We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Los Cactus
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$233
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$215
$187
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$140
$89
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$222
$187
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,779)
Filter reviews
2,779 results
Traveler rating
719
1,171
564
210
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
719
1,171
564
210
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreezes varaderobeach grillgarden suitecasino nightdunas baritalian restaurantcoffee barjunior suitesel mojitopizzafisha la carte restaurantsgames roompiano barlobster nightother resortshot dogs
Filter
Updating list...
1,044 - 1,049 of 2,779 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My only complaint is I didn't stay long enough. The resort was really nice and clean and even had two peacocks. Lol. The pool was always clean and it was fairly large. There were always afternoon activities around the pool which were tons of fun. The beach was perfect along with the ocean. The bars and the disco were all great as well. Lots to choose from and there was always a bar close by no matter where on the resort you were. The food was excellent, especially the omelettes in the morning. There was always lots of options and the restaurants on the resort were delicious too. What really made this trip so great is the people. Being there on the off season really let you get to know everyone. We became close to many people who worked there. The entertainers kept us company all day long and were so nice and funny. Yoel, Jay and Tony were the entertainers during my trip and they were all amazing people. We really got to know them. The bar tenders, cooks and waiters remembered what you ate/drank and also got to know us very well. Getting to know everyone who worked there and hearing about their lives was really great. It's also worth while to go out into town to the local markets and bars to see everyday life. I had a great trip and with out a doubt will return to this resort the next time I go to Cuba.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Unknown0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to post your very good comments about our hotel’s facilities and staff.
We will pass on your acknowledgments to the entertainers you mention. We are pleased to know you had a great trip and that you will return to this resort the next time you come to Cuba.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was everything we knew it would be. Very Friendly and very clean. We travel twice a year once in June and once in the Winter. Now being June and down season it was quite but with things still to do.
The beach grill was awesome as was the chef there. The peacock was friendly for the most part as well LOL. He let me take pictures of him so that was awesome.
The pool was always clean as well. No one should ever complain about the service because these staff members could not do enough for you. And the nice thing about a smaller property they always know what you drink.
The food choices where there and I never comment on tastes because everyone has their idea of what is good and bad.
They did have a lot of options so no one went hunger although I thought I would cry when told they had no BACON LOL.
Rooms are very large and clean.
All in All a great visit to Breezes Varadero.
And of course last but not least no one can complain about the wonderful beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lovetotravelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for sharing your good comments on our resort, staff and service.
We regret that there was no bacon, which unfortunately was not available during your stay. However, we are pleased to report that supplies are now back to normal.
We look forward to hosting you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Cuba and we loved it. After lots of reading we decided to stay at Breezes Varadero. Realizing this resort is not a 4-5 star, we went with realistic expectations and were pleasantly surprised how great it was. The staff at this resort are wonderful. We were always greeted with a smile no matter where we were. We tripped 1 CUC for drinks and service in the dining room. Also for the super sweet lady in the Dining Room that made our delicious breakfast smoothies. We always tip at home so really did not feel this was anything out of the norm for us.

The buildings are dated although they are clean and that is what is important to us. We stayed in the Garden Suites in building G and it was really nice. AC was good but the little bar fridge was not very cold no matter how we adjusted the temp. The grounds and gardens are absolutely outstanding. We spent about 2 hours taking photos of all the beautiful trees and plants.

The food was surprisingly very good and we had no problem finding something tasty to eat. We totally expected the food to be bland and were very surprised that everything had good flavour. In fact we brought hot sauces with us that we didn’t even open because they had some available. Every night there was something new on the grill and everything that we had was very good. The only one thing we were disappointed about was that the coffee bar was closed, we were told this was because it was low season. That is something we were looking forward too. The ladies at the lobby bar did make a really good cappuccino though so not a total loss.

We cannot say enough about the beach. It was one of the most beautiful we have ever seen. The water is crystal clear and so, so warm. The sad thing is that there were a huge number of people smoking at the resort and the beach was littered with cigarette butts. The Security staff did clean up some however there was just too many for them to keep up. So wrong that people so thoughtlessly just throw things in the sand thinking someone else will clean up after them which in the end will impact the reviews for this resort. The worst part though is that all this litter will eventually end up in the ocean which is truly sad.
This was a very low stress totally enjoyable vacation for us and we cannot wait to do it again. We will definitely be back to Breezes.

Room Tip: Garden Suites are great. Really good location and very quiet. Buildings G&H. Get an upper floor though as we did see some water in the lower rooms from a big rain storm one evening.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank keys_addiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to post your good comments about our hotel’s facilities and staff.
We are pleased to know you had and enjoyable vacation and that you will definitely return.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Breezes Varadero!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We travelled (a friend and I) to Breezes from June 1 - 15, 2013 and had an absolutely fabulous time !
This was my 4th time to Cuba but first time to Breezes, it won't be the last !
Our rooms were in Buidling I which was fantastic, close to the pool / beach / lobby.
The staff most definately make this hotel, it is a bit on the older side but kept immaculately and we were always greeted with a smile and good morning.
The beach is the nicest by far I have seen in Cuba, and as it was not busy we always got a palapa and chairs.
I have read alot about the disappointment in the food, we found it just fine - always something to eat. Carlos at the beach grill is the best !

Room Tip: Building I
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank calgaryswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Customer,
We appreciate your good comments about our hotel’s facilities and staff and are pleased to know you enjoyed your Holidays. Your acknowledgments will be transmitted to Carlos at the beach grill. We look forward to welcoming you again to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Going in to Cuba I wasn't expecting much. I've been to Jamaica, punta Cana and Mexico which were all double what I paid to come here. But breezes proved me wrong! Food was excellent, especially the restaurants that require a reservation. Buffet had excellent service and they always seemed very happy to be serving you. A lot of the same foods but that doesnt matter when its all tasty. Beach was outstanding, try to get there before 9am to get a bed, even if you're hungover you can sleep there. Water was very warm, once you're in you'll never want to come out. Bars had great service, never waited more than 2 minutes for a drink, and they let you customize your own. **Bring a bubba because the cups they give you are very small** I was satisfied by the rooms, a few small ants by the door and in the bathroom but it wasn't a big deal at all. 2 air conditioners per room so the rooms stay nice and cool, feels great to walk in to after a hot day at the beach. Night life was fun, piano bar had different activities like casino night and lots of karaoke, and of course a piano. The disco had a nice set up but was often empty. This was probably because there was a few clubs off the resort that I heard were a great time but I never checked them out personally. And last but definitely not least, the entertainers (tony and joe) were a riot. Great people and probably wouldn't be the same trip without them. I highly recommend this resort to people of all ages

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Curl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVRA, Manager at Hotel Los Cactus, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to post your good comments about our hotel and that despite the little cons, you highly recommend it. We will pass on your recognitions to the entertainers you mention and we look forward to hosting you again in our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews