We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Ciro y Lourdes(Varadero)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$145
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$219
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$139
$89
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$230
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$215
$137
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$298
$191
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,376)
Filter reviews
4,376 results
Traveler rating
1,767
1,618
631
211
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,767
1,618
631
211
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscuban restaurantbungalow roompool barmain buildingjulio cesarentertainment teamstar friendsthomas cookfishfantastic holidayevery other daysmall resorttowel artovernight tripevening entertainmentthe cuban a la carteguest services
Filter
Updating list...
1,282 - 1,287 of 4,376 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the Tainos the first two weeks of April. This was our fourth stay. This time three other couples made their first trip one couple made their third trip and we met up with a couple from England we met on a previous trip and a couple from Wales. The 14 of us had a blast.
As with previous trips the Tainos continues to improve in all aspects. This property yes as some will say can be dated however the improvements are seen each time we have stayed. From beach chairs to upgrades in the rooms and lobby each time we have noticed the changes. The food continues to improve and staff beginning with Dejan and his department managers each take pride in their positions and talk with the customers in order to try and improve their areas of responsibility.
The service staff starting with the front desk check in were outstanding the bar staff throughout including Daylyn, Yudel, Sandy, Arlien, Sheila, George, Franki, Daisy, Cynthia, the Buffett Mary ( still miss Mary at the lobby bar), Orlando and many more I know I have missed we are sorry.
Entertainment team, wow you guys are outstanding and again too many to mention but you should all be proud, Elvis and company we have really enjoyed your friendship and miss you all.
This smaller property keep an open mind and I guarantee you will have an outstanding vacation.
The beach is outstanding, food you will not go hungry with the buffet, snack bar at the pool and the Japanese restaurant. Cuban we have passed on after the second time. Some like and some do not. Again we have been to the Tainos previously and will be booking our 5th trip very soon. The other couples are also going again next year and two Newbies cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Bungalow near the beach
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Friends,

Thank you very much for your nice words and lovely review. I will pass your comments to all my staff, and I know that it will have a nice imact. We are glad that you notice year after year some improvements in our hotel and I assure you that it is an ongoing proces. We will wait for you for your 5-th viist.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

were going back to the tanios for the third year running in a few weeks and cannot wait. You feel the staff are like family they make you feel so welcome, especially Sandy in the lobby bar, Frankie and George at the beach bar.

The rooms are spacious , air conditioned and cleaned every day. you come back to a different towel design every day just those little touches make it special.

The entertainment team work there socks off and always something to do and join in with if you want to or just chill out on the lovely beach cleaned every day or around the pool. Always enough sun lounges as well.

There is always a good show in the evening from the entertainment staff and different local acts, its air conditioned as well.If you prefere you can just chill out by sitting outside where the bar staff will bring you drinks to your table and well deserve a tip.#

Theres a good variety of food and definitely reccomend a visit to the cuban and japanese resturant.

We thought we might try somewhere different this year but honestly could not find anywhere to top this in fact there are more people coming back with us this year and cannot wait.

So to all the staff and managers we cannot wait to see you all again in a few weeks time.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are the best
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

"Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. You are more then welcome for your next visit in a few weeks, and please do not hesitate to contact me.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel in February 2012. The staff were the highlight of it all. Additionally, the proximity of all the rooms from the pool, beach, restaurants, etc were perfect.
Please keep in mind that we rated the food at 4 stars (this is simply due to it being Cuban style food)... the grapefruit was amazing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

"Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Never been to Cuba before so was a little bit apprensive so I used this site to help make my mind up which hotel I was going to chose.

The rooms - I sent an email two weeks before requesting a bungalow room on the upper floor which is what I was given it was clean spacious and perfect for us. The bathroom was clean and tidy also the rooms were cleaned everyday

The food - we ate in the buffet restuarant most evenings which was brilliant the choice was fantastic everyday with different meats and fish cooked in various ways. The pool buffet at lunch was great with burgers and sausages BBQ everyday also different dishes hot or cold plus fruit, icecream and cakes. The al a carte Japanese restuarant was good with a good show put on by the chef.

The bars - the drinks are very good if you like lager both the beers are very good there is a good choice of spirits and cocktails plus soft drinks the slush is good when it's hot.

The staff - they make this hotel they are all very friendly whether it be the bar staff or the gardners who keep the grounds spotless we particularly liked Beatrix in the buffet restuarant George in the beech bar and the two barman who worked on an evening in the bar next to the Cuban a la carte

The beech - well all I can say is fantastic the sand is white powder with warm turquoise water absolutely heaven


Overall - this hotel is really good value for money and we couldn't find any faults with anything at all and if we can go next year we will

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

"Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Its hard to make any comparisons between Cuban hotels and hotels anywhere else in the world because of the political situation there. If you're thinking of going to Cuba and you're looking for value for money, then this is, we think, the best value hotel in Varadero, and we've stayed at a few of the others so I think we can honestly rate it.
It is only fair that I mention the bad points that we found. The bathrooms in the apartments are getting a little tatty, but, we where informed by the hotel management that all the rooms are to be refurbished and updated this year.
We know that getting supplies in Cuba is not the easiest of tasks for the hotels, so we can forgive them for running out of Tonic Water for 2 days.
On the positive side, the hotel is very well run. Gizelle, the assistant manageress, is fantastic, always smiling and kean to help resolve any issues you have.
The food is great, plenty of choice and always fresh and well presented.
The rooms are always clean and the maids do an excellent job.
We believe that the beach, at the Hotel is one of the best stretches of sand in Varadero, spacious and plenty on palm brollies to go around. The beach bar is well run by Franki and co.
If you want to stay by the pool, rather than the beach, then you'll find it to be well stocked with sunbeds. The pool is well maintained and very child friendly. Julio and the pool bar staff are always there to refill your drinks, and you'll always find plenty of activities going on around the pool and on the beach. The entertainments staff do a great job considering the heat of the day.
One of the main characters you will encounter in the evenings is Elvis, all I'll say is he's hilarious. I guarantee you you'll know who Elvis is the first time you set eyes on him, he's great.
The bar in the main hotel in a very pleasant place to spend an evening, and I promise you that you'll be well looked after by Sandy, Yudel and all the other bar staff.
The entertainment staff put on a different show every evening, always entertaining and well produced.
It takes a lot of people to run a big hotel and I can say, with hand on heart, that every one of them was polite and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chrisguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

"Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews