We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Calgary
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed at Las Morlas from Dec 26-Jan 3. It is a smaller family resort. We had been promised adjoining rooms but instead got rooms across the hall from each other. Nothing could be done. After that initial frustration we had a very enjoyable stay. One room faced the pool-disco which was very loud at night until about 1 am. The other room had an ocean-street view which was very calm-great to sit on the balcony and listen to the ocean..
You got a free litre of water in the fridge the first day-after that you had to pay a peso at the bar for more.
We walked by the Barceló resort on our walks and we were so glad we didn't stay there. It looked like a spring break party-the beach was always littered and wild with partiers. Even our teenagers were happy we were at Las Morlas.
The rooms were simple and clean. While the bedspreads could do with replacing, the rooms were kept very clean. The towels were thick. Extra-large bath sheets were available for the beach/ pool. Odalys, our house keeping lady, created towel sculptures every day including swans with fresh flowers on New Year’s Day.
The New Year's Eve celebration was so much fun, complete with noise makers, hats, and masks and champagne. We celebrated twice-Italian New Year as there are many Italians at this resort and Cuban. The New Year's Eve dinner was fabulous. Beautifully presented, huge variety and great service.
I would agree with other comments that the a la carte restaurant is not worth going to. While it is a lovely atmosphere with great individual service, none of us enjoyed our meal there. Stay at the buffet- it changes daily. Cuban ,Italian, fish...We never noticed the shortages other people have spoken of in other resorts.
The buffet had a really good variety of food. Our family has many allergies to contend with. We were worried about it beforearriving, but the variety and presentation made it easy for us to avoid what we needed to. The daily omelette bar and pasta bar were great. We too enjoyed the lunches at the beach bar.
The beach was beautiful-the shades of blue clear water, the clean soft sand...It was kept really clean with enough lounge chairs for everyone. We had long walks every day. There were paddle boats, catamarans included. The Eden Village people included everyone in their activities and even though we don't speak Italian we had a lot of fun trying the variety of activities. We avoided the pool (except for the bar :)) as it was really cold. I did love the Christmas tree by the pool..
We went on two excursions-one to Havana for the day and one snorkelling day. We booked them in the lobby with our Hola tour guide. Both days were fantastic. Our teenagers were really pleased to try new things or just hang out. Don't miss Havana-there is so much to see. Our meal there was our worst of the week though' at El Gato. I think also next time I would bring my own snorkel gear.

Next to the resort there is a little bank. Be sure to walk over there to change your money as the hotel charges a lot. Better yet change your money at the airport before you get on the bus to the resort!!

Lots of fun-would love to go back-thank you to the staff especially the bar and buffet staffs :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    568
    287
    118
    88
See reviews for
395
633
75
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This was our second time to Cuba. Last time was great too. This time was less expensive. We booked our trip last minute and after reviewing comments on trip advisor and checking different online travel companies we decided to stay at La Morlas. We have already recommended it to our family and friends and we hope to return next year for 2 weeks.

Things you should know:

3/4 of the hotel guests are from an Italian tour company called Edan Village. The Italians pay a lot of money to come here and that's why they are looked after so well.

There is a bank directly beside the hotel and the exchange rate for Canadians dollars is much more favourable there. Take your passport and wait a bit in the A/C it's worth it. Exchange rate for Canadian dollars is not favourable at the hotel because they cater to the Euro.

If you are nice to the staff they are super! Tip them for their superior service and you will receive it throughout your stay. There is not a lot of tipping going on at this resort. Other resorts we've stayed at, it was excessive. You won't regret tipping though, you will be well cared for and thanked for your generosity for the rest of your stay.

If you want to take part in the activities you must seek them out or learn to translate Italian. They are posted on the side of the stage. Sometimes they have programs at front desk. But everyone is welcome to participate even if you are not invited by the Italian entertainment staff. Ask Alberto #1, he is one of the Cuban staff on the entertainment team, he speaks 5 languages, is super sweet and will tell you what's going on. The entertainment staff are amazing with all children on the resort!!!

The dancers are amazing and costumes are fabulous at this resort. Their small team does an fantastic job every night! The entertainment staff always involves the crowd, we loved the karaoke, dancing and club dance they were fun to take part in!

The beach really is amazing in front of La Morlas! Lots of lounges for everyone, and palm fronds. everything is nice and close - the bar and washroom just up the stairs. The paddle boats, kayaks and catamaran on Las Morlas beachfront are free to use. You can go our snorkelling for a small charge. There is also beach volleyball and other activities throughout the day. Don't wait for an invitation, just ask to join in if you want to participate.

The buffet is great! Build a salad, lots of fresh fruits and vegetables. Fresh breads every meal, and amazing ice cream were our favourites. Lots to choose from. Italian night was fantastic! Take a later lunch around 1 and supper at 7 and miss the crowd. The staff at the buffet are very busy catering to the Italians guests, however if you are kind and friendly to them they will greet you like friends everyday and give you amazing service. Tip them for their superior service! We would not recommend the a la carte restaurant. The beach grill was good for a burger, fries and fresh fruit. Make sure you ask them to cook your burger longer. There are always lots of condiments, dressings, marinades to choose from and if you don't see something out like tabasco sauce, ketchup, mustard, or chilies just ask.

We stayed in room 205. It was very clean everyday, thank you Gema! It was also very noisy! right above the disco and stage. However, if you turn the a/c on you can't hear the disco or stage. The beds are hard, flat pillows and I am not a fan of the side by side beds. Loved the little balcony and decor was good, clean and bright, looked freshly painted.

The grounds were nice, very clean, intimate because it's a smaller resort, very family friendly, the pool area was pretty and clean and there was always cuban music playing throughout the day.

The pool bar was our favourite stop. Joel took great care of us during our stay! Best cocktails, and espresso. The premium liquors are also at this bar. Tip the staff for their superior service and you will be greeted and have great service your whole stay. Take your own water bottle and refill at the bar before heading to the beach each day. They charge $2 per water bottle at the bars, reception, in the room. You will get one free in your room when you check in.

There is also a very nice gym with new equipment and A/C, massage for $10-$20, internet in the lobby and a store with snacks, maps, souvenirs in the corner hiding past the lobby bar...if you go outside the store door you can walk down towards the beach to another store where they also have souvenirs, convenience items, snacks and beverages for cheaper.
La Fondue a restaurant in Varadero is a good restaurant to go to $3 cab ride from the hotel. it's very busy, great service and food, good prices $45 for 2 entrees, bottle of wine, dessert and tip!

We were disappointed with the markets this time. Everything was the same like it came from an assembly line. one of the retailers told us that they make everything at a factory and the workers pick it up for market for the day. The first market was the best it's small but there are more unique items. The large one was disappointing. I thought the best selection of souvenirs, liquor, jewellery, art, and cigars was at the duty free once you go through security at the airport there is a mall while you wait for your departure. If you buy liquor here you can carry it on and it is not counted as part of the baggage weight coming home. The prices were comparable to the markets and liquor and cigars in Varadero.

Can't wait to return! Great value resort would give it a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheHoustons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

First time to Cuba and we were all pleasantly surprised at the warm, friendly staff and good food. Not a huge resort and a ton of Italians (they have a deal with a Italian Travel Company) but the beach and facilities were top notch. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tech-Guy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Since I have read very bad reviews of hotels in Varadero in general, I was very pleased with the Hotel Be Live Las Morlas!
- The rooms were clean and taken care of every day beautifully.
- The hotel is beautifully designed, especially compared to some other hotels in Varadero, and not too large - just about right.
- The food was good, we had a lot of choice every day. And if there is nothing you like, you can still have pasta.
- The beach is beautiful, and Varadero is also quite close to La Habana, so we spent a day there. Hint: Don't go on the touristy bus trip, but organize a private taxi at the front desk, if you are enough people (we found some more who were interested and were 11 in the end, but the also have cars for less people).
- On the last day we found out that if you tip the bartenders, they will make really good drinks with the good alcohol ;-) So maybe you should try that on the first day, and they will remember you. At an average wage of 12-15$, every $ tip is very, very valuable to them.
- It is true that there are many Italians in the restaurant, but if you stay out of their way, you will be fine - it is possible ;-)
All in all, this hotel probably gives you the best value for money in Varadero. If you want a very luxurious hotel, then choose another hotel, but we were very satisfied with the Las Morlas!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jriegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I know this is a little long-my apologies, but I like reading what other people have to say!
We went to Las Morlas from Dec 26/10-Jan2/11. We traveled with my sister and her husband and our 2 boys. This was the first time to Cuba for all of us. The day we arrived was cold and windy and rainy, but the weather did get better as the week went on.
It took about an hour to get to the resort from the airport, with 3 or 4 other stops along the way.

Front Desk-When we checked in the front desk was very nice, letting us know that we should hurry up to go get lunch as the buffet was closing.
We had originally booked the family suite, but we were informed that they were all full and she gave us two adjoining suites instead. At first we were a little miffed, but soon realized that we got the better deal!! We had 2 full bathrooms, 2 balconies and 2 TVs; and could still close the door between the 2 rooms for privacy. (Our boys are 9 and 12 so they were happy to have their own space as well.) The family suites had no balcony that we could see (they have a little front porch at ground level where everyone walks by) they do have 2 toilets but only 1 shower, and they only have 1 TV.
You can also exchange your money at the front desk at pretty much anytime of day—they always had lots on hand and were able to make change when necessary. (Only exchange what you need to, and getmore as the week goes on)

Rooms-The rooms are very clean, but a little worn, which is what I have read in all the other reviews, but we had no complaints about the accommodations—they were lovely.
The shower had lots of hot water and great pressure. The cleaning staff were very good.
Our rooms (417 & 418) were very far from the Disco and the night show. This was a good thing as it was VERY loud! lol I think that if you had a room very close to the stage it would be a little hard to go to sleep-unless you waited until the show was over.

Hotel-The hotel itself is also very nice, a big lobby with comfortable seating, lots of tables and chairs down all the walkways outside as well. The pool was kind of cold while we were there so we didn’t go in it at all, preferring to head to the beach.

Food-The food in the main buffet was pretty good—considering what I’ve heard about Cuban food. Breakfast is your regular buffet fare, with the standard omelette station. There are a lot of Italians here so they have a lot of pasta dishes every day (this kept my boys nicely fed) They also have a wonderful supply of fresh bread all the time—delicious! Good salad selection-but there dressings are limited to oil and vinegar, which was ok with us-but not my kids. My husband tried a lot of the fish and meat dishes and for the most part liked them. I read in another review that they had no Parmesan cheese, but there was lots of it while we were there.
The staff here is also excellent! Ever and Mileidy were so good to us and our boys.
The buffet was closed from 10AM-12PM, and again from 3PM -7PM. During this time the beach café is usually open, always stocked with hot dogs, hamburgers (made from fresh meat—not frozen patties!) and fries (keeps the kids happy). They also had fruits and pasta and bread.
We did go to the a la carte but did not have a good experience, I would not recommend it, stick to the buffet.

Bars-The lobby bar made great cappuccinos but generally seemed to cater to the Italian guests. The Pool Bar had some great staff! Sonia was fantastic!! Great lemon slushy drinks. Not a lot of variety though-they only offer 2 kinds of juice-orange and pineapple-no tropical cocktails here! Lol They were very generous with the alcohol, rum and vodka would fill the glass halfway before they would stop pouring!!

Beach—There are no complaints about the beach in Varadero—it really is amazing. Beautiful clear water, nice soft sand, lots of loungers, lots of shade if you need it. The water was warm and wonderful. It is a nice long beach, you can walk forever it seems. You can see a great sunset from the beach too.

Golf-My husband and brother-in-law went to the Varadero Golf Course for a day, they loved it! The view is beautiful, very scenic. It wasn’t cheap, $100 to play and $50 to rent clubs (TaylorMades). But totally worth it.

Shopping-To go into town you can hop on the Double Decker bus ($5 pp for the whole day). We did this once and it was fine. The other time we went to town was on the horse and buggy, it took all six of us and Carlos only charged us $15 each way—very economic--told us the good places to go shop and where to get cigars. ( He picked us up on the way back too)
Everything is cheap in Cuba! Nothing is more than a few pesos. Although there is not a lot of variety, they all kind of sell the same thing.
Excursions-the one excursion we did was the Catamaran trip to Cayo Blanco. You get picked up-taken to the Marina, and then set out to the island of Cayo Blanco. Along the way stop for some snorkeling-very cool! Lunch on the island-seafood or chicken-free drinks both on the boat and island-and relax a little on the beach. It’s gorgeous there. For an extra $25 a side trip to the dolphins was included in our day-you get to be in the water with the dolphin, touch her, she does some tricks, you can take a picture with her (an 8X12 for $10, delivered the same day to your hotel). It was well worth the $100 pp/$48 for kids.

All in all, I would say this is a great hotel. If you are looking for a 5 Star with tons of things to do and fancy food/drinks--then this is not the place for you. But if you want a nice friendly, clean place to go to, and you want a relaxed atmosphere, this will be perfect!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssmac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Great hotel with good food. Always a good selection of food prepared by an Italian chef. Eden Village, a European tour operator, brings in 3/4 of the guests from Italy. This is why the hotel staff and animators speak Italian.. not to mention why the food is awesome as well. Italian night at the restaurant is just as good as momma's food!

If you have a small family, this is the resort for you. They really accommodate for young children. The pool is perfect for kids.. Our 2 year old had a blast with the kids club.

Now if you are looking for the 5 star hotel that has 3 "a la carte" restaurants on site, this is definitely not the place for you.. (I always find it funny why someone would want to go to Cuba for example, and want to go to a Japanese restaurant on site...)

Quality/Price, this is an excellent hotel. Staff is real hospitable.

If you are an Italo-Canadian, you'll certainly enjoy speaking Italian with the many guests and staff, whom may I add (i.e. the Italians travelers) are not rude nor snobby.. Those that wrote the many negative posts are probably the ones with the least social skills or that have a language barrier. (i.e. speaking either English, Italian or Spanish)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadajoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I vacationed at the Las Morlas for 11 days over Christmas. My Cuba experience was "interesting", and it has taken me a few days to formulate an overall opinion of my trip. In doing so, I needed to separate my hotel experience from my overall impressions of Cuba, and the price I ended up paying with Sunwing, which incidentally, I thought was too high given the posted rates for single occupancy at the Be Live Las Morlas Resort.

The staff here is truly amazing and spectacular. Within three days, they all knew my name, From Christiano, the managing director, to Gema, my chambermaid, all were very polite, willing to listen, and they all provided exceptional service. The facility itself had some drawbacks, as do most resorts.

I had a room where the key card would not work, and after reprogramming it three times, the staff moved me to another room. From there there were no issues. The washroom had a raised floor, and there was seepage from the bathtub and shower that leaked under the platform to the vestibule where the sink was located. I needed to place a towel on the floor to look after this matter. The internet was down, and there is no wireless. The cost of the internet is $10 Pesos/hour, which is cumulative, not elapsed time. However, it did not work. Therefore, I needed to use the telephone which prices out at a crazy rate of $2.75 pesos/minute, with a one minute and one second call being two minutes.

The primary dining facility is the buffet, and the pasta and bread is very good. The restaurant staff is very attentive. The facilities within the resort are very clean, and attended to on a daily basis. The majority of people I met, and I met many were from Italy and Germany. I also met a number of Canadians from Ontario and Alberta. Once I settled into the resort, it became very apparent that this resort has a real family feel to it. The entertainment staff, Guilia, Christina, Alberto, and others do a great job of intermingling and relating to the resorts guests. As I said, a real family feel.

Yoel and Miriam, Juan Carlos and Jorge, the bar staff are fun and friendly. Service is always good, although they do get busy and on ocassion, a small wait period can be expected.

Food prep is not quite like Canada, so if you are having a hamburger done at the beach side cantina, you might want them to cook it longer than they do before presenting it for consumption.

I would definitely go back to the Las Morlas, and thought I suspect there are "better facilities" (The Blau was mentioned a few times), I really have no regrets having chosen this resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stragf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.8 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
5,834 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#36 of 63 in Varadero
4,850 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Las Morlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Las Morlas

Property: Be Live Experience Las Morlas
Address: Avenida Las Americas, s/n (Reparto de la Torre), Varadero 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#16 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Be Live Experience Las Morlas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Experience Las Morlas is ideal for enjoying a dream holiday in the Caribbean. Its facilities are also perfect for holding events like weddings, because of its heavenly location on the beachfront, surrounded with gardens and the tropical vegetation native to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Be Live Experience Las Morlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Morlas Hotel
Resort All Inclusive Las Morlas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing