We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,275)
Filter reviews
6,275 results
Traveler rating
3,123
1,523
833
447
349
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,123
1,523
833
447
349
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily conciergeroyal serviceoutdoor showerbella mara la carte restaurantsfamily sectionfishroyal sectionmain sectionregular sectionjunior suitebutler servicebuffet restaurantpool barmain buffetthe main hoteldinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
2,985 - 2,990 of 6,275 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2006

Me & my boyfriend stayed at the paradisus in may & we could not fault it.
The hotel grounds are beautiful, the pool is huge & it has got by far the biggest beach on the whole of the hotel strip with plenty of watersports to enjoy.
The cuban people are the nicest people i have ever met & hotel staff reflect that. whether you tip or not the staff will do anything for you if you are polite & friendly to them.
We tipped quite alot (as the wages they recieve & the conditions they live in are very poor) but we still recieved the same service when we did not. The night barstaff in particular provided an excellent service throghout the 2 weeks, they were funny, friendly & made sure our glasses were never empty!
With regards to birds in the buffet restaurant, we did see a few pecking at pasteries every now and again but wasn't nothing to worry about. The other restarants are indoors & are excellent, particulary the romantica (book a-la-carte restaurants early as possible as it tends to book out quickly, even though they were never full!)
The rooms are comfortable and big and while we were there the hotel had started renovating & redecorating them so they should all be at a high standard again soon.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone & we will definatly return ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank flossyanne80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw1963, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Client
Thank you very much for your lovely review, by the sounds of it you had a great time! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future again!
Kind regards.

DARIO A. FERNANDEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We stayed at Paradisus Varadero from 16th Aug to 24th Aug 2006. Overall impression is excellent. As with any organisation you get the odd problem but on the whole this was absolutely superb, not just by Cuban standards but by any standards.

The layout of the hotel is very stylish with large open areas in a kind of roman style (tall pillars and arches). It has lots of water features with fish around the common areas such as reception, bar etc. Very attractive. The food in all the resteraunts was fantastic. If you feel inclined you can eat lobster and champagne for every meal every day! The food is all freshly prepared and an overwhelming choice is available. All the alcohol is known brands and very good.

95% of the staff are exceptionally good and attentive. The waitresses in the Italian restaurant were superb and gave us very personal attention - quick to please and very attentive. There were 2 or 3 waitresses in the buffet restaurant who were dreadful - not at all interested in service and almost rude. But they were a very rare exception as most of the staff went beyond the call of duty all the time.

The rooms were very comfortable. We stayed in a junior suite which was well equipped and clean. The main swimming pool is amazing - huge! And the beach is the best I have ever been on with white sand and crystal clear water. Also great staff on the beach - all courtesy of the hotel. They will willingly go and find you a sun lounger and a shady spot. Good water sports available - we went wind surfing, sailing, kayaking, scuba diving all part of the package for free.

We booked with Thomas Cooke in the UK and the rep was great - good english and very friendly.

If there is one really stupid thing about this hotel (and it could have been a big problem but tankfully wasn't) it is the "trouser" policy. On arrival at the hotel we were told that we must wear long trousers in all the restaurants. I had not brough any with me and could find none for sale locally. I asked the hotel PR manager to sort this out and he spoke with the Food and Beverage Manager who refused point blank to discuss the issue and said I would be refused admission to the eating areas. This was clearly going to be a major problem in an all-inlcusive resort (all inclusive so long as you wear long trousers). I decided to ignore this ruling and went to all the restaurants in my shorst every day for 10 days. No one complained or even seemed to notice! I suggest the hotel should remove this silly rule as it could be a great cause of problems! Hence I mark them down one star.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank StuBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We returned to the paradisus on 27th June for our anniversary on the 1st July as we were married there last year.

When we arrived at the hotel they checked us in very quickly and the porter took us to our room,

We had been left a bottle of rum. In our check in pack was our per arranged alacarte tickets, info and a letter form the wedding coordinator offering us a special anniversary dinner.

We unpacked quickly and went for a swim; this pool is huge and amazing and has little huts all around and plenty of sun beds.

As it was world cup time there were plasma screens dotted all over the place.

We went to the lobby bar for a drink and were immediately recognised by amaury the bar man, last year he did the pool bar. This guy is amazing, fun friendly and makes very good drinks.

When we went back to our room to change we had been delivered some flowers for our anniversary.
The rooms are big with a huge bed; yes they are hard by some standards but were fine. The room was clean and the maid used to leave us flowers. a few pesos or gifts go a long way, one day she even folded up all hubbys clothes that were everywhere.

The lobby bar is where we spent most of our evening before and after dinner, we were recognised by several staff and for the second time eliovil really looked after us, so much so he even went all the way to the other bar to make me daiquiris as the lobby has no blender. Amaury, eliovil, George are fantastic very very good service. Tip early and you will be looked after all week.

we also ventured to the fun pub later on in the nights, this is a disco bar, quite quiet even we went, they play a lot of Spanish, and hip hop, I enjoyed this more last year as was busier.

Ray and Willy the barmen there were fantastic. Even their boss Eduardo was cool.

We didn’t watch the shows as we saw them last year and isn’t really our scene.

The whole resort was much quieter than same time last year,

Food: I have seen many poor comments on here about the food and I can’t understand it, the buffet is huge and amazing, they have a huge cold section with meats cheese salads and shell fish, a grill section for meat and fish cooked fresh in front of you and a pasta section. They also had a section with some hot dishes, the were the only part that wasn’t as good.

on a few nights they even had a huge lobster, oysters crab prawns display, how many buffets do you see include lobster!!!!! Hubby loved it.

Along with the buffet there are also 3 options for day time eating, the pool restaurant- this was so the Italian - was yummy and the beach bbq - truly fantastic. Bbq meat fish crab claws and salad selection with chips, payella and some veggies on display. The chef here was good, tip a little on your first couple of trips, hubby by the end of the hol was getting the biggest bit of fish there and loads of crab. The chef just piles your plate up. So yummy.

The night time alacartes were very good with the Spanish being our least favourite, we also had our lobster dinner there.

The Italian is good, better than last year but service there is good some nights poor on others.

The romantic was again our favourite, filets steak and crepes Suzette flambéed in front of you. mmmm, and all same staff as last year.

We didn’t do many trips this year, just the dolphin swim which was fib, hubby did some scuba which was ok but they not as safety conscious as some places, and even I noticed this from watching the pool lessons. And we did an evening trip called mambo jumbo, we didn’t enjoy the meal was bland drinks weak and the mambo club is more of an oldie place, luckily paradisus is very close so we got a taxi home.

If any of you like your hair braided the as the animation ladies.

was a fab holiday and don’t listen to the poor food comments and the rooms are lovely, I think one review said the bathroom was poky with no window, I think they forgot to lift the blind lol.

Mail if you have any questions and wana see sum pics

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank nickiscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

I have just arrived back in England after a really great holiday at the Paradisus in Varadero with my family (my mother, father, 12 year old brother and 6 year old sister)

We booked with First Choice and used their new star class to and from Varadero. Their 33" leg room, leather seats, free meals and pop corn as well as seat back TVs made the flight to be very smooth.

On arrival in Varadero we were met by our reps and transferred to our hotel. The first thing that strikes you about the hotel is that the reception/ lobby area has a very Indonesian feel to it, you walk ontop of water which contains a variety of exotic fish. It was a nice touch as when we got off the bus, we were given cold towels and a San Fransisco cocktail. After getting our keys from reception, we used the hotel buggy to get to our room, beware some of the builidngs are a bit of a walk from the main dining/ pool area. The room was perfectly adequate, it certainly wasn't 5 star, as there were signs of wear and tear. What people say about the beds are completely true, they are rock hard and incredibly uncomfortable to sleep on, to an extent where I had to use the cusions for the sofa which made things a lot easier. There is a free mini bar which is re-stocked daily and if you are ever short of drinks, you just have to ring up reception and they will bring drinks around straight away. The rooms were cleaned well daily and pretty red flowers put in the bathroom every day. On the last day our kind maid gave us a little present!

Several builings were closed for refurbishment and they were looking much better by the time we left yesterday.

The restaurants were of very good quality. The food doesn't vary from day to day, it stays the same but there is a large variety. We ate at the Italian restaurant once and had a mediocre meal but ate in the buffet for breakfast and supper and used the chiringita for lunch which had a meat area where you could get any meat cooked. You can't complain about birds coming into the buffet, I only saw one or two; because it is completely opened up without any windows or blinds!

There were several bars which served a variety of good drinks, there never seemed to be enough diet coke though! It really is a great advantage of being in an all-inclusive resort as the amount of drinks we got through didn't cost us a penny. The only thing though is when ordering soft drinks at all bars except the lobby one, they give you small glasses, stuffed full of ice not enabling you to have much of a drink.

The pool was absoloutely brilliant, the size couldn't have been better, the depth varied quite a lot though. The pool side bar is a great idea and the two girls who work there were really an asset to the resort. In one area of the pool there were quite a few tiles peeling off which will need to be replaced soon I would imagine, a nightmare for the resort. The beach was just literally below the resort and after having walked up the beach, it was definitel'y the hotel with the nicest, widest stretch. Everyday you could do sailing, waterskiing, banana boating, kayaking and pedal boating all free of charge! Watch any valuables you have around the pool as we had a game boy and several games stolen and I heard of several cameras and phones which were as well.

The activities at the hotel seemed to be non-stop and there was something for everyone, with all the facilities, you could not get bored!

We used the laundry a couple of times and found it to be VERY, VERY expensive, bring enough clothes to last your stay. Another point, bring a pair of long trousers and a collared shirt as sometimes they got a bit fussy in the evenings when letting you into the restuarants.

The mosquitos are everywhere, bring enough repellant to keep them at bay.

We did a couple of excursions booked through our tour rep:

Havana one day:
Instead of using the big bus with many people, it worked out the same price to hire a minibus with a driver a guide which proved to be a much better way of seeing the amazing city. We did things at our own pace and took all the city had to offer in. The beautiful American cars were everywhere and you must visit the chocolate factory.

Jeep safari:
Great fun, we drove in a jeep through fields and villages to the river where we all got on speed boats to go on down to this spectacular ranch for a buffet lunch and then onto swimming in a crowded cave. The scenery when in the speed boat was breath taking and once at the resort you could ride horses, a bull and even hold snakes and crocodiles. The only thing was they stopped us at several bars, for a long time where the drinks were hugely expensive.

Catamaran:
One of the highlights, 40 people in a large catamaran with a free bar and you stop off for lunch at Cayo Blanco, the most pictoresque island imaginable. The boat was great fun, relaxing and there were fun and games as well.

The Cubans were such nice, friendly and welcoming people, especially the ones in the resort. Unfortunatley, outside the resort EVERYTHING is very tip orientated but because they live very simple lives, they are very greatful for anything you can give them.

If you like shopping, the Varadero market is excellent, all sorts of nick-naks to take home as presents and souvenirs: sculptures made out of horns, cameras and cars made out of tin cans and great pictures all for good prices. Plaza Americas is a complete waste of time, the shops there were not worth going to.

All in all it was a very relaxing and memorable two weeks and I would highly recommend the Paradisus Varadero resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank freddieskyhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

Our family of four stayed at the Paradisus July 8th to the 15th. We travelled with our good friends who have kids the same ages as ours, 16 and 18. We loved this resort and had a wonderful time there. The weather was great, the beach beautiful, the hotel gorgeous and the most amazing thing to us, the food was fantastic. We were not expecting to enjoy the food so much but it was great, especially in the specialty restaurants. We ate at the Italian restaurant every day for lunch and it was great and never close to being full. I get the feeling that people didn't realize it was open for lunch every day. We had an anniversary dinner in a beautiful spot by the pool with a delicious barbecued lobster , lobster bisque and heart shaped cake. We pretty much had lobster at every meal and it was delicious. Our kids had such a great time, they met and hung out with kids from England and Holland. They didn't want to leave and have kept in contact with some of the kids they met. The drinks at the many bars were good, they would make you anything you wanted and used good liquor all the time, they even had Canadian Club!! There isn't much to buy in Cuba, just cigars and rum so don't expect too much shopping. Whatever you do, don't get sucked in to going to a restaurant above the check-in area at the airport. They try to tell you that all the Canadians go there but they totally rip you off and charge $5.00 for a coke! Coke is $2.00 on the other side of security so just go straight in through security and buy your food and souveniers there. We would recommend the Paradisus to anyone, it was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Shanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews