We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Renfrew, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our stay at the resort was Jan. 2014 and the resort was excellent. the food was good with lots of variety though not a lot of familiar canadian dishes which suited me because I like to try new foods. Our room was always clean we recieved two complimentary bottles of rum the first day and the bar was restocked daily. there were always activities going on down by the pool and we had no trouble getting a spot we wanted around the pool or on the beach the trick is to get there around 7 am and you have your choice. The meals at the a la carte were okay we had a very good meal at the Romantico where we asked or waitress what she recommend it was very good fish the other two where we made our own choices we didn't enjoy them due to preparation and unfamiliar sauces. The buffet was very good the staff was fantastic at making us feel special and valued. they were very friendly and Tomas made my wifes day every morning when he brought her a beautiful red flower. when the staff seen us enter they would quickly find us a table and we were seated quickly. The staff on the beach would help set us up under a cabana with lounge chairs. The bars were well placed around the resort and the bartenders gave us realy good service. The service staff were excellent and our room was alawys clean and the towel art was a very nice touch.We tipped from our arrival till we departed and the staff watched out for us and took good care of us and were a big part of making our vacation so enjoyable.

Garnet

Renfrew

Room Tip: We were on the 4 th floor had a view of the ocean and no problem with elevator. noise was never a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Estelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mrs Estelle,
We are pleased you have chosen the hotel Melia Las Antillas for your recent holiday in Varadero and we thank you to share your opinions on TripAdvisor. As you mention, and after reading several comments from our customers, we have made some changes in the variety of meals at the buffet restaurant and we are glad that you appreciated it. It's great you've tried some new plates that show the taste of the Cuban cuisine. Our staff will be delighted to know your nice comments, especially Tomas.
Thanks for recommending and will be a pleasure to receive you again in Meliá Las Antillas
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    1,636
    630
    283
    150
See reviews for
392
2,393
183
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manotick
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The package we purchased through Redtag.ca listed this property as "4.5 stars". I was travelling with my octogenarian mother in early January, during which the island experienced an unseasonably cold spell. These aspects may have coloured my experienced at Melia Las Antillas.

In general, I would describe the property as "tired"; it was probably nice when it opened some time ago, but the owners obviously have not been investing to keep it up to its original standard, and signs of wear and tear are obvious.

Food & Service

The buffet was a bit of a hit and miss affair. Service was variable, with tipping apparently making not much difference, we found. They seemed better organized and more friendly in the outside terrace part of the buffet, perhaps because they had less tables to serve? Inside, the staff seemed constantly behind in keeping tables cleaned and set up and only occasionally made an effort to greet you as you arrived and get your order for coffee/drinks promptly. The previous evening's dirty table cloths were still on the tables at breakfast. Food at the buffet was also variable; like most buffets, the best bet is to line up for the cook-while-you-wait option, but that requires some patience. We found the fruit, salads, cheese and desserts were reliably good, although with less selection than I've seen at other places in Cuba. The hot options were variable; in general, we found none of the "hot" food was acceptably hot, and it also tended to cool quickly. The pasta bar was full of overcooked pasta with humdrum sauces; the pizzas were
mostly bread and generally cool. The Cuban dishes on offer occasionally provided some relief; there were some fish dishes that were nice cooked and seasoned. In general, as noted
elsewhere on this site, the food was fairly bland, and people were seen to bring in their own seasonings such as pepper and/or hot sauce. A notable exception was the lobster night on
Friday, where the grilled lobsters were fresh and sweet and delicious.

There were 3 a la carte restaurants, reservations for which were not available until our final 3 days of the trip. Other people arriving later than us found no reservations
available at all during their trip. Some succeeded to get seated by walking up and asking about cancellations (and providing a tip). We went to the Cuban restaurant (called a seafood
restaurant in the hotel documentation), El Conuco, first and ordered the shrimp appetizer. This was 4 cold shrimp over mixed frozen vegetables, drowned in what appeared to be
thousand island dressing. For a main, we both had what was called fish baked in a banana leaf; it came grilled, somewhat overdone and dry. Sides included rice, pumpkin and taro, as well as the ubiquitous mixed frozen vegetables that appeared at all the a la cartes. Service was rather formal (somewhat at odds with our impression of what you should have at a Cuban restaurant), but very charming. We had been to the El Conuco, which doubles as a snack bar and lunch place a couple of times for lunch prior to visiting at dinner and found the lunchtime vibe more inviting - a tight 6 piece Buena Vista Social Club-style band played a great set every day, and although the food was more casual, there were one or two reliable items on the menu that made it a good choice for lunch the whole time we were there. Again, the menu and the presented dish tended to differ - for example, two brochette dishes actually arrived as filet-style meat instead.

Our second a la carte visit was to the Romantico seafood restaurant (called "international" or "gourmet" in some hotel documentation). We ordered what was called lobster tournadoes flambeed in rum; what arrived was half a lobster. The good news was it was the same delicious lobster we'd had a few nights earlier at the buffet. A chocolate cake for dessert was delicious.

Final night, we visited the Don Pepperone Italian restaurant. I had the salad and seafood pasta, while my mom had the minestrone and lasagne. We both had chocolate mousse for dessert. I felt the calibre of food was the best at this place, although the waiter's comprehension of English was not as good as elsewhere throughout the resort.

Rooms

The rooms were good size, with nice textiles on windows and bed. Most are set up with a bathroom and bed on one level, and a small living room a couple of steps down, which contained two concrete "couches" covered with cushions, as well as a desk area. This walks out to a small terrace on ground floor units, or balcony. Like most hotel rooms, the lighting was poor for reading at night, except in bed. There was a strong smell of mildew when we entered our ground floor room, which permeated the bedding as well. The walls and fixtures were all showing signs of age, particularly the bathroom. There was mould visible on the bathroom door, as well as on the bathroom ceiling above the shower (see photo); the ceiling in the bathroom seemed to be aluminium siding. Running the air conditioning would probably help with the smell, but while we were there it was too cold to do so.

A large (1.5 l) bottle of water was provided daily, except for one day, where there appeared to be a supply problem throughout the hotel. A small selection of soft drinks and beer was also available in the mini-fridge.

Rooms were cleaned promptly and adequately daily, with various towel sculptures provided. Chamber maids were friendly and efficient.

Gym

The hotel gym was probably really nice when it opened a few decades ago. Now, it is showing its age. There are a number of weight machines, most of which are showing signs of rust. There are a couple of decent Lifecycle treadmills, one of which has been haphazardly refurbished, as well as a spin bike. Although water was provided, there were no towels available, and no paper towelling in the toilets. The carpet was old, worn and not particularly clean. The airco was usually off, which made it a little warm. It was rare that there were more than 2 people in the gym when I was there; my sense is they had chosen to let this room go as it was infrequently used.

Grounds and common areas

The grounds were fairly attractively groomed, although not abundantly in flower like in other places on the island.

The beach area is truly gorgeous. There was a wide expanse of beautiful sand, and plenty of chairs and palapas on the admittedly cool days that we were there. There was
a fairly constant on-shore breeze which kept things cool, and the red flag flew for 5 of the days we were there. We had a couple of days of yellow flag, and 1 brilliant green flag day (the day we were leaving), when all the water sports equipment appeared and people enjoyed the free Hobie Cats and sea kayaks throughout the day. The beach bar was a few steps back towards the hotel, and provided a small seating area as well as a grill for quick snacks. It was a bit of walk to the nearest toilet.

The lobby makes a decent impression with the draping plants in the atrium, although not as luxe as a newer property; the furniture is a little worn. The adjacent lobby bar is smaller than some so it is sometimes hard to find seating, particularly around dinner time. They often had live music here, or on the one day when it was warm enough, on the outside terrace area next door. Best option is to go to the bar for drinks; if you are lucky, a waiter will offer to bring them to your table.

The pool was smallish, but with lots of seating both around it as well as on the nearby grass. The pool bar was adjacent to the theatre used for nightly entertainment so you could always find seating at one of the tables that seemed to be permanently set up for the shows.

Room Tip: Fifth floor (upgraded) rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlfromthetick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,
We are glad that you have recently visited the Melia Las Antillas accompanied by your mother. We have carefully read your detailed opinion and right now we're analyzing and sharing it with all department involved with the aim of improving our services. We are glad to know you had the opportunity to visit all the restaurants of the hotel and we appreciate all your suggestions.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights in January, unfortunately mostly with not good weather. The resort is a bit dated, but all in all is still good place to stay. All staff were very friendly and helpful and service was very good for Cuba. Our room 6614 was spacious and very clean, with minibar refilled every day with beers, water and drinks.
The food in my opinion is quite good and the buffet food was ok too, although nothing amazing but a week was enough. All the a la carte restaurants are fine; we adore the Italian where we went twice. Drinks are ok, lovely mohitos from Roberto in lobby bar, by the pool they use plastic cups, a pity as so small. All Canadians seemed to bring their own insulated cups and get them filled with coffee, beer or cocktails, really a great tip. Lots of loungers by the pool and beach and not too busy, beachfront hotel is magnificent with fabulous white soft sand where you could walk for miles. We particularly liked all inclusive approach which gives a peace of mind when travelling with a reasonable budget. It is an excellent value for the money and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayden20002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel, the Meliá Las Antillas on your recent trip to Cuba. We are glad to know that you enjoyed all our services and the excellent mojitos prepared by Roberto in the terrace of the lobby bar. It's good to know too you enjoyed the room in the villas area.
We invite you to return in the near future.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

There were 6 of us on this trip and we had a blast. This was my 4th visit to this resort and I loved every minute of it. The only thing I will say I missed is that they took the coffee makers out of the rooms. I found that really sad as I loved sitting outside in the morning having a coffee talking to the people going by. I have no problem with the food as I go with the understanding that they do not cook like we do in North America, but there is always something that will please you. I can't thank Clemente, Orlando, Dee, Alberto, Roberto and Tutti Fruitti, enough for the professional service as well as the laughs and good times they showed us. The staff of this resort are the absolute best and I would highly recommend everybody to go and enjoy. My main complaint is that the only airline in my area that has the rights to Melia Las Antillas is Sunwing and they are the worst airline ever. We were 6 1/2 hours late arriving which meant we missed one whole night of our vacation. In previous times I flew with WestJet but I see now they no longer offer the packages to this resort. PLEASE MELIA I BEG YOU TO CHANGE THIS AS I DO NOT EVER WANT TO FLY WITH SUNWING AGAIN BUT I DO WANT TO RETURN.

Room Tip: every room I've been in has been good so I'm of no help in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRM2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest,
We are delighted to know you chose the Meliá Las Antillas for the fourth time and that you loved every minute in our resort. We want to thank you all your compliments to the staff and for recommending us.
Thanks for being part of our big family.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very nice resort, great location and rooms are quite nice. Very clean and friendly resort. Best spot for drinks is the lobby bar great selection of liquors. Food is pretty good for Cuba but still would like better choices. Love the beach, entertainment is average and a la carte is also not bad. Love traveling to Varadero and just walking around very safe to go on your own lots of little spots to stop for drinks and food. Found a great place on the beach for lunch its called Barracuda there is a large lobster out front you can't miss it. Just beautiful you sit right on the beach at a small restaurant and prices are good we had the lobster tail and the steak both good and like under $15 cuc. Also went to the Beatles Bar wow that was great music was classic rock and no cuban music which we all really enjoyed and the drinks were very reasonable. Also went to Havana for a day trip that was nice and we went privately on our own as we had 8 people it only cost $30 each, if we went again we would only go to Old Havana it was amazing and very old and beautiful as they are restoring alot of the old buildings a must see.

Room Tip: upgrade to the 5th floor ocean view well worth it, they will book your ala cartes and 2 bottle of ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest,
It is great to know you visited Varadero and the Melia Las Antillas, and had the opportunity to enjoy the Concierge Service at the Ocean View rooms. Thank you very much for all your positive comments. We are glad to know you could enjoyed some extra activities as the Barracuda restaurant, the Beatles Bar and a trip to the Old Havana.
We will be waiting for your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Definately not a 4.5 star resort at best 3 or 3.5. Rooms very nice, hotel needs work as it looks like it used to be a nice resort but it hasnt been maintained. pool and grounds are nice but they should change their landscaper as they can do wonders with it. Food in the buffet below average and same thing every day and every night. Service unaceptable in the buffet area and employees did not want to be there. They only smile if you tip them. Restaraunts service and food was good to very good. lobby bar open 24hrs and excellent service with great coffee , which i recommend you go there every morning before you go down for breakfast. if you can get a deal its an ok stay but if you are picky, you definately want to pay the extra to avoid frustration on their service and food.
I would not go back.

Room Tip: ALL rooms are in a good location and they looked clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 982PeterD982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mr Peter,
Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know you enjoyed most of the facilities at Meliá Las Antillas, as the rooms, pool, grounds, restaurants service and food and lobby bar service, however, we regret the comments regarding the service at the buffet restaurant as we usually received good comments about the staff, although I do not doubt that there could be some one that violates our rules. Therefore we will increase supervision, to avoid these things you have pointed out happen to other guests.
I know it is difficult to ask you to give us another opportunity to be your hosts again, but in case you decide to come to our hotel, I will personally take care of everything to be sure this time we fulfill your expectations during your stay in Meliá Las Antillas.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful location and beach, nice pool area and grounds. Food below average which was the biggest issue. Only one restaurant served food that was hot and that was the restaurant closer to the beach which served caribbean cuisine. The buffet had the best and most friendly servers, but the food was lukewarm at best unless you went to a station that cooked to order. Very little greens on the salad bar so difficult to make salads unless you liked mixed rice, pasta or potato salads. Most of the food was under seasoned with little flavour. The other 2 a la carte restaurants offered better selections, but most of the food arrived at the table lukewarm. The servers in all the a la carte restaurants need classes in service and attitude adjustments. Made us feel like they were doing us a favour by serving poorly made food. I know you are thinking, probably didn't tip, but we did, usually left 5 pesos at the a la carte. The rooms are dated but very clean. We were on the concierge level on the 5th floor with a great view of the ocean but the elevators didn't work most of the time and thank God, we are fit, so the stairs weren't too taxing to us, but most of the other residents on that level, complained and a few were moved to lower level rooms. We go to places of relaxation but we were very disappointed in the food or preparation of that food. Resort is older and needs some updates, so it is definitely not a 4.5 star, maybe a 3 but only because of the location, room staff and servers in the buffet.

Room Tip: oceanview concierge level and hope that the elevator works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mrs Esther,
We thank you for having used your valuable time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We have carefully read your review which mainly has to do with the food we offer. The last comments we received highlighted the variety and quality of food in restaurants. However you can be sure that we will review with the departments involved the preparation and the meals temperature, so that other clients do not have the same experience. Concerning the elevators as we recently commented, it have been fixed and this year we are going to carry out an investment.
We hope we can provide a second chance to make a better impression.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
Director-General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Property: Melia Las Antillas
Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#10 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing