We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st cuban adventure”
Review of Hotel Los Cactus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Cactus
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Whitecourt, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“1st cuban adventure”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Going back ...ocean was fantastic, food was ok for cuba, drinks too sweet and too strong, room clean decent size had good sleep :) small resort lot of french tourist lot of older couple, entertainment at night was poor so it make it quiet romantic evening

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natlduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    1,092
    515
    186
    103
See reviews for
321
1,223
114
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this resort the week of Oct.19-26, was a great girls get away. This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, once again it really is the staff that make this resort so much fun. Although it was off season everything was up and running like usual. We staying in block C in an upper room, of course being an older resort there is always something that needs attended to and there were people working all the time on different projects. I just am so happy to be able to go south; have a clean bed, good meals (although not gourmet which we all know) and a beautiful beach with lovely people (the Cubans I mean, although most guests are nice too). Like many other guests I will definately return to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BellyDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, General Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for posting your good comments about your stay at Breezes Varadero.

We are very pleased to know that you and your girlfriends had a great time and that you will definitely return to our resort.

Thank you for your nice opinion about our staff and for appreciating their work and efforts to improve our property and to please our guests.

Sincerely,

Abe Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I are going back to Breezes Varadero for the 3rd time in three weeks. This will be my 9th time to Cuba and Breezes Varadero is the only resort that has drawn us back. We love it there. We are hoping for a room close to the pool like we had last year. The coffee bar is a really great place for a nice Spanish Coffee after supper. Can't wait to go back.

Shirley T.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, General Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

A warm greeting from Breezes Varadero!

Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about our resort and for the privilege of being the only resort you have returned to.

We appreciate you have chosen us for the 3rd time and we hope you are enjoying your Vacation.

Looking forward to hosting you every time you visit us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Abe Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I just don't understand some people and their nastiness. We are heading back to Breezes Varadero in 2 weeks for our 3rd time and my 50th birthday. We were there 2 years ago for my hubby's 50th and last year for our 25th anniversary and LOVED it BOTH times... even Hurricane Sandy couldn't spoil our fun last year! I feel like Londonstrumpet and Taylor2580 must have stayed at a different resort or should have stayed home!!! I am on a count down of 14 more sleeps until I see the wonderful staff, the great room, taste the superb food and the fabulous rum and the beach.... am I ever looking forward to the beach... I am SOOOOO excited to be returning! See you soon!!

Room Tip: Hoping to stay in building I lower level again, LOVED the room, the view and the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, General Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope you had another wonderful stay on your 3rd visit to Breezes Varadero!

We are very pleased to know you enjoy spending such special dates and events in our resort. We are honored and privileged to be part of those important celebrations and are pleased to work for you so that you can have an memorable time.

Thank you for your very good comments and for sharing them with other travelers who visit this website!

We look forward to your next visit in the near future!

Sincerely,

Abe Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

To Londonstrumpet
We have been to Breezes 6 times, my sister in law 17. None of us ever got sick from the food. We even drank water from the taps in our bedroom, never got sick. I have a very sensitive stomach and thought the first time we went i would have problems, brought the appropriate meds and never needed them.
I got sick one time, it was not the food (migraine). We had great service from the staff, and they even brought ginger ale to the room for us. Was even asked if I needed the dr.
They always leave extra toilet paper in the room and if you run out all you have to do is call the front desk and they bring it quickly. The staff there is unbelievable, they have never been rude or aggresive to any of our family and my mom and dad even came down for a week and loved it. There is a nurse but the doctor needs to be called to come. If you would have asked it would have been done. The front desk reception is great. the watersports, you just have to ask. I find it hard to believe you had such a hard time as we say Breezes, is our second home. The staff there work incredibly hard, for little pay, and still come to work smiling.
I totally disagree with your comments and am saddened you had such a terrible vacation when this resort has so many repeaters coming each month, each year. They are our family. I suggest next time find a 5 star, but not in Cuba
When you expect the Hilton, dont go to Cuba

Room Tip: There is not a bad room here........If you want quiet, move away from the pool, if your like us and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mrslizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, General Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Returning Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable opinion about our resort on this website.

We feel honored after reading your very good comments about our staff, services and facilities and we appreciate your positive opinions.

Thank you for choosing us year after year and for considering us part of your family.

You will always be most welcome to your second home!

Best Regards,

Abe Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from two weeks at the Breezes. Everything you read about the beach is accurate-beautiful sand and no seaweed! You definitely don't go for the food - buffet was okay but there was not much choice unless you liked fish. All the dishes were alike and didn't vary from day to day - after 14 days of pasta for dinner its nice to get some real food. I was not impressed with the map provided - needs to be more detailed. The staff were quite friendly, especially the front reception. I was in building E, on the top floor - nice Balcony, great location for the buffet and the pool. Housekeeping was a little iffy - room on the surface looked clean BUT there was an inch of dust on the lamp beside the bed and then in the little sitting room other was another inch of dust on the floor. It didn't look like it had been thoroughly cleaned in some time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Taylor2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our resort as it gives us the opportunity to improve the hotel’s services and facilities.

We regret that the food provided was not up to your levels of expectations. We try to offer our guests all products available in the market.

Sorry that you found some problems with our housekeeping service. We are working on increasing the rooms’ supervision to give our clients the highest level of satisfaction.

Thank you for your recommendation about the map, which will be taken into consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first time at Breezes and the nicest place that we have stayed in Cuba. We were surprised to find that our accommodations had a living room as well as the bedroom. The rooms were clean and well stocked with towels, soap, shampoo, toilet paper, etc. The beach was fabulous ...beautiful sand, clear water, no stones, no seaweed, and no jellyfish. There were plenty of lounge chairs at both the beach and the pool. All the staff were friendly and obliging. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank your choosing Breezes Varadero for your Holidays!

We are very pleased to know that our hotel was the nicest place you have stayed in Cuba and therefore you will definitely return.

We also appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, beach and staff. They are very valuable not only for the hotel but for all the travelers that will visit this website.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,246 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Solymar
Barcelo Solymar
#31 of 64 in Varadero
7,002 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,353 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cactus

Property: Hotel Los Cactus
Address: Carretera de las Americas, Km 3.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Breezes Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Varadero
#10 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#16 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Cactus 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Cactus is a Super-Inclusive Resort for adults -singles and couples 12 years and older , where all meals, wine, local and international beverages, water sports, land sports with equipment and instruction, entertainment and other activities are included in one single price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Los Cactus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Varadero Hotel Varadero
Breezes Hotel Varadero
Varadero Breezes Hotel
Breezes Varadero Cuba
Superclubs Breezes Varadero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing