We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on who you are ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gran Caribe Sunbeach
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Food is food in Varadero. At Sunbeach : Simple, zero gastronomy but good. If you like to party, good place for you. Animation is so loud, forget going to bed early. Party is like in your room until 11pm. If you want to stay in bed late in the morning, forget it, dogs are barking all around the hotel starting at 7. 80% of the rooms have no balcony. Even if you ask for a room with a balcony when you make your reservations, you'll probably won't have one when you get there. If you argue with them night and day, you might end up changing rooms in the middle of the week if you're lucky. First room we got was really small on the 8th floor. Was not clean either. Second room was bigger and a bit cleaner. No smiles from staff unless you tip like crazy. You pay cheap, you get cheap. Go at the beach early to get your towels. This guy disapears constantly. I got my beach towel 3 days later. Not enough chairs for everyone, neither at the beach or at the pool. Personnaly, I thougt Villa Lamar was cheap but it's still much better there than Sunbeach. If I go back to Varadero, I'll go again to Villa Lamar. Be drunk at all times, you'll like Sunbeach. Good luck !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annsab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 846 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We paid just under 600$ per person for the all-inclusive package, this doesn't even come out to 100$ a day!!! Although not perfect, I would be ashamed to complain considering everything that it includes but here are the facts:
We were 6 adults in 3 rooms, had each requested queen bed with balcony and fridge. The hotel was full; therefore, after 3 attempts of request, we gave up since the customer service at the front desk was the most careless employees of the hotel. The first two told us to come back the next morning and wrote our room numbers on a random piece of paper but that was obviously useless. The third was just very rude to us. Not ideal but the single bed are still large enough for each couple to sleep together. Otherwise, very decent size of room and bathroom.
Yes, the hotel itself is very old, but it doesn't mean that it is dirty: there are few stains sometimes on the towels and even on the bedsheets, but they are clean.
My expectations for the food was extremely low, having read the reviews and everyone complaining that you don't eat as well in Cuba as in Mexico or the Dominican Republics, but I was pleasantly surprised. They had fresh bread, great fruit juices, amazing burgers and croque monsieur for lunch and great meats (try their sauce at the cooking station!) for supper.
Some might complain that the service for the burgers and croque monsieur too slow. It's not McDonald's and you are on vacation, so just sit back and relax!
I was missing my fries with the burgers but then again, I ate so much, it's probably better for my weight that they didn't have any! We even ate the salads and fruits without getting sick.
Pizzeria was ok, but I rather eat their local cuisine at the buffet.
I'm not a coffee drinker, but heard that it was not good at the buffet. Go to the lobby bar, they have a coffee machine. I drank one every day with coffee liqor, amazing!
Chips are also very rare, a copy of Pringles would cost you 4 CUC.
Drinks are good. No mojitos when they don't have mint; however they were our best mojitos compared to the ones we had in 2 other restaurants in Varadero (Coral on the 16th street is worth a try if you are sick of the buffet).
Public restrooms don't always have tissue and soap, but the maid always left us at least 2 to 3 rolls in our room, so carry a roll in your beach bag.
Do not expect any entertainment. It was not necessary for us, but having been to other resorts, the difference is very noticeable. PS bring your own deck of cards, because you will not be able to buy any in Cuba.
The beach was extremely beautiful except when the wind picks up causing big waves, it can wash up all the algae and the water becomes brownish color, but that depends on mother nature!
There were quite many cats (at least a dozen) in the garden area. I guess they stick around because everyone feeds them. Having the worse phobias and bad allergies of cats, they didn't quite bother me here.
Soap bar provided but no shampoo. Make sure you bring enough shampoo and sunscreen because they are more expensive than at home.
Finally, we also experienced the petrol smell a night or two as other have described. It is quite strong. :(
Overall, out of the 6 of us, 5 would come back to this hotel if cheapest option. However, it is obviously not for everyone. We've stayed in hostels in India, Vietnam, Turkey, so this was far from our worst experience compared to others.
Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank adrenalineMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

After much discussion our group decided to stay at the Sunbeach Hotel in downtown Varadero, Cuba. I think we got what we paid for: clean rooms, clean hotel, decent food, free use of non-motorized water craft and use of a beautiful beach that went on for miles. It is hard to explain that the beach, water and sky look exactly like the pictures. The water is clean and calm most of the time. We enjoyed several rides on the catamaran and once in a kayak. These were all included even in this 3 star hotel. The walk to the beach is very pleasant but you do have to cross the street. The food was fair, some things better than others. Every day you could have an omelet made just for you and fresh bread, buns, croissants and fruit. Every meal someone at the table would have something really good. This compensated for the items that were prepared a little differently than we are used to. We received great service in the restaurant and it never seemed really busy so we could meet our friends and sit wherever we wanted. We enjoyed being able to walk on the street even in the evenings. We could easily meet up with friends who were at another hotel. We enjoyed shopping in the stalls and little markets. The city bus ride was great too for 5 paesos. Changing over your money was a little awkward as you had to get to the bank at 34th street during business hours and bring your passport. The hotel did not have this service. I am not sure if this is a new law or what. The main advice I would give to any traveller is to count your change and make any arrangement involving money very clear before you get in the taxi or horse and buggy or whatever. Some people want to get what they can from the tourists. Be assertive. (Lesson to self). We took a taxi to and from International Hotel when we went for a show without a problem. The hotel did not provide much interesting entertainment at night. We made our own fun. I think this place is in a great location and it is fine for anyone who loves the beach and wants to enjoy the sights and sounds of Cuba.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and fridge. They have these but not in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ohohoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well, i must say that everything went very smooth here, like most people i read the reviews first and had my worries. Arrived at lunch hour, check in went great. You have to pay two pesos a day for your safe and it is a key, but no worries for us the cleaning lady was great and we always felt safe just leaving the key tucked in a bag somewhere. Had a room on the fifth floor, elevators both worked just fine and lots of hot water. The hotel itself was older but everything a simple traveler would or could want is there for you even a pop machine with beer and a smoke machine in the lobby. The beach is just across the street, very safe to cross, there is a walkway and everybody stops for you. We took cabs to different beaches just to see them on the stretch and i must say that ours was the best. Two great big sand bars right there. Just had the best time in the ocean, it was wavy and i must say WOW so much fun. There is no real rip tide like Cancun so it made you feel safe to play in the waves. Lots of chairs for everybody, not that much shade though, you can kinda shift around with the trees but bring you sunscreen and have fun. As far as the perfect location, yes it was!!! If you are going to see the Cubans and enjoy the markets, restaurants, music, sights and people then this is the spot. You just step out on to the sidewalk and boom it is all there for you. All the cool old cars/cabs, horse drawn buggies and those little scooter cabs. You are in walking distance of many many very good restaurants and little bars to hear great music and as a bonus just next door there is a 24 hour snack place with just the best coffee to help you shake off the rum when you get up. One peso. The coffee at the hotel is weak and i did not care for it. The food at the hotel was not all that bad, as everyone always says anyway it's Cuba. Did not starve and found something to eat every time. We went out a few nights and ate. There is really some good restaurants just around the hotel. Casa de Chef had the best lobster i have had down south and came with great sides and wow can they make a Mojito!!! So over all great location, great beach, not bad at all hotel if you are looking for that kinda vacation. The big resorts are too far away for any fun and are just like little towns of Canadians, but if that is what you like then enjoy the cabbage there and enjoy paying for cabs so enjoy the town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RandalB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just back from a great week at Sunbeach hotel in Varadero.
In general, we had a fun time as we always do at Sunbeach hotel.
The staff is amazing, the rooms are very clean, the food is ok.
I can't comment on the air conditioner because I didn't use it, I went there to be warm.
The blue market next door to the hotel is gone, but is being rebuilt.
No more vendors on the beach.
The Coral restaurant at the beach end of 16th street is great, it has a beach view deck
and the food is really good and great prices.
On 21st street the restaurant La Vaca Rosada is a upper deck open air place that
opens in the evenings. This place is really worth going to for a lovely evening of dining at great prices.
Thank you to all the staff at Sunbeach for making our stay so enjoyable again..
see you all in March.

Room Tip: a few extra pesos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank fiddlehead56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'll be upfront. Although my wife and I had a great time at Bellevue Sunbeach, I will not recommend this place to anyone that is :

- first time visiting Cuba ,Varadero
- traveling with family with kids

This hotel is fine for those who know Varadero, the hotel and it's location, or for those who are really on a small budget.

My wife and I are not Varadero/Cuba newbie.

What we liked:
- location. Fantastic beach in front of hotel. Lots of places you can walk to in the area, such as souvenir shops, bars, restaurants,banks.
- great hotel staffs.
- location , yes, we just love that stretch of the beach.

What we didn't like:
- the recently relaxed Cuban law allows guest to bring local registered guests into the hotel. This led to a lot of seediness at this premise as we have witnessed during our stay.And ' a lot' is an understatement. We do hope the management will crack down on these things. These seediness always lead to all sorts of other problems at the hotel if management or government does not act on it pronto.
- some management type aggressively flirted with married hotel guests at restaurant, in front of their spouse. We know and understand latino culture, but that was just too much. No respect whatsoever ... hope that particular manager is no longer there or anywhere else.

Prior to booking, we know the location and the star ratings of the hotel, so there were few surprises other than the above.

Our room was clean, and actually quite spacious. Air con leaking was quickly fixed by the maid.

Restaurant food acceptable. Attentive staffs. Yes, we tip them 1 CUC per seating.

Street side rancho snacks acceptable. You can't get beer there though. Pool side bar is the only place to get beer, other than the restaurant. Lobby bar is fine, coffee, juice, and hard liquor only.

Beach bar is fine, for picking up drinks for the beach.

We did not use the pool.

This hotel actually had it's glory. Years ago in the early 90's, it used to be called Villamar, with it's famous disco on the top floor. I was lucky enough to experience that. It was fun..... and that was then. That part of the building is not being used anymore other than the lower floor.

Some info may be useful:

- do not leave valuables alone at the beach. We have seen guests had their belongings stolen from their beach chair. During weekends, beach will be a bit more crowded, keep your eyes open. The police patrolling the beach will tell you the same.

- hotel is located on the main street ( Avenida Primera ) and Calle 17.

- Lai Lai, the Chinese restaurant is just across the street.

-there is no currency exchange booth at the hotel. You either walk to hotel Aguazul a couple blocks away to change money , or walk 15 to 20 min along the main street to the bank on calle 32. Bank opens Sunday. Rate was 1 CAD to .975 CUC.

- Rincon Bellamar, the rancho restaurant across the street from the hotel serves lobster tail dinner. About 14.50 CUC including 1 drink. National beer 2 CUC each.

- very difficult to buy lighters there. I had to use cigars matches, 2 CUC a box ..... LOL.

- for souvenirs, they tend to be more expensive at the artisan markets which you will find plenty along the main street. We got ours from other street stores. Between the hotel and the bank at calle 32, you will see quite a few of them. Straw hats 3 CUC each. Crochet dress 9 CUC and up.

- bottle water 2L , 75 cents CUC each at local corner stores. A can of Crystal beer is 1 CUC. ( 2 CUC a can at hotels )

- 1.50 CUC hotdog, and 1.50 CUC can of soft drinks at the little snack place outside next to the hotel.

- late check out was supposed to be 20 CUC. The friendly front desk staff only charged us 18.

- Beer outside airport is 2 or 5 CUC.

- Cigars inside the airport, inside the gate, are cheaper than in town. So buy your habanos before boarding.
- At the airport, a can of pop 3 CUC, small can pringle chips 3.50 CUC, Cuban ground coffee 5 - 7.50 CUC a pack, Havana Club 7 year rum 11.50 CUC.

If you are visiting Varadero for the first time, book something newer up along the stretch.

We stayed there in September.

Have a nice trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank YYZ-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

i have been to alot of resorts all over cuba but this one was by far the worst ever, from the terrible food yes its cuban food but most resorts you can atleast find something to eat not there!! the airconditioner had to keep shut off it madde som much noice got up in the morning with a welcome pile of puke outside my door by a partier, it was just awfull also they had no drinks at all even ran out of beer!!! advertised as on the beach not!!! you had to cross the road and walk down a long path even to get to the beach i would not recomend this resort to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 2chikitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.6 mi away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga
0 mi away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#52 of 64 in Varadero
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acuazul
Hotel Acuazul
#57 of 64 in Varadero
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#45 of 64 in Varadero
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#19 of 64 in Varadero
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Caribe Sunbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Caribe Sunbeach

Address: Calle 17 e/ 1ra y 3ra, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Sun Beach by Excellence Style Hotels)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Caribe Sun Beach's Hotel is an inclusive hotel, 3 stars of category. Property of Gran Caribe's Company. An economic hotel located to the entrance of Varadero 80 m from the beach, beside the biggest commercial center of Artesany of the peninsula. 15 minutes from the airport of Varadero. Has 4 bars, 2 restaurants, comfortable rooms with hot water, air conditioning, activities and shows at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gran Caribe Sunbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Sunbeach Hotel Varadero
Hotetur Sunbeach Hotel
Resort All Inclusive Hotetur Sunbeach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing