We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were in Cuba in November and stayed at the Tuxpan Resort. We were very disappointed with the food. It was the same thing day after day and not much choice either. Our room was nice but that because we were in the VIP room and it has a nice big patio overlooking the sea. Staff was helpful and apologitec when we asked for something they couldn't provide like for example I asked for a moquito and there was no mint to be found in all of the resort. I said you should start growing it right here on the resort. If I can grow it in Canada in my little garden imagine how much you can have here.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very big and have beautiful view if you are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmanuela29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    601
    447
    252
    187
See reviews for
410
648
109
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Well don't bother with the VIP. We were NOT received with a welcome cocktail or cold towel but with Rolando, a miserable uncaring sort who wouldn't even direct us to a working elevator though we asked 3 times and waited 15 minutes before a guest showed us which one worked. A second elevator will go up if you call down but Rolando wont tell you.
Beach towel in the room? NO!
Now sounds bad, right? But that's it, it was all up hill after that. Oh ya, the bed was like a prison cot(don't really know for sure but it was hard); we asked for toppers and had 3 inches of foam added in the morning giving the nicest bed we have ever had in Cuba. The room was clean and kept clean and the mini bar was maintained as promised. The ocean view from the fourth floor was wonderful.
The pool was very nice and not over crowded though the pool swim up bar is in the shade. But that might be nice on really hot day.
The beach unfortunately has recently been washed out and is narrow but I seen a lot worse. As a matter of fact some folks from the Breezes Bella Costa were using the Tuxpan beach because theirs was much worse.
The food was OK. The Rancho upstairs was the best; they tried really hard to make our dinner a romantic experience. Coffee from one of the 3 coffee bars was excellent(coffee, lobby, pool bars).
All in all this is 3 1/2 star that really is a 3 1/2 star minus Rolando and the washed out beach. Even so, I WOULD definitely recommend the Tuxpan but whether or not the mini-bar and 4th floor view is worth the VIP price, I'm not so sure, I did enjoy both.

The strong points:
Well laid out motel with beach close to main building. The staff was amazingly friendly, courteous and helpful. The food was a little better than I have experienced in Cuba.

The weak points:
The beach has been recently washed out to sea and is right now very narrow. Rolando at evening reception was a bad first impression of the motel.

Room Tip: Morning sun and bay view are not a bad second to VIP 4th Floor Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tajupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

So that's that haha. So cuba was very neat. When we first got ther we exchanges$350 canadian and got $314 CUC but the lady at the airport who changed the money for us have gave herself a $20 tip and only gave is $294 and by the time we realized it we where already on the bus about to leave. The tuxpan is nice a little out dated and there is no much verity food. The workers seem to be friendlier to the people that have been there more than 5 times and seem to very much favour Europeans. When we got their the lobby was super dark and seemed run down. We where supposed to get a welcome drink but didn't, we went to our room and of course being sleepy some we had just traveled all night wanted to wash up a go to bed. Our bathroom was absolutely filthy with hair in the sink and in the shower, tooth paste still on the taps it was gross and to make it worse the safe was also broken, so was the main light for our room. So we called about it they said no one can do anything till 7 (this was at 6:30) so we stayed up and the man came at about 7:30 and was able to fix the light and safe but no one did anything about the bathroom and when we asked to change room no rooms where available. The buffet you need to get their as soon as it opens or you will be eating cold food. We where told we got 2 el acarts an a lobster dinner since we paid for the VIP but when we want to check into them on The first morning we where only able to book the lobster and the international. We had our meeting with our sun wing rep ruban it was set up to be at 3:30 we where there but ruban didn't show up till 4:00 and seemed like he was in a rush and just wanted to get done
The beach is semi washed away but still great to lay around on.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Generally good impression, but some things spoiled it. The food and service were the main issues. Food was very bland,little variety, and very repeatetive,my mom and me got food poisoning, the food is not kept the proper way. The servers in the buffet were extremely unattentive, the only good servers were Enrique and Miledys, the rest of the crew ignored us. But those two were very friendly and attentive, specially Miledys, she made me love Cuba and Cuban people. Diego in Colibri bar was very friendly too. The beach was dirty and eroded. Overall the hotel wasnt bad, I would go back.

Room Tip: Our room on the fourth floor was awesome, with windows facing east there was no noise and it was sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

As we were at the Hotel in October (off-season), the Hotel was very quiet. We are returning guests and the friendly staff again made our stay very enjoyable.
We were glad to see "no smoking" signs on the tables at the lobby bar (inside section). Smokers are welcome to smoke in the outside section of the lobby bar so now everyone should be happy.
The grilled fish at the buffet was very good and as always the Cuban ice cream was delicious.
There are nice cabanas for shade around the pools and at the beach. There is a swim-up bar at the pool and the hotel is on a beautiful sandy beach where you can walk for miles.
As stated by many others the beds are hard so best to ask for a foam topper for the bed.
Cuban musicians played and sang at times at Buffet, Lobby Bar and Dining Room. In addition to this there were very talented dancers and singers performing in the evening at the outside stage. Special thanks to Raisy for her hard work at the Tuxpan and to Thomas our favourite bartender. Always good value for a moderately priced hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank K and M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our 3rd time there in a year and we had another amazing time. We were there from Nov 7 - 15/13. The swim up bar pool was closed as the filter was broken but we still had access to the other pools. The staff are always amazing. The food just keeps getting better. Lots of renovations have been done since we were there 6 months prior. We have NEVER seen any bugs in our rooms at any of our stays. The Tuxpan is our home away from home. We love this place and will keep going back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lori368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Tuxpan from Oct. 26th until Nov. 9th. Check in went smooth, we went to our room which already had the third bed requested set up. The room was fine, after unpacking we went to the pool bar which is open 24 hrs a day, the menu was ham & cheese or chicken salad sandwiches.
The food in the restaurant was good, no complaints except for lack of bacon, lot's of flavor and a good selection. The beach restaurant had excellent hamburgers and fries. The pools were fine the first week, the second week they had to close them as the filter system was hooped, we were given use of the pool at Breezes Resort next door including the pool bar ( we shouldn't have gone there as it opened our eyes as to what we didn't have at the Tuxpan). They had loads of activities around the pool and loads of people in the water, I don't recall any at the Tuxpan, not even water aerobics, the resort was bare as far a people went.
I don't think I would stay there again as I like to be active, the Tuxpan is not the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justice034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.7 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#36 of 64 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,892 reviews
0.9 mi away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#21 of 64 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
3.3 mi away
Be Live Experience Turquesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tuxpan Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuxpan Varadero

Property: Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Address: Avda de las Americas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly LTI Tuxpan)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#31 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tuxpan Varadero 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tuxpan Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Tuxpan Hotel Varadero
Lti Tuxpan Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing