We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement Holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very good location, had a great week service is excellent and the staff are a credit to the hotel.
It is very clean, the grounds are immaculate with beautiful plants, shrubs and trees, the pool is enourmous and well cared for.Food can be random, reasonable quality but the chefs are certainly not to be noted for using their imagination! i.e. mexican retaurant 4 types of fahitas and that was it!! The buffet restaurant ran out of butter twice during the week!! All the staff are friendly and give excellent service ,they do appreciate a small tip.
If you are travelling with Virgin Louis the Virgin Rep is excellent and the custoomer servce representative from the Hotel Hector is excellent .TOP TIP, see Hector for your retaurant bookings, he has a pre booked great selection just for Virgin customers!!
Hotel is very clean , however, it seems like most Cuban Hotels the rooms are tired, we had to have the engineer out to fix the patio door, the air con and a smelly drain !!
Really enjoyed my week, visit Havana it is a must!! In hindsight i would have preferred a couple of days there as there is alot to see.
Would i return to Cuba , No i don`t think so.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
4  Thank disc0dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Paradisus Varadero. We are happy to learn you had a great week, in spite of the issues you were not satisfied with. These kinds of remarks are always appreciated, as they serve as motivator to keep on working harder and improve the quality of the service we offer. We will pass your comments to the team at the Mexican Restaurant and to the chef for their consideration. Concerning the rooms, we are in the process of renovating the hotel and soon we will have new and updated rooms. We have addressed your complements especially to Hector. He was delighted to know. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future and offer you an outstanding and much better service according to your expectations.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 5,438 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I can highly recommend Paradisus, but there are a few pointers that may make your stay more enjoyable. The pool area, beach and rooms are all superb however;
1. The four a la carte restaurants book up fast so get reservations in first thing if you don't fancy eating all your meals in the buffet.
2. Compared to European standards the food and (inclusive) wine is average. The simple dishes are best, for example barbecued chicken and fish on the beach are lovely.
3. Small plastic cups by the pool as in most AI's, no WiFi and evening entertainment is "family orientated".
To sum up, if you think European 4 star but with stunning pool/beach you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Mats
PS. We strongly recommend doing a few days in Havana and the country side as well so that you don't feel you've missed the "real" Cuba.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MatsRennstam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Mats,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in our resort. Allow me to say that your concerns and your pointers are much appreciated. I have addressed these issues with our team to ensure consistency of service and product.
You are right about the a la carte restaurants, they book up fast especially during this season when the occupancy is very high; however there are 5 of them now, so guests have more chances.
Concerning Wi-fi, the hotel is making all the arrangements and connections to ensure we finally have wi-fi this year.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our first time to Cuba, although we have traveled the Caribbean and Mediterranean extensively. We decided to go to Cuba finally now that the government is allowing its people more freedoms (to travel, own and sell their homes, and have businesses). We usually stay in 5 star (we like Riu, Iberostar, Beaches/Sandals) and expected the Paradisus Varadero to be slightly less than the kind of 5 star resorts you'd find in Mexico, DR or Jamaica. In reality it felt like about a 3 star.
First, the good: I found that besides a couple of lackadaisical bar staff, the people working there were friendly, happy and eager to give good service. We tipped regularly but even when we didn't have small bills, they were just as helpful next time they saw us. Our maid, Tania, was a gem, and our daughter and her friends even joined a few of the maids one day for an impromptu towel folding and dancing session. Irving at the towel station was a star -- a genuinely helpful and sweet guy. The dancers at the evening shows were amazing and the activities crew worked tirelessly. We took a tour to Havana in a vintage car, and our guide and driver were exceptional. I think the Cuban people are lovely. We never had coffee packets in the room (there is a coffeemaker) but the drinks were replenished daily. The cafe con leche from the bars are amazing (but the buffet coffee is horrid)! The beach is nice though, and the gardens and paths are well kept. We loved the giant lobby/bar, with plenty of seating and great entertainment by various singers and musicians.

Now, for the not so good. It's obvious that this resort infrastructure has not been kept up and is seriously in need of a renovation. The room smelled musty and a bit sewage-y in the bathroom. My teens' room had a malfunctioning shower. The pool is rather grotty with broken tiles. Yes, we knew about the food ahead of time, and it was indeed bland. The buffet is mediocre, the a la carte restaurants were slightly better (Romantica being quite good). The first 2 nights all restaurants were booked, but we did try 4 of them. The beds are not very comfortable.

So, if we went back to Cuba we would only stay in a new resort, I think... one that was more of a true 5 star. Paradisus charges way too much for a resort that is not of this calibre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank beachy-keen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent visit. Let us express our apologies because as you explained you did not fully enjoy your stay in our hotel. We are going to study carefully all your comments and we will speak with the staff of the relevant departments in order to improve those negative aspects you pointed out.
We are already making some renovations in the rooms, mainly in the bathrooms and furniture. On the other hand, we are glad to know you are satisfied with the service offered by our staff and that you hold Cubans in such high esteem.
We sincerely hope that you give us a second chance to welcome you back in our resort and live up to your expectations.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Paradisus but feel that some of the rave reviews weren't really justified.

We arrived late and tired and when we arrived in our room, found that the air conditioning didn't work and there was no bathroom door. When we complained we were offered another room which did have a bathroom door and working air-con, but no bedside light. Our maid was sweet but managed to forget something every day, be it clean towels, bathmat, coffee etc. More calls to reception...

One of our main gripes was the lack of information about most things. Our rep was awful, although that wasn't the hotel's fault. We found info by talking to other guests mainly. Food, apart from breakfast, was very average, although service generally was good. The a la carte restaurants had limited space and we were told that we could only book once for each one per week, although other guests seemed to be able to go practically at will.

A big problem we found was the lack of comfortable seating inside the hotel. The first couple of days of our stay were terrible with high winds and rain and cool temperatures but the hotel obviously hadn't been planned with this in mind and the draughts everywhere were awful owing to the lack of solid walls. The other thing that we thought was bad for a 5 star establishment was the lack of wi-fi and the Internet service provided was expensive and painfully slow.

The beach was wonderful and there was no shortage of loungers, although with the stormy weather it wasn't possible to bathe on several days due to an invasion of poisonous jellyfish and high waves, as this is the Atlantic and not the Caribbean.

All in all, a pleasant holiday but if we were to return to Cuba, it wouldn't be to the Paradisus unless it had a big makeover and introduced wi-fi.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear guest,
We sincerely appreciate your taking time to provide your comments and feedback. They are certainly very valuable. We would like to apologize for the inconveniencies you found here, especially for the bad weather, which was not in our hands to amend but it obviously affected in a negative way all our guests during those days. About our rooms, we are in the process of renovating them; we are making improvements little by little. Concerning Wi-fi, the hotel is making all the arrangements and connections to ensure we finally have wi-fi this year.
There is plenty of seating in the lobby (couches and chairs), but as we sense your dissatisfaction with this issue we will pass your remark to the rest of our team for their consideration.
We really hope to have the chance of showing you our improvements in the future and of offering you a much better and pleasant second stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were a group of 29 people, and for dinner we were divided 9/10/10. At the italian restaurant we got really good service. Rather small portions, but the service made up for it. We were told by the other group that the Romantic restaurant was amazing, and yes, the food was good (especially the crepes flambé!), but the male waiters there were horrible. The mexican place was okay (not a big fan of mexican food in general), but the best part about this place was the fusion restaurant. It had just opened and the food was amazing. There were 14 different things divided into 6 servings or so and it was all nicely put on the plates and everything. The rooms were as expected considering the fact that it's Cuba, very little money etc. Over all an amazing beach and location, and pretty good food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Emily,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in our resort. We are glad to know you and your friends had a good time and that you approved of our most recent Restaurant. We are really sorry you had a bad experience at the Romantic Restaurant with some of the staff, we will rectify this immediately to ensure the staff attitude and the service in general is attuned with the excellent ambience of the place.
We look forward to offering you an outstanding and much better service next time you and your friends visit us. We sincerely hope you do.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Well we really enjoyed our 10 days at the Paradisius. I'm not going to go into the basics as there are already very detailed reviews here and as my experience was largely if not almost entirely positive I won't repeat what has already been said - so this is a personal slant. Similarly there are tons of photos here which speak for themselves I shall try and just include some of the grounds which may be of practical use there are plenty of others of the rooms.

We stayed in the Servicio Real. We thought that this represented very good value - including butler services, separate restaurant - which really is much better than the other options available (we tried most of them) - and private transfers to Havana airport - the rate published on the hotel website was much more than we actually paid and we booked months in advance. The staff in the entire hotel is fantastic - impeccably trained, with great manners and personality. I was really impressed by their linguistic abilities - English, French, German, Spanish of course...We had good butlers, but Luis Enrique was especially helpful, even helping me find my lost camera with all my Cuba photos stored on it. The restaurant staff and reception staff in SR were excellent - we had no problems anywhere.

For myself I would only stay in the SR because to be blunt the regular hotel is just too big for me - and frankly wasn't what I was after. But if you do stay in the SR you really need to use both sides of the hotel, because the SR side is a bit small and you do need the other facilities in the main area too. Taken together the two sides were great.

One or two gripes. It was almost impossible to find a sun bed by the SR pool. They were all continuously "reserved" by the ubiquitous towel layers and if you had not done this before 8.00am you had no chance. This did not bother me because I like the beach - and was happy to use the main beach, no more than 5 minutes away. The SR beach is not great and it is impossible to swim from but you can walk along it to the main beach and it was still a beautiful view. Oh yes my major problem - lack of wi-fi. I understand there is no wi-fi in all of Varadero and I'm not sure how much the hotel can do about this. The 4 internet terminals in the SR are freely available but the connectivity is very poor and ridiculously slow. Some people for whatever reason in the second decade of the 21st Century do NEED to use the internet on holiday - we can't all just abandon work even for a week or 10 days, we also need to check-in online etc. I accept that this may be outside of the hotel's control but for us it was problematic. Our hotel in Havana did have wi-fi.

Really excellent main beach, lovely staff, great single storey front line bungalow - what more could you want? There are lots of activities - there are quite a few children around in both sides, so be aware if this will be a problem for you. The animation team throw their hearts and souls into their tasks... I have to mention Dennis in particular and thank him for his sense of fun and the time he took to make sure we enjoyed our time in the resort and Varadero.

I would certainly return to this hotel and recommend it. I just have to feel robust enough to deal with Havana airport again before I can go back to Cuba!

Room Tip: I think you get what you pay for. Didn't see inside one of the main rooms but the entire resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reluctant_Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your nice review about your stay! We are happy to learn you enjoyed your 10 days with us and that you have plans to return in the future. We appreciate your positive remarks on our staff; they really make our daily work worthwhile. We are aware that most people need to use Internet even on vacation, that is why we are doing everything in our power to install Wi-Fi this year, to facilitate communication via Internet. Perhaps, next time you visit us this will not be a problem for you.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Service section for a week at the beginning of March. Unfortunately the weather was not good for the first three days, and there was not alot to do.
The royal service restaurant was good, particularly the service, but has a limited menu that does not change. For the first four days there were no fries, so we were served hash browns as an alternative to rice. We also ate in the Italian, Mexican and Romantic restaurants. The Romantic was excellent. We walked around the main buffet restaurant, which looked very good, but we did not eat there as we prefer a la carte service.
The bar in royal service was well stocked, with good bar men. The bar was quiet, although we met some good people to have a drink with most nights.The main resort bar was a lot busier, but still had a good range of drinks and good service. We enjoyed the pool bar at royal service, and Lidaimi and Jorge provided excellent service
The resort is vast. The beach at royal service is not a beach, only rocks, but a short walk takes you to the beach at the main resort. This beach is magnifient, and the water crystal clear.
We were not sure what the point of a Butler was, and we are still not. We never got one dinner reservation at the time requested, and that is all we asked of our butler all week. We were allocated two butlers who worked alternative days. The other butler we only saw once in four days. Maybe we should have tipped up front rather than only giving tips for receiving good service.
We had a suite with sea view. The suite was clean, but for 5* should have been better equiped. A few of the benefits / room services were not offered to us, and we did not feel that we should have to ask our butler. We paid for the services, they should have been offered to us.
After researching on Tripadvisor we knew we were not going to a typical 5* hotel. It is Cuba and taking that into account the food was good. The service from most staff was excellent. The reception area is well constructed and maintained, therefore there is no excuses for the rooms not to be. We have read reviews about management walking around and talking to guests. We never experienced this and would have welcomed the opportunity to meet the management team. Most 5* resorts have a meet the management weekly drinks reception. Maybe there is a reson this hotel does not.
Overall we have given an average rating, but the hotel is not far short of very good. For the money we paid we could have stayed in other 5* hotels in the caribbean and had a better room and better food. On the other hand we would not have experienced Cuba, which was well worth the experience, if only once.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Adrian,
We really appreciate your taking the time to write your personal comments on your stay. Knowing positive and negative pointers of our hotel help us to evaluate and improve the service we offer on a daily basis. We want to apologize for not being able to fulfil your expectations. I have shared your comments with the rest of our team so we start addressing the issues you were not satisfied with immediately.
Our General Manager is always willing to meet and talk to anyone who requests so, nevertheless, we will take your remarks on this issue as a suggestion. He would really like to have a chance to meet you, should you have plans to return to Paradisus Varadero in a not very distant future.
With warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
3.1 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#14 of 64 in Varadero
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,595 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#7 of 64 in Varadero
6,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Frances, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Varadero
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#3 Family Hotel in Varadero
#7 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $229 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Rincon Francés, part of the Varadero ecological reserve. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 510 rooms. This charming world is privileged with elegance, refinement and privacy, especially its Royal Service. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons, incentives and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Varadero Resort And Spa
Paradisus Varadero Hotel Varadero
Varadero Paradisus
Paradisus Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing