We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$215
$186
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$140
$89
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$238
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$91
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
$125
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$222
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,893)
Filter reviews
5,893 results
Traveler rating
2,957
1,458
787
407
284
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,957
1,458
787
407
284
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily conciergeroyal serviceoutdoor showerbella mara la carte restaurantsroyal sectionfishmain sectionromantic restaurantjunior suitebutler servicebuffet restaurantromantico restaurantpool barmain buffetdinner reservationsthe main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,693 - 1,698 of 5,893 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I’ve been in this hotel during a week in May and my opinion goes toward the opinions of other guest that have already written here some reviews.
The hotel itself it’s gorgeous and the beach amazing, but the service it’s terrible.

Things I’ve liked:

- The hotel is very beautiful (nice gardens, swimming pool, nice lobby, bar, the area of the restaurants, the spa)

- The beach is fantastic and the water of an intense and transparent blue. You can make some walks through it. Enough shadows, palapas and very quiet. You can relax and enjoy the fantastic weather of the Caribbean

- The swimming pool is stunning. Huge and very pleasant

- Our room was nice, the beds were comfortable and the villa was very quiet. We always slept very well and never heard noise, not even in the morning

- Our Villa (number 36) next to everything: restaurants, beach, buffet, lobby

Didn’t like:

- The service:
Some examples were in the buffet where it was very difficult to make someone bring us the drinks, the staff in the reception weren’t nice at all, the buffet and other services such as the delivery or change of towels never opened on time.

- In the room they just left one bottle of water per day. We were 3 persons and it wasn’t enough. When we asked where we could ask for some water they told us that only in the pool bar (In other places that I’ve been, the water, specially in this hot countries, is available in many places, so you could get it easily)

- The bathroom in our room: It was a little bit old and some electric wires in the wall were visible. The pressure of the water was terrible. Sometimes it was very difficult to maintain the shower working, instead of the water tap.

- The fridge in the room wasn’t working well: It wasn’t cool (we’ve placed a chocolate bar there and it melted)

- The buffet could be better. Of course you have many food in the buffet, but for me it wasn’t a 5 star hotel buffet. Probably the problem could be that I have some hotels to compare, but the friends that traveled with me felt the same way. They could have more variety and sometimes we felt they were sparing some things to specific meals. They never had thematic nights

You have the restaurants in alternative. But we couldn’t book for any day, because in the second day of our stay they told us that they were already all full. So if you want to book a restaurant do it the sooner you can.
In general I’ve liked my stay in this hotel, mainly because of the hotel areas and the beach. If you don’t mind with these service problems you will have a nice week there.
For me could be perfect if this problems didn’t not exist, but despite that I thing it worth it to go this hotel, because of his location and stunning beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your comments. We would also like our guests never encounter any problem during their stay and we do apologize for the dissatisfactions you had. We always do our best to offer you an exceptional service, that is why I will discuss all these issues with the rest of our team to solve them immediately. You state that in the end you had a nice week but we will make sure it is worthier next time you come to our resort.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have just some back from Cuba having stayed at this accommodation for the fist time. We were disappointed with our room having paid extra for a Junior Suite! This was certainly not what was shown on the internet pictures!!! We did complain to the reception desk and to our tour rep who did try to accommodate us by changing but we did have a sea view and they could not give us a better room with a sea view. They did try to change us to silver service at a price!! but we stayed put!! The other complaint we have and anyone going must watch was we changed English pounds at the Bank there and we were short changed!! We again went to the customer services who checked the rate for us with the Bank and found out that we had been short changed plus the person in front of us was English and he too was shortchanged so watch out!!!
Apart from this the hotel is superb, food superb, cleanliness superb, waitresses great and we could not fault anything there. It was fantastic and we would go back but make sure we got a refurbished room and keep an eye on the bank! Customer services went out of their way to be helpful, we would have thought that we would have seen the manager! but the young lady in customer services was excellent - well done to her!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room!! don't think there are many!! Maybe more next year!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chucklegrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for letting us know about your experience in our hotel and at the same time we want to apologize for these unfortunate events you tell us. We are going to take measures immediately so this issue will not become a reason for another claim. The least we wish is to see the reputation of Paradisus Varadero affected by these things. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of the services and facilities, and yes, we are going to have new refurbished rooms soon. We hope to have you again with us as repeater clients, nothing will please us more.

Receive a warm greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Travelled with my husband and my 2 kids aged 8 and 2 .Spent one week on this hotel last month. Arrived on this hotel past midnight due to delayed Sunwing flight from Toronto. Nobody helped us in with our luggage as there was no staff in front of the hotel when we came. I know it was late at night but they should have a staff to help their guests even at those time in case of late check in. Had a hard time bringing our luggage in the main reception to check in as we also had to push a stroller.Stern looking staff with no smile in their faces when we check in.Requested for a refurbished room but no available despite 40% occupancy at that time. After checking in, instead of asking us to wait for the bellboy in the main reception they told us to go back in front of the
hotel again. Why can't they just ask the bellboy to pick up the guests in the main reception.
Waited 45 minutes but nobody came, my husband and I decided to find our room using the map they gave us. No single light in front of Bungalow 14. All the lights were busted some of it don't
even have bulbs on the wall so for sure they know about that problem.Anyway, reported that
problem to them, spoke to customer service several times on the phone, to the cleaning lady as
well as the manager in the lobby.Guess what? They only fix the light on our fourth night there.
Aside from that, they only replaced some of the bulbs. We had to use our mini flashlight for 3
nights to find our way to our room.Good thing we didn't have an accident with the 2 kids and
pushing the stroller in the dark. They say this is a family hotel but lunch and dinner were served
late, 1 PM for lunch and 7 PM for dinner. Mini disco for the kids starts at 830PM and shows starts
at 945PM. Watched a few shows at night but we didn't finished it most of the time as the kids were so tired and sleepy at that time.I have to ask for a high chair most of the time in the main restaurant, no initiative from some staff to offer. Very hard to book the specialty restaurants, always full despite the 40% occupancy. Generally, we enjoyed our stay here in Paradisus as the
beach were gorgeous. Food was okey. Room was outdated but clean. Some of the staff were nice especially the waitress on the lobby bar.

Room Tip: Request for Bungalow 11, 12, 13 , best location and ocean view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for writing a review about your stay with us. We appreciate knowing positive and negative remarks about our services as it helps to improve our product on a daily basis. We apologize for these inconveniences you tell us, and be sure we are going to address them with the relevant departments, because your safety, comfort and satisfaction is always our main commitment. We hope to have your presence in our hotel in the future, you will be very welcome.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we arrived at the resort at 5am and had been placed in a non ocean view room, thankfully we were transferred to the room we paid for an requested at the royal service. Biggest disappointment upon arrival was no cribs for out 19month old twins, which I had contacted Sunwing 3 times about, and emailed the resort manager a few times reminding everyone we NEED these. Thankfully we did get two cribs by 3 that afternoon. :) resort is huge, get ur walking shoes on, especially if youre staying @ the royal service. Which I don't recommend paying the extra $$ especially with small children. As all the best food, and beach are on the non royal service side. WORST WORST WORST room service! would take MINIMUM 45MIN for coffee in the mornings..seemed like nothing was "open" till after 7:30amfor restaurants and 9am for stores ect...even for lunches ect...room service was awful. We never took the golf cart transportation either, as it was a long wait. The royal service pool was amazingly nice and private. The food down at the beach was the BEST for lunch!! Beautiful beaches! The spa was ridiculously over priced!!!:( don't even pay that much for spa services in Canada! Always very clean resort, and VERY well maintained!! No bugs in our room!:) loved the outdoor shower!! I'm not a picky eater, and we have stayed in cuba twice before, but the food was AWFUL other than the a la carte restaurants. Would definitely NOT bring small children to this resort as there REALLY isn't much for them ..not even a play ground!:( baby club & kids club seemed disorganized and disappointing. We met with the "babysitter" a few times, and she always told us to come back....we did one morning, but she wasn't there.:( super disappointing as my husband and I wanted to go have a little swim without the babies, as we traveled alone with no help. No kids activities and no pool toys either:( the servers were sweet. Would suggest not staying at the royal service....unless you want the beautiful uptodate room...that's pretty much what youre paying for...the butler service..ect..wasn't even really availalble for us...even when we left, they were going to assist us with our suitcases, but NOPE! no cart! no help! with twins in the stroller, and suitcases lugged on our backs, we made it to the front doors of the resort with no assistance other than the AMAZING women who serves by the royal service pool(love her!!) everyone else was standing around. Which there seemed to always be min 4 people sitting by the front desk not doing anything...a good trip...not amazing...not what we were expecting...but wasn't awful...beautiful weather

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinmama499111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor. First of all I would like to apologize for the dissatisfactions you encountered during your stay, we are going to pay close attention to all the negative remarks you have written in order to prevent similar events in the future. Concerning the entertainment for kids we do have an entire program for them with great variety of activities and we have very professional staff to take care of them. You can always seek for the assistance of Customer Service, they will help you address all your needs. Once more we offer our apologies for the unfortunate events you went through. We hope to welcome you and your family in the future to offer you an amazing holiday as expected.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Difficult review to write but I will try and put this in context. We have stayed in hotels from one star to five star and ratings in countries vary, so whether or not this is five star I'll let others debate. I'd guess not probably a Cuban 4 star is accurate. Similarly I do not understand why this particular resort is so highly rated as having stayed in Varadero before I do not think it is any better and in some ways worse, than others.

Room: got an ocean view junior suite- loved it , great views, no complaints. I think blocks 14-17 appeared best to me.

Beach- fantastic. Lots of sun beds lovely location.
Pool areas- great . Cabanas available sunbeds etc. all good.
Lobby bar- daytime staff excellent ( idolfo and crew). Night time- a dour lot.
Restaurants, Italian- good, Mexican, very good, Japanese so- so, romantically : very good
Buffet- same food every day, not good quality and the worst aspect was that birds were in eating the food and staff done nothing.
Snack bar-service was woeful - 30 mins waiting for a sandwich
Lobby bar area lovely,
Reception staff very helpful

Some staff malena(Mexican rest) idolfo ( lobby bar) magby( guest services) raul( guest services) Judith (housekeeping) were all particularly helpful and genuinely very nice. As we're the vast majority.

Restaurant booking system was woeful and not a fair system for all. Very badly organised.

When we couldn't get a restaurant booking one night, it was arranged for us to go to the Royal restaurant instead. Lovely meal and a nice gesture.

Having said that, I personally wouldn't touch the Royal Service( I know many others have lauded it). To me it only works if you are the type who like to have someone fawning over you in a sycophantic, false way. In spite of everything I'd till rather take my chances with the dour faced evening bar staff.

The fun bar was opened once and was filled by staff drinking rum and singing( very bad) Karaoke. Guests were clearly not welcome.

The animacion staff were IMO very poor. Bunch of overly effeminate guys competing in a dance- off to the exclusion of guests. This is in no way a sexist remark, merely an observation of what was an exaggerated display.

Finally, some of our colleagues felt so strongly about it that they abandoned us and transferred to another hotel :-). ( you know who you are) the hardier stayed on.

If all this sounds negative , it shouldn't entirely as we still had a great time. I have just tried to contextualise some of the more polarised opinions previously expressed on here. This could be a fantastic resort- just now it isn't.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelticFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience in our resort. It is good to read you had a great time, however in order to turn our hotel into a fantastic one, as you state, we need to take care of the negative aspects you pointed out. We are very concerned especially with the night entertainment, which we are going to inspect closely. We apologize for all the inconveniences and promise to transmit all the staff you name how satisfied you were with their service. We will address all the negative issues so as to ensure you have a memorable experience next time you visit us. We sincerely hope you do.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews