We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breezes varadero is great”
Review of Hotel Los Cactus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Cactus
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I did not do a review after returning back in March as it was our 8 th trip and have done reviews before, but felt I needed to after reading several. The one thing that should be noted by people reading reviews is how often a person has been to Cuba or that particular resort. Comments made by those who have been there once should be observed, but I feel that if people are returning year after year(s) must mean something. Breezes Varadero is one of those resorts as you will find numerous returnees here which should mean something. They have done upgrades to the rooms and added extras to make your visit complete. The addition of the coffee bar has been wonderful (and a busy place!) as well as the snack bar in main building, which is great when your flight gets you there later at night or leaving later.
The beach area speaks for itself and have never heard anything bad about it, although they could use newer chaises there. The gardens are beautifully kept by friendly staff like Ariel and Hector who will do their best to explain the different vegetation.
Cannot say enough about the staff who are like family now. Treat people with respect and that is how you will be treated! The entertainment staff are "my kids" now and do their best to keep you entertained. Love those people!
The food issue always puzzles me. You are willingly taking a holiday in a different country so why the complaints about food that you don't find at home? Take a North American trip then! We have NEVER had a meal that we could not find something to eat. They do have regular condiments here. As for tipping, do so if you want but you do not have to.
So we have already booked our 2014 trip to Breezes and can hardly wait to be embraced by the wonderful people here. Cuba is a safe and very interesting country to visit.

Room Tip: The garden view two level buildings are the best. Found the main building around the disco noisy fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank buddiesCalglary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate you have taken the time to post your very good comments about Breezes Varadero on this website.
Thank you also for mentioning the upgrades you have noticed in the rooms as well as the improvements and the extras added such us the Coffee Bar and the Snack Bar.
Your acknowledgments to the staff are well appreciated too and will be transmitted to them, especially to the gardeners mentioned and the entertainers.
We look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 2,725 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Keeping in mind we went during low season, the resort appeared as a good place to relax, rather than a place to party. We appreciated the fact that kids are not allowed on the site (14 years and above). The average age of visitors was around 45 and the hotel bars emptied around midnight. This resort has a beautiful beach with easy access. It is very close to the city of Varadero (20 min walk). The staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms are spacious and always kept clean by the daily maid service. On the downside, the food is really bad. We went in the low season and the same food was served almost at every meal, with very few choices. They make weird mixes of salad, such as dry raisins with ham and rice. Hot meals are overcooked, because they keep cooking in the boiling sauce as the heating bath are kept at very high temperatures. I would go back to this resort, especially in high season when it's probably more lively. Although I would definitely avoid Cubana airline which was a very bad experience.

Room Tip: Bloc I is close to everything: beach, pool, buffet, jacuzzi bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your good comments on our resort.
We are very concerned about customer satisfaction; therefore, all comments are taken as an opportunity to improve the hotel’s services and facilities.
We regret that the food provided was not up to your levels of expectations but we keep working to give our clients the highest level of satisfaction.
We appreciate that despite this experience you wish to return to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just love this resort, and can't wait to go back. The staff really make this place so welcoming and treat us like family every visit. All rooms have been upgraded in the last few years, and they are always very clean with excellent maid service daily. We really like the two-story buildings placed around the main buffet and pool, while the reception and lobby bar are close as well. The beach, of course, is great with lots of palapas and lounge chairs available; great security too as we watch some people turned away who are not staying at the resort.

Our last trip was in April during the Italia Festival - such great music and extra special pastas in the buffet - great time! The visiting yoga instructors are an excellent addition to the daily activities. It's a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather; not much of a big party place, which is fine by me.

The coffee bar that was added a couple of years ago is great, providing about 20 specialty coffee drinks (Spanish coffee after dinner, yum) and wine. The resort has free golf at the Varadero Golf Club and one of these trips we are actually going to play!!

Hola from Tom & Betty

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Client,
Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about our resort, as well as the improvements you have noticed in the rooms and bars.
We are also very pleased to read your very good comments on Viva Italia’s Event last April.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been to varadero now 11 times. I've stayed at playa caleta 9 times, what a party, that hotel is 2.5 stars but it was fun! More for singles and teens party hotel. I've stayed once at arenas dorades which was with family, another nice place but far from city.

Breezes super club was close to city, 20 min walk from hotel. Older hotel, service was not as good, cleanliness terrible. Beach was best thing. Food was same thing almost everyday, I ate in town.

With this being said I won't return to this resort. Ranked 11 out of 58 in varadero, whoever a writing those reviews please stop. This at best to me would be ranks like the high 30's. the other two hotels I mentioned were better and their ranked lower in tripadvisor.

Don't trust the reviews online, try your own luck. I never wrote any reviews for the other two hotels and if I did they'd be ranked better. Just think of all the people who go and don't write a review.

In total, varadero is a party, beaches still the best in anywhere I've been in the world. People are amazing, safe is amazing, hotels and good usually are crap. So go have fun everybody and enjoy varadero for the party!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mikeymac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our resort. We are very concerned about customer satisfaction; therefore, all comments are taken as an opportunity to improve the hotel’s services and facilities.
We regret that the hotel’s service and food provided was not up to your levels of expectations but we appreciate your comments and will keep working to give our clients the highest level of satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My first trip to Breezes (Superclub Varadero) was in September of 1995. I returned to Breezes for my 10th visit June 29 - July 6 and found it still as it always was - paradise! It was the 2nd time at Breezes for my husband. The beach is out of this world, absolutely spectacular. The resort itself is aging but very well maintained. The rooms are spacious with top-notch air conditioning and huge king beds and large balconies.

For Cuban standards, the food at this resort is fabulous and extremely tasty, and there is always something for all tastes. I also noticed that the a la carte restaurants have vastly improved over the years, most particularly Los Mojitos (Cuban).

The service is second to none, whether it be the maids, the bar staff, the wait staff or the front desk. A special big shout to Lázaro Nelson, the supervisor in Jimmy's Buffet. I have known him since 1995 when he was a security guard on the beach. The poolside entertainment was priceless and most enjoyable - we especially enjoyed the daily trivia competitions.

The pool itself is always clean and sparkling, and exactly the right temperature (for July).

We have travelled extensively around the Caribbean, including Mexico, Aruba, Antigua, Jamaica and the Dominican Republic. I cannot imagine why anyone would want to pay double, triple, quadruple (and more) to go to any other destination than Cuba, specifically Breezes Varadero.

We will be back soon! Hasta la vista.

Room Tip: Suites to the western side of the pool / buffet area are bigger and quieter. Ours was right beside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
A warm greeting from Breezes Varadero!
Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about our resort as well as the way you see the improvements specifically on the a la carte restaurants.
We appreciate you have chosen us for so many years above all the Caribbean destinations and we look forward to welcoming you every time you choose us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My only complaint is I didn't stay long enough. The resort was really nice and clean and even had two peacocks. Lol. The pool was always clean and it was fairly large. There were always afternoon activities around the pool which were tons of fun. The beach was perfect along with the ocean. The bars and the disco were all great as well. Lots to choose from and there was always a bar close by no matter where on the resort you were. The food was excellent, especially the omelettes in the morning. There was always lots of options and the restaurants on the resort were delicious too. What really made this trip so great is the people. Being there on the off season really let you get to know everyone. We became close to many people who worked there. The entertainers kept us company all day long and were so nice and funny. Yoel, Jay and Tony were the entertainers during my trip and they were all amazing people. We really got to know them. The bar tenders, cooks and waiters remembered what you ate/drank and also got to know us very well. Getting to know everyone who worked there and hearing about their lives was really great. It's also worth while to go out into town to the local markets and bars to see everyday life. I had a great trip and with out a doubt will return to this resort the next time I go to Cuba.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Unknown0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to post your very good comments about our hotel’s facilities and staff.
We will pass on your acknowledgments to the entertainers you mention. We are pleased to know you had a great trip and that you will return to this resort the next time you come to Cuba.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was everything we knew it would be. Very Friendly and very clean. We travel twice a year once in June and once in the Winter. Now being June and down season it was quite but with things still to do.
The beach grill was awesome as was the chef there. The peacock was friendly for the most part as well LOL. He let me take pictures of him so that was awesome.
The pool was always clean as well. No one should ever complain about the service because these staff members could not do enough for you. And the nice thing about a smaller property they always know what you drink.
The food choices where there and I never comment on tastes because everyone has their idea of what is good and bad.
They did have a lot of options so no one went hunger although I thought I would cry when told they had no BACON LOL.
Rooms are very large and clean.
All in All a great visit to Breezes Varadero.
And of course last but not least no one can complain about the wonderful beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lovetotravelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for sharing your good comments on our resort, staff and service.
We regret that there was no bacon, which unfortunately was not available during your stay. However, we are pleased to report that supplies are now back to normal.
We look forward to hosting you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,430 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#20 of 64 in Varadero
2,064 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel
Blau Varadero Hotel
#3 of 64 in Varadero
7,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
1.9 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
6,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cactus

Address: Carretera de las Americas, Km 3.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Breezes Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#16 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $120 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Cactus 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Cactus is a Super-Inclusive Resort for adults -singles and couples 12 years and older , where all meals, wine, local and international beverages, water sports, land sports with equipment and instruction, entertainment and other activities are included in one single price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Los Cactus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Varadero Hotel Varadero
Breezes Hotel Varadero
Varadero Breezes Hotel
Breezes Varadero Cuba
Superclubs Breezes Varadero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing