We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superfantastic”
Review of IBEROSTAR Tainos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superfantastic”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is our 8th trip to Cuba and we have stayed at resorts from a 3.5 to 5 stars. Our goal was to find a place we could return to time and time again. Iberostar Tainos is it. This resort is outstanding in every way. The staff are excellent and cater to your every need. The food is excellent and we had no issues finding something to eat. We ate at the Japanese restaurant twice, food was good but the entertainment was great. Animation team is awesome. Elvis's antics made the evening time and time again. The live music after dinner on the patio is a real nice touch. The evening shows demonstate the talent of all the young performers.
We stayed in the hotel and the room gave us everything we needed. The entire resort is exceptionally clean and the gardening staff do an amazing job at keeping the grounds looking great. Spent the entire week at the beach, didn't even put our toes in the pool. Come on you are Cuba why would you want to swim in a pool, you can do that at home.
We are returning on November 6th, yes in two days!! Looking forward a glass of Catalina on the patio, we haven't been able to find it in Canada.
You will not be sorry with this resort staff are the best.
Take the bus into town and grab a pizza at Kiki's Club a must every time we are in Varadero.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Owens_Mum_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Owens_Mom_123,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. I will fwd the review to Elvys he will be happy to know that u remember him and his work. Will be more than a pleasure to welcome you back .
Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    1,448
    572
    191
    128
See reviews for
1,211
1,655
110
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have read many reviews on the place, all have said how exceptional the staff are, they are all correct.

From the time of arriving with a coachload of tired holiday makers the reception staff were so well organised that it was not long before we were booking into our room.

The rooms, yes dated, must cost a fortune to keep the plumber in “Mastic” but all was clean, the bed very comfortable, air con worked well, no complaints from us. Our maid, Yamilla did all we could have asked for, you do not have to tip but 1 Pesos a day is so little to us but so much to the locals and we certainly were happy to leave tips here and there.

The beach was fantastic, after all this is the whole point of travelling across the world. The pool, well we did not use it much but here the improvements are visible with the new sunbeds, the ones on the beach may be worn but there are many and very adequate for sleeping in the sun!

The food, lots of choice, I enjoyed the black beans and rice but there again I do not go away for “fish & chips”. Lots of fish and shellfish to choose from, the chicken always cooked beautifully, the pork also a good choice. The beef could be hit and miss but remember, they have problems getting beef in thanks to an embargo that is still going on! Deserts are plentiful, ice cream to die for. I came home a few pounds heavier than when arriving.

The staff in every department give their all to make the holiday one to remember and we shall certainly do that. The bar waiters, Sandy (he had all the blame for the hurricane hitting our last couple of days there and Dailing (Darling to us).

Entertainment, this has to be some of the best I have ever seen on holiday, no amateur theatricals, in this hotel, shows that amazed, singing that really hit home with the right notes.
Other entertainment was often in the evening before the show there would be a group outdoors in a patio area, some lovely music from them and again the staff getting people up to learn the different dances found on the island. If you have children they will be adored and well looked after, from games on the beach, around the pool, shooting and archery.

The grounds are really well kept, even after the edge of hurricane Sandy hitting us.

Management at this hotel run a tight ship, if something is wrong tell them, don’t wait to complain on Trip Advisor.

Giselle please pass on our thanks to everyone, the staff are what makes the stay so good and your staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in the Bungalow/apartments but I believe the main rooms are also as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bugsy098472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Bugsy098472,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients.We will foward tyour messagge to Yadmila, Sandy, Giselle and Darlen they will be happy to know that you remember them and their services.As per the sunbeds at the beach area let me inform you that in November should be arriving to the hotel 135 more new ones fot that area and little by little we will take out the old ones. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Tainos





Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from visiting Cuba and staying here. This is definately not a four star hotel. The staff however are wonderful and the rooms are very nice and spacious with a lovely bathroom...air conditioning in the rooms was excellent. food ok. But the facilittes and the reception area are considerably lacking. Not much by way of entertainment. There are only two al la cartes and the Japanese was amazing. However steer clear of the Cuban restaurant.
Elvis is the person who made this holiday for us. He is a lovely and entertaining person. He remembers everyones name and is extremely amusing.
Would not return here. Loved Cuba though.

Room Tip: This is a bit far from the main Varadero and the bus stop is a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear M D ,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. Actually since this year we started with new improvements in rooms, lobby area, etc. and in the following 2 years we do hope to finish.I will forward your mesagge to Elvis he will be happy to know that he was the one who make your vacations more enjoyable. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I thought the value for money was great,food was great!all the staff were so lovely and friendly!absolutely loved the entertainment staff!everyone was fabulous! Also very clean :) would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gabycuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Gabycuts,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tainos for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've just booked my 5th trip back to Tainos(4th technically) for Dec 2,2012. Every time I've been there its been spectacular!!!! The staff from animation to the bar to the resturant are the very best. Can't wait for the month to go by to see all my friendly staff members and good friend ELVIS!!! I highly recomend this resort for anyone of thinking of going to Varadero. Dijan, I will be contacting you shortly. See you soon Tainos. Mark

Room Tip: Tip the staff!!! You wont miss a couple of dollars, but it means so much to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YYZCANADA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear YYZCanada1,

On behalf IBEROSTAR Tainos staff we Thank you very much for this nice review. I will pass your words to all my staff. We are so happy that you will be coming on December 2nd, 2012 to have another enjoyable vacations with us. Also I just want to let u know that Dejan it is now at DR working since August. My name is Brenda Correa the new GM and I will be more than glad to meet you during your stay.

Warmest regards and see you soon!

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Vacation Oct 21-28.
I will begin by saying...I read reviews about this resort extensively going at least 3 years back.
The reviews are majority in favor of the resort, staff, food ect...
I agree with most of the good reviews. The rooms are not bad. I expected more outdated by the reviews and was surprised. The rooms were as stated comfortable, clean and in working order...so we were happy with the rooms.
The food was fine. There was plenty of selection and it was flavorful. We brought with condiments, hot sauce, salt and pepper and didn't need to use it except for ketchup. So we enjoyed the buffet and didn't try the a la cartes. Drinks were fine...4 star selection and quality.
Beach was nice, but no fault of the resort...was red flag 3 of the days (hurricane) so did not get the full effect. The first few days the beach was very nice.
The only area I would say did not meet our expectations was the customer service. For the most part the staff were friendly and helpful. The only slight problems we had were with the reception area both at check in and check out. We held high expectations in the customer service area due to all the reviews....so we were a little disappointed with this area.
All in all it was a nice, small resort (which we wanted), with a nice pool, beach and ok room, food and service. You should enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank angela14rmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Angela14rmt,

All the staff and Management team at Iberostar Tainos wants to thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us and other readers. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy our services. Unfortunately we did not fulfilled your expectation on customer service at the front desk as I do understood in your review and as I knew it now I was not able to follow up and if was a mistake to work it out and erase that bad moment. We always try to work hard in guest satisfaction and to nor reach that goal make us sad. We hope we can welcome you back again some day.

Best regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northleach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here from the 12th-26th October and this was our 4th time in Cuba but our first in Varadero and the Tainos. Check in was nice and smooth after a 40 minute transfer from the airport. We were greeted with drinks on arrival then quickly shown to our rooms. We requested a top floor bungalow 2 weeks before arrival through email and got exactly that what we asked for, room 2611 directly overlooking the pool which was lovely. As others have already said, the rooms are a bit dated but this wasn't a problem for us as we don't go on holiday to sit in our rooms all day. The food was ok and plentiful, but I'm not a big eater and could quite have happily lived on the soup for 2 weeks which was delicious by the way and always hot. The Japanese restaurant is a must which we visited twice though I wasn't too fussed on the Cuban but each to their own. We spent most of our time around the pool as it was windy most of the time on the beach due to hurricane Sandy making it's way to Cuba. To be honest, after visiting Esmeralda Beach in Guardalavaca on 3 previous occasions I was a bit disappointed with this beach as the sand isn't as white and powdery and it was a lot busier but we knew this before we arrived. We only visited Varadero as we wanted to go to Havana which is only a 2 hour ride away on the bus and was the highlight of my holiday. We also spent a bit of time in downtown Varadero visiting the markets and the bars. It was very lively in the evening and we particularly loved The Beatles bar for the live bands and bar Calle 62 which played mainly Cuban music which was great if you wanted to Salsa dance. The entertainment was also very good at the hotel and there was always something to do whether it be dance lessons, table tennis, waterpolo or playing bingo around the pool. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, in fact they made our stay all the more memorable and enjoyable especially Elvis, Julio, Daisy and George the barman. Overall a great holiday and If I ever visit the Varadero area again I would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor bungalow, 2611 was perfect overlooking the pool and near everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissChampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mrs. Champers,

All the staff and Management team at Iberostar Tainos wants to thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us and other readers. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy our services, specially from our staff Elvys, Julio, Daysi and George. I will forward your review to all our Head of Departments; they will take you comments into consideration. We hope we can welcome you back again some day.

Best regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#12 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,832 reviews
2.5 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Tainos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Tainos

Property: IBEROSTAR Tainos
Address: Las Morlas, Km. 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Tainos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine sandy beach of Varadero. Tropical gardens. Water sports galore. A Caribbean village. Colourful, Cuban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your IBEROSTAR Tainos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tainos Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Hotel Tainos
Iberostar Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Tainos Cuba
Iberostar Tainos Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing