We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience in the Slower off season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good experience in the Slower off season”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The resort was nice. Our room wasn't to fancy but it was clean and the staff was very friendly. For some reason we had an extra bed in our room that was to be removed but they seemingly forgot over and over again. The food was not to bad as some people had warned me about when going to Cuba. I think the Trip was Well worth what we paid I would go again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave554455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

The Iberostar Playa alameda would like to thank you for your recent visit to our Resort, and to share your moments with us.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us, with your nice comments about the workers in our team you give them even more motivation to improve even more our services.

Be sure that every comment of our clients is important to us and our management is already informed about your concern.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you once again in Cuba and in our hotel.

Sincerely
Rainer Sorko
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    1,210
    535
    261
    163
See reviews for
942
1,177
71
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed for 10 days rooms were very clean my maid was awesome kevie she made me a braclet of shells location is great, staff is friendly and had lots of entertainment I liked the Buffet selection better than the ala carte restaurants. I would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the Iberostar Alameda Team we would like to thank you for your recent stay at our resort, and the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

We are proud that you enjoyed our hospitality, food and activities. Our Team is proud that they made your stay an unforgettable experience. It is our main goal that our guests are completely satisfied with our services, and with your excellent review we see that we did so.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in Iberostar Alameda, please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.

Sincerely
Rainer Sorko
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sask canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Playa Alameda early February for one week. Check in went smoothly with a welcome cocktail. No bellman anywhere so we found our room in block 15 by ourselves. As soon as we walked in the room we were met with the overwhelming smell of sewer gas. I had read other reviews complaining about this so I was not surprised. The bedsheets were damp and smelly as well as the blankets. After a day any clothing not kept in our suitcase smelled of mold. Our room was on the ground level but I was able to check out a room on the second floor of a different building and it smelled worse than ours did. We didn't bother changing rooms because this seems to be an issue thru out the resort. Hot water in the shower was hit and miss, a few mornings we had to take cold showers. We requested a king bed and got it and the fridge worked very well. our room also had a flat screen t.v which was also a plus.

The pool area was very nice with servers constantly walking around fetching drinks for anyone sitting nearby. The snack bar there had pizza on the menu but every time we asked for it we were told "no pizza" without any explanation as to why. The beach was very nice and the beach bartender very friendly. The entertainment staff were also very good there.

The staff make this resort shine. A few standouts were Yaciel, Viviana, Colon and the lady he works with at Santiago bar but I cant remember her name. also Toni at the lobby bar/outdoor seating area. My wife took a great liking toward Yaciel because he was so kind to her and always asked if everything was ok. All the servers in the restaurants were great especially Yanlin at the outdoor area of the main buffet. The only server I had an issue with was Zuly. she seemed to not like me for some reason which I will never know. on many occasions she would ignore me but ask my wife what she wanted to drink. I thought she was rude plain and simple so she didn't get any tips. The grounds keepers work very hard to keep the resort looking pristine.

The food at all restaurants was above average. I enjoyed the lobster from the Mediterranean restaurant. My wife loved the omelets served at breakfast and the man serving them was nice. there was plenty of choices at all meals in the buffet with a pasta station and pork or beef roast being sliced for people. We also found the drinks to be above average with many choices of sweet cocktails and yummy pina colata's.

There were a few other things about this resort that bothered us. The jacuzzi was usually shut off by 8pm and we like to relax in the jacuzzi before bedtime. this was inconsistent though because a few nights we were able to use it past 10pm. Who wants to sit in a jacuzzi in the afternoon during sweltering heat? not us. Also there was an evening when we didn't want to watch the entertainment so went to play a game of pool only to find all pool balls gone and no pool cues. We are certainly not children so we don't need to be supervised to play pool. We have stayed at other resorts in Varadero with 24 hour jacuzzi's, game rooms and gym.

We would not recommend this resort to anyone with asthma or other breathing problems. Or anyone with small children. The only reason we would return is for the great staff that work there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floors. a few people I spoke to reported no bad smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blinkdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Geust

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Iberostar Alameda for your vacations in Cuba.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality, and friendliness of Cuba. Our team is proud to know that you liked the services that we offer also our kitchen staff is honored and your comments will help them to prepare even better dishes in the future.

We would like to inform you that every concern presented by our guest in very important to us. Your correspondence bellow has been forwarded to our Management and we regret the incidents you are mentioning.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you back once again in the near future so we can change your point of view in regards to these issues.

Sincerely
Rainer Sorko
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I went January 25 2014 staff one 1 amazing time food first two days was bad the rest of the days sea food amazing a la carte restaurant very good the only thing that made my vacation so so was the rooms very bad especial the ones of 20 and over they smelled like humidity and mould they were also dirty! Would I go back yes only if they renovated the rooms

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Nicole M,

We would like to thank for your review. We regret that your vacation experience was not 100% enjoyable, due to the rooms as it is our goal to ensure that our guests have a wonderful stay with us.
We are constantly working to improve our standards in the rooms and hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again to learn that we have improved.

Regards,

Gabriel Bover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you are looking for a vacation on the beach this is the place to go! The weather was fantastic, the people are wonderful. In all the resorts we have ever been to this resort has hands down the best entertainment we have ever seen.

The rooms are decent and reasonably clean. The food was allright. Not the best we've had but there was never a meal where we couldn't find something we liked.

On of the best things about this resort, other than the wonderful staff and entertaiment, is that there were plenty of chairs at the beach and around the pool. There were also several bars and a wonderful patio entertainment in the evening. As the crowd got larger they just kept bringing tables and chairs from other areas. There is no need to rush to the beach before breakfast to reserve a lounger. Plenty of loungers and shade available any time of the day.

If you want to be running around all the time to see other areas of Cuba - Veradero is quite a bit out of the way. You will have long travel times. If you plan on making several trips into Veradero itself because this resort it almost at the end of the penninsula; you need to take the bus - there is a hop on hop off bus - but count on almost an hour each way. Definately too far to walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeannieDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear JeannieDk,

We appreciate your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I shared your positive comments with our staff and they were so pleased to learn that we have exceeded your expectations.
We hope to have the pleasure in hosting you on a future vacation to Varadero.

Best Regards,

Gabriel Bover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from January 24-31st. and had a wonderful time. We found the rooms large comfortable and everything in working order. The fridge and the rooms were cleaned early and never had a problem with fresh towels.
We found the food at the buffet to be excellent and have a great selection at all times. We were very surprised and happy at how many choices you could have at each meal.
We did the romantico and the Italian ala carte and thought they were very good also.
They have a great snack bar by the pool it was our favorite spot for lunch. They have a good selection and can even order different kinds of salads. And of course the ice cream bar was great.
The entertainment was probably the best that I have seen at any resort and I have done alot of different resorts. The staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough to make sure you enjoyed your stay.
It is the 2nd Iberostar I have stayed at I enjoyed the first one enough to say I would like to try another. With that being said I would be very excited to go back to this hotel or try any others with out any hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 313sun51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear 313sun51,

On behalf of Iberostar Hotels & Resorts, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Playa Alameda to spend your vacation.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food, cleanliness and every corner of our property.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in your next visit to Cuba.

Best Regards,

Gabriel Bover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We've been to Cuba Four different times and always have great times,unforgettable actually,but this time something special happened.On our third day my wife and I were on our way to spend the day in Varadero and I had forgotten my wallet in our room.As we were almost at the lobby,I went back to our room alone to retrieve my wallet.When I caught back up to her a situation with an elderly guest left us heartbroken.That feeling soon went away when we saw how kind and helpful the staff were.What happened had nothing to do with the staff or resort,it was purely bad planning on behalf of the gentleman, but they really hit it out of the park to fix his problem with a smile.Our experience here was exceptional.Im not saying it was perfect,but it was close.The beach was great as was the weather.The food was good,but that is really subjective to your taste.Just remember where you are.Shortages do occasionally happen but we experienced this at other resorts as well.Its a Cuba thing,part of the charm,like smelling exhaust fumes from the '55 buick your driving in.I would give this resort a big fat 5 out of 5.As a matter of fact, we will be back at this same resort for spring break.See you there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Michel p,

On behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Playa Alameda as the destination for your vacations, also for taking the time to post a review about your experience.
I shared your review with our staff and were delighted to know that we not only met your expectations but exceeded.
We look forward to host you again at your home away from home.

Sunny Regards from Varadero

Gabriel Bover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.6 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
4.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,398 reviews
7.6 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
2.1 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
6,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
Address: Las Morlas, Km 19 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#15 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero Beach surrounded by tropical gardens. Elegant atmosphere. Wide range of gastronomy. Varied entertainment programme. Golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
Playa Alameda Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing