We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our 2 visit to Varadero on a family vacation. On arrival the front desk was extremely accommodating in moving our room closer to the rest of our family. Our rooms were main floor seafront block 15… with easy access to the beach and pool.
All staff members were fabulous…the resort is the perfect size. We booked our ala carte x 3 with Wendy Dianely ( I hope your baby is well) for every other night giving a variety of dinners.
We went to the show every evening….very good dancing and singing.
THANK YOU to our beach guy Oreste you are super….Drey Lifeguard… our housekeeper Ermis…Tony our night drink waiter…Eduardo our egg man…all the girls in the outdoor buffet dining room.
We have a fabulous time!!!

Room Tip: We stay in Block 15 seafront...main floor...1519, 1520, 1525....good location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that Oreste , Drey, Eduardo, Toni, Ermis, Wendy and the rest of the Staff have contributed to make your trip a great experience. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda for your third visit to Varadero, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 3,229 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was Amazing! The property was clean and gorgeous- they definitely put a lot of thought in the architecture and landscape. The ocean was amazing- a beautiful stretch of crystal clear green water (you could see your feet trough the water!). And even though it was a public beach, there was barely- none, actually- any people who goes around trying to sell you stuff. the only bad side is that sometimes, on sunny days, their wasn't much chairs left, so you had to get there early.
The pool was very nice, with a bar close by where you could order food along with drinks. The entertainment was great; they gave off good rum bottles sometimes. Their was also music, but what was great about the music wasn't too loud, so that even if you were near, it didn't annoy you.
The food was okay; if you don't like fish, then you won't like the buffets too much. But if you do, then you're in the right place. They had a variety of food with a cold buffet as well.
And the service, i only have one word to describe it: AMAZING. The people there were great; they were warm hardworking people; they worked fast and always with a smile. We had two people who served us there, Julio and Yurisan, who went out of their way to make us happy.
The rooms were super clean. I could have eaten off the floor and I wouldn't have worried (I didn't do it though). You could feel that the drapes were clean; they had that ''Just Washed'' feeling. And the rooms were great; each to two rooms had their own staircase, so you didn't hear those usual annoying sounds of children running in the hallway, or even the footsteps of people. The only bad side was that the beds were springy, so we didn't sleep very well, but we compensated by sleeping by the pool or the beach.
All in all, This was the best hotel we have ever been to, and for sure we will be back. I hope you get to enjoy it too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that our personal have contributed to make your trip a great experience. We´ll tell Yurisan and Julio about your comments. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this resort from Jan. 12-26, 2013.
This was our first trip to Cuba and I would not hesitate staying at this resort again.
I was a little nervous and apprehensive about what to truly expect from this resort upon arrival due to several negative reports on this website.
As it turned out, this resort turned out to be more than I had hoped for!
Unless you’re expecting a glitzy Vegas style resort, you will not be disappointed.
From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, I have nothing but good things and praise for this resort and the many friendly staff that make it happen.
At check-in we were greeted by a courteous and friendly front desk staff that quickly sent the bellboy to drive us to our room.
We stayed on the third floor of building 13 (#1330). It was a spacious room with a large bathroom that included both shower and tub. There's a good size walk-in closet that also housed the safe and a balcony with a small table and two chairs that overlooked the beautiful landscaped grounds.
Except for one day where the hot water was just warm (but still comfortable enough to have a shower) there was always plenty of hot water…morning or evening.
The room was clean and not in need of any repairs, never saw a single bug in the room. Didn’t use any insect repellent and didn’t have a single insect byte during our stay and we spent a lot of time at the beach as well as sitting outside in the evening.
The beach, the warm turquoise blue water was exactly what we had hoped for. There was always more than enough beach loungers and towels for everyone regardless of what time we arrived at the beach.
The swimming pool was of a good size but we chose to spend most of our lounging time at the beach instead.
We tried all three a la carte restaurants once and agreed that the Italian (Don Alfredo) was the best.
The main buffet restaurant had a wide variety of food and that’s where we had breakfast and the majority of our dinners. Contrary to other posts I read before going, the food was well seasoned, even for a picky eater like me.
For lunch we normally went to the buffet style restaurant just off the beach or to the pool bar/snack bar.
At the buffet restaurant, try to sit in the same section all the time and the waiters will soon remember your name and what your favorite drinks are. And don’t forget to tip these hard working people at least a peso per meal.
Many thanks to Eduardo at the breakfast egg station for the excellent omelets and his friendly morning smile and waiters Alex and Frank.
And who can forget forever cheerful Tony at the lobby bar!!
There's always a live band playing outside the lobby bar in the evening, followed by nightly entertainment at El Teatro.
For going into the town of Varadero, use the double-decker beach tour bus where for 5 pesos each you can hop on and off anywhere you like along the way and the ticket is good for all day until you return to your resort.
The day trip to Havana was well worth it and I would recommend going on the guided tour bus ($67 pesos each and includes lunch) if this is your first trip to Havana, rather than going off on your own.
We also did an afternoon tour to the city of Matanzas and the Bellamar cave. The cave was an awesome experience and highly recommended.
We didn’t do the jeep tour or the catamaran tour…had to leave something for next time!
Thank you to all the staff at Playa Alameda for helping make this a pleasant and memorable experience. I hope to see you all again someday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you very much to send your comments on your experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that our staff like, Eduardo, Alex, Frank Toni, have contributed to make your trip a memorable experience. We will let them know and the rest of the staff about your wonderful comment .Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff, improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planing to visit us at Playa Alameda, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have.
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first time in Cuba and also at an all-inclusive. Our travel agent recommended this resort to my husband, who surprised me for Christmas!
First of all, this property is absolutely gorgeous - much thought has gone into the landscaping and location of all the buildings.
Secondly, the staff are all very friendly and helpful.
Thirdly, the food was excellent! We had seen many varying reviews of food in Cuba, and our experience was really good. The variety of dishes offered in the Buffet Restaurant were incredible, and well seasoned. Eduardo, the "egg man", does wonderful sunnyside up eggs and omelets at breakfast time. And the dinner selections are numerous.
We ate lunch at the beachside restaurant most days, and again, there is a wide variety of items to choose from - all very tasty!
The drinks are all good - including the cappuccino's in the Lobby Bar. The one bit of a disappointment is with the Pina Coladas - at the resort they use a powder mix; we were fortunate enough on our tour to Havana, to stop at a small restaurant and were treated to real Pina Coladas, and what a huge difference! But I suppose with the volume of guests, you can't have everything!
We had a couple of things that we needed to bring to the chambermaid's attention, as well as the reception desk, but they were very minor and were attended to right away, so they're not worth even mentioning.
The beach at this resort is absolutely incredible. I could not believe that the water really is that beautiful turquoise color and the sand so white. We had a couple of cloudier/cooler days, so we decided to beachcomb, and found a selection of beautiful shells to bring home with us for our friends and family.
I really can't say enough good things about this resort, and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that our personal have contributed to make your trip a great experience. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff, improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had a great trip would go back again. We went on a day trip to Havana that I book at the resort and other outings also..Had no problems exchanging our money at the front desk. The staff was very friendly and gave us great service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 950sunnysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that our personal have contributed to make your trip a great experience. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff, improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just got back from our stay at this resort and have to say we were disappointed. The staff was friendly and gave great service, however, the amenities were definitely not even a 4 star resort. It definitely needs some TLC! For example, we only had hot water in the mornings, before it was used up, the plug in the tub didn't work so any time we had a bath, we had to leave the water in the tub until maintenance came and drained it, the lights on the stair wells didn't work so you had to be careful at dark, they only stock the coffee or mini fridges in the rooms every 2 days, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to send your comments about your stay with us, on behalf of the Management and the entire staff of Iberostar Playa Alameda, we appreciate you had chosen our Hotel for your holidays; we regret that you have not fully enjoyed our Hotel, Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction, and your feedback will help us to do so. each and every one of us is committed to ensure our guests experience the most enjoyable holiday. We are truly sorry about any inconveniences you might have had and we regret that this situation might have affected your opinion about our hotel and our company.
Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Fortun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was my first time in Cuba and I would definitely go back. I don't know what attracted me to this resort I think I went with my gut and for once it was right. The resort was the perfect size for the 3 of us I was with 2 seniors and walking around was not an issue. Everything was easy from the beginning, a seamless check in with reception at 2am to the kind bellboy who drove us to our room and pointed out the amenities along the way to the kind wait staff in the buffets and and the maid who left me a nice thank you note for the tip I left for her. The guys on the beach were always helpful in finding us lounge chairs and the towel guys were always polite.
The beach was gorgeous with plenty of room.
The food was pretty good, plenty of variety including chicken curry which was very tasty. The drinks were wonderful including the cappuccinos at the lobby bar.
They had live bands every night outside the lobby bar every night and a lie show after which were very entertaining.
The Havana day tour is a must.

Would definitely go back to this resort it was perfect for the kind of vacation I as hoping for!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Travelgirl16712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you very much to send your comments on your experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that our staff have contributed to make your trip a great experience. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff, improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planing to visit us at Playa Alameda, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have.
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
#28 of 64 in Varadero
7,115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
4.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,881 reviews
2.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Tainos
IBEROSTAR Tainos
#17 of 64 in Varadero
4,143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#7 of 64 in Varadero
6,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel

Address: Las Morlas, Km 19 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#14 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $143 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero Beach surrounded by tropical gardens. Elegant atmosphere. Wide range of gastronomy. Varied entertainment programme. Golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
Playa Alameda Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing