We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Varadero
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,983)
Filter reviews
6,984 results
Traveler rating
3,504
1,624
912
512
432
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,504
1,624
912
512
432
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family concierge royal service outdoor shower bella mar a la carte restaurants family section royal section fish regular section junior suite pool bar butler service main buffet buffet restaurant the main hotel dinner reservations ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 6,984 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We didn’t have high expectations for this resort since it’s a 4 star. We’ve been to Cuba twice before and we stayed at the Royalton (ex Sandals) both times so we knew that the standards between the hotels would be vastly different.

We changed rooms 3 times. Avoid room 1114. That was our first room. Level of cleanliness at this resort is hit and miss. In this particular room it was a miss. We thought the floor was all chipped up but actually it was just dirty. After two long flights I wanted to take a shower but my husband had to kill the 3 inch cockroach crawling around the shower. I turned on the water and it was ice cold. I complained to the concierge and they told us the whole resort doesn’t have hot water which was hard for us to believe. They sent in a couple of maids to clean the room which consisted of them spraying our room with big spray. One of the maids had a broom but just carried it around with her. She didn’t sweep or clean the floor. She probably thought it looked good to her.

They moved us to another room which was the only room left on the far end of the resort. We took it for the meantime as it was clean.

The next day the concierge let me look at a few rooms. I looked at 3 and found one that was somewhat clean and had hot water!

Another sign that their level of clean is subpar: someone in the buffet threw up over the side of their table. We walked by the next day and that vomit mess was still there. And the next day and the next day. We stumbled upon false teeth on our path to our room. It stayed there for 4 days until someone finally removed it.

The beach is very dirty. We couldn’t fully appreciate the flour texture of the sand since the beach was riddled with cigarette butts, debris, rocks and other garbage. It’s too bad they don’t maintain their portion of the beach. If you walk down the beach down to the Royalton you’ll see a huge difference. The Royalton resort cleans their beach EVERY DAY. No garbage or even leaves in their sand. We were spoiled with that kind of care and maintenance our first two trips to Varadero.

Those are our main concerns. The staff were all very helpful and generous with their time. I participated in a few activities - aqua exercise, beach Zumba, dance lessons. We watched their nightly shows which were entertaining.

It was average and I thought overpriced for what you get. If you want a cheap trip it’s a fine option. You get what you pay for. We wouldn’t come back to this resort again, knowing that the Royalton or Iberostar Varadero are much better options.

That being said, we had dinner in the Royal section of the resort and that area is completely different. Like a while other world. Maybe stay away from the standard part of the hotel and try the Royal/family concierge part of the resort.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank vancitytoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lemonss,
Greetings from Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa!

On behalf of all of our entire team we will like to thank you for choosing us as your holidays destination and sharing your experience even we didn`t met your expectations. For us our guest opinion and feedback are highly important, due througth your recommendations and thougths we can always improve our service.

We regret that you have experienced those inconveniences with your room, that our beach did not live up your expectations and very sorry with the bug incident. Those certainly are not a commom way of the service in our resort, and we deeply apologize with you. We will share your concerns with all the managers involved so they can have your words into consideration.

We are so disappointed to know how much we have failed in meeting your expectations. It's so disheartening all of this, since is our commitment is accomplish our guest's desires and making their stay comfortable and pleasant.
We will like to host you in the future, under better circumstances!

Segio Martínez Van Casteren
Best Regards!
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paradisus Varadero

we went with group with 21 friends ,

We really enjoyed every moment

Resort Super clean ,

very good food,

of course Cuba is not like other places but the food was very good .

I love Coconut water I drank every day coconut water

Every day live music on the beach at sunset.

Very good animation for children

had barbecue every day on the beach

On the first day we had an unforeseen and the manager Eduardo solved it quickly and gave us all possible assistance,

In all the resorts we have stayed at, this was the one we had the most assistance .

I am grateful to the manager Eduardo who gave us all assistance in quickly solving the problems and we realized that he did everything possible to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

We will definitely return

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank tatiforkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Thank you so much dear tatiforkids for your comments and thougths regarding your past experience at the Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa! We feel grateful with all your words and more regarding your complete satisfations towards our facilitites and services. We work very hard to get closer to fill our guest satisfaction, certainly see we sucess on you made our day!
Please do not hesitate to contact us in the near future if you need assitance with your soon booking to the Resort!

With Appreciation!
Sergio martínez Van Casteren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Paradisus Varadero spa resort, has really been a "home away from" myself and friends have been coming back for many years now and think of everyone on the resort as family cause that is how they make us feel everytime we come back. I love vacationing at this resort for many reasons, one of the best beach ever with a sun set that will take your breath away, I love staying on the Royal side with a wonderful and bar that makes the best drinks but most of all it is the STAFF!! so kind and accommodating. I understand there has been some major construction going on and I have seen some pictures of the new pool area and lobby and I can't wait to see what it looks like in person. I totally recommend paradisus Varadero spa resort to anyone, great restaurants, great drinks great pools, and wonderful staff what more could you ask for on a vacationLook forward to coming back home in April 2020 see you soon

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JACKIE123434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JACKIE123434,
Greetings from Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for choosing us as your holiday destination one more time and share all these incredible comments with our Tripadvisor community. We value your opinion, it helps us to improve each standard of our hotel and to maintain all the quality that distinguishes us today. We will share all your comments with our staff that will be delighted to her them, and in particular with all those who made every one of your stay a memorable one.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next vacation! Do no hesitate to contact us if you need assistance with your next booking.

Sergio Martínez Van Casteren
Best Regards!
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In bad state and under construction.

No food or bad food.

Bugs everywhere.

The word 'clean' is not in their dictionary.

The staff is amazing though. No bad things to say about them! Can't say the same about the management.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kimol1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kimol1978,

Greetings from Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa!

On behalf of all our staff we would like to thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know your experience with us. We know that the world is very large and there are numerous destinations but you have decided on Cuba and have chosen our hotel for your vacations which fills us with pride.
On the other hand, we deeply regret not having been able to meet your expectations during your stay at our Resort, and much more for being the service you have received.
Once again we apologize and hope to have the honor of receiving you back in better circumstances!

Best Regards!
Sergio Martínez Van Casteren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The worse vacation ever. It's supposed to be one of the best resorts and family friendly. Starting with family, it's not. They gave us rooms on second floor after we requested main floor because of our baby strollers. The beautiful pictures you see online it's not the reality. No presentation at all. We had 3 days with cold water, giving shower's to our little babies in could water and didn't matter how much you complain. Water from shower went all over the bathroom we needed towels in the floor. Doesn't matter how many times you call reception they never answer. On our fourth day our fridge broke, when again to complain and ask to be fixed. We left for a tour and when we got back was not fixed. We had our baby medication in there, my other daughter's milk and yogurt that we brought there because of her allergies, and all that was garbage.... my daughter has to take medication every day and she didn't have medication until we got back. Honestly don't waist your money. Even complaining they don't care.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Catiassf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Catiassf:
Greetings from Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa!
On behalf of all our staff we would like to thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know your experience at the Resort.
We know that the world is very large and there are differents destinations but you have decided on Cuba and have chosen our hotel for your vacations which fills us with pride.
On the other hand, we deeply regret not having been able to meet your expectations during your stay at our Resort, and much more for being the service you have received. We apologize for not have been able to offer you the Holidays you deserved and the ones we are used to give to our guest.
Once again we apologize and hope to have the honor of receiving you back in better circumstances!

Best Regards!
Sergio Martínez van Casteren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews