We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable week in Varadero”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable week in Varadero”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After room change, we thoroughly enjoyed our week at this resort. Rooms in back facing garden are dark and dingy, so after waiting several hours we were given a room on 2nd floor facing the pool area. Very nice with all the daylight. Special thanks to Yizy and Suzette in the buffet. Great to see your smiling faces and your prompt service. Also, thanks to our room attendant, Jube who looked after us for the week.

Room Tip: Because we like daylight and activity, we enjoyed our 2nd floor room facing the pool. We had end un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate that you have published and shared, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Melia Las Antillas
We regret that your expectations in our hotel were not fulfilled and we honestly apologize for this.
We kindly inform you, that your review has been thoroughly analyzed with the departments involved. It will be nice if you give us another opportunity to be your hosts again.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    1,647
    633
    285
    152
See reviews for
398
2,410
185
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have written a previous review of this resort in 2010, which I believe will be referenced at the end of this review. Each time we begin to plan our trip we attempt to book the Melia las Antillas but we have found the last couple of years we would be limited to only one carrier, and therefore, we have not been able to coordinate this resort as our preferred selection.

However this trip we took the opportunity to spend an evening there and we were so pleased that we did. One of the greatest compliments that I have of this resort is the staff. I note that they continue to have many of the same staff and this is inclusive of musicians. It was a wonderful experience to see that tourists continue to enjoy the piano bar area, and that the Sax/Guitar player continue to belt out their jazz tunes. We stayed at a different resort, and both noted that what we miss particularly when not at the Melia las Antillas, is the professionalism of their musicians.

I am coordinating a trip the Melia las Antillas in November with a group of girl friends and this is the resort we are planning to go to. With this resort, with those in the group, who may be a bit "picky", I know this resort will ensure wonderful musicians, good food and service, and wonderful committed staff. The beach is very nice in front of the Melia and the pool and pool bar area very well laid out. Additionally what I like about the pool is that in the event it is cool or windy, there is enough protected area by the pool, that one could always be in the sun. Wonderful spot and it is nice for the younger to the older adult.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank saxophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your time to visit our hotel again.
We are delighted to know that you will come back in November with a group of friends. Thanks for all your positive comments, especially the ones referring the kindness of our staff, especially the ones referring the professionalism of the musicians.
Thanks for being part of our big family and please feel free to contact us for the next time.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have travelled to many countries and done a few all inclusive hols. This hotel was very tired and needed painting but nice location and clean. The smells from the out door fish pool which is situated between the hotel and swimming pool on days it was disgusting and made you feel sick.
The other problem we had was the FOOD which was under cooked meat very chewy hard and cold.Not a very inviting selection considering it was a five star . Beach bar ok if you we're lucky to have a burger that was just cooked.Staff were always very helpful and will to accommodate.Will not go back again. Keep to third world countries at least there food is hot!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate that you have published and shared, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Melia Las Antillas
We regret that your expectations in our hotel were not fulfilled and we honestly apologize for this.
We kindly inform you, that your review has been thoroughly analyzed with the departments involved. It will be nice if you give us another opportunity to be your hosts again.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been to Melia Las Antillas-Varadero for one week with three friends in April 2013. All in all, we had a great vacation, especially because we had splendid weather, great company (!) and because the food was good. However, as for the resort itself, I would not pay more than CAN$1,000 per week for this resort and I think you can do better in Varadero.

Food
Let’s start we the great stuff: the food was delicious. Of course, beef is not their speciality, but the fish, chicken, pork and seafood were good. The lobster tails at the restaurant “El Romantico” are great. There is a good variety of choices at the buffet; however the buffet remains quite the same day after day. So you will end up eating the same stuff in the course of one week. That being said, there is a great variety of fresh vegetables and things are not overcooked as they often are in some resorts. The three A la Carte restaurants are good. You can make reservations to A la Carte restaurants only three times per week though, but reservations are easy to make and it can be done two days in advance. So there is no need to get in line early in the morning at this resort.
The staff at the Buffet and restaurants is nice. Service is slow however at the buffet. It can easily take 10 minutes before you get your coffee in the morning. But hey! You are on vacation. Talking about coffee: it is not very good at the buffet, but you can get a great espresso or “café con leche” at the lobby bar and at the pool bar.

Beach
Beautiful beach….it is Varadero. You will always find chairs; however, there is not enough shade. You have to reserve a spot under an umbrella before 7:30 a.m., otherwise: forget it. It is an adult only resort, and therefore there are many elderly people…in they wake up early!
The best way to deal with this, we found, was to send one of us early in the morning while the three others were sleeping, reserve an umbrella and chairs and give one or two pesos to the employee working at the beach to make sure nobody steels our spot. There is no shade under trees: only umbrellas and one way to improve the resort would be to build 10 to 15 more.

Pool and hot tubs
Great pool, good water temperature. It has a shallow area where you can sit and have a drink and even lay down in the water. We loved it. No swim at bar, though. It was a bit of a battle to find shade there too during peak hours, but not as bad as the beach…
The hot tubs are way too hot. Burning hot. I am quite tolerant to heat, but they were unbearable. Too bad.

Grounds
The grounds are beautiful and well kept. There are stray cats on the property, but they are not annoying. We actually found it quite cute and entertaining.
Facilities and Rooms
This hotel is old and needs a coat of paint. The layout is great, but the rooms need to be renovated, especially the bathrooms. The toilet in our first bedroom did not work for two days despite us going back and forth to the lobby. They sent a plumber a few times to fix it but to no avail: they then changed us to another room which was fine. Our friends had more issues: telephone not working, the shower head could not stay in place, the fridge was not cold and the air conditioning was not working very well. Even considering that this hotel is in Cuba, it needs a solid facelift. The lamp shades are yellowish, the bathroom is rusting…That being said: we found that the beds and pillows were comfortable. In addition, this hotel is very quiet: we slept very well.
The clean lady was fantastic. She did a great job.

Tips for rooms
The hotel has a “U” shape. At the center: the main building, with the Buffet, two A la Carte restaurants, lobby and lobby bar. At the center of the U is the swimming pool. At both end of the main building: are bungalows (they call them Modulos). If you are in the lobby, facing the ocean, at your right you will have: Modulos #64, 65, 66 and 67. #67 is the closest to the beach. On your left: Modulos, #61, 62 and 63. #63 is the closest to the beach. We were in Modulo 63 and we loved being close to the beach and the pool. It is very quiet at night: there is a bar at the lobby with an outside patio, so I assume it is a little noisy during the evening if you have a room close to the bar. Our first room was at ground level. Yes it was more humid, but not musty.
The hotel is small so wherever your room is, it is never very far from the beach and the pool.

Bars
No matter how well you tip: the service is very slow and the staff not very friendly (especially at the beach and pool bar). I had some fun with the staff at the lobby bar though.
The drinks were o.k. (they are very generous on the alcohol), but often they would run out of mint or ice,…

Staff at the Front Desk
We have travelled to many all-inclusive hotels in different countries and quite frankly, we were very disappointed by the service at the front desk of this hotel, despite the fact that we could speak Spanish, English and French to them. If you want to change rooms, they will tell you that “today it is impossible, the hotel is full”. The lady also challenged us on our need to change room, even though our toilet did not flush (?!?). One day, a woman at the lobby told me for the second time: “We cannot give you another room: the hotel is full”. Yet, once the plumber came a few minutes later to the room and realised that the toilet was unfixable (missing parts), he called the lobby from our room. Speaking Spanish, we understood that he told them he could not fix the toilet since he did not have the parts to fix it. He told them that we had to be changed to another room. Right away, we got a room in the same bungalow, right above us. So apparently, the hotel was not that full…
Also, we had an agreement with the front desk to keep one of the room until 4 p.m. at no charge the day of our departure. Unfortunately, we did not think of asking the lady to write it down on a piece of paper. Yet, on the day we were leaving, the staff denied the agreement and told (the 4 of) us that we certainly “misunderstood them”, despite the fact that the lady confirmed our agreement the day before in Spanish and in English. Unfortunately, the staff at the front desk changes constantly and the lady we talked to the day before was not there.
The staff told us again that it was impossible to keep our room until 4 p.m. because “the hotel was full” and they needed the room for coming guests. Yet, further talking to her, we realised that returning guests could actually keep their room that day until 4 p.m. and that, despite the hotel “being full” we could keep out room also until 4 p.m. if we were ready to pay 30 pesos. So apparently they did not need it for coming guests, they simply wanted us to pay.
What we found frustrating was to be simply lied to with this constant sentence: “There is nothing we can do, the hotel is full” instead of them being honest. The lady was unpleasant and rude. We have never been talked to like that anywhere else.
Because of the service at the front desk, I will not go back to the Melia Las Antillas. It is too bad, because this hotel has a lot to offer. But customer service should not be taken lightly.

Entertainment
We saw two shows and they were great. Live band, amazing dancers… It was worth it! But I have not seen them all. There is usually a live band also that plays at the beginning of the evening in the lobby bar, which is great. There are often great musicians playing at the A La Carte restaurants. We loved it. They play classical music, Cuban music, you name it. Tip them, they work hard! There is also a disco which tends to be empty, considering that most of the guests are over 50 years old. But we went there one evening and had fun.

The lobby bar is open 24hrs, which is great. There are plenty of seats, inside and outside. It is great for having a drink, playing cards, etc.
The entertainment people at the pool and the beech were not insisting on participation. They were friendly and were offering a lot of different activities, but without putting pressure on the guests. Great job!

Beach towels and facecloths
I recommend that you bring with you one beach towel as well as facecloths. There are no facecloths provided in the rooms. As for beach towels, often there were no clean towels available, especially in the morning. We found it useful to have with us an extra towel.
I hope this helps!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for use part of your valuable time to share details of your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed many of the services and facilities we provide to all our customers, however, we regret all the inconvenience you had with the rooms and how this situation was handled by our staff, especially at the front desk. Please we assured that we will check all the details you refer with the staff involved.
It will be nice if you give us another opportunity to be your hosts again.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of April.
We had the Ocean suite which had two rooms, was very clean and a great view.
We found all the staff from the reception to the guys looking after the chairs on the beach - to be very friendly and helpful, even the gardeners had time for a laugh and a talk.
The food was not great -but we had lots of the freshly cooked fish, which was delicious.
The beach was fabulous, great for an early morning walk!
Watch out for those Canadians - they are whole lot of fun!!!
Worse thing about the place was the fat slobs snoring all day on the beach - Bay of Pigs or what...
Very nice holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel, the Meliá Las Antillas for the first time.
Thanks for all your positive comments, especially the ones referring the kindness of our staff.
We hope you come back soon!!
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one week, from April 7 to the 14th. This was our first time to Cuba, but we have been to Mexico and Dominican Republic many times before. The Melia Las Antillas was an excellent choice.

The staff here are all very friendly and willing to make your stay perfect. The hotel is not new and it may need in some part to be upgraded, specially the elevators, but is still very clean and well managed. The rooms were spacious, clean and ours 5219 was on fifth floor with a nice ocean view.

The Beach: Outstanding, quite long and simply beautiful, probably the best stretch in Varadero.

The food was fine to me, actually much better than expected for the first time to Cuba. The Italian and Cuban were two of the à la carte restaurants that we have tried and enjoyed, both were excellent. In addition, the buffet restaurant is very good with a wide variety of food and the flavour too was very good. I love grilled fish and seafood, ate it almost every day, cooked perfectly each time.

The entertainment was pretty good to our surprise. We really enjoyed the live music at night in the terrace. I would like to especially thank Inelsy, Asmara, Clemente, and Tery of the activities team, they make you feel like at home.

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing trip, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Get rooms on floor 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We are deeply pleased that you have come to Melia Las Antillas in your first trip to Cuba and that you have encountered our hotel as an excellent choice.
We also want to thank you for your comments about the staff and we are really glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the entertainment.
Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'm not going to rewrite how awesome this place is, you can read my other reviews, it still stands. I went in December and couldn't stay away so I returned in January.

I'm writing this as a message to all the negative reviewers (and there are very few for a reason people). It's CUBA! If you're expecting a high end resort then you're in the wrong country. Cuba is a third world developing country with many many problems and complications that you will never understand. And it doesn't matter if Melia is owned by Spain. So yes, things are in need of repair, paint, the staff makes less in a month than most of you make in an hour so there's little incentive for top notch customer service. However, if you think the staff is a little slow to respond in the resorts, go into a shop in Matanzas or Havana, and experience the impeccable customer service there! You'll think the staff in Varadero are working for Ritz Carleton!

Also, the food at Melia Las Antillas is pretty good on Cuban standards. But if you have a very discriminating palate, I'm afraid you might be disappointed. If you are being served frozen vegetables, it's probably because the truck driver who was to deliver fresh vegetables had his truck broken down, and he had to wait 2 days for the mechanic, who was waiting three days to see his doctor, who was waiting 4 days for a bus that was broken down... and it goes on and on. Get it? This is an example of why there's so much delay there. They live it every day and cannot understand why we get impatient.

Go to Cuba with low expectations on the food and the condition of the resort, in exchange for high expectations for world class beaches, live music and dancers. And if you're as nice as most Canadians are, you'll be treated with the warmest and friendliest people you'll ever meet.

Room Tip: get a room in a villa in the north west part close to the beach. It's quieter with less people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Me1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We are deeply pleased that you have come to Melia Las Antillas for the 5th time. Thank you very much for your notes and we look forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 65 in Varadero
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 65 in Varadero
1,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Property: Melia Las Antillas
Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#9 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing