We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Resort”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of April.
We had the Ocean suite which had two rooms, was very clean and a great view.
We found all the staff from the reception to the guys looking after the chairs on the beach - to be very friendly and helpful, even the gardeners had time for a laugh and a talk.
The food was not great -but we had lots of the freshly cooked fish, which was delicious.
The beach was fabulous, great for an early morning walk!
Watch out for those Canadians - they are whole lot of fun!!!
Worse thing about the place was the fat slobs snoring all day on the beach - Bay of Pigs or what...
Very nice holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel, the Meliá Las Antillas for the first time.
Thanks for all your positive comments, especially the ones referring the kindness of our staff.
We hope you come back soon!!
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,397
    1,580
    618
    279
    147
See reviews for
373
2,319
177
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one week, from April 7 to the 14th. This was our first time to Cuba, but we have been to Mexico and Dominican Republic many times before. The Melia Las Antillas was an excellent choice.

The staff here are all very friendly and willing to make your stay perfect. The hotel is not new and it may need in some part to be upgraded, specially the elevators, but is still very clean and well managed. The rooms were spacious, clean and ours 5219 was on fifth floor with a nice ocean view.

The Beach: Outstanding, quite long and simply beautiful, probably the best stretch in Varadero.

The food was fine to me, actually much better than expected for the first time to Cuba. The Italian and Cuban were two of the à la carte restaurants that we have tried and enjoyed, both were excellent. In addition, the buffet restaurant is very good with a wide variety of food and the flavour too was very good. I love grilled fish and seafood, ate it almost every day, cooked perfectly each time.

The entertainment was pretty good to our surprise. We really enjoyed the live music at night in the terrace. I would like to especially thank Inelsy, Asmara, Clemente, and Tery of the activities team, they make you feel like at home.

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing trip, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Get rooms on floor 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We are deeply pleased that you have come to Melia Las Antillas in your first trip to Cuba and that you have encountered our hotel as an excellent choice.
We also want to thank you for your comments about the staff and we are really glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the entertainment.
Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'm not going to rewrite how awesome this place is, you can read my other reviews, it still stands. I went in December and couldn't stay away so I returned in January.

I'm writing this as a message to all the negative reviewers (and there are very few for a reason people). It's CUBA! If you're expecting a high end resort then you're in the wrong country. Cuba is a third world developing country with many many problems and complications that you will never understand. And it doesn't matter if Melia is owned by Spain. So yes, things are in need of repair, paint, the staff makes less in a month than most of you make in an hour so there's little incentive for top notch customer service. However, if you think the staff is a little slow to respond in the resorts, go into a shop in Matanzas or Havana, and experience the impeccable customer service there! You'll think the staff in Varadero are working for Ritz Carleton!

Also, the food at Melia Las Antillas is pretty good on Cuban standards. But if you have a very discriminating palate, I'm afraid you might be disappointed. If you are being served frozen vegetables, it's probably because the truck driver who was to deliver fresh vegetables had his truck broken down, and he had to wait 2 days for the mechanic, who was waiting three days to see his doctor, who was waiting 4 days for a bus that was broken down... and it goes on and on. Get it? This is an example of why there's so much delay there. They live it every day and cannot understand why we get impatient.

Go to Cuba with low expectations on the food and the condition of the resort, in exchange for high expectations for world class beaches, live music and dancers. And if you're as nice as most Canadians are, you'll be treated with the warmest and friendliest people you'll ever meet.

Room Tip: get a room in a villa in the north west part close to the beach. It's quieter with less people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Me1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We are deeply pleased that you have come to Melia Las Antillas for the 5th time. Thank you very much for your notes and we look forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We enjoyed the pool an the beach. The rooms were ok but certainly 2 star not 5. Staff were ok but not as friendly as the staff at the previous place we stayed. Elevator was downright dangerous. Buffet staff were fine. Food was good for Cuba, lots of fresh fish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 154949Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking part of your valuable time to share details of your experience at Melia Las Antillas.
We are glad to know that although you had some issues with the assigned room, you enjoy the rest of the service.
Please feel free to contact us directly for your next occasion.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my second time in Cuba, 1st time for my husband and first time at the Melia Las Antillas. I wasn't sure if this would be the type of vacation my husband would enjoy, but thanks to this resort, he not only enjoyed it, we are already talking about returning next year. Our room was in the hotel - room 2113 - and it was perfect for us. There was even a little patio right outside our door, and if we wanted quiet time, we sat there in the morning or evening for a while instead of the more public deck off the lobby bar. The rooms at this resort are spacious. We had Martha for the first 4 days of our stay and she was amazing. The room was kept spotless and she always left me a little note. She provided everything we needed and asked for. The room had a comfortable king-sized bed, sitting area, makeup mirror in the bathroom and was very well lit. There was even one 110 outlet that I used for my hair straightener! Since my converter wasn't working, this was a great find :)

The deck off the lobby is a great place for socializing, day or night. After the first day and a half, we enjoyed the company of everyone we met. My husband was even able to go deep sea fishing with two guys he met at the resort (gotta love vacation friends :) )

We ate breakfasts and dinners mostly at the buffet - El Conuco - and found the food tasty and plentiful with a great variety. Jerilyn was a very attentive server at dinner. We enjoyed one a la carte at the restaurant by the pool - again, we really enjoyed the food and our server, Candido. We were also able to make this reservation just one day in advance. We ate most of our lunches at the pool restaurant - there was a variety of dishes on the menu, but we stuck with the hamburgers and hot dogs - so good! We did have one lunch at Don Peperone - loved the pizza, the service and the free-flowing wine :) We would definitely do an a la carte there the next time.

This resort is a very short walk to the Delfinario. We attended one dolphin show there and found it thoroughly entertaining.

To sum up, I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this resort: the rooms, the grounds, the food, the beach, the staff - A+ all around. I highly recommend the Melia Las Antillas.

Room Tip: While we may not have had a great view - our room overlooked a roof - it did provide privacy from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn_B_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We are happy to know you enjoyed a great vacation in your first visit to Melia Las Antillas.
Thanks for all the positive comments and for so detailed review. We will send your greetings to all the staff you mentioned.
We hope you can return soon to our hotel.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oromocti, NB, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this resort last year and loved it enough to return again this year. We arrived late March 30th and until we left on April 13th we could not have asked for anything better. Everything was so clean and the staff have to be the best we have encountered. This was our 12th visit to Cuba and even tho the other resorts ranged from so-so to very good, the Melia Las Antillas is at the top of the list.

Special raves go out to everyone, but especially Yudith at the Buffet Restaurant and Rael in Customer relations. We hope to return again next year.

Helen & Ron
Oromocto, NB

Room Tip: Ground floor, Building 65 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenDB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We are pleased to know that enjoyed your second time at Melia Las Antillas.
We appreciate your comments about the helpful and professional of our staff. We will definitely going to congratulate on your Behalf to Yudith and Raul.
Thanks for recommend us and will be a pleasure to meet you personally on your next stay.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Do NOT go to this resort if you are expecting a tennis pro (clinics or lessons) or friendly front desk staff. Juan Carlos should be washing dishes not dealing with guests. What you will get here is a nice beach, cats "making love" underfoot at breakfast, lunch and dinner, typical Cuban food, lots of smokers, and a lagoon that smells like a sewage treatment plant. Expect to get the crappiest room on the property at first, then if you whine loud enough, they will move you. Staff are either really nice or horribly rude. Try getting Orestes at the bar to smile. I dare you.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms... they smell like a combo of cat pee, smoke, mould and the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate that you have published and shared, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Melia Las Antillas
We regret that your expectations in our hotel were not fulfilled and we honestly apologize for this. We usually received very good comments about our staff.
It will be nice if you give us another opportunity to be your hosts again.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
5.3 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Property: Melia Las Antillas
Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#11 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing