned about this as a general precaution in Cuba, and were shocked to see someone miscount our pesos
6 – prices of tobacco and alcohol are controlled by the government, so you can go ahead and shop at the gift store for convenience, if you need to

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChillinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews