We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breezes Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breezes Varadero
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Breezes Varadero April 15- 22 and we really enjoyed our stay and the resort. Flew with Air Transat which was not our first choice as we normally go with Sunwing but carrier for this trip was only AT so we had no choice. Flight down was pretty uncomfortable as although we upgraded to Option Plus which gave you extra baggage allowance, seat selection and a nice little comfort kit, the seats were rediculously small. My wife being a plus size could barely fit into the seat and it was so tight that her legs actually went numb on the way down! AT needs to understand that we are not all size 2 people and they need to make better accomadations for this. Flight back, we upgraded to Club which was heaven compared to the way down.
Check-in at resort was seamless and quick. Bellman Alex was great and gave us a good quick informative overveiw of the resort. We were in B-block in second floor room which I recommend as the lower floor rooms will flood sometimes when it rains. Great location close to reception, buffet, pool etc but rooms are dated and need an upgrade. Phone in our room did not work entire time that we were there so bit of a hassle if you wanted to contact another room, call for luggage pick-up etc. This could become a real issue if you had a medical emergency in the room and have no way to call for help. Room did have a seperate day bed living room which was a nice feature if you needed another bed. Air-cond worked great. Secluded garden veiw which added to the privacy.
Food- Breakfast was the buffet but lacked selection if you are not an egg eater- could use more fruit, crepes,waffles, yogurt, cereals etc. Huberto makes a mean omelette and always greeted you with a smile and his saying"happy wife- happy life"lol. We did buffet for lunch and dinner most days and it was okay and you won't go hungry for sure, but not at the level of quality that you find at other resorts such as Iberostar or Sandals etc. Now with this being said, those other resorts will also cost you at least twice as much as what we paid for this trip so that has to be kept in context as well. Some food items that should have been hot were cold and beef was overcooked and dry a lot of times. We did beach grill for dinner one night and it was amazing as was the the Italian- "Martinos". Beach grill was also great for lunch with grilled hamburgers- hot dogs.
Resort had three bars- lobby, pool and beach and never much waiting to get drinks which were made well and did not tastev watered down. Make sure to bring travel mugs with you as the drink cups they give you are very small plastic ones and you end up doing a lot of back and forth when your on the beach etc.
Service- Resort really does stand out here and staff do treat you well. Tips- we tipped regularly, not becuase we felt we had to but because we wanted to. Staff all work so hard for very little pay and I feel what we give them really does make a difference in their lives. Take little shampoos, soaps, toiletries, kids clothing etc with you to give to them as they have a very hard time obtaining these basic necessities for thier families. I took a pair of nice "Dockers" leather sandals down there with me and I ended up giving them to one of the security guards as his brother could not afford to buy walking shoes and I could really tell that this would make would make a positive difference in his life.
Pool- nice pool- very clean and good size- we did not spend much time there as most time was spent at the beach.
Beach- Outstanding- soft sand and goes on for miles. Green flag every day so got in lots of ocean swimming! Resort has lots of loungers with shade huts and they also have larger huts that have beds in them. We got those most days but you do have get down there pretty early to snag one as they are so comfortable! When we walked down the beach we also noticed that no other resorts had these beds so very nice added feature here. We napped in the late afternoon on these beds one day right through a thunderstorm that rolled through which was amazing. Recommendation to management- get more of these as they are so nice!
Activities- good array of various activities throughout the day both at the pool and the beach and they did a beach party one night with laser show and DJ- lot of fun.
Overall- we really enjoyed the stay and are hoping to return again in the fall. We met lots of wonderful people and formed some great freindships with some who have been to the resort many times. As it is a small resort, you really get a nice personal feel with the ambiance and character of the resort and you get to know many staff by name. We met the General Manager on a few occasions and you can see that he went out of his way to meet and greet his guests and that he focuses on his guests having the best experience possible. This personal touch is just something that you won't find at many of the larger resorts. My wife also had a bit of medical issue during our stay and we were very impressed with the sincere caring attitude that we got from everyone( staff and other guests) including getting us to local medical clinic which was a mini adventure in itself! lol. Doctor was very skilled and obviously highly trained and we had suprisingly little cost considering the consult and treatment that was given.
Great vacation and look fwd to our next stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank relsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    1,060
    485
    180
    93
See reviews for
297
1,176
113
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have spent another great week at Breezes.... Once again we booked with Nolitour and were, as always satisfied. Even if Charles looked bored at times.... Caught the Air Transat 5:50 pm flight.... to arrive on time for the Beach party.....Great time.... We were in Block E and enjoyed the proximity of the Buffet, Beach and pool...not to mention the pool Bar and our friends Omar, Elena, Alex and Jamie..... Can't complain about food, it was our 4 th visit to Breezes and we were always satisfied.... like they say....you go to Rome you eat like the romans.... and if you don't like, don't go back...... Humberto (the Tortilla King) and Lazarita at the buffet made our day start with a smile with they great sense of humor. We cannot forget Vladimir (my baseball expert) at Mojito (the Cuba Restaurant) and Angelo at the Italian restaurant (Martino's) who treated us like family. And who can't finish a great dinner by going for a Breezes, Spanish or Irish Coffee at the Coffee Bar prepared by Tanya. Once again, we were very satisfied with the excellent service, great staff and always improving site. We are awaiting our next stay and hope it will be as wonderful as this past one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yves_017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Plus: friendly staff and friendly guests, some of whom have been visiting the resort for several years. Food acceptable, Italian restaurant was very good.
Minus: pool has a black ring around it and the pool vents have quite a bit of black growth around the edges. Drinks are served in extremely flexible plastic glasses which hold about 3 oz. We had to change rooms because of concerns about possible mould in the grout. Second rom on second floor was much better. Junior suites are in the same building as the disco which can be heard well into the night .Pool lounges in the shade are often claimed by guests quite early in the morning although those lounges are often unoccupied until about noon. Staff have a tendency to talk among themselves when they should be focused on you, the customer .For the first 5 days there was no White wine which all I drink so I was not happy.
Interesting: The guide suggests No Tipping but bar service is much more friendly and efficient if you pass on a peso each time you go to the bar. Coffee and drink services while dining are also greatly influenced by tipping. Some employees , such as Arestes (Martino's Bar) and Humberto (Omlette Station) seem very interested in customer satisfaction, tip or no tip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This first statement has nothing to do with the resort, but Nolitour get your act together,when you offer early flight times to these resorts try and keep to it, this is a good selling feature and we were delayed going and coming and were told this was happening all week.
Once at the airport, 4 hours late everything went smooth, check-in was quick and room was close to a activities. Room was clean but a little dated, had to wait about 10 minutes for warm water to shower.Beach is out of this world, you can walk for miles, not a big problem to find a lounger,some days better then others. Beach bar offers really good hamburgers everyday and is close on the beach.All bars on site are good and no one really looks for a tip, but you get the feeling service is a bit faster if you do. Buffet is a hit or miss affair, the food is very much the same from day to day and service seems to be better if you get one of the ladies to serve you , got tired after the third day of the same thing so ended up going to Varadero for a very good meal at Dantes. After a heavy rain one evening our room got flooded along with about 12 more wouldn't of been to bad only we had our suitcases on floor everything got soaked and took staff till 2 in the morning to clean up .Overall a good vacation but the entertainment staff need to hold back on asking for tips just about after every song or dance

Room Tip: Try and get a room top floor, pool side ,close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suninthefunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I had won this trip from a radio station, that being said this was our trip.
April 7-14 2013
Travel friends of ours decided to join us at the resort .we flew together and were transported to the resort in seprate coaches because we were with the radio station people, no problems tho. My wife and I were checked in on the bus given room keys etc. went right to our room. Our friends had a hassle free check in to their suite, we were both in the same building rooms 609 and the suite 735.
Both rooms were aged but clean the AC was cold bottle of rum and waters in the mini fridge nice!
We arrived at about 11pm and were a bit hungry and alot thirsty.... went down to the lobby bar and ordered drinks.... when they finally got around to us.
Around the side of the bar was a food bar we had a hot dog? the bun was good dog itself was very soft weird but oh well hit the hunger spot.
Slept well and in the morning headed to the buffet for breakfast, sat down and waited for someone to aknowledge us took a bit but oh well on holiday. A waiter arrived and we asked him for coffee's and his reply was what from me? so i got up and found my own from a machine that other wait staff were filling mugs at and when it was my turn a waitress look at me like what was i doing there and filled my mug.....real mixed up I was, went back to the table set my coffee down and went to the buffet. The buffet... nothing special but didnt starve Oh found those soft hot dogs cut up in a sauce tried em... yep still soft. Service was a bit Lax. $0 tip
Bring your BUBBA d....rink glasses are small... Hell bring extras to sell people will buy!!
Went to the beach for the day Great beach! the beach bar and BBQ are nice and convienient service again bit Lax but what the heck.
Dinner was at the Cuban restauranh...., we waited at the hostess startion and many staff went by without any aknowledgement ....I guess we were on the "pay no mind list" but finally we were seated and there were live dancers and musicians to entertain us. The wait service was Great! the food was also Great! So a great overall experience at the Cuban.$10.00 tip
Back to the buffet for breakfast This time we found a spot in an alcove with windows and a nice breeze, The service from the waiter here was terrific! looked after us hand and foot, food was edible guy at omlette bar was fun and cheerfull and made a nice omlette. $4 tip,
Did a bus excursion to Varadero for $9 cuc money well spent.
Dinner at Italian restaurant that night... first drinks at the side bar near the restraunt and disco, also in our building were excellent including the service there. Tips.
The Italian Resteraunt was serviced well red wine flowed and the meal was excellent. $10 tip.
Morning is here again buffet... here we go... sat in another area and back to crap service looked over at the alcove area everyone had coffee and juice smiles all around and the same waiter there was hugging and converssng with everyone there. I sure miss the alcove.No tip.
Did a trip into Havana by bus excellent!
Dinner at the Cuban again.. the third ala carte was un available to us for some reason... dinner and service was very good. Drinks after dinner we had at the lobby bar were good and serviced well so this tells you its the people who tend the bars who make or break the service chain. Tip
We got into the alcove again and again it was excellent service buffet food soso. Tip.
We spent the day at the gorgeous beach had good service and food at the beach bar.Tip.
We went and played pool and had drinks at the lobby bar all good, got cleaned up and tipped our way into the italian resteraunt and had another great meal. Night cap at the side bar all good.
So there seems to be a pattern here the ala carts were great the alcove at the buffet was seviced well the food at the buffet was eh ok to yuk and most people servicing the bars wether you tipped or not it didnt seem to matter to them ....it seemed the person made the difference.
All in all because my wife and I had the trip paid for and our friends did not we made our own fun thru meeting people seeing and using the resort, going and talking about excursions we all came to the same agreement that the -booze was 5 star alacart food 4 star -buffet 2.5 star -but alcove 3.5 star- rooms 3.5 star -beach 5 star- facilities 3.5 star-room care 4 star.
We made it a great time with our friends met nice people and made our own fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Positives:
- nice pool, great beach, very well-maintained grounds. The gardeners do a very good job.
- food is decent for Cuba and we didn't get ill (we ate only a small amount of salad but had ice in drinks; we only drank bottled water or purified water from their dispensers)
- staff are very helpful
- rooms are big, comfortable, clean and well equipped with fridge, tea/coffee facilities etc
- there is a great coffee bar between the reception and the Italian restaurant. Serves coffee with various spirits.

Negatives
- can't really think of any. Only one is fairly minor - the free house wine is frankly terrible. However, you can buy better bottles from about 16 CUCs and if you don't finish the whole bottle in one sitting, you can take it back to your room and use it the next night. Since it was so hot, I stuck to beer and cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaJoMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memramcook, NB Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went there 18 of us, friends and family, March 21st-29th, 2013 and it was so much fun.

Check in was a breeze, first room we stayed in Nolitours building, wasn't that great, was moldy kinda smell, toilet and tub wasn't working great. So the next day we switched to another room in another location on the resort and that room was better. Balcony, everything was working it was great!

Lots of food, drinks and entertainment! I am a very fussy eater and I didn't starve! There's lots of food for everyone.

We did 2 excursions, Varadero bus tour and swimming with dolphins, both amazing!

I would definitely go again, it is Cuba, so a little old and some places are run down a bit, but if you look beyond that, it's a very beautiful resort, staff very friendly, beach very nice and clean, pool area very nice (that's where pretty much all the entertainment is)

Overall, we were very satisfied for our first trip.

We had issues with our flights being delayed, but that's not the resorts fault! It happens!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluegrassrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1231.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1247.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Varadero

Property: Breezes Varadero
Address: Carretera de las Americas, Km 3.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#10 Family Hotel in Varadero
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#16 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breezes Varadero 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breezes Varadero is a SuperClubs(R) Super-Inclusive (R) Resort for adults -singles and couples 14 years and older (12 YEARS AND OLDER FROM NOVEMBER 1, 2015), where all meals, wine, local and international beverages, water sports, land sports with equipment and instruction, entertainment and other activities are included in one single price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breezes Varadero Hotel Varadero
Breezes Hotel Varadero
Varadero Breezes Hotel
Breezes Varadero Cuba
Superclubs Breezes Varadero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing