We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,607)
Filter reviews
4,607 results
Traveler rating
1,871
1,686
666
230
154
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,871
1,686
666
230
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cuban restaurant bungalow room pool bar main building julio cesar entertainment team star friends thomas cook every other day fish fantastic holiday small resort towel art overnight trip evening entertainment the cuban a la carte guest services
Filter
Updating list...
897 - 902 of 4,607 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having stayed at other Iberostar Resorts in Cuba and Jamaica, we hoped Tainos would live up to our expectations. I have to say, it surpassed our expectations in more ways than one!! We flew via Sunwing and the service on board was great.

When we arrived at Tainos, our room wasn't ready but check in was a breeze. Reception staff greeted us with a smile and spoke very good English. Ernesto , one of 2 porters,( Paedro being the other)stored our luggage so we could roam around the resort. It was quite windy that day, the red flag was up at the beach so we couldn't go swimming. The lobby is very spacious and clean. Yudel and the waitresses at the lobby bar are wonderful.Many renovations are being carried out at this resort, not only to the rooms but also the lobby is being re painted. The painters didn't interfere with the day to day activities in the lobby nor the guests with them.

Iberostar Tainos is a small resort making it easy to find your way around, everything is in close proximity. The grounds are well taken care of, very clean with lots of pretty flowers and beautiful trees. Gardeners work very hard to keep the grounds in such good shape but always have time for a chat or a smile.

The main dining room was never crowded and we could always find a table. At breakfast and lunch we would sit on the left side, Beatrice, Yadaisi , Jenni and Lili are amazing women. They always had a smile, a hug and would provide excellent service. At dinner we would sit on the right side to be taken care of by the Fab 5...another amazing group!!! One of the ladies (Diana) who works on the right is pregnant and greatly appreciates any baby things. There was lots of food variety, delicious breads, croissants, lots of choice for salads, (Papa makes great omelets),fresh juices...and the dining room was always spotless clean!!!

We were lucky to have a renovated room in block 24 with a pool view. Our mini fridge was re stocked every 2nd day, the air conditioning worked with out any problems, the maid left pretty towel art every day. Star Friends, and they truly are STAR FRIENDS,have activities by the pool every day but it is never extremely noisy there. They do not pressure anyone to take part but it is a great way to get to know them. They go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable! Activities also take place at the beach every day...lots of games and fun things!!! I wouldn't bother asking for an ocean view bungalow, I don't think any of them have such a view because of the fact they are only 2 stories high and there is an area of trees between the beach and the resort grounds. Each bungalow has 8 rooms, each with a corner balcony.

There is a pool bar/snack bar with a small sitting area and everyday at lunch time there are musicians to entertain you while you dine. Look for Julio around the pool / snack area, he is a great guy and has a 5 yr old daughter. His wife is Lili who works in the main dining area. It is also possible to sit in La Duna( on the left by the beach walkway) to have your lunch. This area offers a little more shade from the sun and a very interesting guy named George to get whatever you wish to drink. This area is divided in 2, the other side is the Cuban A La Carte. We did go to both a la carte restaurants and enjoyed both very much.

The beach very clean, powdery soft sand, lots of palapas and loungers, the beach bar has a deck with some tables and chairs , a great ocean view and George who works in La Duna along with Louis take care of the bar.

Just outside of the main lobby is a sitting area where they have nightly entertainment and dancing.There is also a theatre/bar where the nightly shows take place starting at 9:30 pm with the presentation of awards. The shows are wonderful, beautiful costumes, great singers/dancers and lots of laughs as well. Make sure you meet Elvis!!

It is possible to catch the double decker bus to go in to Varadero but you will need to make a short walk out to the main highway. It does not come directly to this resort.

As you enter the resort, the Guest Services desk is on the left with an amazing, kind lady by the name of Giselle, she is the gal you have to see to book your a la carte reservations and she will help with any question you might have. We also had the pleasure of meeting the resort manager Ana, she is usually out and about around the resort, or maybe in the lobby...very approachable and we heard many positive comments from the staff about her!

Tipping is a nice gesture but not once did we ever feel like it was expected or that services would be different if we didn't tip.

Our stay at Iberostar Tainos was most enjoyable!!!

Room tip: Don't bother asking for ocean view bungalow, they are only 2 stories high.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank karbar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to hear that we provided you with all the elements that made for peaceful and enjoyable your vacation. We deeply appreciate reviews made by guests such as you, and believe in working hard to ensure that we maintain the high standards set by our guests.

It is only natural that we would be excited at the prospect of welcoming you again and ensuring that you will have another great time with the Tainos family.

Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was our first trip to Cuba and had a wonderful time. We went with another couple, my sister and brother in-law and had an absolute blast! Iberostar Tainos is a hotel that we would highly recommend for a variety of reasons. First of all being that it is a fairly small hotel (272 rooms) everything is in close proximity to your room. We stayed in one of the bungalows which had a pool view. The ocean is pretty well 150 yards to the right of the pool as you walked down the bridge-like path. This hotel is known for having the best beach with white sand and clear blue water and we would agree. Also on the beach there is a very nice bar and plenty of palapas and lounges for the hotel guests to use.

The hotel employees work very hard to please the guests. They are extremely friendly and attentive to your needs. We thought the buffet and the two a la carte restaurants were great. We had some great interaction with some of the waitresses most notably Beatrice and Ellie. They always had a table waiting for us along with hugs and kisses. They made us feel very special.

Our room was clean and comfortable and serviced daily thanks to our maid Egnavi.
We loved the pool, it was beautiful! One night at dinner we all decided we would be coming back here next year. This hotel is definitely worth visiting!

Darren and Rhonda
Abbotsford B.C.
Canada

Room tip: Ask for pool view bungalow, top floor.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing as your destination in Cuba. Your comments and the time you dedicate to let us know a very valuable feedback of your stay at Iberostar. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your days with us, the rooms, food, beach and the service we offered.

Thanks again for your comments and constructive feedback . We will be waiting for your next visit.

Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at The Tainos in March. We had the best time ever. Staff are wonderful here from the gardeners to the management all go above and beyond to make your stay special. Food is varied and plentiful, really don't know what previous posters are whinging about. Entertainment is amazing, lots of very talented dancers,musicians and singers. The renovated bungalows are beautiful and have everything you need for a comfortable stay We have already booked to return next year. Please don't be put off by previous negative (my god, very lengthy) reviews. Ana the new manager is doing a wonderful job. I would not hesitate to reccommend The Tainos to anybody. Cant wait to return.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gaynor542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure for me to read all your complaisant words. Thank you very much again for your comments and your recommendation of Iberostar Tainos. Do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us again. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a little late but my husband, son and myself travelled to Iberostar Tainos and stayed from March 8-16. We researched profoundly the resort we wished to stay at during our 2014 vacation to Cuba. Like many others we read the reviews and viewed the pictures on tripadvisor and we were confident in our choice. Upon arrival I noticed the lobby was dirty and outdated, the wall behind the main service desk was in dire need of painting. I brushed this off, it was late 2:30am and I just wanted to get to our room. Oh, yes 20cuc for rental of the safe and yes the added tip for the bell boy. We were taken to a "renovated" bungalow on the second floor. My lord the air was so humid in the room I could barely catch my breath, we turned on the air conditioner and waited for the humidity to dissipate. We were greeted with three double beds in our room that were in very poor condition and the bed pillows were filthy. I brought my sleeping bag so I slept with that as my cover. There was a constant drip in the bathroom from the renovated shower and the bathroom window fell out when opened. We requested to be moved the next day so my husband and I could share a bed. The second room had a king bed, a second bed for our son. The beds are old and tired, there were stains (blood) and hairs on our blankets. It seemed like the bedding wasn't changed before we were moved into the room. The ants were in our cupboards, crawling on our table, in the mini fridge. It just felt dirty. Our room wasn't cleansed the duration of our stay, only the garbage's were emptied.

The food was terrible, the first five days of our stay.We managed to find something to eat but it left you wanting more. (We were to Cuba in 2013 so we knew what to expect) The main dining room was tired, dirty and in need of a major update. The dress code was non existent and people arrived in bathing suits with cover up to eat. I caught a worker removing a tray of food to the back counter, it was full hot and one of the only dishes I was interested in to try. I caught his eye with a questioning look?? I could go on with a list of negatives but I hope I have demonstrated what a let down this resort turned out to be. The only thing that made up for the trip was the beautiful, beautiful beach!! The review from Julia V, I know whom exactly she is referring to in regards to the ladies imposing on the beach!! We vacationed in Cuba in 2013, at Breezes Jibacoa. and it left us wanting more. We fell in love with Cuba but this time this experience left a bitter taste in our mouth. We will be vacationing else where in Caribbean this winter. Don't believe everything you read and see on here, it is very deceptive!!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank love2travel0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we are very sorry to hear about you recent stay which fell below expectations.
We would have loved to hear from you while you were in-house with a view to addressing the issues before you left in order to ensure a satisfactory vacation.

We apologize about the situation you described in your room and you can be sure that measures have being taking.

The hotel started a process of renovation last year and hasn’t been finished yet. Some of the bungalows were renovated and next year we will be changing all the textiles, decoration, linen, etc. The same with the buffet, this year it will be repainted and we will change the furniture. It is unfortunate you couldn’t find in our buffet or at the two specialty restaurants nothing of you taste. The chef is always accessible and tries to please all our clients, even if we have a menu to follow.

Again we are sad to hear about your dissatisfaction now and not during your stay. Nerveless we hope you give us another chance and come back to visit the hotel next year to see the improvements that have being made.

Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We arrived full of optimism, based on other reviews on TripAdvisor and the seemingly flawless photos of the Tainos. Or arrival was meet with a cold drink and a lobby which looked a little tired, which we were able to look past. Over the next six hours or so, we were able to get a feel for the hotel and it's facilities.

The food in the main restaurant was awful; it was basic and cheap. I even recall that the easiest of things to cook weren't cooked correctly, pasta for example, or chips. The restaurant was again tired and had a funny smell, not very pleasant when we had just come off an eight hour flight. Thinking about it, the food on the flight was better than the Taino's, and we all know the reputation airline food has.

Our first room was in a separate accommodation block. There's about twelve of them. The room was again tired and shabby, and in the bedroom and bathroom alike there was mildew and mould. The extra bed for our son was covered in wood chippings and the divert covers had strains and did not look clean. There were ants in the room also; wrote a lot actually.

After talking to reception, they claimed the room we were in had been recently refurbished, but they would still move us to a different room, if we'd like. We accepted. Again, we were meet with similar conditions to the last room, but this time with wires sticking out of the walls. No ants though. The balcony however showed signs of mice. (Cannot confirm there was an infestation).

We decided we would stay for the night and move to a different hotel the next day.

To get away from our new rooms 'delights' we went to the pool area. The water was disgusting. It was very hot, had a strange smell and had things floating in it (plasters, hair, dead flies, etc). The water obviously needed changing about three weeks ago. Around the pool, we were meet with more cables and litter, a dark dingy bar and poorly maintained grounds. Oh, I nearly forgot to mention the lifts. They were unsafe, jumped about a lot, were unlit and when they stopped at a floor, they sunk every time someone got on, and likewise jumped up each time someone got off. If they were in the UK, they would not be allowed to operate. I used the stairs for our staff at the Tainos, due to safety concerns.

Our nights sleep was okay, however the smell of cooking some us up at about five o'clock. You might think this is a nice thing. It wasn't. The extractor fans to the kitchen were about fifty feet from the balcony, and frying smells were not appreciated after our first day.

On a plus side though, the staff were very friendly, and the beach adjacent to the hotel was nice too.

We ended up in the Laguna Azul, which was much better, still the odd petty issue, but we ended up really enjoying our fortnights stay in Varadero.

Overall, my point is do not stay in the Tainos, unless you can put up with sub standard accommodation that is worthy of a high two star class, rather than the four states advertised.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheReviewer1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments. They are valuable feedback so we can improve our product and quality of service.

We are sorry to hear we couldn’t provide the vacation you expected, our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working in areas to be improved. The hotel continues a renovation plan that started last year that is not complete yet, the rooms will be renovated completely, (textiles, furniture, etc.) in the months to come as well the lift.

As the hotel is surrounded by vegetation, we try hard to avoid that the clients have any problems with mosquitoes or ants, as you mentioned in your review. However, even having a fumigation plan for the whole hotel, sometimes some of the areas needs more attention than others so we are already taking measures regarding this issue.

Regarding our food & beverage, we regret to hear that it did not live up to your expectations. Our Chef is committed to try to fulfill our guests’ requests if we have the opportunity.

We have also researched the records of our internal control of water quality in the pools during the days you and your family vacationed at our hotel. According to all our records, ideal chemical parameters have been effectively maintained in order to assure the safety and health of our swimming pool users. Besides our internal control, in Cuba we auditors from the state that come to audit our entire water quality program on a regular basis.

If you change your mind in the future and give us another chance, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews