We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of IBEROSTAR Tainos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed July 25, 2009

this is my first review so bear with me. when we arrived at the hotel, i thought what have i done, it was hectic as a lot of people on our flight were staying there, i am fussy thought windows could do with a clean. Anyway, they cleared the queue quickly and we were shown to our room.... didnt like it. no problem we were moved within five minuets to a beach bungalow which was fine, little less storage but no problem. Dinner first night ok look you know its cuba and you will get some random stuff, but all in all, rob and i both put a few pounds on. breakfast good, even the bacon, nice and crispy. Lunch, if the birds pecking at the bread bothered you there was always the main buffet inside or the beach barbie. Drinks yummie cocktails a bit strong, not a problem for me, and the fizz and wine were lovely. What can i say about the mozzies.... a pain, go well prepared with sprays and lotions and dont dismiss the cuban restaurant, were long sleeves and trousers, its worth it the service is first class, and the japanese is fun, take the camera. The entertainment, these young people work so hard to make sure you have a good time there not going to get to know you if you dont join in, the shows in the evening are on the whole jolly good and if you are a couple on your own you can pass a couple of hours away in there. Elvis is a scream and meet all expectations, from past reviews. the dancers are super and as good as the tropicana. as for being a couple on your own... you wont stay that way for long we meet the best people. Nick and Lynda, Kevin and Janet, Sonya and Al , fab made our holiday complete. As for the trips. Dont think you will be better of doing havana on your own. you wont. Our trip was good value, overnight including the tropicana with a great guide named Boris, the hotel was lovely we stayed at the melia havana, Nice. It was good to have a guide in havana it can be a little scary, like all big cities. Boris took us to all the right palaces so we wasted no time. If you go, do lunch at the national its worthwhile. We did the VIP at the airport, thats good to, varadero airport is small, you will get a comfie sofa, air con and a plate of sarnies and drinks. This holiday was great value for money the cubans are lovely, please if you go, take a trip to primark take the girls at the hotel some cheap and cheerfull pretties and tights, they really are so gratefull. We were told to take crayons and razors, we did, but our luggage was a little lighter on the way home as rob was only to glad to give away some of the shirts he was never to fond of. It would be very easy for us to go again next year. But the worlds a big place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jillywillyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,973 - 1,979 of 4,143 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

We were 4 together in Two rooms in Tainos. We had 10 great dayes at the Resort. The Beach are wonderfull, the water are more than 30 C. There are a bar at the beach serving the Hotel guests with drinks. All the staff were friendly and helpfull. The foot are Cuban - not a gourmet but eatable. The rooms are okay but not new and mordern.

The staff were making good fun with the guests at the pool and at the beach. Every Evening was there something going on in the Disco.(we were not there) . In the main hall were the bar is, and open to the outside, you most take some repellant agaist mosquitos.

We can recommend Ibero Tainos Varadero.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuntravellerVejle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Check In
Fast and efficient no problems at all

Room
Spacious for two people,king size bed which was changed every day,fridge stocked every second day with beer,juice and water. Maid kept room immaculate with lovely towel decorations almost every day.Stayed in room 3814

Restaurants
Buffet never let us down you can always find something to satisfy even the fussiest eater,friday night is lobster night delicious mmmm
Japanese
Very very good indeed we went three times the food is tremendous
Cuban
Only went once second last night,food is very good but you get eaten alive by mosquitoes my wife had at least 60 bites.
Bars
Lobby Bar is great smashing cocktails and service fantastic Mary and Esperanza in the afternoons were gems as were Carlos and Orlando in the evenings.
Beach bar
Small but very nice only used it on a few occasions
Pool Bar
What can i say the barman George and waiter Arliene are two of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet made our holiday their knowledge of the area is fantastic.
Theatre Bar
Fully air conditioned and lovely to sit in and enjoy the fantastic shows put on by the animation team,great cocktails here to.
Animation Staff
Absolutely brilliant these guys and girls are on the go from 10am until at least 11.30pm every single night an absolute credit to their enthusiasm and professionalism.

mozzies are bad but you can buy a spray on the internet called simply Bens never got bitten once not even in the Cuban.

Beach is fantastic clearly the best on the Varadero strip.

Overall a fantastic holiday already booking to go back next year and we met some lovely people so hi to Nick & Linda, June & Paul and Chris, Rob & Jill,

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank silverfox1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed in the Tainos for 2 weeks, in an upstairs bungalow. The first thing to say is that the staff are superb, helpful, friendly and welcoming. Their command of not only English but also for many French and German among others is fantastic. The resort itself is well placed and the beach could be no more than a couple of minutes walk from even the furtherst room. The food can be a little repetitive in the buffet restaurant after a week, but there is still quite a good selection and it tasted good. The Japanese restaurant is great and they put on a good evening. We didn't go to the Cuban style restaurant as it is very open and there is no protection from the mosquitoes. Unfortunately I was eaten alive on the holiday but its a tropical island in the wet season and I'm prone to insect bites in general so there's no one to blame for that. The room was a great size and it was nice to be seperate from the main hotel. I didn't find the gardeners that noisy, and the gardens are fabulously maintained, the hotel looks beautiful. The pool was a little small but the beach was just amazing, far nicer to be there anyway. The evening entertainment wasn't for us, a bit cheesy and for a couple in their mid twenties it just didn't suit, but the lobby bar was nice and the drink is all inclusive so we can't complain! Though the entertainment staff were friendly and definitely work hard.

The one thing I would mention is the toilets in the lobby are not well maintained, so if you like me are fussy about toilets be aware of this. The rest of the hotel though we couldn't find fault with.

We did 3 trips - Jeep Eco Tour - Off road in an open top jeep, you get to see where the real Cubans live, drive speed boats, snorkelling, horse riding at a ranch that had been a former slave plantation and lunch included - highly recommended.
3 cities Santa Clara, Cienfuegos and Trinidad - This is a long day with a lot of bus travel. My boyfriend was not overly impressed with this trip, but I really enjoyed it, so much to see and you get dropped into a Cuba which is nothing like Varadero, lunch included again. - Be ware that you can get harrassed in Trinidad by ppl asking for money or trying to sell you dodgy cigars!
Crucero del Sol - Sailing on and snorkeling from a large Catamaran, time and seafood lunch on a desert island beach. There is usually swimming with dolphins in an ocean based enclosure and a sunset cruise, however there was a problem with the dolphins and it was not possible for that day, though we had the extra money we paid refunded without even asking for it. - The boat staff are forward about asking for a tip at the end - be prepared for that. - Even without the dolphins brilliant trip.

Overall we had a superb holiday and for those who have been negative about the hotel - there is just no pleasing some people! You need to be aware that you are going to a state controlled Carribean country.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank frice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Even though this hotel has plenty of excellent features such as the lush gardens (including an aviary), spacious lobby bar, picturesque pool and beach areas and spacious rooms, it’s the staff that makes the hotel what it is. Nothing is too much trouble for them. From the helpful and professional reception staff and the friendly maids through to the security guards and porters, they all excelled their duties when attending to guest's requirements. One of the best hotels we've stayed at in a long time. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWGILMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We travelled on the 26th june for 2 weeks in a party of ten which included 1 12 yr old, teenagers and adults. on arrival (which was late due to a 4 1/2 hr delay at manchester) we were too tired to look around properly. I woke the next morning to a leg bitten by mosquitoes. 24hrs later i was at the clinic having injections cream and antibiotics to the tune of £90. great start. 48hrs later one of our teenagers was at the doctors with ear infection, cost £90 again. they will tell you that only their repellants will work in order to make you part with your cash. believe me, we took everything and nothing stops them. we were all bitten and a few of us reacted badly. the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. i had sand on my bedroom floor for a week. the bedding wasnt changed for 9 days. in the bar area the windows and doors are constantly open allowing frogs, cockroaches and mosquitoes to enter. we were told by another guest that they had found cockroaches in the bread. the food by the pool...beware. the flies are constant and birds fly onto the exposed food. the buffet restaurant is full of flies. the food was good some nights but overall the choice was poor. there is no air conditioning in the public areas, only in the bedrooms. the entertainment was appalling. there is no atmosphere around the pool. a few games of organised volleyball and hoopla. our youngsters played ping pong everyday to break the monotony of being bored. the daytrips are a complete waste of money. everyone there we spoke to couldnt wait to get back home. on a positive note, the beach is lovely with a few watersports to choose from. i would not recommend this hotel and in particular to parents who have children to keep amused.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

First of all let me say that there are no real big problems with this hotel or resort. It may not be what you are expecting if you want to indulge in the "local" scene as it is very tourist orientated. I, personally prefer to take in a bit of the local culture and people, hence I would suggest a 2 / 3 day trip to Havana is worthwhile. It did feel safe there, and I did like the people we came into contact with. We dived with the diving centre based on the marina and nothing was too much trouble for them, very enjoyable and relaxed. Okay, so the food may be a little repetitive, but it was fine, without sounding pompous or snobbish, Cuba may be in the Carribean but it is not the top destination, but surely it would be very boring if all the places in the world were the same. Go with an open mind and the intention to enjoy yourselves and you will have a great time. One word of warning, if you go in the rainy season, be prepared to bitten my mosquito'

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ange91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.9 mi away
Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
0.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
#28 of 64 in Varadero
7,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,884 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#7 of 64 in Varadero
6,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Tainos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Tainos

Address: Las Morlas, Km. 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $167 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Tainos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine sandy beach of Varadero. Tropical gardens. Water sports galore. A Caribbean village. Colourful, Cuban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your IBEROSTAR Tainos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tainos Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Hotel Tainos
Iberostar Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Tainos Cuba
Iberostar Tainos Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing