We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“travel into the paste”
Review of Mansion Xanadu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion Xanadu
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“travel into the paste”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

used the hotel for an excellent dinner; pre-booked and pre-paid.
outside views are stunning.
inside is walking into the 1920-1030

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cloggie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    65
    20
    19
    6
See reviews for
33
110
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Xanadu Mansion in March 2012. LOVED the location and room and service, but thought the bed was far too soft, and bouncy. Also - would recommend that anyone going there save ALL of their receipts and double check EVERYTHING against the final invoice you are presented with when you check out. There were a few glitches on our invoice, and unless I had gone over every line item, it would have cost us a few hundred dollars extra. Also - the golf charges were put through as "Bebidas Resturant" (Restaurant Drinks) and should have been put through as Golfing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank highparkalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

If u take a look on tripadvisor rank is no t right.i been living in VARADERO Cuba and one of my hobie was bars,clubs and restaurant.i been all over arround and this one is the number one in VARADERO!also my wedding was there and was amazing!i still sending friends and clients there and all of them so happy.is one of the only places in VARADERO with a great bar and the best view arround!this one is th best!!
Jovier navarro.from Cuba but living in toronto!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jovier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Mansion Xanadu for 3 days over Christmas 2011. Fantastic historical building with incredible huge rooms, high ceilings, and balconies over the water. Great rooftop bar to watch the sunset, private beach right under your balcony, and great restaurant. Dinner starts with being serenaded by grand piano and flute music in the sallon, then grab a table in either the aircon dining room, or on the patio overlooking the ocean. Room includes breakfast and dinner, and all the golf you want. Only complaints were the aircon sounds like a russian tractor and blows only warm air. No screens on some of the rooms, so the choice is sleep and sweat with the tractor or open the french doors and let the mosquitoes in.

On christams eve we were enjoying a fantastic meal listening to the piano and flute when a group of incredibly rude Russians came in with a boom box blasting horrible techno music and took over the patio, drowning out the piano music and generally irritating everyone, swilling vodka and puking on their shoes. I remember my first drink..... felt sorry for the musicians.

otherwise very nice.

Room Tip: check the AC first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo Ontario
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at the Xanadu Mansion in Cuba. The Mansion is very well cared for and maintained. Our room was fabulous with a gorgious view of the water. Since this is an older building, the shower did not have the best spray but we managed just fine and had no trouble getting hot water. The food was fantastic (especially if you order the meat dishes medium rare - the fish dishes were a bit dry and over cooked). The hotel arranged our golfing which was also fabulous (golfed my best game ever 92 - that's good for me). You will not get through in 4 hours - it will be more like 5 hours but you are on vacation so relax and enjoy the views which are spectacular. The hotel arranged our trip to Havana and I would suggest spending as much time as possible in Old Havana and maybe skip the market as they are the same everywhere you go. The staff in all areas, cleaning, bartending, wait staff, etc were all very accommodating and catered to all out wants. I can't wait to go back one day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Don't get me wrong, this place ticks a lot of boxes for me, but if you want to be cossetted in cotton-wool go to the nearby 5-star hotels.

However, if you like the quirky, historical and totally unique stuff, then this won't disappoint. First impressions upon arrival were "awesome!" with the odd OMG! later. Huge bedrooms (and beds) and bathrooms. As built 80 years ago. Obviously everything was the best available at that time. Maintenance is done on the basis of when it breaks, fix it, otherwise leave alone... hence shutters & windows rattle, and the plumbing and electrics are temperamental, but the staff will happily take care of anything you point out. (I'll spare you the one about the "potty").
Bar and restaurant service was excellent - as was the fare itself, though I did go with very low expectations, so was very pleasantly surprised by the variety and quality.

Main reason for being here is the golf, right, because the beach isn't that great due to the NE winds (in winter, at least); the ocean is warm but the wind and currents can make it too dangerous to allow little kids to play unsupervised. The golf course is ok because of the weather - given the alternative of golfing in the UK winter!! However the greens are not the best and it is quite pricey. We didn't have to pay course fees because they're included in the room-rate, but we needed to hire clubs because we were only there for 4 days out of a total of 3 weeks in Cuba, so $50/day for them - though they allow 2 to share one set. Worse is the compulsory buggy hire which is $30 each and they make you share one if you're playing together. Total $110/day - ouch!! Costs aside, the views are first class, and the course layout draws a few "wows" over the c.10 miles... hence the buggy. Ocean both sides and plenty of water hazards within - but overall not a difficult course. Don't worry about running out of balls 'cos the course staff will be frequently offering you "lake" balls ($10 for 20). 19th hole also very welcoming and reasonably priced.

Would I go again? Glad we stayed at Mansion Xanadu once, but for a golfing week in Winter - probably opt for the 5-star all-inclusive option (via Toronto for the direct flight into Varadero and avoiding the 2-hour taxi transfer) next time.

p.s. if the place ever gets taken over by a hotel chain, you can expect the prices to quadruple overnight - we paid less than GBP50 per person per night half board including green fees!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Habibisambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights.

The location is marvelous: one side overlooking the Caribbean Sea and the other side overlooking the golfcourse.
The atmosphere is special: the mansion is kind of a museum, and it is special to have in this place your accomodation. There is also a very nice bar on the topfloor.
The room itself was ok: you have enough space, a huge bathroom and a beautiful view. But everything is old, it adds on the atmosphere, but it lacks on the comfortside.
The breakfast and dinner are very good: when you have good weather, the food is served outside near the sea. We loved the food!
The service is adequate.
Overall a very nice place to stay and totally different than the all-inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
2.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Xanadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Xanadu

Property: Mansion Xanadu
Address: Carretera Las Americas, km 8.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#17 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Xanadu 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mansion Xanadu Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing