We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 or a 5 But a solid 3”
Review of IBEROSTAR Tainos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Meet Pedro in the front lobby and he will be ever so helpful he is a bonus to this hotel. The buffet was not the most pleasant part of this hotel the lack of enthusiasm from the kitchen staff at the grill was very dissapointing. From soggy french toast to the lack of bacon for breakfast or any other meat. If you live on pasta or french fries and pizza its a winner. Carry out fruits and treats where non exsistant other than bananas. The one thing you should know about Veradero resorts is the futher out the penisula you go the newer the hotel. Do not take the bus tour to Habana rent a private vintage cab talk to Pedro he'll fix you up with the best guide 4 people 8 am to 5 pm guide and driver $150.00 Plus a good tip if you enjoy it they where very knowlegable and speak perfect English. Rent a scooter have fun very safe in Veradero.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow very quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Repo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Repo R,

I wish to thank you very much your feedback in regards to your experience with us. I have taken note of all the comments that of course are discussed with the involved department heads.
Do not hesitate in contacting us if you are planning to come again to any Iberostar Hotels.

Warm regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,096)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Tainos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 4,096 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fabulous. Very clean, the cleaners work all day long, the gardens are immaculate, the Gardner's work all day long. There is always every type of meat
In the restaurant, also many types of fish that is cooked in front of you. An assortment of vegetables, potatoes cooked several different ways, rice, pasta, salads, salad dressings, everything that you could cook at home and a lot that you dont cook at home. Breakfast is the same with several types of bread and rolls and everything that you could possibly want. The staff are very helpful and if you ask a question of one and they don't have the answer, they will go out of their way to find someone who does have the answer. Every member of staff will help you with any question that you have. Great hotel, wonderful staff, delicious fresh food and fantastic entertainment. What else could anyone ask for. Roy a

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. The disco is next to the buffet restaurant so as there are no rooms nearb...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astra578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Astra578,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Tainos. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Tainos and I remain at your entire disposal.

kind regards,
Alberto Herrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently returned after a one week vacation from Iberostar Tainos on March 27th 2013.
This was our third trip to Cuba, the previous were stayed at Iberostar Playa Alameda.

Tainos is the oldest of the Iberostar Hotels in Varadero but in my opinion, it is one of the best kept secrets. I'll do my best to walk you thru the resort

The hotel is located about two thirds of the way out on the penninsula. It is considered a small resort with a small footprint and 272 rooms. The rooms are either located in the main building or scattered across the resort in 8-unit bungalows. We stayed in room 3213 which was next to the pool but facing away from the pool.

The lobby was big and airy. New furniture made it apealing and comfortable to lounge around with a drink. The reception was fast, pleasant and courteous. No complaints. We were even given a beverage during the short checkin wait.

We were whisked away to our bungalow where we found it to be central to the pool, lobby and beach. No complaints. Even the furthest bungalow was relatively close to everything,

The room was smallish. Our family of four was adequately provided with a king bed, a double bed, and a single bed....which meant only a small space in between each bed. But even for us, the room size was ample. No complaints. The balcony and stairs of the bungalows all have newer handrails which look really nice. All buildings have recently pained exteriors.
Everything worked...never ran out of hot water and no bugs, (except for very very small ants which our friend Raid took care of :) ) The bathroom even had a bidet!! And a good hair dryer.
Note: There is no 110 repecptacle in the room...all are 220 round prongEuro style, except the 220 flat blade NA stye in the washroom. There is no iron or coffee maker in the room.
Fridge is stocked every second day with some water pop and beer. There wasnt a dresser to put our clothes but a good size closet with shelves workd fine.
Beds were very very comfortable and pillows were huge and soft!

The beach. Awesome!! I was very impressed. Lots of palapas and about half the loungers were new. Beach bar is being rebuilt and about 1/3 complete. A temp bar is set up and had no complaints getting our drinks during the day. No lineups and no waiting.

The Pool. Awesome. Clean and the deep end is big and over 5 feet. Very nice. The loungers around the pool are all new and there is ample palapas.

Food. We didnt try the Cuban ala carte. The Japanese was a good show and had good food. Just dont expect huge portions. We brought in fries for the kids from the buffet and the staff did not mind one bit.
The cook we had was a bit mechanical with not much emotion but did impress the guests seated with his skills.
The main buffet was great. Nicely setup with little to no lineups for beakfast or dinner. Food was very good...freshly grilled chicken beef and fish...pizzas, pasta, and a variety of premade dishes what were all mostly appealing to me. My favorites...fresh omelet in the morning, grilled meats in the evening, great black beans and rice, very good yuca, potatoes and green beans. Lots more... Oh the bread is awesome...and they had prosciutto and salami that was soooo good!
The pool side buffet had breakfast for the late risers and then lunch soon after. We ate daily here around 1:30ish and found the food to be adequate to good. The main buffet was also available for lunch but we never tried it. Burgers, fries, pizza and some assorted dishes. Sometimes had paella or fresh grilled meats. Lots of salad and veggies.

Bars: Earliest bars open is 9:00 am which is the only place and earliest you can get good fresh brewed coffee. There is a beach bar, a bar at the cuban restaurant, a bar by the pool, a bar in the theater, and a bar in the lobby. All were good and never had to wait longer than a minute for a drink.

The evening shows were very good. The indoor air conditioned theater is a plus for anbience and sound.

The resort overall is well manicured with gardeners working hard trimming and digging daily, There isnt much broken or in need of repair. Walkways are well lit and the grounds are clean.

There is a kids club that we never used.

The staff at Tainos (as echoed by others here) is the best you can imagine and makeup for whatever shortcomings the resort has . Most work hard to make your stay most memorable. This is clearly evident by Roberto Ramos, who can be found overseeing every facet of the resort operations while making sure guests are happy with their stay.

Overall, I would rate this hotel a 8.5-9/10.

Only things I would wish for are:
Earlier ie 7:00 am availability of fresh brewed coffees and capucinos
Or Coffee makers in the room
Bath robes (i know... lol)

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend Iberostar Tainos for a great quiet relaxing family vacation!

Room Tip: Bungalows were preffered but heard no complaints from people in the hotel rooms either
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Flumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Flumes,

It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.
Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Tainos and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Tainos

Warm regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I spent a week with a girlfriend at this resort: we loved the bungalow accommodation. Enjoyed lots of birdlife, geckos and lizards around the property. Beach was stunning and we particularly liked the catamaran trip out to snorkel on the offshore reef. Everyone we met on staff was welcoming, friendly and cheerful. We were impressed with the calibre of the live music as well as the evening shows in the theatre. Our only complaint was about the non-existent continental breakfast prior to 7 a.m. (we had to leave super early on a tour) and about the poor quality of the buffet coffee - worse than dishwater. The coffee at the bars was great, but unfortunately this was not available until 9 a.m., so of no use to early risers. Overall, we loved the resort and would highly recommend it for people who enjoy a smaller property with personalized service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Frances S,

I wish to thank you very much your feedback in regards to your experience with us at Iberostar Tainos.
Thank you for writing your valuable impressions on the continental breakfast and cofee, which have been considered by our Food and Beverage Managers.

Do not hesitate in contacting us if you are planning to come again to Iberostar Tainos.

Warm regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

First of all, i would like to congratulate the hotel staff, starting with the hotel manager, the animation team, the barmans, the people from the restaurant, the receptionists!!! Great job, really! Me and my friend spent 1 week at the begining of March 2013 at the hotel! The weather was quite bad, it rained in 5 days from 7 :( , it wasn't normal... But guess what? We didn't feel it was raining thanks to all the great people that work in this hotel! You can imagine how hard it is to keep the good spirit to hundreds of people who came there especially for the good weather and sun! Hod difficult it is to create all sort of games and animation programs when it's raining! But they did a hell of a job and I want to thank them! I am sorry that I don't remember all their names, because they all remembered ours, every time we met they called us by our names, smiling, and being as nice as possible!
Regarding the hotel, I have no complaint, all type of food, good bear, I recommend Cristal beer :), good cocktails :), good music, every evening and every day for a few hours we have good live music! The rooms were clean, maybe not the newest furniture, but it was really clean I cannot complain!

I already book a new vacation for October, hoping that next time the weather will be better :)

Room Tip: the rooms from the villas are the best
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andreea954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Andreea954,

On behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos I would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest Regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms were old, unkempt and down right dirty. Beds were decrepit. Linens were worn, stained and cheap.

Complaints about the room were initially remedied with a transfer to a suite, which was just as bad, with ants. No pride in guest experiences here.

Pool bottom was slippery. Walkway to beach was rickety and dangerous. It was torn down completely just before our departure.

Bars were inconsistent. Food was decent. One of the breakfast chefs would not cook eggs properly to order and was rude when asked to cook eggs longer. Resulted in long lines for second chef.

Public washrooms throughout the resort were dirty and often missing basics like toilet paper or hand soap.

Beach furniture was old and dirty. Beach itself was often littered with cigarette butts and used drink cups.

Thankfully, the weather was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank LisaDWPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Deas LisaDWPG,

On behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. Actually since this year we started with new improvements in rooms, lobby area, etc. and in the following 2 years we do hope to finish.
We hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us

Kind regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Me and my husband came here for two weeks last December, and were glad we went with previous reviewers recommendations and chose to stay here! Would recommend getting a bungalow room if possible, and if you prefer a quieter room then ask for one away from the pool. We emailed the hotel 2 weeks prior to arriving to request a bungalow room but were put in the main hotel, but asked to change rooms again and were then moved to a bungalow room on the second day once one became available. The food is pretty standard, but it was what we were expecting anyway from reading previous reviews. The hotel and pool were clean and the staff were friendly and always smiling. The tepinyaki restaurant was pretty good, although you need to book in advance with reception as it filled up pretty quick. Didn't try the Cuban restaurant as it was always booked up, but this was no great loss as we heard the food wasn't great there anyway. The entertainment team were very good, and there were always activities taking place on the beach and around the pool area, the evening entertainment was OK too and better than we had seen in other hotels we have stayed in previously. Would happily stay there again if we ever visit Varadero in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow room as they are nicer than the hotel rooms, also they tend to have better water...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhav26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Bhav26,

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.
We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Tainos and I remain at your entire disposal,

Kind regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
2.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
#28 of 64 in Varadero
7,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,782 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#7 of 64 in Varadero
6,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Tainos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Tainos

Address: Las Morlas, Km. 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $143 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Tainos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine sandy beach of Varadero. Tropical gardens. Water sports galore. A Caribbean village. Colourful, Cuban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your IBEROSTAR Tainos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tainos Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Hotel Tainos
Iberostar Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Tainos Cuba
Iberostar Tainos Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing