We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience for last time to Cuba”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good experience for last time to Cuba”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Let me first stay; I am done with Cuba. And that is only because I have been here so many times now that I am just bored of the Island. It is cheaper then most Islands in the Caribbean, but the luxury is not there. Luxury meaning the fancy stuff and more of the "bells and whistle's".

So, to the hotel. Very nice for Cuba. I would recommend it to someone that is an experienced Cuba traveller. The pool and beach were fantastic. Nice location for the beach bar and bbq snackie area; footsteps from the beach. The grounds were well kept and the chess/checker board was kinda cool. There is a few hot tubs available. large and a medium sized

Food was fine, no complaints and I heard of NO one getting sick. The wine was OK for "house" wine LOL

Room was very nice, maids were a attentive and nothing went missing.

***** If you did not upgrade on-line, do it at check-in; its worth the $100 approx.

Lobster night was awesome !!!!!!!!!!!! Annex restaurants were very good. Italian one was a little disappointing. Ran out of Salmon and live music was just packing up when we were arriving.

**** make sure your reservations for the annex restaurants are not past 8:00 pm ie. running out of food choices, no live music, etc.

Thanks for the pleasent stay.


If I was to go back to Cuba, I would come here. Enjoy :)


Oh ya, the shark-like creature swimming around the pond is pretty cool ................

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefdano49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest,
We are happy to know that after several times in Cuba, you recommend the Meliá as Antillas, and to know you had a very good experience.
Thanks for your time to share important details about your stay, and we hope you can come again in the future.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    1,610
    624
    279
    148
See reviews for
386
2,352
179
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at this resort from March 13th until March 20th. The grounds are well kept and the outside of the property is well maintained, however, the rooms are very outdated. The staff was always friendly, polite and helpful.

I was a bit disappointed with the quality of the food in the buffet. I know that it is Cuba but in value for money I expected better food. (We had omelettes 7 days in a row and they were always excellent). The meals and service from the a la cartes were also very good.

I did get some large and itchy bites on my legs. This could be from an evening walk to watch to the sunset??

The long stretch of beach made for wonderful walks. We really appreciated that we could borrow the hotel bicycles for the day for no charge. We took them into Varadero one day and the second day we drove to the caves and the nature park.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent enjoyable vacation at Melia Las Antillas. We are very pleased to know you liked the property and the grounds. Thanks for mention our staff., they always like to read your comments. We took note about the food in the buffet restaurant. We want you to know we are always making improvement for the enjoyment of clients.
Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at Melia Las Antillas for 2weeks- 14Feb to 1Mar 2014. We stayed on the 5th floor with an ocean view. We arrived in the wee hours of the morning and were very pleased to find our rooms were ready for us and a speedy check in. We were able to take a short nap to recover from our flight before getting started on our first day. The rooms were comfortable but could use a little TLC. Our concierge, Natyles (sp?) was very helpful with all our questions and needs. Thanks. The maids were friendly and left us with some amazing towel art each day. Over all the hotel was nice but needs a bit of maintenance in some areas. The pool area wooden steps and walkways needs some repair as do some of the lounge chairs. The food was great in the buffet and the al a carte restaurants. No complaints, you could always find something you liked. John at the omelette station in the buffet was super efficient and made the line go fast. All of the servers were happy and smiling but have to give a shout out to Mayrellis at the buffet. What a character! We always made sure to sit in her section. She was very helpful and gave us tips on what to see in Cuba and how to do it. She set us up with an excellent taxi driver, Alexey, which we really appreciated. Used his service more than once to tour around. Also have to give Orlando a pat on the back. He worked at the pool restaurant and the buffet and was super friendly and good natured. All the bar tenders were great as well. This hotel's most valuable asset is their employees followed by the amazing beach. The beach/water is stunning, you just have to see it to believe it. Took a ride on one of the Hobie cats with a very informative and friendly driver(sorry forgot his name) to go snorkeling. Just amazing. We also liked the location of this hotel as it was a short drive into Varadero.
We would definitely return to Cuba and stay at this hotel again. The service is beyond compare. Everything was awesome. Thank-you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest,
We are very glad too, you picked Meliá Las Antillas for your recent two weeks’ vacation. It is good to know you feel that one of the most valuable asset is the staff, and we thank you for mention some of them, that cause you a very good impression. As you may note during your stay we are carry on an investment process in some areas pointed by you, and we are confident our guest will really appreciate it in the near future.
Thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived March 8th for our 7 day getaway. We were one of the lucky guests whos room was ready when we arrived at noon had a speedy check in bags were in room within 10 mins we were out enjoying sun and pool within an hour upon arrival. Were do we start we had a great vacation from beginning to end,
Room: We highly recommend getting a Villa well worth it close to pool, main lobby and restaurants we stayed at 6122 had fantastic view of pool. Our room was cleaned daily and restocked props to the lady who cleaned our room very friendly and made great towel art.
Restaurants: No complaints the buffet was great lots of selection and very friendly staff props to John Dandy for the entertaining omelette making.
Bars: Only complaint we didn't find the lobby bar staff as friendly as the other bar staff. A tip and a smile and relaxed attitude get you along way and is appreciated remember your on vacation.
Beach: Was fantastic from our walks we had one of the best and cleanest beach. Highly recommend snorkelling with Michel Angelo he was a lifeguard but helps with catamarans he was great.
Staff: Can't say enough about them always so friendly smiles on their faces from the ladies at the front desk, bar staff, gardeners, entertainers etc. special mention to Alberto and Theresa entertainment staff, Michel Angelo lifeguard and Bbq guy by the beach sorry can't remember his name.
Overall: We had a fantastic stay and plan to return next year and hopefully bring a few more people with us.

Room Tip: Stay in Villas facing the beach pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,
We are happy to know you spent a fantastic stay at Meliá Las Antillas from the beginning to the end. Thanks for mention some of the staff as Alberto and Teresa (entertainers), John Dandy (buffet), Michael Angelo (lifeguard) and the one at the BBQ is Norberto.
Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for recommend us and for taking time to share your positive comments.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a week vacation; our second time at this hotel and third time in Cuba. Only one complaint - bugs; not sure if sand fleas, mosquitoes or what but you do not see them at all only feel the bites later on. Make sure you take bug spray. Otherwise great stay once again. Special shout out to Mairelys (our fav waitress at the buffet who remembered us from last year), Alberto, Armando, Chiquita, & Teresa (animation team), Norberto (bbq pit king) and everyone else who made our stay wonderful! Room was always clean, lots of towels and loved the art work (swans, hearts, etc.). The a la cartes were wonderful; my fav was Romantianco - loved the lobster bisque and tails - be sure to book them if you can as soon as possible as they do fill up fast. Ocean was nice and warm and clear - could see the bottom. Be sure to tip the staff - they do appreciate it. Most important - if you want the Riz stay home. Just enjoy Cuba the way it is!

Room Tip: We like to stay in the jr supersaver rooms right off the lobby - 2225 and onward. We never heard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,
We are deeply pleased that you have come to Melia Las Antillas for the second time. Thanks for all your positive comments, especially the ones referring our staff. We are happy to know some of them as Mairelys at the buffet remembered you from the last year. We are going to congratulate on your behalf the ones you mentioned.
It would be a pleasure to receive you again for the third time.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hello! We arrived in Varadero (1st week of March) with no expectations whatsoever. That being said? The Melia Las Antillas went beyond what we could have asked for. Small, quiet, and friendly, this adult only resort left us to our own amusement and relaxation (thank god). There was beautiful night entertainment displaying wonderful Cuban culture - the pool ballet was incredible - however we were there to chill and that's just what we did in 7 days straight of sun. Best drinks are in the lobby - although if you ask Asmara at the pool bar for an "Asmara Surprise"? You will get a good drink and a beautiful smile! Same for Norberto at the beach...he takes great pains in preparing the best hamburger you could imagine. Osualdo is the Godfather of the buffet...a friendly guy who will get you anything you want...Raul is sharp-witted,efficient, and brisk at the pool restaurant - be sure to strike up a conversation with him too. Finally Tutti Frutti at the beach (see picture) was hilarious! Please let me know if I can contact these people through mail to say thanks for such a wonderful vacation. Please compliment these people for us if you find time. Hope this helps. xoxo Donna (Canada)
PS. Only improvements could be update the weight room and eliminate the black screen that kept popping up on the TV obscuring our view every now and then.

Room Tip: Get one of the villas around the pool; first floor was just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for the title of this review, specially dedicated to our staff. We are happy to know we fulfill your expectations and you could find what you asked for during your vacation. Be confident we will read your nice review to the staff of the different departments with special recognitions to Asmara, Norberto, Osualdo, Raul and Tutti Fruti. It is great to know you spent a wonderful time with them.
Hoping you choose our hotel again for your holidays. Receive best regards.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two weeks at this resort!
The best part of this resort is the location and the beach.
Our flight with Sunwing was right on time both leaving and returning and the Sunwing rep Douglas that did our orientation was excellent, he gave us very good information and did not only focus on selling excursions like some do.
Our check in was good but we were disappointed of the room that they gave us especially after sending them emails of my request for a room with a balcony and them replying to me. Ended up getting the worst room on ground floor facing the fence to the resort next door. Don't bother sending emails!
Our room was very dated and the mattress and linens did not smell clean, the bottom sheet did not even cover around the mattress and the mattress cover was dirty. After putting up with the smell for a few days I had to ask to change the mattress or change my room and they changed my mattress (bit better). You are given only basic toiletries and no kleenex so bring your own. The room does not have an electronic safe, you get a key so you have to make sure you put it somewhere safe and don't loose it.
The dinning room has two grill stations, one seafood and one meats, all in the open not covered and the shellfish and fish are all cooked on the same grill so if anyone has allergies to shellfish be careful. The hot food section is cold. Most of the plates and bowls have chips on them and sometimes the tablecloths were not cleaned properly before they set it for the next person.
The public washrooms especially the one near the pool were always out of soap and sometimes toilet paper, no toilet seats or locks on the door, these washrooms are around the restaurants and that means that people are not washing their hands properly.
The internet is not great, we could not even send an email. Not sure why the person there couldn't help us. Made quick phone calls instead!


Our bus pick up to go to the airport was early in the morning and I have to say that I was very impressed with the boxed breakfast they gave us.

The resort is beautiful, just needs some improvement!

The beach is stunning stunning!!


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mojhito05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments. We are happy to know you really enjoyed the location and the beach area, however, we regret all the inconvenience you had with the room at the arrival. We take very seriously all the request of the clients upon arrival and we always try to please it. Sometimes, especially during the high season, we cannot reach the request, and we try to look for the best alternative upon availability. We also took note of your different comments about the buffet restaurant. Please be confident that we will check all the details you refer with the area manager involved.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Melia Las Antillas and make your second occasion unforgettable.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,853 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Property: Melia Las Antillas
Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#11 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing