We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food..Great Service!”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week vacation and stayed here the whole 2 weeks...we have been to Varadero before and we love it and the quality and choice selections for food was fantastic..ate lobster just about everyday..all 3 al a cartes were great..most favourite Don Peperones for food and El Canuco was also very good..with the best waiter named Candida..he was great! Asmara the afternoon waitress was so wonderful..gave us great advice on a place to eat in Varadero..so helpful! The rooms were clean and fully stocked daily if needed..you could smell the musty smell a bit but that comes with the humidity so it's expected! The hotel is older and could use some maintenance..but must remember we are not in Canada! We will definitely go back to this resort..had everything we needed! The staff here are all fantastic..Alexis, Yeoni and The other waiters at the lobby bar are great! We stayed in one of the bungalows which I would definitely recommend over staying in the main hotel as quieter yet still close enough to everything..it was fantastic! Thanks to the staff at Melia Las Anitlles for a wonderful stay..we will be back!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
10  Thank James-Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear guest,
We are pleased to know that enjoyed two wonderful weeks at Melia Las Antillas.
We are glad to know you enjoyed our lobster offer in the different restaurants and we appreciate your comments about the helpful and professional of our staff. We will definitely going to congratulate on your Behalf to Candida, Asmara, Alexis and Yeoni.
Thanks for recommend us and will be a pleasure to meet you personally on your next stay.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 4,351 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We just got back from Cuba (Las Antillas) yesterday. Unfortunately we got sick (flu like) two days into our vacation so I hope my review is not painted by my current heath. Not sure if it was the air plane or the first room we received that led to our sickness.

When we first arrived we provided a room on the lower level on the west side of the resort. This room was extremely musty mouldy smelling. We asked to change our room but could not until the next day. The next day my wife came down with a fever (I followed the following day). The second room was great (2nd floor). It was really helpful to turn on the air conditioner to 1 and open the patio door to let the air change. The care staff for the 2nd room were great as well.

The BBQ resto near the big stage had great food and fabulous staff (recommend it). We tried the Italian resto on the resort and the food was not very good. Flavour was okay but the pork was tougher than my shoe and the buns were like bullets. We asked for the buns to be changed and we received fresh great tasting rolls (why the original buns were not noticed is unknown). Again the staff was friendly. The food and the staff at the buffet resto were great.

The weather turned lousy towards the end of the week and my only negative comment is that although the facilities have a lot of room it is not setup to allow more indoor participation.

We discovered a nice little gem of a place near the resort within 10 minutes walk (towards Varadero). A little inlet with wild dolphins right beside the main road. We watched them for quite awhile. Not many people knew about it. Looks like the wild dolphins would come in to see their captured cousins used for shows further up the inlet.

One question to the manager of Las Antillas. What happened to the nurse sharks in the pond at the resort. We would see them every day until the last three days. They are a great attraction.

Room Tip: Never choose ones on the ground floor so that if the rooms are extremely musty that the patio doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing details about your recent experience at our hotel.
We are glad you refer all the activities and services you enjoyed during your stay and for your comments about the staff.
It is great you mentioned the Dolphinarium, which is only a 10 minute walk. It is a very pretty attraction and they provide a daily program of activities and swimming with dolphins.
We are very sorry that you could not fully enjoy two days during your stay at the hotel and you can be sure that we will check all the details you mentioned.
Concerning your question, sharks are well. In many cases they prefer to stay in shady places and is more difficult to see them.
We invite you to return to Meliá Las Antillas and it would be a pleasure to meet you personally during your second stay.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great weather; great staff at the Buffett esp Marsella (?) - she knows who she is and the two chefs who cooked fresh fish, pasta and omellets! Room was good save for the leaky ceiling in the bathroom, however, it was unable to be fixed. No trouble booking the restaurants nor changing money. Beach wonderful with the white sand. Lobby bar was the best bar and could make any drink you ordered. Try a Miami Vice - they are the best! Side trips were great; Jeep tour and Habana. No complaints - wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Our room was off the lobby down the hall on the second floor - very close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Summerboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for share on this site, the positive comments about your recent stay.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed all our services, and your feedback about the quality of the food. It's great to know also, that you have good memories about the drinks our staff prepare at the Lobby Bar.
We are sure we will able to see you again in Melia Las Antillas and please feel free to contact us directly.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I just wrote a really long review but decided to delete and it give you more of the synopsis.
Just arrived home this morning from Melia Las Antillas. This was our first time to Cuba but i had read to expect less luxury than I would be use to in other areas( I have done multiple trips to the mayan riviera to Barcelo Maya ( love it!!!! and would do it again in a heart beat) and Bahia principe resorts).

Pros:
-a decently nice resort ( however aged and in need of more continued maintenance to bring it back up to what i suspect it use to be)
-good amenities ( pool was nice, had a variety of activities ( though not well posted nor even always available)
-fantastic beach!!! This was the highlight for us!!!
- nice staff. Most were courteous, but there were a few that really stood out to us. Thanks Raul!!! You were the best!!
- accommodated getting us into a room despite arriving prior to the official check in time as our flight came at 5 am and check in isn't until 3 pm
- I heard not to expect much of cuban food but my husband and i were pleasantly surprised by this and always found something to eat ( usually going to the grill or the pool restaurant when we could).

Cons -
ok trying to make a long story a bit shorter but i obviously still have pent up frustrations - we requested one large bed. we were given 2 doubles but told to come back the next day to change rooms. Came back and we were told by someone else that we could not change rooms but that they would replace our bed with a new one - never came. Also, room had significant leaks from bathroom light fixture, hallway ceiling, and you could hear a constant sound of water leaking behind the wall of the bathroom. Room smelled soo bad of must and mould despite airing it out whenever we were in there but being on the main floor we didn't want to sleep with the patio door open. Lots of black mould on bathroom ceiling. about an inch of sand in the bottom of our safety deposit box, i tried to put up with it having heard not to expect luxury in cuba, but the smell and the contsant dripping sound of the leaks were driving me crazy after a couple of days and in all honesty,greatly tainting our opinion of the resort as a whole. Finally requested a new room again. were told they were overbooked and had no rooms and to come back the next day. Came back again and were shown a room that smelled sooooooo strong of cigars/cigarettes and the patio door handle was completely broken off and could not be opened. Only fresh air would be to leave front door open. We were told the was the ONLY room available and that was all they could offer. After explaining that this still wasn't acceptable to us we were given another room ( not sure where this one miraculously appeared from because it was sitting there ready and waiting when they told us there was no other options available). This room smelled better, didn't leak, had a king bed... there was a little mould still present and had some random ant gatherings in the hallway one day - but this i could handle and was more what i was expecting that i would have to put up with. My biggest complaint is how the hotel and this situation in particular was managed. I understand rooms have problems and to expect some issues - i would have expected the hotel to try to prevent these when possible, but remedy them better when issues do arise, and don't make the customer have to adamantly complain multiple times ( and i am not a confrontational person!) to get what i think was just basic standard quality in a room. Never once did they even offer to upgrade us unless we paid more ( not that i was expecting that, but if they don't have any decent rooms i would just think that to be good practice) I did hear of many people who had good rooms right from the start, but i also heard MANY stories similar to ours where they either required you to pay more to upgrade to a higher room ( which i heard wasn't worth it either because you didn't get what was advertised anyways), or some stories where the customer had to basically refuse to sleep in the room and said he would sleep in the lobby until they got him a room that didn't disgust him to try to sleep in ( which miraculously again he got a room when he was previously told there were absolutely no other options).
It seems to me that they give out rooms that people had previously rejected without fixing any issues and try to keep shuffling people around until they get someone who wont put up a fuss. Even when we complained, the lady had no interest in hearing what we found to be the issues or how the room could be improved. I just don't agree with the philosopy that only if you resort to complaining and confrontation do you get decent quality and service.
- another con is the layout of the resort. they have rooms right above the disco and the hotel lobby which can be very loud at night and even early in the morning as one patron told us they were awakened at 5 in the morning but someone playing music loudly at the lobby bar.

so ultimately, i did had a great vacation. I enjoyed swimming and lounging in the cuban sun, and the beach was just fantastic.
However, both my husband and I agree that baring some unforeseen circumstances of there being a super amazing deal ( and it would have to be very amazing) or definitely change the way they manage the hotel, we will not be back to the melia las antillas nor be recommending it. We are even hesitant to try the Melia chain again ( although this has been our only experience so i can not say if this was just unfortunate circumstances or not). We will be back to cuba, but we will be trying somewhere else next time.

Thank you to the many great servers and fellow tourists there that helped to make our vacation lovely, apart from being extremely frustrated with how the room situation turned out.
ok, so i guess long story not so short..... :)

Room Tip: i'd recommend trying to get higher level room in a bungalow away from the disco and the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear guest,
We want to thank you for use part of your valuable time to share details of your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed many of the services and facilities we provide to all our customers, however, we regret all the inconvenience you had with the rooms and how this situation was handled by our staff. Please we assured that we will check all the details you refer with the staff involved.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Melia Las Antillas and make your second occasion unforgettable.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our first time to Cuba and we weren't sure what to expect. We loved this resort and definitely will be returning. The service was impeccable, the food was amazing, and the amenities were top notch. And local artisans visited the resort so we were able to do shopping there plus we took day trips to Varadero for only 6 pesos! Definitely reccommend this resort for a first time or multiple times.

Room Tip: The junior suites were the cheapest rooms but they were far from lacking. Don't worry about spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear guest,
We are glad to know that you have choose Meliá Las Antillas for your first time in Cuba and for all the positive comments you referred.
Thanks for your time to share all the details that made your stay in the hotel an amazing time.
We hope you can come back soon!
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am a big follower of Trip Advisor prior to going to any resort. The Melia Las Antillas reviews seemed to be either good or bad, and I was a bit worried before going there. As it turned out, most of my concerns were not a problem. My wife and I have travelled to the Carribean almost every winter for the past 38 years so have a fair number of resorts to compare. We would return to this property.

This trip however started out on a sour note in Toronto. We had boarded the Sun Wing plane for a 6:10 am departure, headed up the runway, then the pilot announced there was a computer glitch and we had to return to the gate. Thankfully we were allowed to leave the plane and return to the waiting area...where we waited for four hours for repairs. Trust me, it's better to be inside the airport rather than waiting on the plane.

When we finally landed at the Varadero Airport, I was very impressed with the airport and the smooth exit to our awaiting bus to take us to the resort. In many reviews I have read about the Melia Las Antillas there were many negative comments about the Front Desk staff. I have to agree. There were only 2 couples registering, they knew were were late, and yet there was much confusion and not any smiles.
The room we were assigned was in one of the Villas, #6432 which means Villa #64 on the 3rd floor. We had a view of palm trees, it was very quiet and close to the pool and dining areas. No elevators in the Villas.

You have likely read may reviews about the rooms, so won't spend time on them, except to say they all have the same layout, and even on the 5th Floor..the superior are the same. Checked out the view from the 5th Floor, and not worth the extra money to see a tiny strip of ocean.
The pool has two sides, one quiet, one more action. Lots of chairs, but if you want one with a thatched umbrella and table, get up early and get your towels on the chairs.
Bar choices were fine, but if you are a Rye drinker...bring your own. The wines were to our tastes.

Lunch every day at the Pool Bar. Great cheeseburgers and fries!!
Overall, found the food to be very good.
Took a trip to Havana. We liked the private air conditioned car choice, booked through the Sun Wing Rep, so no worries. Ask for Yadir Conde Prieto. He was fantastic ! Took us to a wonderful restaurant for lunch called La Casa Restaurante. I will be doing a seperate review of the restaurant.
In conclusion, you won't be disappointed with Melia Las Antillas!

If you have an extra 30 pesos per person....arrange for the VIP Lounge at the airport prior to your departure,done with the Sun Wing Rep at the hotel. Another Sun Wing rep met us at the airport,and took us to the front of the line for luggage and looked after taking our $25 per person departure tax avoiding the long line ups. Then we went to the VIP lounge and had food and booze at no extra charge. There they let us know when we had to baord the plane. So worth it !!

Feel free to send me any questions about Melia Las Antillas.

Room Tip: We liked being in the Villas. Villa 64 numbers were good. Quiet and close to dining and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OlaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear guest,
We are glad to know that after meeting so many resorts in the Caribbean, you choose Melia Las Antillas and was for you and your wife a very enjoyable resort.
Thanks for all your references about the services and facilities you could enjoyed and for the feedback about our staff. Also we are going to check your comments with the front desk staff.
It is a pleasure for us you consider to return to Melia Las Antillas and it would be an honor to meet you personally the next time.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

No problem with the rooms as they were all clean & spacious. The pool facility is equally nice & clean. We really wanted to try one of the restaurants as the buffet was average. We tried to make a reservation at any of the 3 restaurants but no one told us that you had to book almost immediately when you check in so all three were booked up solidly during our week long stay. The beach in Varadero is beautiful and this hotel is along a beautiful stretch of it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing your experience at the Meliá Las Antillas on this site.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the beautiful beach area.
We thank you for your time to write these positive comments and encourage you to visit us for the second time.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
7.8 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#19 of 64 in Varadero
2,021 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#15 of 64 in Varadero
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,666 reviews
1 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
7,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $170 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Las Antillas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing