We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$219
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$139
$89
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$230
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$215
$137
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$262
$191
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,983)
Filter reviews
4,983 results
Traveler rating
1,358
1,699
1,014
565
347
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,358
1,699
1,014
565
347
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstryp peninsulakids poollaguna restauranta la carte restaurantslobby barfishwalk in closetpastamain buffetbuffet restaurantkids clubmain poolbeefrecommend this resortother resortsthe double decker busfries
Filter
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 4,983 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Melia Peninsula from June 26th, 2013 to July 2, 2013 and was EXTREMELY disappointed. We were travelling with 4 kids between the ages of 4 and 10 (total of 4 adults and 4 kids). Since this is our 8th time to Cuba we knew what to expect when it came to food but this resort was the worst one we ever stayed in. We arrived at 2:00 pm and the rooms were ready at 5:30 pm.We asked to have 2 rooms together but ended up in different buildings. There was always an excuse!! We asked to change to building 26 or 28 (closer to the beach)but they told us that these rooms could only be for 3 people. We later found out on the beach by other people that they were in building 26 and were a family of 4. However they had to pay extra pesos to be in that building. Good luck in having beach towels....! Again always an excuse! We had ours changed after 5 days! As for the service, it was more than disappointing. At the buffet, you have to wait a minimum of 40 minutes to have some meat on the gril. There was one morning where there were no more eggs. Many times we had to wait for the plates as they were not able to supply us with any. If you are looking for animation....you are not in the right hotel! There is NO animation! Also many Cubans go to this hotel so they know how to get what they want even if it means bumping you or passing over you while you wait in line. After 6 days we asked to be transferred to another hotel since we had taken a 2 week vacation. We were transferred to the Ocean Varadero. Please see my comments....you will notice the difference!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank 4evercuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having enjoyed staying at 2 Melia resorts in the past, I thought I would try the Melia Peninsula, the more expensive option. This was a mistake for a number of reasons.

The good things about the hotel were in the minority. The only benefits were the gorgeous beach, the lobby singers and the Michael Jackson tribute.

The issues we had were as follows:

• Illness – Everyone we spoke to at the resort, either them, or someone in their party had become ill with sickness and diarrhoea, and were unable to leave their room for at least 24 hours.

• Service – We were constantly ignored by the majority of the staff. We were unable to get served food/drinks, standing at the bars or seated at the tables whilst others were.

• Food – The buffet was always left to go cold, with flies crawling all over it.

• Drinks – One evening when we eventually got served, we were told that we were unable to have a drink because they had run out of glasses.

• Air-con – There was no working air-con within the lobby, buffet or Mexican restaurant (we didn’t try the others). However the air-con was very good in our room.

• Towels – We had to use the same beach and bath towels for the 4 days we were there as the laundry service was ‘down’.

• Toilets – There was only one ladies toilet around the pool which never seemed to be clean. We were unable to locate a toilet by the beach, so had to use the one in our room.

We did realise on our second day that only the English holiday makers were wearing orange wrist bands, whereas all others were wearing green ones. Everyone English we spoke with, had coincidently experienced the same problems with the service.

We spoke with Silvio, our resort rep, and he moved us to Sol Palmeras at our request within the hour. We were so grateful for his assistance and understanding. He did a fantastic job and is a credit to Vhols!

I had stayed at Sol Palmeras in November last year so knew it was a better hotel, and as soon as we arrived until the minute we left, we had an amazing time. Every member of staff at this hotel could not do more to help. The atmosphere, friendliness, food, entertainment, etc. was fantastic and the complete opposite to Melia Peninsula, even though it is a cheaper hotel.

I would recommend Sol Palmeras, however I would not return to Melia Peninsula.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just got back from the Melia Peninsula Varadero resort July 8th. First off I want to say the people are great, Cubans always try to do there best with what they got. They are great friendly people.

The resort it's self is run down and not maintained at all. A big disappointment considering its suppose to be a 4plus. The grounds are great looking but the pool area, rooms and restaurants are worn out .
First off we asked for a king size bed when booking, hoping to at least get a queen size, but ended up with two singles pushed together.
The room fridge was empty, no bottled water, drinks of any sort.
There were no beach towels until the second day and where only able to trade them in once during the week. For a area as large as it is, there are only two washrooms with no toilet paper and the odd missing toilet seat, very poorly maintained, Just think of it, If you can't wash your hands when leaving the washroom the people doing the cooking for you can't either!!!!!
There was very little music or activities around the pool or out on the beach area,
The beach area is the best !!!! beautiful
The food, well that's another thing. Bad Bad Bad , If you like potatoes and corn and un cooked bacon , great you will survive, On check out there is only one room for everyone to clean up when having a late flight, Warning, no airconditioning, lighting, toilet paper in the room.
We have been to Cuba 7 times now and this will be our last, Its has not gotten better in the last 10 years,if anything it has gotten worse.
A huge disappointment , We have always looked at the pictures and thought this was a very nice place but the pictures are very deceiving.
Its worth it to spend the extra 200 dollars and go some place else.

Room Tip: Don't go,
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wmorg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My friend and I went for a week last July when it was still the Tryp. This was my second time to Cuba as well as hers. I had also been on other all inclusives and usually ended up disappointed. This was not one of those times.

The only issue we had with the whole stay was trying to check in as our room was not ready. We had requested to not be on the ground floor. They put us in a room which was on the ground floor but before we even went to look at it I asked and they moved us to a second floor unit in building 28 (close to beach and pool). Only issue is we didn't get up our room until almost 5 pm. We didn't care and wandered the beautiful grounds and checked out the beach and pool. We had packed our bathing suits in our carry-ons.

The rooms as mentioned in other reviews are minimal but very clean and we didn't spend much time in it. Beds were comfortable enough, bathroom was big, closet huge, and air conditioning was perfect. No clock though so bring one. I just used turned cell and data off on my phone and used that as an alarm. I had brought a converter but it didn't work with the plugs. My friend fried her straightener but my cell and iPod charger was fine. Our maid was great and we left her gifts everyday.

We had fantastic weather and spent most of our time by the pool after getting some sand flea bites from the sand (totally normal in that humidity so we weren't worried). Pool bar and snack bar were great.

The main buffet was typically what you would find at an all inclusive. We aren't picky eaters so we were good with what was already made and it was so hot we weren't terribly hungry. We sat in the same area each day and our server got to know what we liked. For the a la carte restaurants we tried the Italian and French. Both were good.

We spent after dinner in the lobby bar and tried to sit wherever Yania was and she got to know our order by the second or third day and would just come over and ask 'two bloody mary's?' The piano music and the band were nice to listen to as well. Lobby bathroom was very clean too.

Being two women in our late 20's and early 30's we also made use of the night club. We made friends with the two bartenders Miguel and Carlos as well as one of the DJ's Yossel. They kept us entertained with great music and creative drinks. We also made friends with a couple from Argentina on an anniversary trip and spent the week with them and their friends dancing and having a blast!

We did the catamaran tour as well as the day trip to Havana. This time we are looking forward to trying other excursions and making use of the water sports.

This was honestly the best trip either of us have taken and we were so pleased with the staff at the resort. They were all so welcoming and treated you well if you treated them well. Yes there are always some bumps that come up but being on vacation we just shrugged that stuff off. We can't wait to go back in September and see everyone again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominication
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the must terrible experience that i had in varadero hotels.The service and food were poor, the room service was poor as well and i had my digital camera stolen from the hotel room. This hotel was better when belongs to a trip chain. Be carefully with specials rates because is a trap.
Dan

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank drodriguez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Sir:

Hopefully, our renovation program is getting all the areas in the resort, we have two new restaurants, 300 refurbished rooms and other new facilities in our service.

Unfortunately, we could not reach your expectations in just the few days you stayed here. When our Customer Service Dept. knew about your lost, we tried starting a procedure, but you left the Hotel before filling the lost report, so we could not go over. However, this kind of facts is really unusual.

Thanks for your comments, I have transmitted them to our management team in order to improve our services and provide a higher satisfaction level to our guests.

Best regards,

Frederick Andersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews