We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I just returned from a weeks vacation at the Paradisus Varadero. It was my first time in an all inclusive resort and I have to say I returned feeling pampered and relaxed! I had no worries, no responsibilities and just had to ask to have anything given to me.
I had read the reviews on here before going, and noticed a lot of people upgraded to Royal Service and reviewed that area. I didn't, I stayed in the regular bungalows and personally can't even imagine what luxuries I could be missing out on. I don't feel as though my friend and I are very demanding people, so we did not ask for any special requests, but were offered many throughout our stay. The staff were very friendly and you quickly had favourites in each section you visited.
The beach was amazing. Nice and wide with plenty of room and lounge chairs for everybody. After walking down the beach past other resorts I truly appreciated the beach we had. The pool was warm and not busy at all for some swimming. The evening shows were good, lots of enthusiasm and energy from the performers and different every night. Even the kids shows were entertaining, with the kids participating in the show one evening.
Food was plentiful. As someone who is picky and doesn't eat meat, I was able to nicely fill my plate with something different every meal. The specialty resturants were delightful, live music while we ate and an atmosphere to match the food we were eating. We didn't get around to the snack bars, we found that the meals were filling enough to last until the next one.
We had one day of bad weather where we were under a tropical storm warning. The staff were wonderful, creating activities to keep people entertained and opening up more dinning space as the beach grill was shut down. What could have been a rotten day turned into a wonderful one!
Before going I was given a list of items to take by friends who had travelled to all inclusive resorts before. I have to say that I didn't need most as the resort had everything I could want. The only thing on their lists was the to-go mug to keep drinks cool when down at the beach. And the staff can't do much about the heat, thats why we are all there!
So all in all it was a great time, can't think of anything to make it better.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Hello

Thank you very much for your feedback,it´s pleasure to know that you spent a great time in our resort although the weather was not so good, we hope to see you next year, we can not promise anything about the weather but for sure we promise that our staff will make everything possible to make your vacation unforgettable once more.

Best Regards,
Mohamad Faziw,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,335 - 2,341 of 5,435 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2010

Just returned from two glorious weeks at the Royal Service at Paradisus Varadero. From the hotel decor to the fantastic staff, this was one of our best holidays to date. If you want a holiday were all your needs, wishes & dreams are catered for then this is it. The staff are totally comitted to giving you the best service possible. We did indeed feel like royalty. The hotel rooms are rather palacial with marble everywhere & some really special touches. The butler service is very something else.
Varadera is a lovely town with a beautiful beach that runs the whole length. There are alot of resorts here, but it doesnt have that over the top touristy feel. We had some day trips out to Havana (well worth a visit) & also to the Bay of Pigs on the Carribean sea. Amazing sealife & the colour of that sea...truely breath taking!! We didnt do the coach tours offered by the resort, but instead chose to hire a taxi driver for the day which worked out only slightly more expensive, It meant that we got to see places in our own time with a local person who knew where to take us for a taste of real Cuban everyday life, as well as the tourist trial.
We really cant recommend Cuba & this hotel enough, especially for your first visit to Cuba, Im sure you will like us want to return. The Cuban people are extremely friendly & made us feel very welcome where ever we went. About the food well were do I begin. The hotel has seven different resturants on site. We didnt get to try them all as the food in the Al a carte resturant was really special, so much so we rarely left it. The buffet dining room has a staggering variety of really good food catering for all tastes. You wont be disappointed. On our day trips out the food we stopped to eat along the way was also really nice. Alot of grilled meat, fish, rice dishes & salads. So again something for everyone.
The hotel also has some very talented musicians who play in the resturants & bars on site. Giving meal times an extra boost with their mixture of classical & modern songs. Again they were lovely people who would always make time to come & have a little chat with you & were more than happy to play any requests they could. My finance being a guitar player himself even had a chance to play along with them on a couple of evenings.
What more can I say..You really need to experience all this for yourselves. Start booking & packing. Cuba & Paradisus awaits. Enjoy :)
Anthony & Rebecca ( two extremely content holiday makers)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bek_bek_bek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2010

Dear Anthony and Rebeca,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time to write such a nice review about our hotel,it´s a pleasure to know what a wonderful vacation you spent here, and that´s what makes our jobs worthwhile, we hope you repeat your visit next year.

Best reagards from Paradisus
Mohamad Fawzi
Genaral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

when we came to cuba, we were there as my mum had got married, it was a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff there, we all had a lovely time in the hotel, i especiaaly loved the views of the sea it was probably the best ocean ive been in, i hada very enjoyable holiday there, the hotel is a very beautiful elegant place with interesting scenerys, the wildlife out there was very different to most average hotels and adds that extra special part to your holiday,i loved seeing different garderns filled with sea critters, the pool was beautiful it was amazing the way it was built with loads of stools and very realaxing when you needed a drink. i found the food the only negative source in the hotel, while at our stay we found little nests of white spiders in our choclate croissants which made us very sick :p, we had a lovely stay alotogether we would definatly reccomend it for other s xx thank you for a lovely stay to all the staff and hotel manager from stefanie mclennan,scotland,aged 13 xxx

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffi2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We chose to stay at the Paradisus partly from recommendation and partly because of its location and lovely setting with palm trees located around the pool in beautiful gardens on a sandy beach, which curved to a point at the end of a much thinner,sparser strip which fronted other hotels further down the beach.
It certainly has the wow factor on arriving at reception walking across pools of fish surrounded by tropical plants and flowers. A welcome drink in a spacious open-plan area near the lounge and bar with staff making you feel welcome.
We had spent a couple of nights in Havana in the old town and had had the 'real' Cuba experience ,which I recommend everyone should have before the relaxing part at the beach, and the villa style accommodation was a welcome treat,clean,basic but comfortable. Don't expect 5-star English equivalent as this is Cuba, an impoverished island with hard-working and poorly paid people rationed on their food and clothing and who do their best for pitiful wages. A 50p equivalent tip is as much as a days work, so treat them nice and value their willingness to do their best and don't moan that its not up to standard. Go somewhere else if you want posh plush.
We had our bit of iffy weather, and the only drawback with the downpours and wind is that the lounge/bar area is not fully insulated and the wind is draughty and I needed warmer garments.
Food is plentiful but not necessarily flavoursome. There is no real use of herbs and spices and their best dishes are traditional local caught fish with rice and beans followed by mango and papaya. Down at the beach restaurant was great for a barbeque lunch of this. If you fancy a change from the standard you can book into their formal special restaurants and sample Japanese, Romantic, Italian and Steak. This is highly recommended.
Being on an all-inclusive meant that most nights were spent around the bar sampling Cuban cocktails, talking to other residents and making new friends. There was always a night show of cabaret or music if you wanted to watch. Our highlight was going to the Buena Vista Social Club to watch and groove to wonderful Cuban music five minutes down the road.
A great holiday and it makes us want to go back and see more of Cuba...more Havana,and more of its interior. Its a neglected treasure of the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsg92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2010

Good morning,

Thak you for your comments, it is nice to know that you had a good time in our hotel,and that you are planning to come back to Cuba again , and we hope you come back to our hotel as well.We will do our best to make your vacations better.

Best Regards,
Mahamad Fawzi
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We have recently returned from our stay at the Paradisus Varadero, and have both agreed that we would like to return sometime.

The hotel itself was lovely, with it's many fish pools, well-kept gardens, granite/granite effect decor, and the location for the beach was perfect. We believe we had one of the best- situated rooms on the complex, as it was perfect for us.

However, one 'disappointment' for us was the food; we were both expecting better quality cuisine for a 4-5* hotel. We appreciate the fact that it is Cuba, and they have a trade embargo with the US & that some things are difficult to obtain; however, rancid yoghurt for breakfast and very undercooked & overcooked items for evening dinner in the main restaurant was not really acceptable for this class of hotel, although lunches at the beach restaurant were second to none and so were the staff. The main restaurant was also extremely under-staffed at times and it appeared to be utterly chaotic......this definitely needs improvement!

The maid who cleaned our room daily was a star! She made our afternoon returns from the beach to our room delightful with the presence of various 'towel origami' birds and designs in the bathroom and living areas.......fantastic!

It was those touches that have decided our return to this property; however, with a new manager in situ the disappointments will hopefully turn to plusses on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkle002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2010

Good morning

Thank you very much for your feedback, of course in your next visit you will find a different hotel,we´re working really hard to make things better,and I´m sure we will.
I hope your disappointments turn into compliments.

Best Regards,
Mohamad Fawzi
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I have recently returned from a two week stay. I have travelled extensively but the location of this hotel is the most stunning I have ever seen. Beautifully laid out pools surrounded by coconut and banana trees and a stunning beach fringed with coconut trees. Although we later upgraded to Royal Service the main hotel was also better than expected. We had no trouble booking into the ala'carte restaurants as many people appeared more than happy with the fantastic array of food on offer from the buffet restaurant. I was also suprised at the number of branded and international drinks available, which included wines, spirits and champagne although they do appear to limit the numbers of particular wines daily available and can sometimes also run out of champagne. The nightly shows were of a high standard as was other entertainment across the resort. Staff were particularly friendly. Trips can be rather expensive, bear this in mind. Need to tell you about the Royal Service section of the hotel, which is purely for the use of Royal Service clients. The rooms are out of this world. Call for a drink and you get a bottle served up by your personal butler who will also run a special jaccuzi bath for you. It also includes an outside (very private) power shower. I also endorse a previous comment regarding upgrades. How travel operators can justify the £133 per person per night to upgrade is beyond my comprehension. Do it directly with the hotel and it will cost you £50 per night per room!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m_prestwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2010

Hello,
It´s nice to read your review and know that you had a great holidays in Paradisus, thanks for your feedback.


Best Regards,
Mohamad Fawzi
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed at the Paradisus from 17th Oct to 27th Oct 2010. We had previously stayed in December 2009 but this time we upgraded to the Royal Service and boy was it worth it! The room was huge and the bathroom was fantastic-my 18 month old daughter especially liked the Jacuzzi bath and the outdoor shower. We got reservations at the restaurants of our choice if we wanted (the Japanese was especially good) and the service was excellent. The pool area was fabulous and there are 11 covered beds which you can reserve-an absolute lifesaver with a toddler in tow who needs to be protected from the sun. The pool was practically empty and was a nice size and we swam several times a day prompted by our very water-loving daughter. Downside was that the beach was in the process of being built for the Royal Service side but we would get the buggy from the Royal Service lobby area and it would take us to the lovely beach near the main hotel and pick us back up when we were done. Wherever we went the staff were lovely and polite and always made a fuss of our daughter and she loved it! They were also very helpful with her the only negative actually being a group of the other guests who when we first got there gave us a few dirty looks and comments for bringng a toddler but they went on the third day of our stay back to Russia and everyone else we met was absolutely lovely.
Eldys and Rolando our butlers were fantastic as was Sandra our maid who despite working really hard in the heat all day was always smiling and joking with us.
I would advise though if you are thinking of upgrading to Royal Service do so in resort. Our travel agent wanted to charge us an extra £1200 each to upgrade for ten nights and I was going to book it but their systems told them Royal Service was adult only so I couldn't. Having read some reviews form people having stayed with kids I rang the hotel and as I speak fluent spanish spoke to the Head of Sales who confirmed that yes we could stay in the Royal Service and he reserved a room for us and told us to pay the upgrade on arrival which we did which actually worked out to around £550 for the room for the whole stay not per person. We met people who had unfortunately paid the travel agent's upgrade fee per person and were justifiably furious.
Please also do remember that Cuba is quite different from any other latin american holiday destination as it still is a communist state and goods are restricted. Being half latin amercan myself I was a bit shocked at first on my first visit but absolutely loved it.You have to have an open mind-you are not going to get the same quality necessarily as in Mexico etc but the service is just as good if not better and they do an excellent job with everything they do have!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anni2k9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
3.1 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#14 of 64 in Varadero
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#7 of 64 in Varadero
6,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Frances, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Varadero
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#3 Family Hotel in Varadero
#7 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $232 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Rincon Francés, part of the Varadero ecological reserve. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 510 rooms. This charming world is privileged with elegance, refinement and privacy, especially its Royal Service. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons, incentives and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Varadero Resort And Spa
Paradisus Varadero Hotel Varadero
Varadero Paradisus
Paradisus Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing