We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed 5 times at breezes bella costa”
Review of Hotel Bella Costa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bella Costa
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stayed 5 times at breezes bella costa”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

been there 5 times and loved it every time. if you are going to be pampered forget cuba. it is a 3rd world country and doesn't really run on the high end side of things. the people are some of the sweetest people. if you treat them kindly you get love in return. if you are kind to them, they are kind right back. the beach is beautiful. lots of room to go for a long walk and/or swim. it is kept very clean and there are lots of chairs. the food in the buffet has constantly improved year after year. the cooks even get to know what you like for breakfast especially is a peso is involved now and then. i really wish the waiters and waitresses were allowed to interact with the patrons more like they used to. as i said we love going to breezes bella costa and are booked for 2014 as well.

Room Tip: fly with nolitours to get a room in the villas. the tower is adequate but the villas are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abercat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    1,450
    648
    303
    195
See reviews for
1,210
1,014
86
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a lovely time at Breezes Bella Costa. Lovely friendly hardworking staff, with a reception staff who knew when we checked in that one of our party was waiting for us and who remembered our names days later, delicious food, beautiful beach, clean rooms, great entertainment. The hairdryer in the room didn't work at first and once I let reception know it was fixed right away. Unless you are also overly picky or negative, then don't worry about the negative reviews. Focus on the positive and you will have a positive experience. We would definitely recommend and return to Breezes Bella Costa. Gracias!!

Room Tip: worth spending extra for ocean view! beautiful weather every morning! what an amazing way to awaken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank c2thet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We just returned from Varedaro Cuba for the first time. We stayed at the Breezes Bella Costa and I gotta say it was way more than I was expecting for the money. Room was perfect had a rap around balcony with a view of the golf course Careibbean sea and Atlantic Ocean and was kept emaculate by the staff not to mention all the staff being very very nice and always helpful. If planning a trip I suggest staying here in room 528 and doing the Havanna and Jeep tours they are worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JandTofftocuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Weather was fabulous. Beach was one of the better beaches we've been to. Great staff very friendly and helpful. Food was boring but edible. Would recommend. That being said Cuba is not for everyone. If your up tight and like the fancy things in life Cuba might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is poorly maintained, food very repetative, same thing everyday. We went with virgin and was so dissappointed for the price we paid, it was more like a cheap hotel you would find on a european 18-30 holiday. The brochure did not reflect the resort at all, the picture shows a lovely low level villa block we were on the 5th floor in a hotel block, there was not a swim up bar and the cleanliness of rooms very poor. One good thing staff were good, I would not recommend this hotel or travelling with virgin

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeab27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On the whole, a good hotel with really great staff, very helpful and friendly. Probably 3 1/2 ish star but I have given 4 as we did enjoy our stay. For what we paid, it was very good value for money - we did not find any "hidden unexpected extras" that had to be paid.

Varadero Beach is a resort consisting of a long, thin strip of land stretching out from the Cuban mainland, with hotels(all all-inclusive) all down one side of the strip and a golf course and a couple of small marinas at the other side.

Reception staff very good - checking in was very speedy, which was welcome after a 2 1/2 hour drive from Havana Airport.

We requested a high floor and were given a 5th floor room, the balcony having sea views both to right and left, on either side of the strip. Really great to look out at the ocean when having a cup of coffee on a morning. The room was fairly large with 2 double beds, TV (unfortunately just CNN and a Japanese/English programme were available in English), fridge, safe and a coffee maker. The bedroom appeared to have been re-decorated recently as it was without scuff marks on the walls. The room had blackout curtains. The bathroom was a decent size with nice tiles, but they badly need re-grouting both between all the tiles and at ceiling and floor level. That and the air conditioning unit, which had bare unfinished walls around it, spoiled what would otherwise have been a good room. Both shower gel and shampoo was provided in bath-side containers with soap for the basin and small pots of renewed conditioner, tissues and shower cap. The towels were a decent size and quite thick. Everything worked well and was kept very clean. The air conditioning was very effective and not too noisy.

For eating there was Jimmy's Buffet restaurant for all meals plus a Japanese, Cuban and Italian restaurants, which could be booked for one dinner each per week. Not being Japanese food fans, we went to the Italian which was indoors and very nice and to the Cuban which was in the outside (roofed over with open sides) by the beach and more casual than the Italian. One problem - it was the quiet season and the Buffet restaurant was not open at lunchtimes. The beach restaurant (Cuban bookable by night) opened for buffet lunch instead but there seems to be thousands of sparrows in Cuba and they all seemed to fly into the beach restaurant at lunchtimes, even as far as actually going into the food container to eat. There was an attempt at netting to cover food up but it didn't work very well. Then, guess where they flew to eat their stolen food? Into the rafters above the guests' heads of course, so you had to watch that you did not sit directly under a cross beam. Don't quite know what they could do about that except possibly completely net off the front of the containers and guests be served from the back by the waiters.

On the whole, the food was good. As with all buffets after a while it all seemed sameish but the sameish was prawns, mussels,roasts,pizza and pasta station etc so in fact the selection was very varied and there was something for everybody. There was not a lot variety of fruit and veg although always some available but plenty of everything else, and the Cuban bread is really good. There was a very good choice of desserts,mostly of the cake, little cookie and flan variety, and always 2 or 3 different flavours of ice cream with different toppings to choose from. You could also make your own toasted sandwiches in a proper sandwich maker. Only real problem, as with most buffets, food was not always really hot enough.

They did have some "treats" - i.e. sometimes champagne or fruit punch when going in to dinner, fresh fruit press for juice on a morning, chocolate fountain at dinner, and lobster tail one evening etc. so NOT the same every day!

The bars were fine - they had quite a long cocktail list and several kinds of coffee - both non and alcoholic types. The beer was a decent brand and very acceptable and spirits not premium brands but fine with a mixer. Again, the staff were very good, both professional and friendly. There were a few shops in the lobby area, including an internet cafe - don't know if I should go there but I will!! There were 3 computers, at 6 CUC's for 30 minutes, but don't bother with your laptops and tablets etc - NO WI-FI so they will just be expensive game machines!!. We were given to understand that only Havana has limited wi-fi and the internet in the Bella Costa was SLOW SLOW SLOW - the reception staff were not even really sure if it was dial-up or broadband.

There was plenty of space both inside and out to sit and read or have a drink - all areas were well furnished and comfortable. The pool area was nice a clean with plenty of pool beds and 3-seater swings with canopies . There was entertainment both day and night with hard-working staff running it all. There was plenty of outdoor space with well tended plants. It was the quiet season when we were there -but as with most largish hotels, it could be quite noisy when full, with probably queues at the buffet both for tables and food. The beach area had plenty of sun loungers and straw umbrellas - the water was quite shallow and not too tidal so was safe enough for swimming.

There is not much within walking distance of the hotel, all the hotels are all-inclusive and seem to only serve their own guests. You can walk for miles along the beach but don't forget to take your own drink! We did find one nice place, either just for a drink or a meal, but on the road rather than the beach and around a 20 minute walk and it is HOT there. There are always taxis, horse and carts and cute little cars smaller than Smart Cars either outside the hotel or just up the road if you want to go into Varadero or to the Americas Plaza which is on the strip. A 10-15 minute walk takes you to a roundabout where you can get the open top bus (you will see them from the hotel balconies) which go from Varadero to the end of the strip, about 1 hour each way, calling at the hotels and the marinas and of course Varadero town. It is only 5 CUC's (around 5$ or £3.20) and the ticket lasts all day so you can get on and off as you like - shame it does not go right to the Bella Costa but it is not too long a walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Annechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We was not lucky that come to this Hotel. Every was very poor and we feeling that we live not in 2013 but back 50 years.
1. Room : door to balcony not move properly; safety deposit box lock working not properly; bath room all equipment very poor, working not properly and 25 years old.
Shower-bath has old hose without standard shower; Hair dryer use by permanent push the button. Mattress very old and hard.
2. Jimmy Buffet food very poor because all dish over salt, get a bit burnt , brazier not clean at all and people became sick. Poor of fruit and same food all the time.
3. Medical services duty only check blood pressure and call ambulance no any emergency tablet or do some emergency help from stomach pain.
4. Towel kiosk has break in the same time that people go to lunch and all guest go to the restaurant with big towel and this situation not exemptible.
5. Jacuzzi one is broken other working not properly.
It never mentioned that this Hotel will be use group of children, because we had experience when 90 children from Perry come to this Hotel for week. Children ours sun but it is difficulty when beside in the restaurant 90 children all together.
Advertised that this Hotel 4 stars is not true because maybe 2 exactly what they deserved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaisaF337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#22 of 64 in Varadero
1,897 reviews
1.9 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
#18 of 64 in Varadero
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Solymar
Barcelo Solymar
#31 of 64 in Varadero
7,002 reviews
3.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Turquesa
3.8 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#26 of 64 in Varadero
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Costa

Property: Hotel Bella Costa
Address: Carretera de las America km 3 1/2, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Breezes Resort Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#14 Family Hotel in Varadero
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bella Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Bella Costa Varadero
Breezes Bella Costa Hotel Varadero
Breezes Bella Costa Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing