We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Trip and still Fabulous”
Review of IBEROSTAR Tainos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“3rd Trip and still Fabulous”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having read reviews from people who stayed when we did with titles on their text such as "poor quality" and "crap hotel" I really have to say was I staying at a different hotel, did you not receive the same outstanding service I did, did you not enjoy the freshly cooked steak, shrimp, fish, chicken and pork I did evey day. Or maybe you just went into your holiday with an unrealistic expectation of what you would get from Cuba. The Tainos is clearly a 4 star all day long. Their is some minor refurbishment going on but they have to do it sometime. I love Cuba and I love the Tainos. We travel abroad 3 or 4 times a year and one of them is always to the Tainos the staff are fantastic and we will be booking again shortly. Thank you to Julio, Daysi, Yoslane, George, Reisel and Yudel all top quality staff at a top quality hotel. Ignore the ill informed and quite frankly idiotic reviews go here with a good attitude and a good feeling and you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DilbertPhilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

On a behalf of the staff here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your nice review. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
GM Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    1,465
    579
    192
    129
See reviews for
1,224
1,675
110
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have just returned from two weeks at the Tainos, my first visit to Cuba, with my friend who was returning for her second time.
I have never been anywhere in the world with better hospitality. ALL the staff were wonderful, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel location, beach and facilities were fab. The food was excellent and so much to choose from. Yes there were works going on, did it interfere with my holiday NO WAY! My one and only criticism was the big mat in the pool covering broken tiles, but had they of emptied the pool during my visit to fix this I'd of been far more disappointed. The hotel is busy all the year around and my guess is they will do this when it is at it very quietest. The hotel manageress was most approachable and helpful.
Would I recommend this hotel, yes, would I return, yes.

Room Tip: Cocktails on the hotel weren't all that brill, but all the other drinks were fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyme_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with other travelers your experience at the Iberostar Tainos.

It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our hotel. I am very glad to hear that we succeeded to fulfill your expectations.

We will be waiting for your next visit in a near future.

Best regards,
GM Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I agree with the lady below. We stayed in this 'supposed 4*+' hotel last week and it was disgraceful! We were shown to our room to discover the horror of mould, damp & corroded taps, broken furniture and what looked like someone had taken a crow bar to the door. The lift was very dark & dingy & felt like it was going to fail every time you stepped into it. The resort toilet were also dark & smelly! The buffet food was awful & on several occasions we had seen flies on the food! We also noticed that the night before's food looked like it had been reheated & placed back on for dinner next day. Day time cocktails were awful. Constant renovation works the whole week which we were never made aware of before we went. Swimming pool had a mat in the bottom which when shifted revealed a large area of missing tiles. Travel rep Luis had no people skills & didn't even care about his customers & didn't take complaints seriously! Internet service very slow, took 1 hour to load. We got moved rooms in which the TV was dated & didn't work, the sockets were different so travel adapters didn't work. Bathroom window dropped as soon as you opened it so bathroom constantly smelt damp. Balcony doors wouldn't lock. Reception staff couldn't or didn't want to help or understand complaints. Beach was nice but again after a few days renovation works began down there. Entertainment was poor for anyone other than Canadian or Spanish. Cuban restaurant was awful & had rude staff. Best thing about the nightmare holiday were Japanese restaurant, weather & our maid Yamila. All in all I wouldn't send my pet dog here! We will be complaining further to Thomson!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear we couldn’t provide the vacation you expected. We are taking your comments into consideration in order to improve our services maintaining the Iberostar standards, that are high in quality and recognized worldwide.

We apologyze about the renovations taking place, and we invite you to come back in the future to check personally the improvements at the hotel.


Best regards,
GM Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A crap hotel this is not !!!!!!! We were there at the same time as Rosie and had the most amazing time.
Yes there was work going on but not as intrusive as described.

We had the most amazing room, 1302 at the front of the hotel in the main building. It was actually a suite with a sofa and armchair, flat screen TV and a shower room, the bedroom had an enormous bed with a second flat screen TV plus fridge with mini bar tea making facilities a huge bathroom off with hairdryer and toiletries. The shower also had shampoo & shower gel dispensers.
The balcony was the biggest ever at 20 x 12 feet with wonderful 180 sea views.

We were there celebrating our 40th anniversary and we couldnt have chosen a better venue.

The food was excellent with a massive choice and well cooked, the drinks were spot on with lots of international brands and very good measures as well.
Tip Julio a couple of Pesos (£1.20) and he will look after you all day long.

The beach was the best ever soft white sand, the sea was like a warm bath and you could walk out safely a couple of hundred yards.
The beach bar was well stocked with gentleman George looking after you, try Georges Mojito its the best I have had around the world.

There is not one member of staff that dose not say "hola" with a smile all the time they do make you holiday.
The entertainment was the best you could wish for, laid back live bands at lunch time, pre evening meal time and the nightly show was just something else, truly professional shows.

Yes there was work going on but we were having so much of a good time to notice and yes the hotel is a tad tired but they are certainly putting that right.

Please go and enjoy, if you want 5 star luxury this hotel is not for you, but then again we didnt pay 5 star prices.

Keith & Lian

Room Tip: Room 1302, very quiet great sea views, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure for us to read all your complaisant words. We are working very hard to be able to offer our best to our clients in order to fulfill their expectations and I am very glad to hear that we succeeded. Do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us again. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
GM Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Well were do i start id read the reviews but went with an open mind im sorry to say i was so dissapointed the only good thing about our holiday this year was the friends wee met and the beach the hotel was not in my mind a 4 star firstly il go thru the bad toilets in hotel wer smelly cos the bins with used toilet tissue wernt emptied often enough , the toilets at the pool was like the black hole of calcutta no lights couldnt see wer to pee lol , not one toilet facilty at the beach bar which was inconvenient if u had to go quickly ,major renovation works going on were they closed the pool bar for the last week of our stay and used the ranchero bar so loads of banging by the workies round the pool also a lot of work in lobby bar they wer using an angle grinder one day so noise and loads of dust the hotel certainly needs updating but could they not have closed down for a week or two and get it all done if id have been told about this by thimpson i wudnt have went there , i didnt think the food was that great but maybe thats just me every tastes different but both myself and hubby plus a lot of people we spoke to had suffered tummy upsets , some of the staff wer on the fiddle with bottles of rum asking did wee want to buy them for cheap and the life gaurds had a wee stash down at the beach bar one approached us the second day we got there rooms were tired and dated but they wer cleaned every day and our maid was lovely the entertainment was ok they done their best to keep everyone occupied the thompson rep luis was an absoulout joke he organised a trip for us one with a private guide to havana for 120 quid which lunch was inc we ended up paying an extra 60 quid that day for the guide and drivers lunch and drinks cos they said they cudnt afford lunch and it was not inc spoke to luis he got on the phone blah blah blah said they wer sacked yea right luis he only tried to sell the same trip to a lovely liverpool couple we had met so luckily we could warn them thomsons pulling out of cuba completely so the rep didnt care think i wasnt the only one who wasnt happy about him , but on the good side most staff wer so lovely especiall george and elvis also we met some lovely new friends but sorry tainos we wont be coming back in the near future

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank rosie2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations on your stay at Iberostar Tainos. Your comments and the time you dedicate to let us know are very valuable feedback of your stay at Iberostar. You can be sure of the follow up of your comments in order to improve our services as well the correction of some of the other points mentioned in your review.
AS per the renovations taking place at the resort, we apologyze for the inconvenience. For this reason we wish you might consider giving us another opportunity to host you in the near future to experience all the positive changes made based on our guests recommendations with the intention of enhancing our facilities.

Best regards,
General Manager Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

stayed 29aug to 13 sept. second time at this hotel. will def be back. staff welcomed us as old friends do. reception staff and lobby bar staff are excellent. rooms and gardens spotless. cant understand why people try and find things to complain about? do they go on holiday to enjoy themselves or to make other peoples holidays a misery? they miss the beauty by looking for faults. manager should be proud of hotel and staff. all do a great job thank you. see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saoirse199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tainos for the second time and for sharing your experience with the Tripdavisor community. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments and we will be waiting for your third visit in a near future.

Best regards,
GM Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Positives - the staff were EXCELLENT!! The pool, beach, weather and gardens were fantastic. The food and restaurants had plenty of varied of dishes!! The bars had a good stock of drinks and there was plenty of activities to do.
The negatives - it would be better in the lobby/bar if there was a non smoking area. Some of the bed linen was tired and did have some stain BUT they were clean.
Unfortunately, due to the embargo Cubans don't have access to the detergents they we may be used to or sauces and spices that we are accustomed to.
Positives - did I say the staff were excellent, warm, friendly and very very talented!!

Room Tip: I can't comment on the chalets but I would suggest trying for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have hosted you on your recent Cuban vacation. We appreciate that you took the time to provide a review of your trip, the positive and the negative as we can work to improve them. Your kind compliments are encouraging us to keep working hard. And we will be waiting for you in the near future!

Best regards
GM Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
1.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,393 reviews
5.1 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
6,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Tainos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Tainos

Property: IBEROSTAR Tainos
Address: Las Morlas, Km. 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#14 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Tainos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine sandy beach of Varadero. Tropical gardens. Water sports galore. A Caribbean village. Colourful, Cuban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your IBEROSTAR Tainos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tainos Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Hotel Tainos
Iberostar Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Tainos Cuba
Iberostar Tainos Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing