We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday - The best resort in Varedo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday - The best resort in Varedo!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic 14 day holiday and did not want to come home. I’ve read many reviews on here so wanted to ensure our voices were also heard. My Girlfriend and I stayed in Room 6243, and whilst we didn’t get a sea view, we did get a pleasant enough view of the very well landscaped grounds.

Housekeeping service was efficient with rooms tided, beds made and fridge restocked with water, beer and soft drinks daily. One small point is that we never seemed to have enough coffee for the coffee machine!! One sachet was never enough so always had to ask the cleaning staff for more.

The room was modern, with some seriously cold air-conditioning, that had to occasionally be switched off as with 70% humidity it did leave your clothes feeling a little damp at times.

The resort itself is huge , and made to feel larger by the fact that it appeared less than 30% full, largely due to August being the “quiet season” in Cuba, Apparently. This made it all the better for us though as we never had to worry about sun beds etc.

Regarding the Food, I’ve heard and read many negative things on here , well let me put you straight. There’s a lot of choice and if the buffet, Rock House and 7 restaurants cannot satisfy your appetite then you should have stayed at home! The quality, freshness and sheer choice is fantastic! The Lobster on Cuban Night ( Buffet) was awesome!!!

My only negative comment is that the Coffee that is served in the Buffet at Breakfast is revolting. Yet everywhere else in the resort it is good!!

Japanese Restaurant is great for the visual experience and the Miramar ( royal service) by far the best for quality of food. Hill Top takes a close second in terms of quality. There’s supposed to a dress code for dining, but I guess if you feel the need to dine with a baseball cap, shorts and drink beer from a can then so be it.

Speaking of Royal Service, we did enquire about an upgrade on arrival but the Reception wanted to charge us approximately £1500 for this. Now if we were honey mooning, we would have got the upgrade FOC, as did a few couples we met!! Not worth the £1500 in my opinion as the Royal Service area appeared to lack any real atmosphere compared to the rest of the resort

The main pool area, swim up bar are all cleaned regularly and looked fabulous and there’s activities day and night to suit all sorts.

The staff were all incredible!! We didn’t have one negative experience the whole two weeks. Even the Gardening staff will stop and say Hola!! Cross their palms with Pesos and you may even get your own Coconut with a straw in it.

The friendliest staff we found were in the Rock House, (the two ladies who always appeared to be on duty) Also the Cigar bar and the Buffet staff . Always taking time to speak with you and get to know you. We found that if you tip when you feel the urge ( only 2-3 pesos) it really helps and the staff are genuinely thankful.

In particular I want to thank Barby , Rigo and our fantastic Thomas Cook Rep Anna Margerita for all their efforts .

Finally, in terms of Do’s and Don’ts ( just our opinions):

Do tip regularly, Cubans are friendly and genuinely appreciative. Do take antihistamines and a decent mozzie repellent ( the mozzies are killers), Do visit Havana, Do try the Mojitos an the Pina Coladas ( Rock House make the best ones). Do try and get on the Jeep Safari, it’s by far the best excursion we did.

Don’t underestimate the strength of the sun, Don’t have Seafood in Havana ( our Cuban Holiday Reps suggestion) Don’t give money to beggars in Havana ( I nearly started a riot doing this).

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Roger_Mellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Roger_Mellie,
Thank you for such a nice and generous review, you shared with all the Tripadvisor readers. It’s a pleasure to receive your warm words regarding our staff, service & food. I have no doubts that your review will be of a great help for those travellers who are preparing their visit to Cuba.
Hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Darío Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,619
    1,316
    688
    335
    194
See reviews for
1,652
2,288
102
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Returned to this hotel for our holiday of two weeks did not want to leave this fantastic place looked at other hotels non compare to this hotel you will not be disappointed. Food fab,rooms fab, pool fab restaurants fab, beach to die for white sand sea beautiful.staff can not do enough for you. All inclusive means just that 24 hours all inclusive. Paying the extra for the silver service is not really needed, as you will find out when you get there. Only problem are those pests mossies.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear David R ,
We are glad to know that your second experience at “your home” Paradisus Varadero was wonderful and we take the chance to thank you for your high review about our staff, services and facilities you have enjoyed with us.
We hope we will get the chance to meet you again in the future!
Kind regards.
Darío Fernández
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just returned from a 6 night stay at this lovely hotel, they had mislaid our booking (even though I had the paperwork to prove it) and so after one night of huge uncertainty, we were upgraded to Royal Service as compensation for the worry and hassle. It was absolutely wonderful and I was very happy from that point onwards.
We had room 3133 which is a first floor huge accommodation with lovely large balcony - you can just about see the sea, lounge area, large double bed, walk in wardrobes/dressing room, absolutely huge bathroom and separate wc, and then my particular favourite - a lovely outside totally private wonderful shower!
There is an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, plenty of plug sockets, ample mirrors, air con and ceiling fan, jacuzzi bath, his and hers basins/vanity areas, flat screen TV, cd player, plenty of storage and hanging space, bathrobes and slippers, pool towels, safe etc.
The rooms are kept beautifully clean, I was surprised there was no turn-down service in the evening though
You are assigned a Butler - ours was Alexander - and although he booked all our speciality restaurants, we didn't use him for anything else. He was always asking if he could help us though.
We enjoyed the breakfasts in the royal service restaurant, much nicer than the main hotel restaurant - less surrounding water, therefore less mozzies!
Royal service has its own bar and reception and particularly wonderful is the pool in that section with large cabanas and its own bar
You can walk down to the sea but the beach area in the royal service section is a huge let down, the best beach is at the main hotel. We therefore often walked down to that beach and enjoyed a snack or a cocktail at the beach bar. That is what's missing in the royal service section.
We didn't see any of the entertainment.
We ate in 3 of the speciality restaurants - the only one worth doing is the Japanese.
There is supposed to be a strict dress code for men to wear trousers but it seems it depends on the whim of the staff at the time, we saw many people turned away for wearing dress shorts but we also saw many people in the restaurants in very scruffy shorts!

Room Tip: royal service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phantasialandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Phantasialandfan,
Thank you so much for your comments concerning your stay at Paradisus Varadero and for sharing your feedback with us and our potential guests.
We are please to know how much you enjoyed your time at Royal service, since our guest´s opinion and suggestions are very important to us.
At the same time, we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our a la carte restaurants unlike the rest of our guests,nevertheless we are going to speak with our Chef in order to study your review regarding to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Paradisus!
Best regards
Darío Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have not stopped raving about our time at Paradisus since we've left! We booked a 7-day trip to Cuba for our honeymoon and spent the first 4 nights here. Our biggest regret is leaving and going to Havana for 3 nights....next time we'll make Havana a day trip and make the Paradisus our home for the week.
Generally speaking staff were excellent - we did find the bar tenders in the Cristal Bar in the lobby to be a bit grumpy most of the time... the only time we saw them crack a smile was when leaving a big tip. We figured maybe they were jealous because they didn't get to work on the beach and admire the hot people in their bikinis or speedos all day haha..... However, the bar staff on the beach were friendly and only too happy to give excellent service whether big tips were presented or not.
Biggest advice to those about to visit: make reservations in the restaurants well ahead of time. Our first reservation was booked for us as part of our honeymoon (at Romantica Restaurant... delicious!) but we got lazy and didn't book the second day, and by the time we got around to it, the reservation centre had closed for the day (by 4pm!) so we ate at the buffet. Wasn't bad at all, but I preferred all the meals we ate at the restaurants.
Our best meal was at the Cubana Fusion restaurant.... it was the only restaurant that had reservations left on the same day we checked, but we're glad we took it because it was amazing. The staff were super friendly and the meal, particularly the blue cheese soup was SUPERB!
We stayed in Ocean view suit 3118, at the far edge of the resort near the tennis courts... we had a great view of the sunset every night, and pretty much NO noise from the resort, The beach was a few steps away. I won't get started on how incredible the beach was.... there are no words. Seriously, this was an amazing place for a honeymoon and we will be back - without a doubt!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view near the tennis courts are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snipperhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Snipperhands ,
We heartily appreciate your lovely review on your recent experience at Paradisus Varadero for your honeymoon,as it is one of the most important moments of our lives. We are very proud of being your first resort in Cuba and at the same time, to receive so much credit for our facilities and, most of all, for our staff and service. It feels really rewarding to receive your compliments, thank you so much. We understand some of our services did not exactly meet all your expectations but we thank your giving us the chance to identify these improvement opportunities.
It will always be a great pleasure to welcome you back at Paradisus Varadero, so, we hope you honour us with another visit during your first anniversary . Let us know in advance.
Kind regards
Darío Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Amazing and very pleasant. The rooms were awful with cracks in the ceiling and walls. Room service would always cleanup our room very nicely. Food was great. Not that much to do as a family. Shows at night were amazing. Mini disco for the kids should've had the kids more entertained. I would recommend it if you stay in the royal service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Garla S,
Firstly, I would like to thank you for posting your opinion, because it is important for us to know positive and negative points about our services which help us to improve our daily service and the hotel’s facilities.
Concerning our rooms, we apologize that you didn’t find your room as you expected. We are in process of renovating all our rooms. We started last year and we will finish this task in the following months. We invite you to see the changes and to enjoy them during your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Paradisus in the not to distant future.
Best Regards
Darío Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Got here and the main pool was closed for refurb which was a surprise. After one night they upgraded us to the Royal Service part of the hotel. Our rep, Sonia, from Destination Cuba was brilliant at making this happen.
The main hotel is supposedly 5 star but not by my expectations of 5 star! The rooms are a little tired (many coats of paint).
The main buffet restaurant is a bit of a rugby scrum at times but the food is varied and was good.
We reserved a table at the Italian restaurant. I think they may have flown each coarse over from Italy as it took us over an hour just to get a starter. Once we had the main course we didn't hang around for dessert. Maybe it was just an off night? The food was reasonable though.
The Royal service part of the hotel is certainly the way to go as it feels much closer to 5 star and you even get your own butler!
My main tips for this hotel would be:
Stay in Royal Service.
Don't drink the wine or champagne (both are truly horrendous)
Ask for Havana Club rum or the other named brand spirits when at the bar (the house spirits are weak and watery)
Enjoy the beach and the sea, both are glorious.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, Director General at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Neal G
Thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor. First of all I would like to apologize for the dissatisfactions you encountered during your stay, we are going to pay close attention to all the negative remarks you have written in order to prevent similar events in the future.At the same time, we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our restaurants, unliked the rest of the clients,specially the Italian one, nevertheless we are going to speak with our Chef in order to study the aspects you point on your review regarding to them .
On another note,I don't know if there is a mistake in your comment or maybe you are posting in a wrong Paradisus, since our pool was not closed on March,however I hope you decide to come back anytime soon, you will be very welcome.
Kind regards
Darío Fernández
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Loved the resort, I enjoyed the friendly staff the nice room, etc, my wife loved it as well! food was good, and the beach is beautiful. the staff was great! everybody wanted us to have an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Marcos P,
It is always a pleasure to read and answer personally such a good comment like yours and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay at Paradisus Varadero on Trip Advisor.This kind of feedback will definitely give us the strength to continue working hard in making our resort even better.
I hope to see you soon back in our resort.
Warmest regards from the sunny and friendly island of Cuba.
Darío Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
1.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.6 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,304 reviews
3.7 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa

Property: Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Frances, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Varadero
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#3 Family Hotel in Varadero
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Rincon Francés, part of the Varadero ecological reserve. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 510 rooms. This charming world is privileged with elegance, refinement and privacy, especially its Royal Service. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons, incentives and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA and Prestigia so you can book your Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Varadero Hotel Varadero
Paradisus Varadero Resort And Spa
Varadero Paradisus
Paradisus Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing