We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MARVELLOUS EXCURSION TO AN IDEAL WORLD!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MARVELLOUS EXCURSION TO AN IDEAL WORLD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our vacation (30.10-13.11) in Princesa Del Mar will always warm us in our thoughts.
Beautiful green big territory of the hotel allows you to enjoy a new little corner every day. Excellent and diverse food is offered in the main buffet hall: fresh seafood, meat, vegetables, fruits, pasta, deserts and ice cream every day. Perfect gym with all required inventory. Enjoyable jogging along the beach. The soft, turquoise ocean hugs you. International volley ball on the beach charges you with the positive energy. Refreshing mojitos or cubatas or etc ...are delicious. The climate is excellent. It is neither very hot nor humid. Stretching and dancing. Salsa...salsa...salsa...The
Cuban music makes all bodies move in tact. The central square of the hotel reminds the visitor of any European city. It is crowded, noisy, fun, friendly every evening. Cocktails, cigars, singing and, of course, dancing. Professionals will help everybody feel at ease with their movements.
The hotel specialises in organising important events like wedding or birthdays. We have organised birthday with flowers and breakfast in the room in the morning, then Spa and musical surprises. It was a lot of fun.
The personnel is so friendly and always asks you Como estas? I wished to describe my emotions but I didn’t speak Spanish. The hotel provides with an excellent opportunity to learn Spanish with a professional teacher Reidel. I had seven lessons of Spanish in the group. The first day I was able to get acquainted with people. Then I was able to go shopping, making arrangements. After that I spoke about everything in present time. In some days I was able to tell my cuban friends about my yesterday’s adventures and future plans. I am very thankful to REIDEL. This teacher is fluent in English and finds an individual approach to every student notwithstanding the age or nationality. Reidel has explained grammar very clearly. If Cuba was not that far I would go back to study Spanish with Reidel.
We would like to thank Animation Team: Felix, Chang and Mayelin for their kindness and friendly attitude to all and for dancing classes of course.

P.S. I love Cuba for its educated people, wonderful climate and tremendous architecture. Visit Havana!

Room Tip: "Granma" building, third floor, sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Irina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,686
    1,624
    742
    240
    131
See reviews for
390
3,825
153
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,078)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were originally booked into the Sandals hotel but due to renovation work ongoing whilst we were going to be there we were given the option of choosing a different hotel. We decided to choose the Princessa del Mar and have no regrets whatsoever!! Fantastic restaurants and food, service second to none. Entertainment was good. The people in Cuba are amazingly friendly. If you get chance make sure you take the trip to Havana and stay overnight - it is an amazing city!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveDR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were to the "Princesa del mar" at the beginning of September... we liked it so much that we came back two months later. The site is beautiful, with gardens perfectly maintained.

They’re always chairs available around the swimming pools, the same at the beach.

They have 4 restaurants “à la carte”, all of them were very good, the French restaurant “Marseille” and the Japanese were our favorites, the first one for the quality of the food and the service, and the second one because of the show that the cook gave us!

The Buffet has good variety, for all the three meals, and the service is excellent… you never have to wait for having your glass of water or wine to be refilled.

They also have the racket club where you can eat anytime, they serve good breakfast, and it’s a pretty quiet place.

For lunch time our favorite was “Grill playa Port Royal”, near the beach, the food is like home and the staff is very warm.

The room was clean and the house keeping was there for our needs!

One of the features that I like about the resort is that they have a “real” gym with good equipment and a professional trainer that take care of the place.

If you want a very nice place, with a professional and friendly staff… this is the place where you want to be!

We were at the “Princesa” August 31st to September 7, and November 8th to the 15.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic week long stay at the Princesa Del Mar. We are experienced travelers and have been to many all inclusive resorts however this was our first trip to Cuba. This wonderful country has been on my list of places I have wanted to visit for a long time but lets just say that Cuba is not well known for it`s food and being somewhat of a foodie I was a little worried. After my wife read through hundreds of reviews for resorts throughout the country we finally took the plunge and decided on the Princesa Del Mar and so happy we did.
With that intro I guess I should start with the food but won't bore you with a detailed breakdown of every meal. You can always find something good and fresh in the buffet, and we like all the people I talked to, enjoyed the French, Japanese, Italian and Chinese a la cartes off the courtyard. Of course not every dish will be a hit but overall it was really very good. I don't know if we were just lucky or if it is the norm but we had lobster tail on the buffet one day and also had it included in two other meals.
The beach was very nice but you could probably say the same thing for pretty much every property along Veradero beach. Lots of loungers and Palapas and obviously fantastic for a long walk. Beach bar is a small negative for me but only because of the drink quality. If your happy with a plain highball or cervesa then you will be fine but if your looking for a blended drink, stick to the pool. Piano bar and lobby bar offer premium liquor .

Grounds - Immaculate
Pool - Most comfortable loungers, awesome service, something for everyone.
Rooms - Clean, nice balcony, in room safe, typical hard bed. Hearing some of the horror stories of fellow travelers staying at some other resorts, again........ home run.
Entertainment - Great mix of live music every night mixed with other shows.
Staff - Sooooo friendly and helpful.
Atmosphere - Relaxed, casual, fun but wrong place if looking to party hard.

Minor pet peeves - I may be spoiled but I am used to beach drink service The other is music around the pool can sometimes get to you. Too much emphasis on relaxing and spa atmosphere but do mix in some local flavour.

If we do go back to Cuba, we will be returning to the Paradisus Princesa.

Room Tip: Building three or four would be our first choice if available. Currently there is construction besid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fantastic location with a beautiful beach. This resort is near the end of the peninsula so the beach is not crowded at all and walks down the beach are wonderful. Buffet was excellent with plenty of selection. We had Italian, French and Japanese which was our favourite A-LA-Carte and only the French disappointed as they decided to have a set menu that night. Gorgeous grounds that are well manicured. Staff are top notch and very friendly. Didn't experience bugs or mosquitos that we had read about but there was always a nice breeze. Plenty of lounge chairs at both the beach and pool but you still should reserve them early (or be there with someone who will do it for you) Room was great (3rd floor with ocean view) nice kingsized firm beds, mini fridge always stocked and friendly efficient maid service. The shows each night were excellent too. Michael Jackson show was exactly like seeing him in all his videos. Don't miss it. His dance troop was awesome as well. Don't expect to communicate with the rest of the world though as their internet service is not good. Only at the business centre is the internet and you have to pay 5 peso's for 30 minutes and use it up trying to just get connected. We left the resort only once to see Varadero and that wasn't worth it. Every shop sells the same stuff and cigars are too expensive. All the Cuban people are so friendly everywhere even off the resort. 5 star resort and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pick junior deluxe ocean view 3rd floor. Granma/ Building 3. Must be on 3rd floor to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Picfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just got back on Nov.17th and had the best time yet in Cuba. This was our 7th time to Cuba but 1st at the PDM - we've been to Breezes Jibacoa and a couple family resorts in Holguin. The staff are excellent (especially the girls at the pool bar) and the management is everywhere to stay on top of things. We got our room at 2:00pm and were surprised at the quality of the room. Comfortable bed, marble bathroom, couch - it was a superior suite on the 2nd floor. It was at full capacity for a couple days but we always found loungers at the pool or beach. Food was good by Cuban standards and the wine at the a'la cartes was usually Chilean. Surprisingly this place isn't over run with seniors (thought every resort in Cuba was) instead had a lot of 30 somethings but was very laid back - not a huge party place. The grounds are beautiful with gardens everywhere. The lobby bar had top shelf liquor which we've never yet had in such supply in Cuba. If we go back to Varadero we will probably return to the PDM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KruserL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned yesterday from a great relaxing and fun vacation yesterday. The weather was a lttle cooler than we prefer but did enjoy walking on the beach and sitting by the beautiful pool at this resort.( cushions on the loungers and day beds were a plus). The staff were very pleasant and helpful whether you tipped or not. When we arrived in our room we were disappointed by the view of the consttuction off our balconey but were able to move a couple hrs later to building 3 on the top floor with a nice view of the ocean and gardens. Never had any issues with our room after that..always clean,with wonderful towel art to greet you. The fridge was stocked daily. (no issues with running out of toilet paper..and never saw a single bug as others had posted) You are able to prebook your reservations to the ala carte restaurants online and were greeted with our booking slips on arrival. The Bamboo and Marseille were our favorite. The Firenze was our least favorite ..seemed they were short on menues and plates and had to wait a while before getting served. (could be because we booked this at last min) This was our second time to Cuba but first to Varedero so we were a little concerned about the food..but the buffet had a good selection every day..some things were not in season at the time like tomatoes and melons..but have grilling stations where they cook eggs pancakes etc for breakfast, meat, shrimp, stirfry, pasta..for lunch and dinner..good variety but get tired after a week. The raquet club is open 24 hrs for drinks and light meals. Discovered great bacon and eggs there on our last day. There is no WiFi in any resort in Cuba but internet is available for 5 cuc/1/2 hour..computers are.really slow..used minimal and had to buy 2 cards. The double decker bus runs every 1/2 hour from the road by the resort to Varedero and you can ride all day. We did not do the jeep safari offered by the resort but heard from other guests it was fun. The entertainment was great..esp the Michael Jackson show on Sunday night and the water ballet on Monday night..Took a cab into town to a couple bars..Calle 62, the Beatles bar, Club Havana( open till 0400) lots of fun and lots of cabs waiting to take you home. There are group tours to Havana available but opted to hire a driver and guide..Had a nice lunch with them at La Casa..really enjoyed learning about the city and people.Had a nice time at this adults only all inclusive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luvsunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
4.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,184 reviews
5.2 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa

Property: Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Address: Auropista Sur, Ctra. Las Morlas, KM 19 1/2, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#3 Business Hotel in Varadero
#6 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#9 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & SPA is located in Varadero Beach, the Cuban sun and beach tourist destination for excellence. This stunning Ultra All-Inclusive 5-star hotel is designed only for adults over 18. The property houses 434 rooms equipped with modern comforts and provides a varied gastronomic offer, daily activities, swimming pool and meeting rooms which convey an ambiance of quietness and service. Discover the magical peace of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort And Spa
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Hotel Varadero
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Varadero
Paradisus Princesa Varadero
Princesa Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing