We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breezes Varadero is still my paradise!”
Review of Hotel Los Cactus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Cactus
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Stoney Creek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breezes Varadero is still my paradise!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My first trip to Breezes (Superclub Varadero) was in September of 1995. I returned to Breezes for my 10th visit June 29 - July 6 and found it still as it always was - paradise! It was the 2nd time at Breezes for my husband. The beach is out of this world, absolutely spectacular. The resort itself is aging but very well maintained. The rooms are spacious with top-notch air conditioning and huge king beds and large balconies.

For Cuban standards, the food at this resort is fabulous and extremely tasty, and there is always something for all tastes. I also noticed that the a la carte restaurants have vastly improved over the years, most particularly Los Mojitos (Cuban).

The service is second to none, whether it be the maids, the bar staff, the wait staff or the front desk. A special big shout to Lázaro Nelson, the supervisor in Jimmy's Buffet. I have known him since 1995 when he was a security guard on the beach. The poolside entertainment was priceless and most enjoyable - we especially enjoyed the daily trivia competitions.

The pool itself is always clean and sparkling, and exactly the right temperature (for July).

We have travelled extensively around the Caribbean, including Mexico, Aruba, Antigua, Jamaica and the Dominican Republic. I cannot imagine why anyone would want to pay double, triple, quadruple (and more) to go to any other destination than Cuba, specifically Breezes Varadero.

We will be back soon! Hasta la vista.

Room Tip: Suites to the western side of the pool / buffet area are bigger and quieter. Ours was right beside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
A warm greeting from Breezes Varadero!
Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about our resort as well as the way you see the improvements specifically on the a la carte restaurants.
We appreciate you have chosen us for so many years above all the Caribbean destinations and we look forward to welcoming you every time you choose us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    1,085
    504
    183
    98
See reviews for
307
1,211
114
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My only complaint is I didn't stay long enough. The resort was really nice and clean and even had two peacocks. Lol. The pool was always clean and it was fairly large. There were always afternoon activities around the pool which were tons of fun. The beach was perfect along with the ocean. The bars and the disco were all great as well. Lots to choose from and there was always a bar close by no matter where on the resort you were. The food was excellent, especially the omelettes in the morning. There was always lots of options and the restaurants on the resort were delicious too. What really made this trip so great is the people. Being there on the off season really let you get to know everyone. We became close to many people who worked there. The entertainers kept us company all day long and were so nice and funny. Yoel, Jay and Tony were the entertainers during my trip and they were all amazing people. We really got to know them. The bar tenders, cooks and waiters remembered what you ate/drank and also got to know us very well. Getting to know everyone who worked there and hearing about their lives was really great. It's also worth while to go out into town to the local markets and bars to see everyday life. I had a great trip and with out a doubt will return to this resort the next time I go to Cuba.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Unknown0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to post your very good comments about our hotel’s facilities and staff.
We will pass on your acknowledgments to the entertainers you mention. We are pleased to know you had a great trip and that you will return to this resort the next time you come to Cuba.
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was everything we knew it would be. Very Friendly and very clean. We travel twice a year once in June and once in the Winter. Now being June and down season it was quite but with things still to do.
The beach grill was awesome as was the chef there. The peacock was friendly for the most part as well LOL. He let me take pictures of him so that was awesome.
The pool was always clean as well. No one should ever complain about the service because these staff members could not do enough for you. And the nice thing about a smaller property they always know what you drink.
The food choices where there and I never comment on tastes because everyone has their idea of what is good and bad.
They did have a lot of options so no one went hunger although I thought I would cry when told they had no BACON LOL.
Rooms are very large and clean.
All in All a great visit to Breezes Varadero.
And of course last but not least no one can complain about the wonderful beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lovetotravelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for sharing your good comments on our resort, staff and service.
We regret that there was no bacon, which unfortunately was not available during your stay. However, we are pleased to report that supplies are now back to normal.
We look forward to hosting you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Cuba and we loved it. After lots of reading we decided to stay at Breezes Varadero. Realizing this resort is not a 4-5 star, we went with realistic expectations and were pleasantly surprised how great it was. The staff at this resort are wonderful. We were always greeted with a smile no matter where we were. We tripped 1 CUC for drinks and service in the dining room. Also for the super sweet lady in the Dining Room that made our delicious breakfast smoothies. We always tip at home so really did not feel this was anything out of the norm for us.

The buildings are dated although they are clean and that is what is important to us. We stayed in the Garden Suites in building G and it was really nice. AC was good but the little bar fridge was not very cold no matter how we adjusted the temp. The grounds and gardens are absolutely outstanding. We spent about 2 hours taking photos of all the beautiful trees and plants.

The food was surprisingly very good and we had no problem finding something tasty to eat. We totally expected the food to be bland and were very surprised that everything had good flavour. In fact we brought hot sauces with us that we didn’t even open because they had some available. Every night there was something new on the grill and everything that we had was very good. The only one thing we were disappointed about was that the coffee bar was closed, we were told this was because it was low season. That is something we were looking forward too. The ladies at the lobby bar did make a really good cappuccino though so not a total loss.

We cannot say enough about the beach. It was one of the most beautiful we have ever seen. The water is crystal clear and so, so warm. The sad thing is that there were a huge number of people smoking at the resort and the beach was littered with cigarette butts. The Security staff did clean up some however there was just too many for them to keep up. So wrong that people so thoughtlessly just throw things in the sand thinking someone else will clean up after them which in the end will impact the reviews for this resort. The worst part though is that all this litter will eventually end up in the ocean which is truly sad.
This was a very low stress totally enjoyable vacation for us and we cannot wait to do it again. We will definitely be back to Breezes.

Room Tip: Garden Suites are great. Really good location and very quiet. Buildings G&H. Get an upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank keys_addiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to post your good comments about our hotel’s facilities and staff.
We are pleased to know you had and enjoyable vacation and that you will definitely return.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Breezes Varadero!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We travelled (a friend and I) to Breezes from June 1 - 15, 2013 and had an absolutely fabulous time !
This was my 4th time to Cuba but first time to Breezes, it won't be the last !
Our rooms were in Buidling I which was fantastic, close to the pool / beach / lobby.
The staff most definately make this hotel, it is a bit on the older side but kept immaculately and we were always greeted with a smile and good morning.
The beach is the nicest by far I have seen in Cuba, and as it was not busy we always got a palapa and chairs.
I have read alot about the disappointment in the food, we found it just fine - always something to eat. Carlos at the beach grill is the best !

Room Tip: Building I
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank calgaryswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Customer,
We appreciate your good comments about our hotel’s facilities and staff and are pleased to know you enjoyed your Holidays. Your acknowledgments will be transmitted to Carlos at the beach grill. We look forward to welcoming you again to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Going in to Cuba I wasn't expecting much. I've been to Jamaica, punta Cana and Mexico which were all double what I paid to come here. But breezes proved me wrong! Food was excellent, especially the restaurants that require a reservation. Buffet had excellent service and they always seemed very happy to be serving you. A lot of the same foods but that doesnt matter when its all tasty. Beach was outstanding, try to get there before 9am to get a bed, even if you're hungover you can sleep there. Water was very warm, once you're in you'll never want to come out. Bars had great service, never waited more than 2 minutes for a drink, and they let you customize your own. **Bring a bubba because the cups they give you are very small** I was satisfied by the rooms, a few small ants by the door and in the bathroom but it wasn't a big deal at all. 2 air conditioners per room so the rooms stay nice and cool, feels great to walk in to after a hot day at the beach. Night life was fun, piano bar had different activities like casino night and lots of karaoke, and of course a piano. The disco had a nice set up but was often empty. This was probably because there was a few clubs off the resort that I heard were a great time but I never checked them out personally. And last but definitely not least, the entertainers (tony and joe) were a riot. Great people and probably wouldn't be the same trip without them. I highly recommend this resort to people of all ages

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Curl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to post your good comments about our hotel and that despite the little cons, you highly recommend it. We will pass on your recognitions to the entertainers you mention and we look forward to hosting you again in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock Ontario
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have avoided Cuba like the plague largely due to copious numbers of negative reviews on food and service, what a mistake. In retrospect I think that the arrogant self indulgent travelers will have more poor experiences far more frequently, rudeness begets rudeness no matter where you are.

Varadero itself is a nice town safe beyond anything i have a comparison to. No drugs no wandering homeless,addicts and no beggars in the streets, and almost everyone speaks or understands English. Havana is a different story beggars everywhere pick pockets and slight of hand tricks attempted. A place to visit once to see the beautiful architecture and that is it.

Overall the people are very friendly and make an effort to engage.

We went to a restaurant in Varadero for lunch one day La Fondue had a great meal and wine for $30 there are 5 or 6 more we would like to try. We did go into one restaurant down the road that had a sewer smell and left.

Night life in Varadero is plentiful and seemingly as safe as a daytime excursion we closed down the Beatles's bar at 1:30 after a night of an amazing live R&R band the staff was out front ordering up cabs for patrons. Beer was 2.50 for corona and national brands (weak American style beer). Rode home in a 50's immaculate pink Cadi convertible what a ride.

The Resort food is not 5 star but there is a daily menu change, the food is fresh and well prepared. We had BBQ Red Snapper melt in your mouth, ham roast to die for, lobster tails, suckling pig, turkey not a lot of beef but it was all delicious. All attentively watched by the Executive chef, he was on the floor and not afraid to instruct if needed. A delightful gentleman, a real professional. My only big complaint is for the love of all that is a breakfast serve some bacon or real sausages. I managed to survive with fresh omelets or fried eggs but by weeks end started to have bacon withdrawal ! I would give the food a 7 to 8 i was never hungry.

Staff whether tipped or not responded with good polite service. Now when we left a decent tip 3 to 5 peso the next day they were uber attentive and much more engaging. For a nation that has a 75 to 100 peso monthly salary $5 is a lot to them as Canadians not very much. Tipping is optional but greatly appreciated and unlike in Canada the servers show their appreciation.

One tip we got from an Cuban expat was they can not get or afford quality shampoos, nylons, toothpaste or tooth brushes, pens paper or for some odd reason gum. so we left packets of
these items for the cleaning staff.

We did not have one negative interaction with the staff at the resort food was adequate scenery and grounds stunningly beautiful.

excursions Catamaran trip incl dolphin swim, snorkeling, awesome beach lunch for $101incredible value

Havana trip good value just be prepared to endure the beggars and beware of anyone trying to hand you a coin they give you a national coin and want a tourist coin back roughly 25x value.

Look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: book the junior or full suite with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hungrywatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
1.9 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,931 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cactus

Property: Hotel Los Cactus
Address: Carretera de las Americas, Km 3.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Breezes Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Varadero
#10 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#18 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Cactus 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breezes Varadero is a SuperClubs(R) Super-Inclusive (R) Resort for adults -singles and couples 14 years and older (12 YEARS AND OLDER FROM NOVEMBER 1, 2015), where all meals, wine, local and international beverages, water sports, land sports with equipment and instruction, entertainment and other activities are included in one single price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Los Cactus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Varadero Hotel Varadero
Breezes Hotel Varadero
Varadero Breezes Hotel
Breezes Varadero Cuba
Superclubs Breezes Varadero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing