We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit at Melia Las Antillas”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Third visit at Melia Las Antillas”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thank you Fabrizio Testoni and staff for another great week at the Melia Las Antillas!
We enjoyed a very warm welcome back (many staff remembered us) and a a delicious and fun special dinner for returning guests. Special thanks to Teresa, Daniel, Orlando, Clemente, Mabel, Larry, Miguel, Joel...You are a big part of our happy memories this trip.
Anyone with an open mind and willingness to enjoy themselves will do so at the Melia Las Antillas. By the end of our week, we had connected with many fun people from across Canada and several countries in Europe.
My only negative comment would that the bathrooms could use an upgrade. One thing that would be a big help would be curved shower curtains (not pleasant to have the shower curtain touching.) We also brought our own washcloths (not supplied.)

Room Tip: If you would like a view of the ocean, arrange for a room on the 4th or 5th floors (facing ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SimonaIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for your nice review and for all your comments about the staff.
We are very glad you connected with some other guest from several countries and to remember many names of the staff. We are going to read them your review and congratulate them in your behalf.
We want you to know that we are carrying on some investment in the hotel this year too, so we are sure your fourth visit are going to be better than this one.
See you soon!
Best regards,

FabrizioTestoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    1,636
    630
    283
    150
See reviews for
392
2,394
183
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just enjoyed a two week holiday at the Antillas. Absolutely wondeful. We were in room 4105 and the view was terrific. Noise minimal and room was perfect. Staff throughout were amazing. Nothing was too much bother to them. The only thing I missed was being able to have a HOT cup of tea at breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, main body to the right of the lift looking from pool was excellent. Overlooked all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,
We are really glad you recently enjoyed, as you refered, two wonderful weeks at Meliá Las Antillas.
Thanks for your comments about the room and the staff. We always appreciate that the clients share their experience in this web site.
We hope you consider to coming back soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Sincerely,
FabrizioTestoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

After having the worst possible experience at Memories Varadero we transferred to Melia Las Antillas after having such a great trip here last year. Right as we walked in the doors it was instantly better; Mabel at the front desk was delightful as always and upon hearing that we were returning for a second stay and had a terrible experience at the other resort she did everything to make sure our vacation turned around. The staff was all very very friendly but the ones that went above and beyond were Alberto who works in the towel shack, as well as Osuando, Maribel and Larazo in the buffet. After a couple days these servers knew us and would have our beverages waiting for us without us having to order them. 4 out of the 5 days we were there, there were flowers on our table with the drinks. The room was clean and the mini-fridge was always stocked. The beach was pristine and the food was delicious. There is not a bad thing I can say about Melia and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone considering visiting Varadero.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more convenient than the bungalows in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BPL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your time and for your comment. We are delighted that you have chosen us again for your holiday and you have felt like in heaven during your stay.
We are very pleased to know your opinions about the reception staff and the buffet, as well as the state of the rooms and facilities we provide to our guests.
Thanks for recommending us and we invite you to contact us directly for your next vacation.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great value at Las Antillas - reviews of the staff are bang on - huge property - loads of stairs- beach is awesome despite the distance from hotel and its weak cosmetic appeal (scrub brush) - witnessed investment in property every day, speaking to tired - cover bands on patio each nite were wonderful
If you choose to gift service staff -old shoes, sunglasses and toiletries are excellent ideas - candy is not always a good idea to kids who don't brush their teeth

Room Tip: anything above the patio area will be subject to music until 10pm and subsequent party noise until t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruckus155021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your review about your recent stay at the hotel and to highlight the investment actions that we carry out constantly in Melia Las Antillas.
It would be an honor for us to receive you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, on
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A group of 8 (3 couples and 2 singles) spent Jan 3 to 10th at this resort. We did quite a lot of research prior to our trip so we felt, and still feel, that we made the correct decision.

However, at the last minute, we decided to pay the $250 upgrade per room to ensure that we could take advantage of the concierge service. That money truly would have been better spent on excursions or tipping. Our a la carte reservations were to be made for us; fridge stocked with pop and beer selection; bath robes and slippers; coffee for the coffee machine plus a private room on the 5th floor for snacks and champagne between the hours of 7 am to 7 pm. It was an ongoing battle to make sure that these amenities were provided and while I am normally quite relaxed on holidays, the lack of attention was creating some hard feelings between us and the hotel. There seemed to be a disconnect between the concierge office and the staff...three days to get robes while a simple phone call should have had these items within minutes, but for argument's sake, let's say hours. Three requests by phone and finally a personal visit to the front desk to get extra towels...just annoyances like that kept us from fully enjoying our stay. Plus one of the couples chose not to upgrade and enjoyed a very similar room over in the bungalows. So, is a bathrobe and three bottles of 5.00 CUC alcohol worth the $250....I would say not likely.

The overall experience however, was quite favourable.

Favorite things:
1. Close proximity to Varadero by taxi (ranging from 10 CUC to 20 CUC depending on the driver - TIP - ask for fare before entering the taxi)

2. Sunwing had a Jeep adventure which was aptly named - a full day of stops including barrelling through the worst road conditions (which made it fun) through a non-touristy area of Cuba (take candym if so inclined, because the local children do line the roads looking for treats; quick dip in the Saturno Caves; boat ride and lobster lunch down a lovely river; snorkelling in very wavy conditions at Coral Beach (not recommended for beginner snorkellers as rolling waters made the 150 meter swim to the reef quite uncomfortable); visit to a farm on a river that provided paddle boating; a short horseback ride; baby animals plus a lesson in sugar cane processing and pineapple farming - all very informative. Those considering this trip really do need to read the fine print - the ability to drive stick shift is a must and in our small group, was not enforced. Considering we travelled both the back roads and the main highway in Matanzas, it was a bit scary to share these roads with some very, very inexperienced drivers. All made it back safe but it could have easily gone the other way.

3. Havana Excursion - also organized by Sunwing, while informative, was just too long of a day due to the necessity of picking up bodies at each of the hotels. The guide was very knowledgeable and made the day fun but when we go next time, we will hire a private driver. We paid 101 CUC per person and our daughter paid 45CUC (including 10 CUC tip) for a van load of 5 friends. While the travel agencies frown upon these private services, those at our resort who chose that option had a more focused experience.

Would do differently:
1. Rent bikes - we were advised that bike riding was not an option yet there were bike rentals (not mopeds) at our resort and paved paths did exist that led from our resort to the tip of the penisula and back. It would have made for a great ride but we did not learn that until we took the HOP ON/ HOP OFF bus on the 6th day

2. Charter a boat for deep sea fishing - again, were advised against it from our travel agency since there are only 5 licensed outfits in Varadero. However, directly across from our hotel was a number of boats plus jet ski rentals. How does anyone know who is licensed and who is not? We felt we missed an opportunity there.

3. Venture out more for dinners in Varadero - when it is all-inclusive, first instinct is to take all meals in the hotel since it is paid for. On the 6th night, I could not take yet another organized seating for dinner and hired a private driver. He picked 5 of us at one hotel, dropped off 4 and waited for 15 min for another passenger to change then took us to a restaurant (Havana 60); talked to the maitre'd to organize a reservation, and waited until we were seated. For this, he charged 10 dollars. I gave him 20 CUC. I was stunned at his attention to detail. He offered to make himself available to drive us home and believed that he left his cell number with the bar staff. That was not the case - he remained at the restaurant in the lot; checking on us twice to see if our meals were ok. Understand that it was not like he was standing over us...he was just hovering on the outskirts watching for signals that we were ready to leave. When we were ready, he took each of us back to our respective hotels. Again for only another 10 but I gave him 20 CUC. For 40 dollars, we had a dedicated driver for 4 hours...very cool. Would have done many other nights if I knew how it all worked

4. Massages - while the hotel offers a massage in a clinical setting for 35 CUC for a 30 minute therapeutic massage; there was a massage area set up two resorts down on the beach for 30 CUC for 60 minute full body massage. Again, I was there for 5 days before I realized this service was available so my timing was never right to catch her at her station on the beach. I think the wonderful warm wind and crashing surf would have made for a better atmosphere than a "doctor's office" setting.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends but tell them to save the money and book a standard room and use the extra money for the many offsite activities that are offered by the locals.

Room Tip: Stay off the main floor due to the higher levels of humidity that seemed to have made the some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank dwarkentin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Allow me to express our gratitude for your review and the valuable comments you’ve provided. We are going to work in the aspects you pointed.
We all are looking forward to welcoming you again
Best regards,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recommend this resort to all our friends and family. The place is clean, nice and cosy.
Adults only is really a plus. The staff is the best, always smiling and ready to help. From the
gardeners, to restaurants, to front desk, everybody is happy to serve you. Our room was done
everyday and spotless, lots of towels, soap and the fridge refill everyday also. The beach is a
dream come true with also friendly staff. My husband and I do not even bother to read some
poor reviews, because some people are expecting way to much. A reminder tipping will get you
lots, because it is all inclusive resort some people think it means no tipping!!! Well you are
wrong, try to go out in your country and not tip and see what kind of services you will get. Keep
in mind you are in Cuba and the people are friendly and happy to see you. Relax and enjoy
Melia Las Antillas. Can not wait
for February 3, 2013. Louise and Roger from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JAIKI154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing about your second stay with us and for sharing your experience with other readers. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and their service. We will be looking forward to welcome you the next month.
Thanks for being part of our big family.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently came back from Cuba where we stayed at the Melia Las Antillas. The service was very good and the staff was always helpful and accommodating . The food in the a la carte restaurants was very good, especially the New Years dinner. Food in the buffet was touch and go. Learned it was better to get something from the grill as it would be hot. The grounds overall are very nice. The walls are a little thin as we were beside the bar. Due to Varadero's high humidity rate, nothing stays dry, which means the rooms have a musty smell to them. The pool and beach were great, but for those with mobility issues, it is harder to access the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KimfromCanada2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio T, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and specially the New Year Dinner.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,246 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Property: Melia Las Antillas
Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#10 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing