We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay - but fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A short stay - but fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A stay in the Royal Section, is truely a wonderfull experience! :-) I love the intimacy of a "hotel within a hotel", the wonderfull room & "spa", kind & personalised service, an elegant restaurant, a quiet pool area, lovely drinks and snacks! Thank you for a truely marvoulous stay!

Room Tip: I personally enjoyed being near the pool/reception/restaurant area, as I was travelling alone, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Tinne,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Royal Service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a longer stay.
Best regards from The Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,497
    1,273
    655
    324
    185
See reviews for
1,556
2,211
98
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely resort, lovely people, excellent pool (when the sea was too rough), scuba divers paradise - but 5 star it isn't.
The food was at best 3-4 star - and how does a 5 star resort in the home of the cuba libra run out of limes?
Whilst the junior suites are a good size and have all the facilties (except fo rthe coffee maker), a very comfortable bed and good size bathrooms, they are poorly lit and badly finished. The tiling in the bathroom was of very questionable poor (both style and quality) and it looked like they had employed a not very good DIY enthusiast who had only a standard tile cutter available. The effect is to make a good room feel like a delapidated tired 3-star.
If I had been sold this as a 3-4 star resort I may have been happy - but it was sold as a 5 star high quality resort.

Room Tip: Scuba diving is very good value - one free dive per day then $20 per subsequent dive (first second d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Nick,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are in the process of renovating the hotel and soon we will have new and updated rooms.
About the limes, we were run out of them during your stay, as the rest of the Cuban hotels, because of the effects of the hurricane “Sandy”, which caused some damages to our lime suppliers during some weeks. We apologize for this inconvenient.
Our focus is to give our guest excellent service, good and clean rooms. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in order you can enjoy our new and renovating rooms.
With kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

On the plus side:
The Paradisus Royal Service is the way to go, the regular service simply does not be compare. Significant differences experienced with the Royal Service Ocean View Suite that we had included a truly excellent view of the ocean from a sizeable balcony, a luxurious outdoor yet very private ensuite shower, indoor ensuite jacuzzi tub, complimentary packing and unpacking service if you want it, 24 hour room service is only a phone call away, a very well stocked in room bar with rum, scotch, gin, vodka, wine, beer and champagne, an upscale restaurant and indoor bar / lounge that is exclusively for the use of the Royal Service guests, and a fantastic outdoor pool also with private bar and all day Balinese (covered) beds that are also only available as part of the Royal Service. Add to all of this a free internet access lounge, preferred reservations to the other theme restaurants in the resort (set up in advance for you by one of your personal butlers assigned to look after you during your stay), and golf cart "taxi" service to take you around if and when you don't feel like walking, you start to get an idea of the value equation for the premium that you pay for the Royal Service. To round out the excellent amenities, Paradisus has the best gym (aerobics on one side, free weights and machines on the other side) that we have seen in our travels, along with a very well equipped and extensive Spa that offers numerous treatments, massages, saunas, steam rooms and hot tubs. The gym and spa are available to all the guests of the resort, but Royal Service guests get preferred rates (30% off) on massage treatments.
The final surprise (this being our first trip to Paradisus) was the private shuttle to and from the airport - just our driver and us for the pickup from and return trip to the airport - a wonderful touch.
The hotel staff really make the effort to pamper guests. The groundskeepers are out at first light grooming the lawns, shrubs, trees and pathways so that the look is always immaculate. The housekeeping is excellent (thank you Mariliou!!) and professional. Everyone is smiling and friendly at all times. While we had no problems whatsoever while we were there, the staff are always checking to make sure that the customer service is second to none. There were so many staff members to thank - among them our Butlers; Serguey and Arien who took care of our every need; the bar and restaurant coordinator Abel who we chatted with several times, and Jorge who made the most excellent Pina Coladas at the private Royal Service poolside bar.
The cons:
The quality of the food is extremely important to us while vacationing, and in this regard the Paradisus only gets an average score. However in all fairness we believe,having spoken to guests staying at other highly rated resorts it is a common problem in most of them... It comes down to a limited selection of beef, chicken and pork, and the manner in which it is prepared. We found it mostly to be overcooked and tough. As we moved to more vegetarian menu choices, the food quality was much better, although still short on items such as lettuce, fresh tomatoes etc. We realize that some of the quality and type of food we are accustomed to is simply not available there, but it still means that if you have a selective pallet, you are likely to be underwhelmed by the food. In all, the entire staff at the Paradisus make customer service their top priority, and within the limitations of the food selection they have to deal with, they do the best that they can with it. One last comment regarding the private beaches for the Royal Service side - they were unusable while we were there - perhaps due to the recent effects of Hurricane Sandy which may have stripped away the fine white sand, exposing the razor sharp coral and rock substrata. The alternative was the main beach, which was extensive and appeared quite acceptable - we are not beach people, so it was not really an amenity that we used. They indicated that the Royal Service private beaches will be getting "layered" with generous helpings of the fine white sand that Cuban beaches are so famous for. This was the only reason we rated the location as Very Good instead of Excellent.

Room Tip: The Royal Service Ocean View suites are quiet, well equipped and the private outdoor shower and jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank K55andJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for posting your opinion, because as I always say it is important for us to know “the plus” and “the cons” points about our product and service.
I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for second time.
With kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just returned from 10 days at the paradisus we stayed in the royal section this was our second time to come here and if ever i was to be asked my idea of paradise i would just say let me stay here for ever the hotel is just wonderful the staff cant do enough for you from the waiters to grounds keepers one grounds man made my wife a hat woven of palm tree leaves with looked like a cricket landing on it so gifted hands sorry if i seem to go on but cant recommend this hotel enough we have started saving to return as soon as possibly can or win the lotto lol

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinBilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share this review and the valuable comments you’ve provided in it.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind regards from The Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay in the Royal Section was simply luxurious. The quality of the room to the service provided by the butler and the maid were first class. The resort offers a wide variety of amenities with daily activities and plenty of sunbeds for the less active.We enjoyed the spa and found the staff their helpful and professional.
It is worth trying all the restaurants just to get a variety. Some of the restaurants were better than others, but the service was always good and the staff friendly.
We went on a few trips including a night out to hear the music of Bueno Vista travelling by vintage car. Amazing ! We also swam with Dolphins, although I now have mixed feeling about the whole idea of captive animals....
Would I return to Paradisus? Like a shot! The whole experience was just so relaxing and rejuvernating and that was as much to do with the kind and friendly staff as is was to do with the surroundings. This has to be one of the best hotels in Cuba..So thank you to all who made our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Lizzy,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is nice to read good comments of the facilities and the service and make us proud to serve you.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

On Friday, September 28, 2012 we arrived at the Paradisus Resort and Spa, Varadero, Cuba. As we did last year we chose to stay in the Royal section of this luxurious resort. Last year's experience was absolute perfection. If you can believe it this wonderful resort improved upon perfection to make this year's stay an even grander experience. The resort is extremely well maintained and very beautiful. The landscaping is elegant and manicured to perfection. The pool and waterfront are also a taste of perfection. Our accommodations are spectacular being very roomy and tastefully decorated. The Balinese showers are incredible and very private. The food everywhere is delightful and a treat for your pallet, even for us vegans. The a la carte restaurants are very delightful and the buffet offers a huge selection of excellent foods. This year our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren (5 and 3 years old) joined us. They, too, loved their Paradisus experience and are already talking about our return trip next year. We did remember to bring insect repellent for those pesky mosquitoes and it worked very well. As I bring to mind the pictures of this exquisite resort I come to a great realization and that is, that, it is not the architecture and landscaping that actually made this experience so incredible. Although the architecture and landscaping are impeccable, I realize, it is the people at the Paradisus that made our experience perfection. I have never met such a large group of sincere, caring, wonderful people at any other resort we have stayed at. The people here are genuine and do everything in their power to make your vacation as enjoyable as they possibly can. Eldys and Kenya are truly delightful human beings who anticipate your every wish and make them come true, even a private, surprise birthday celebration catered on our patio. Thank you so very much. Jorges and the staff at the pool are always so cheerful and extremely attentive, even to our little ones. We did miss Lachina at the pool though and we are hoping to see her back there when we return next year. The lovely ladies who cater to cleaning our room and making it ready at night time are also most delightful. The wonderful chefs who went out of their way to cater to our special vegan dietary needs were so thoughtful and very creative. Giovanni our special friend who tended to the gardens and brought fresh flowers daily is so thoughtful and polite. At the bar in the lobby was Ray, who was always so cheerful and so easy to chat with. The staff who greet us in the reception area of the Royal section also are such a delight and always so cheerful. The kind men who drove us to the a la carte restaurants were always so thoughtful and kind. Dayamis Logilde, the manager, is also so thoughtful and very obliging. At the beach bar, Leydi Laidy made our trip to the beach an unexpected delight. Thank you to each and everyone of these great people for going above and beyond to insure our stay with them was a success. It certainly was. Everywhere we turn they are more and more wonderful people we meet there. What an experience. The only draw back to this whole fantasy vacation was we chose to only stay one week. We will not make that mistake again. Thanks again to everyone at Paradisus resort and Spa, Varadero, Cuba. I strongly recommend this location for a vacation that is perfection.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with more than one child and staying in the royal section ask them to remove t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Ginny,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor about your second stay at Paradisus Varadero and we are very grateful for your kind words, comments and the time you spent on this review.
We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Cuba.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found this resort an excellent choice when it came to beach location, quality of services and discreetness of hotel’s staff.
Hotel grounds were a prime example of a very good effort to blend hotel amenities with surrounding palm trees i.e. natural habitat. There was plenty of space for leisurely strolls and meeting with other people.
Somehow, there were very few moments where a guest would feel being brought into a situation to be solicited for any activity while on the premises.
It was the first time, when in Cuba, that we felt much better about being left to enjoy the programs and activities at our own pace which was yet another quality to be appreciated.
We were under impression that subsequent tours were not aggressively as promotional as in some other hotels.
Our experience of relaxing, unobtrusive atmosphere always present, was one of the better experiences we had in Cuba. One could tell, when comparing this hotel location in Varadero with other locations in Cuba that Varadero was an established tourist destination.
Hotel staff were, with very few exceptions, very sensitive to the needs of their guests and very tactful when unreasonable requests would be placed. We compared near by hotels and Paradisus, for a good margin, earned better marks in our books.
All in all one would rate this vacation destination as comfortable as it gets.

Being located close to Havana and Varadero one could choose daily trips to complement their stay at the hotel.
We felt very good about our choice to stay at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa.

Room Tip: One had a choice of choosing rooms near the beach front or staying near the pools and restaurants. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nena and Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residentmanagerPVA, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Nena and Tom,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such detailed review of your stay with us.
We are delighted to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and we take the chance to thank you for your opinions about our staff, services and facilities!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the next future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
2.9 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,748 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa

Property: Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Frances, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Varadero
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#3 Family Hotel in Varadero
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Rincon Francés, part of the Varadero ecological reserve. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 510 rooms. This charming world is privileged with elegance, refinement and privacy, especially its Royal Service. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons, incentives and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Prodigios Interactivos SA so you can book your Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Varadero Hotel Varadero
Paradisus Varadero Resort And Spa
Varadero Paradisus
Paradisus Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing