We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varadero”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Varadero”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful beach but unfortunately there was a cold front coming from the States…. which prevented swimming and enjoying the beach in bathing suit!
For people who want to discover real Cuba, just avoid Varadero, full of tourists and the prices are very high. The hotel has no charm, is a poor copy of Club Med type hotels. Food is poor, untasty and simple. Some of the staff was very nice, when others were just rude.

Room Tip: If you are a sleeper take with you ear plugs. The rooms cleaners start quite early and they are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudiaDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Google Translation
EStimada Claudia BOG,

Ante todo darle las gracias por compartir con los lectores de Tripadvisor su comentario a cerca de su estancia en nuestro Resort.

Sentimos profundamente no haber sido capaces de satisfacer plenamente sus expectativas, le aseguro que tomamos muy enserio sus comentarios y de inmediato tomaremos acciones para mejorar en aquellas áreas que usted nos señala como el sabor de la comida y la amabilidad del personal.

En caso de que este planeando un futuro viaje a cualquier destino donde haya un hotel Barceló cuente con nuestra ayuda y colaboración, estaremos orgullosos de darle la bienvenida personalmente.

Feliz año 2014!!

Atentamente,

Juan Marqués
DIrector General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    2,451
    1,378
    836
    705
See reviews for
1,586
2,155
391
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A ver late review but wanted to contribute. This was a nice hotel, a gf and myself went and had a great time. The coffee was AMAZING, drinks were awesome and food was good. Rooms were clean. The beach was outstanding. We did the horse back riding, it was good but kid of scary at times because the horses would just do what they wanted lol. It was fun and safe to go into Varadero, even at night to go to the club, but bring your own toilet paper off the resort or you will have to pay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SashaB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear LoveToWorkFromHome ,

I am writing to you regarding your recent stay at our hotel, first thank you very much for letting us know about your experience in our hotel in order to improve our service.

Reviews like this is the fuel we need to keep on working and provide the best service to our guest.

Thank you for your beautiful comment about our resort. It will be a pleasure to have you here again in Varadero.


Kinds regards,

Juan Marqués
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I just come back from Barcelo Solymar - Varadero Cuba yesterday.
It is the 4th time I go in this resort, and most of the time in December, close to Christmas.
It was the first time I spent the New Year's eve here.
It was the most wonderful experience.
Besides the dinner that was an exposition of culinary art and festive atmosphere, the aquatic show was great, but then the disco time came with the DJ that was from Canada!?
Then the count down came and almost 800 people were outside, counting. Shortly after we started singing O Canada! More then 80% of the people in the resort were from Canada( Ontario, Quebec, Alberta, BC)..so it was such a patriotic feeling to hear in this warm weather singing your national anthem.
Besides that, the staff that is very friendly.
The kids club has wonderful staff (Demisiel, Arianna) , the maid Judith will make you every day all kind of Hearts, Swans, Flowers with the towels), the Barceló cantina staff is very friendly...most of them.
As a piece of advice…All the clothes and my kids clothes, toys, little souvenirs I left them behind..and gave them to people they were nice to us. Just tell them in advance.
Little tips here and there (1 CUC or 2 CUCs) does not hurt, considering the tips (10-15%) we leave here at the restaurants.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floors always have warm running water. If you want quiet rooms, choose a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacation20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear vacation 20132014

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas with all Trip Advisor Readers.

We are pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodation & amenities. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Kind regards,

Juan Marqués
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

So we just got back from another holiday, this time at the Barcelo Arenas Blancas. Although the resort is four star and we have travelled to Cuba on several occasions before and were not expecting outstanding anything, we did leave disappointed.
I've left plenty of reviews on trip advisor and can assure you we are not fussy people, but we do expect to get what we pay for. Here's a few things/tips to consider prior to booking your stay.

1. If you do stay here, spend the extra on the upgrade to the Solymar section or the bungalows, they get EVERYTHING that's on the menus and all the drinks. We were not made aware of this prior or would have spent the little extra. Cuba without mojito's is not Cuba, and they WOULD NOT make us any at the bars on our section of the resort OR the beach bar. They kept telling us they were out of mint...sure.

2. Our room (5209) was not once during our stay completely cleaned and restocked..not once. One day it would be not enough towels(sigh..all three of us), another day no coffee, another day no bottled water, another no beer. It was consistently something. This was not from a lack of tipping as I left a 5.00 every morning before we left which I was later told was too much. Speaking with other guests that had bungalows this was never a issue. Our room also had very little water pressure and our shower head was almost completely clogged with minerals. The staff also decided to put a third mobile double bed in our room. Because we already had very little space, I stood the bed up against the wall..and that's where it stayed for the duration of our vacation. I thought that was insane.

3. This resort constantly ran out of stuff, or so we were told in order for us to make a different selection. Once it was cheese, and gravy, mint, pineapple juice, vodka, lemonade, white wine, and BEACH TOWELS are a few that come to mind. Unacceptable in my opinion.

4. The beach here is gorgeous..simple outstanding as with all the beaches on the Varadero strip that we've stayed at. One major complaint is the lack of ashtrays for smokers here. With toddlers, taking cigarette/cigar butts away from them was a constant chore. And other parents were having the same issue. Playing in the sand included digging up butts with every handful. We also had our daughter uncover a used condom..lovely. So perhaps some extra beach maintenance would be nice. Also, according to the map, there should be several bars at the beach..there is only one still functioning and it's always incredibly busy. So bring large travel mugs to avoid spending the majority of your day standing in line.

So there it is. Would I recommend staying here? To someone that hasn't traveled yet and has nothing to compare it to..yes. There's unlimited selected alcohol, big pools and the staff is generally very friendly and all seem to love the kids. There's lots of people and plenty of eye-candy for guys and girls. To seasoned travellers, no way. We've stayed at other four star resorts that rank much higher than this. The Blau in Varadero is far superior and comparable in price. For couples I would recommend Sandals Royal Hicacos. For a extra $480.00, I could have stayed at the five star RIU, and really wish I would have. Also, DO NOT get a poolside room if you have children. The stage is also poolside and they have a incredible sound system that they love to show off. You will not sleep until after the show, the bass is just too much for the kids to sleep.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank SBurke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Apreciated SBurke:
I want to express thanks for taking your time to write a review about Barceló Arenas Blancas; but I would like as well, express regret for haven’t made this vacations an unique experience, the way we like in Barceló Hotels.

Your review has been very detailed, be sure I will bring it over all the departments heads, and the appropriate measures will be taken.

It`s true we have been suffering a few trouble with our local suppliers, but as you said, and we all agree, it’s not acceptable having these kind of situations in our company.

Please accept my excuses; you can contact us at diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu so we can discuss all this issues personally; I would ask you to grant another opportunity to Barceló Cuba, whether it’s Solymar or Arenas Blancas.

All our team wishes you and your family, a wonderful 2014.
Juan Marques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Barcelo Solymar a year ago and decided to stay at Arenas Blancas this year. It turned out to be a great decision. Arenas Blancas is quieter so we appreciated being able to get away from the partying. We had our own superior rooms which were great. Mine had a comfortable double bed (2) and the shower had good water pressure. My room faced the street and was fairly quiet.

The food is much improved over last year. We enjoyed the thin crust pizzas, chicken sandwiches and poutine(!) at the Solymar pool bar. We also ate a delicious bacon cheeseburger and poutine at the AB pool bar. The beach bar no longer serves breakfast which was disappointing. The crepe (breakfast) and grill (dinner) stations at the AB buffet were new to us and greatly enjoyed. The Italian a la carte was good and the Mexican was decent, though the meat portions were small.

The staff made us feel like guests. Favourites were Pablo, Tamara/Esteban at the AB buffet, Lala at the BC pool bar and Dide on the entertainment team.

We are older than the early 20s singles that flock to this resort. I would not hesitate to stay again as a couple, but will seek a resort with an older demographic if I am single.

Room Tip: Superior rooms at Arenas Blancas are cheaper and quieter that Barcelo Solymar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgonomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent Stay at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas.

Reviews like this is the fuel we need to keep on working and provide the best service to our guest. Thank you for your beautiful comment about our resort. It will be a pleasure to have you here again.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!!

Kind regards,
Juan Marqués
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was recommended this resort from a travel agent who sends clients here frequently. It was my first trip South and wasn't expecting much besides warm weather and blue waters. Our room was nice! Little things that could have been better, but no complaints for the price we paid and it being in Cuba. Don't go in expecting Canadian hotels. The food was repetitive, but edible and again to be expected. No issues at the bars with getting served and I didn't find the resort to be overly loud or busy. My husbands soccer jersey went missing from our room, after a few days of searching it wasn't found but whoever has it needed it more than he did! It didn't turn us off from this resort. The pool was amazing and loved having the beach so close! All in all, for the price we paid we have no complaints. We would definitely go back again and have another fabulous time!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front of the hotel which we loved, less noise. Closer to the disco and main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear tkkane,

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas with all Trip Advisor Readers.

We are pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodation & amenities. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.


We wish a Happy New Year to and your Family!!

Juan Marqués
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to the Solymar in December and we had a BLAST!! The atmosphere in that place is so awesome..It's a great mixture of people. from families to young people to old but all of the people had a great attitude and I'm sure it has to do with the staff. The staff would always be there to help you with a smile. The service was very good.They have a very good manager, Miguel, he offered great service.,we will return to this hotel because of his awesome service. we also met Oscar, another manager to remember and he was so kind and gave us very good service also. So, to all you people looking for a good time and awesome service, this is the place for you, the location is perfect because it's walking distance to the downtown where they have more entertainment but it's the atmosphere of the resort that keeps us going back...we are already planning for next year at the same time and same place.. rather you like to party or relax, this resort has it all..the games at the pool is fun as well...if you open your mind and want to have fun then this is the place for you...I got to relax in the day and have a blast at night...the food was good and the service was awesome ,remember you are going to Cuba so don't expect fast food restaurants like Wendy's,it's Cuban food,I enjoyed it...again,I want to thank Miguel & Oscar... :) See you all next year...Linda from Timmins

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindapocket2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have invested in sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel, we are glad to know that you endorsed our property highly.

We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests but reviews like yours serve us to motivate us even more; Allow us to confirm that these persons will be congratulated for the excellent service provided.

We are also pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by enjoyable food in our restaurants and our evening entertainment.

We look forward to see you again and provide you with an even better experience.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!

Juan Marqués
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.4 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
0.3 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#36 of 63 in Varadero
4,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Memories Varadero Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
6,009 reviews
5.2 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#26 of 63 in Varadero
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort

Property: Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Address: Carretera Las Americas, Km. 3, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Barcelo Solymar)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#23 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 883
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Solymar stands right on the sea front of the top spot of Varadero beach, Cuba's best-known tourist destination. With a privileged setting just a few metres from the city centre, this exclusive resort, surrounded by beautiful gardens, offers a wide variety of services characterised by the excellent Barceló All-Inclusive program. Highly recommended for families, couples and those who enjoy diving and water activities in general. Guests at the Barceló Solymar and Barceló Arenas Blancas hotels can enjoy the facilities at either hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Solymar
Barcelo Hotel Varadero
Barcelo Solymar Cuba
Barcelo Solymar Hotel Cuba
Barcelo Solymar Beach Resort
Barcelo Solymar Varadero Cuba
Barcelo Sol y Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing