We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort for Everyone!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Resort for Everyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed from June 15-22, 2013.

FOOD

First thing is first, remember that this is Cuba and you're not going to have luxurious dining and fancy 5 star quality food. This being my eleventh time in Cuba I have to say that the food at this resort was actually VERY good. Fresh fruit everyday, the butter (thank God it wasn't margarine) tasted really fresh, the bread was always fresh and warm. Also, there was a lot of variety to choose from. The seafood was absolutely delicious. The a la cartes were very good as well, I recommend Italiano restaurant.
I also like how the snack bar was available throughout the day and they had late night snacking at the buffet as well, since I am young and am not very good at waking up early in the morning, I was always missing the breakfast buffet, but thankfully there was food available 24/7.

BEACH

The beach was beautiful. The sand was white and the water was clear and always warm. It would be nice if they actually cleaned the beach everyday cause some seaweed and shells would always be washed up on the shore, which doesn't bother me since IT IS the ocean , but for some it may be a problem.. Overall, the beach was perfect.

ACCOMMODATION

The rooms were very clean and cleaned daily. The beds were comfortable for Cuba and there were no bed bugs or bugs in the room.. Fridge was always filled with big bottles of water for our convenience. AC worked wonderfully and it was always cool.

STAFF

Not much to say here other than the fact that EVERYONE working at this resort were the kindest people I've ever met. Funny entertainment team if you actually talk to them and everyone always has a smile on their face and it's just uplifting to see the Cubans so happy all the time, it really adds to the whole vacation experience. If you need help with anything there is always somebody to help you.

NIGHTLIFE

The disco at the resort was actually really fun! The only thing that got quite annoying over the 7 nights was that the DJ would basically only play Pitbull songs... Which didn't really matter after a couple drinks ;) They had a beach party on Friday night which was great! If you're really into the night life they have really cool clubs out of the resort closeby and it only costs 10 CUC (pesos) where you party in a batcave (it's totally safe), really fun experience.

EXTRAS/TIPS

- Varadero is a very safe place, it's a tourist city.
- Talk to your tourguide and try to do some excursions like swimming with dolphins, ziplining, or going to see Havana! Really great experiences!
- Learn a bit of Spanish before you go! The cubans love it!
- Great resort for everyone, very children friendly, good for teens, adults, elders, and even solo, you get to meet lots of cool people wherever you go!
- If you have a late flight when you're leaving the resort, bring some extra cash to get late check out (which costs 30 pesos til 3pm plus 12 pesos for every other hour) so you don't sit around waiting for your bus all day when you can still be enjoying the beach ;)
- BUY RUM, its cheap. Santiago de Cuba rum is better than Havana club :)

Room Tip: This resort is quite small so whichever room is fine! They have ocean view if thats what you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kesunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments about our food, beach, accommodations, staff and the whole experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that your trip was a great experience.
Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff, improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have

Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortún
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    1,167
    509
    250
    155
See reviews for
899
1,134
68
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were told this was a 5 star resort, no way! It's a bit tired, the staff are the best thing about the resort by far. The rooms are okay although ours had coffee/tea making facilities, nothing was provided to make it from, a TV was provided (didn't work properly) an CD/Radio was provided (CD didn't work). The buffet restaurant/Breakfast area was, quite frankly, awful; the specialist restaurants were okay and the snack bars were again okay. Cuba is tropical and we did see a few cockroaches but only what you would expect. The food is at best bland at worst inedible. The bars were great and the staff very attentive, the entertainment was cheesy but in a way that made it enjoyable (I don't think I should have laughed at some of it though) the performers put their heart and sole into it. Pool area was good, and the beach was excellent. Just a tip for breakfast - choose the egg chef, he was great and there's not a lot that can go wrong with the eggs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDavidLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, on behalf of the Management and the entire staff of Iberostar Playa Alameda, we appreciate you had chosen our Hotel for your holidays and thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us
We regret that you have not fully enjoyed our Hotel, and we are truly sorry about any inconveniences you might have had and We want to express our sincere apology for the difficulties you encountered during your stay, we regret that this situation might have affected your opinion about our hotel and our company
Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Fortun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went here with girlfriends last fall. Kudos to the staff, so friendly and attentive. The resort grounds need more TLC. Loved the fresh coconut water each morning, the grounds staff will cut one for you if you tip them. Our mini-fridge didn't get stocked fully each day, even when we called down to let them know, it still took a while for them to get to it.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid bugs/garden snakes, don't stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatgirlyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Just for general information the Hotel offers to refill the mini fridges every other day.
Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortún
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I went at the Iberostar playa alameda 4 to 11 june 2013. I went with my friends, we were a groupe of five 18 years old girls and we had an amazing trip.
Everything at the playa alameda is perfect! The beach, the room, the location, the food, the animation... EVERYTHING.
I defenitly suggest this hotel, its an amazing place for group, family, couples, everybody!
we met amazing people we won't forget (henry, edouardo, yaciel and so much more) thank you for the memories.

one last thing: ANIMATION EXCELENTE!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cubasixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that Eduardo, Yasiel, Henry and the rest of the staff have contributed to make your trip a great experience.
Thank you very much for recommending our Hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Fortún
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This resort is by far one of the best I've ever stayed at in Cuba. The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms very clean and spacious. The food was fantastic and the service excellent.
Let me tell you, to get good food in Cuba is rare, but I actually had a real steak dinner-awesome, and the choices of premium achohol was unbelievable. (Crown Royal, CC etc), all included.
The staff were great, spoke good English and were always accomodating.
Yes, I would definately go back to this resort. The beach was clean, I go to shoot at a small range, take the $5 Varadero Beach Bus into the city, went to Havana on a private tour, for 10 days of fun and relaxation. Also met some really nice people from around the GTA area which made our vacation a pleasure. Some of the staff we knew from other resorts, which was a good suprise for us and them.
GREAT PLACE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments about our Hotel and It is a pleasure to know that our staff has contributed to make your trip a great experience.
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the gastronomic variety the hotel has to offer.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortún
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I love this hotel very much and will like to revisit in September this year
Food was just right and service friendly
AC working well and can be adjust
however the rooms was a light smell of mold
can I get a room with no mold
please help
thanks
joy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annienotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Playa Alameda as the destination for your vacations, also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have about our rooms.

Sincerely

Juan Pablo Fortún
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived in the evening and since it was pretty dark they escorted us to our room and helped us get organized. We’ve been to the Dominican and Jamaica and been in 5 stars there and while this wasn’t quite as fancy, it was ok.
The room itself isn’t bad. It smelled mouldy but we brought some scented candles and had one burning whenever we were in the room. This and the A/C made it alright and dealt with the mold smell. The room itself was very big and had lots of space for the two of us.
The sliding glass door didn’t lock but they had a wooden stick in the track that somewhat locked it. The door itself locked we felt safe.
Mosquitoes. Yeah, they have them. Keep your A/C on. Otherwise you’ll come back to a bunch of them. Also, we had centipedes but these things weren’t so bad as long as you shake out your clothes.
We asked for a king size bed and got two beds that we put side by side. No big problem. Just that by morning you’re either in the crack between the beds or on one bed or the other.
The TV worked. You got about 4 channels in English, the rest in another language but who cares. It’s enough to get the news and keep up to date but you don’t go to Cuba to watch tv anyway. By the way, it rains at night. Make sure the room has your umbrella or you’ll be running to the front desk to grab one.
We were on the main floor and at first I was kind of annoyed that we couldn’t use our balcony as a private relaxing spot but it turned out that we were on the outside of the compound and since it was dark it was a perfect spot to have a coffee and relax and watch the stars. It was nice that they had a little table and chairs there for you to use. The bar fridge was always stocked.
The pool is great. By the end of the day it’s kind of murky though. However it’s usually pretty good. Not too much chlorine like some places have where it burns your eyes. The only problem is that you have to get up at about 7am to walk to the pool to put your towel down or else you will not have a place to sit or lay down. The beach is the same. You have to get up early to find a spot or you will not get one when you arrive after 8am. However, there were always lots of fresh towels and easy to get them.
Both the beach and the pool as well as places around the resort could use a guy who would clean up. I saw plastic cups all over the place and at one point I was picking them up because I just got tired of seeing them. The grounds though were well groomed and beautiful.
The food was great. I loved it. Everything from bland stuff to more creative things. I think I tried everything and was disappointed once. In fact, I loved the buffet more than the a la carte spots. One time I think management would not let us in when the buffet was closing but most Staff were only too willing to do whatever was needed to make us happy. In fact, I think that the entire time we were there they were willing to help us out with anything. Bring Imodium. Not because the food is bad, but the difference between where you’re coming from and here will make the first day a little dicey. After that, it’s all good.
The Staff was awesome! Loved everyone from the maid to the gardener. They went out of their way to help every time we asked for help. At one point a guy drank so much that he fell in the pool and was drowning and the lifeguard was all over it like it was Baywatch. That guy would not be alive today had the lifeguard not been there. I am sure of that.
The resort itself is very small and easy to get anywhere within minutes. There is a buffet or a restaurant or a place to get food open almost all the time. No one spot is open all the time but you can walk and get food at almost any time. No matter where you are, the beach, the pool, the main entrance, there is a bar and food available.
Great music in the cafes. Loved it. The bartenders and waitresses and waiters were great and were really able to keep you in drinks and food whenever you want. The entertainment nightly was great. We loved it and made it a point to catch the show nightly. Not a big fan of the dance club but that was ok. We just didn’t go and spent a lot of time in the cafe’s and the bars and on the patios.
The beach was great. I live at a beach community and while this beach was warmer, it was great to be there. They have hobie cats to sail on and a beach bar. They need new umbrellas though as there are not enough and there are not enough beach chairs.
There was a nice little resort store that had all sorts of thing you can buy if you want them and pretty much everything you might need. You can’t go into the cigar store though. You can only order from a book. They should let you walk into the cigar room. Not a big issue but annoying.
The travel off the resort was made easy as our travel company brought people to us, rather than having to go find them. You can’t go wrong as they give you great trips to try out and you can ask the Staff what they suggest and they give you great tips. Take the day trip to Havana. It’s great.
Our flight got delayed but the hotel was helpful in giving us a place to keep our stuff while we wandered the resort. They were friendly and let us use their spa as a home base while we waited for our travel company to re-arrange the schedule. Many thanks to them for that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougNemeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that our personal have contributed to make your trip a great experience. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff,.
We are truly sorry about any inconveniences you might have had, we appreciate your feedback it will help us to improve.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have

Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortún
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
1225.7 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1242.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
7.6 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
Address: Las Morlas, Km 19 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#15 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero Beach surrounded by tropical gardens. Elegant atmosphere. Wide range of gastronomy. Varied entertainment programme. Golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
Playa Alameda Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing