We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breezes In January”
Review of Hotel Los Cactus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Cactus
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our second trip to Cuba; the resort was what we expected given the reviews we read except for one pleasant surprise. Breezes is definitely showing its age. We had to move our room once because of deficiencies (lights not working, no power to bathroom plug-in, broken toilet and excessive noise. They had no problem accommodating us and the second room was fine.
Over all the resort was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The two negative aspects were the food and the entertainment. The food at the buffet was always the same and some hot dishes were cold. They lacked imagination in varying the main courses. The Ala Cart restaurants were marginally better. The entertainment consisted of a group of young people who ran the pool activities (Bingo??) and the nightly entertainment which of consisted mainly dancing with audience participation.
The positive - The best Stretch of beach in all of Varadero. Beautiful white sand, clean clear water, lots of chairs in sun or shade.
The pleasant surprise- We had toured Havana on our last visit (7- years ago) with the standard hotel tour people (Transat) this time we tried a private tour guide recommended by a co-worker of my wife. The previous tour was crowded and did not allow for personal preferences.
My Wife phoned the tour guide from our room (1 peso) and arranged for a pick up at 8:00 am the next morning. The next morning an air conditioned taxi showed up with our tour guide (Ramiro) and a driver. We had a driver and a guide at our disposal for 10 hours for the same price as the hotel tour! (lunch not included)
Ramiro is a native Cuban and was a history professor in his previous career. He spoke perfect English and talked non- stop on the two hour drive to Havana. Besides his vast knowledge he has a great sense of humour and we enjoyed his personal perspective on life in Cuba. We hit all the highlights and then tailored the trip to our interests. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour guide service to anyone wanting to venture outside the resort.
Photo-Art Tours : RAMIRO

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DoJo632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Valued Clients,

Thank you for taking the time to post the comments regarding your stay in our resort. The guest´s satisfaction is our main goal therefore your opinions are taken as an opportunity to improve the property.
The hotel has been renovating the facilities. The issues reported were discussed with the Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers and some actions are now in place to correct the situation. We are glad to know that the second room was up to your expectations.
In regards to the food our new Chef and Food & Beverage Manager are working on the menus to offer more options with the products available in the market. They also increased the controls on the food temperature, and a microwave was placed in the buffet as an alternate solution, especially in the winter time.

We spoke with the entertainment team and asked them to review the program and design new activities suitable for all the guests despite of their age. They will also advertise more the activities included in the program as well as the specials such as the Beach Parties, the Yoga & Zumba weeks and the special performances that we will have in April due the Viva Italia to ensure the clients are well informed.

It is nice to hearing that you were very impress with the beach and that you appreciated the friendliness and professionalism of our staff. We hope that the positive points encourage you to come back in a near future.

Sincerely,

The Management & The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 2,665 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

After being die hard cruisers we decided this year to try Cuba and landed at Breezes Super Club Varadero. At first we were in the Tropical and Jr. Suite building however after the noise from the disco and the resort next door on the first night kept us up we went to the front desk and we could have been switched free to another room in the same building but we took the option of being switched to building D at a cost of 60 pesos( $70) more for the week. We were thrilled and never looked back. The food was much better than we expected and the kitchen staff were so friendly and helpful. The shows were terrific the karaoke night was fun but the best was the piano bar where we sang until 3 in the morning Fri and Sat. night. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were professional and attentive. The resort was clean and well kept including the pool. The beach was breathtaking. The manager Abe runs a tight ship with the best staff I have come across in the tourism industry. My husband and I have travelled all over the world and there are very few places I would go back to a second time. This is one of the places I can't wait to go back to.

Room Tip: Don't book the tropical or Jr. Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are in receipt of your comments and we thank you for taking the time to express and share them with other readers.
The client´s comments are the best tool that we have to improve the hotel services and facilities.
We apologies for the inconveniences you had on the first night due the noise coming from the resort next door. We are glad to inform you that we spoke with the management from that property and they have been very receptive and cooperative.
The head departments and the staff are very happy to hearing that you had a lovely holiday experience and are willing to come back.
We are looking forward to host you in the future.

Sincerely,

The Management & The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

At first we thought this hotel was a little shabby, soon we realized that it was the nicest one on the beach. The rooms are clean and comfy. Bathrooms are well appointed and cleaned daily. The food is Cuban, need I say more? It was however, plentiful and good. The omelette bar is exceptional. Lobster night cannot be missed!
The beach is perfect. White sand and all the best beach stuff. Catamarans, kayaks, paddle boats, The beach bar is nearby and well stocked. The beach BBQ is really great.

Room Tip: The junior suites on the end are noisy due to the resort next door. Choose one to the west of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank simonsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Client,

We are in receipt of your comments and we thank you for taking the time to express and share them with other readers.
We are glad to know you liked our resort.
As to the food quality, our new Chef is working on the menus to increase the variety with the products available in the market. He will be glad to hearing that you appreciated the food served, especially the omelets and the lobster. It is nice to know that you liked the beach, the watersports, the offer in the Beach Bar and Grill, that you also appreciated the comfort and cleanness of the rooms.
The situation with the noise coming from the hotel next door was discussed with the manager from that property and we got their total support. We did not get any report in the last several days. Opinions like yours are fundamental for a better service and for the improvement of our standards.
We are very happy to hearing that you had a nice experience.
Looking forward to see you again.

Sincerely,

The Management & The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our fifth trip to Cuba and our fourth stay at Breezes.
I made a mistake and booked a junior suite, which put us in the newer building,next to the Hotel Tuxpan and above the disco. MISTAKE! The noise at night makes it impossible to enjoy the balcony, unless you really like noise,don't book junior suites!!
We were moved to E block,and lesson learned.
The resort is beautiful, lovely grounds,a gorgeous beach and turquoise ocean. The staff are fabulous and we know many of them after going so often. Golf is included, so green fees are free and it's 33 CUC for a cart. The course is beautiful. It's often crowded so book early. After you're finished golfing, walk next door to the DuPont Mansion(Xanadu) and have a beer in the bar on the top floor,the views and the amazing house are worth it!
Rooms at Breezes have been updated, the mattresses are much better and the maid service was great.
The food is great, from the buffet to the specialty restaurants we always had plenty to eat. Fresh fruit, fish, salads and tons of other choices you'd have to be pretty fussy to not find something to eat. The fresh breads,and ice cream and desserts are excellent! Breakfast with good omelettes, fresh croissants, amazing cheeses. Order coffee and ask your waiter to get it from the bar, expresso machine makes great coffee. I loved going to the lobby bar in the early morning for my coffee.
They have hired a new food services manager and he and his staff work hard to serve good food. Remember this is Cuba, so it's not Canadian standards, be adventurous and try some new foods. We were never sick and not one of our friends were either.
We never used the pool, as the ocean is warm and so beautiful, but lots of people do and every afternoon there are lots of activities around the pool area.
Drinks are good, and the cervezas are cold. Bring a travel mug as they give you plastic cups, which don't carry well on the beach. The lobby bar is lovely and if you sit there for a drink, they give it to you in a glass.
Specialty coffees are made at a nice little coffee bar near the Cuban restaurant and are very good!
The Italian restaurant is very nice,a bit dressier, and if Pedro is working your evening will be a blast :) ;)
We will return again and again to Breezes as, for us it is the perfect hotel in Varadero.
My pet peeve is that many guests do Not TIP!!!
This is a poor country and yes it's all inclusive, but you can afford to go, so tip the waiters, the bar staff, the maids, they work hard and deserve it.
Regards to Lizbeth, Alex, Roberto, Luba, Hugo, Pedro, Vincent, and so many other great staff who make Breezes so wonderful
See you next year!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
8  Thank DaisymaeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with the readers.
We apologize for the challenges that you had experienced on the first night when you were disturbed by the noise coming from the hotel next door. We would like to inform you that we discussed this issue with the General Manager of that resort and some actions are now in place to avoid the recurrence of this situation.

We are glad to see that you noticed the improvements that we are doing in the resort. Our main goal is to provide our clients the highest level of service as possible therefore we are pleased to hear that we are on the correct path.

We will forward your greetings to all the staff and especially to the staff members mentioned by you. They will be very happy with your comments.

Thank you once again for writing this review.
We are looking forward to seeing you in a near future.

Sincerely,

The Management & The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

First time to Cuba and Super Club....awesome for both. Having read many reviews on Cuba, we were skeptical (minimally) about food choice \ quality. For those who have not been to Cuba, do not put to much of an emphsis on what is said about Cuban food on these reviews at this resort. it was perfectly fine, flavorful and plenty of choice, this resort provide many condiments (mustard, ketchup, tabaco, etc).

The resort is a 14 (age) plus resort which by choice is what we wanted. Smaller resort (in the 300 room range) never croweded , always found a chair (six in fact for the group we were with) at the beach and pool. The staff was incredible, friendly, helpful and there to please. Never had a problem with communication. The beach at this resort was by far the best (widest, most spacious and cleanest ) of all that we saw near this resort.

Our room was on the third floorin the building with the disco and Italian restaurant. We never heard the disco, we enjoyed the Italian restarant and bar in the block. It was close to the beach and we could see the ocean although it was not an ocean view room. It was a hotel room, we were in it to sleep, shower and change our clothes - it was comfortable and perfect for us. Daily cleaning and more than accomodating cleaning staff. The only thing we ever waited for was the sun to come up in the morning (and it did every day!)

Cant wait to get back!!

Room Tip: even number rooms in block 5 (3 level contain 500, 600, 700 series) look to garden, higher up you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jason216608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words and review.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us.
Our employees will be more than satisfied when reading your comments.
We do our outmost to please our clients’ expectations. That is why we take your opinions very seriously.
Again, thank you very much for your opinions and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

The Management & The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been in Super Clubs 7 times. We love this place, we know almost everybody in that resort. We missed it in this year. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are big and clean, big balcony or patio. If you want spent a little bit more money - get ocean view room. If you don't want - any room with garden view are very nice. For those who like golf- that is the best place. Not far from downtown Varadero, you may get a cab or walk, about 20 min. I would recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing with the readers your impressions about this resort that has been your favourite holiday spot in the last 7 years.
Your comments are greatly appreciated and are an inspiration to keep improving the hotel services & facilities.

We miss you & your wife Tatiana last January and are looking forward to see you again in a near future.

Sincerely,

The Management & The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Breezesvaradero Jan 20 - 27 ....the only bad part of that is we didn t stay longer!! lots of people give the advice on TA to book Gardenview room.....LISTEN TO THEM! We did not and were in 621 at the end of the hall DIRECTLY above the disco.....nasty. They did offer to move us but a pair of ear plugs kept me happy and we did have a nice patio and bar at the bottom of the stairs. But avoid it if you can !
The buffet for me .....was good for breakfast and just fair after that. I did however gain 5 lbs in a week! The Ala-carts are all good in this order for us..Martino's, Mojito and the Beach last . We did have a great meal in Varadero for 20 peso at Barracuda Resturant .....honestly you shouldn t miss it, lobster , rum soaked shrimp, vegs, desert and wine and it was great !
What separates this resort form any other we've been to in 20 yrs going is the people there. Alex in bellhop started it for us with all the excellent info we needed and took our baggage to the room and remained helpful and friendly to us all week.
Yordanka in the coffee shop..:) you have to see her every day best coffees ever try the Jamacian.
Janisis in the buffet (we called her honey, cause that's how it sounds when she says it ! :) was nothing short of incredible, she really made a difference in our vacation!
Cuba and Varadero especially is so less hectic than the DR, no beggars hanging on you, timeshare salesmen, aggressive sellers.........nothing like that .......ALL the people were so nice to deal with!! Even the trinket sellers ! And the price of everything in Cuba is cheaper. try the hop on/off open top bus to Varadero 5 peso's all day long!!
The golf course is beautiful and they treat you like a king. They kept our clubs for us so we didn't have to bother with them......NO charge?? They picked us up at the end of the driveway every morning and drove us to the pro shop, a different Alex is also the guy to see at the golf course .Lunch at the 19th hole was very good and affordable. The mansion has some incredible views from the top worth a photo opp to go there. A bar at the top with a sax player was nice.
The beach is very nice and we never had to put a towel out to get a palapa.....always something there for you even at 11 a.m. The pool looked nice but mostly empty and we are beach people .
Theres music everywhere you go at Breezes, small groups in the bars and some at dinner too.
All in all the best trip we've ever had and for sure the best service and people!! See you all at Breezes next year but this time in a Garden View room!

Room Tip: avoid the main building rooms above or close to the disco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank halifax69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guests:
We are in receipt of your comments and we thank you for taking the time to express and share them with other readers.
The noise from the neighbour resort is a main inconvenience for the guests. The situation was discussed with the management from the neighbouring resort and some actions are now in place to avoid the recurrence of this situation.
As to the food quality, we will take your suggestions into account and analyze them with our new Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. Opinions like yours are fundamental for a better service and for the improvement of our standards.
It is very nice to hear that you were very impressed with the service and the hospitality show by our staff which is certainly one of our main assets and a reason that encourage the clients to come back.
We will make sure that employees mentioned get the credit.
We are also glad to know that you enjoyed the golf and the attractions in town. It will be great to have you in one of our Golf Tournaments – held every year in late October and early December.
Looking forward to hosting you again in a near future.

Sincerely,

The Management & The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#20 of 64 in Varadero
1,979 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
3.8 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cactus

Address: Carretera de las Americas, Km 3.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Breezes Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Varadero
#10 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#16 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $108 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Cactus 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Cactus is a Super-Inclusive Resort for adults -singles and couples 12 years and older , where all meals, wine, local and international beverages, water sports, land sports with equipment and instruction, entertainment and other activities are included in one single price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Los Cactus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Varadero Hotel Varadero
Breezes Hotel Varadero
Varadero Breezes Hotel
Breezes Varadero Cuba
Superclubs Breezes Varadero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing